Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works on a North American console., December 4, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dodonpachi Resurrection: Deluxe Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
DoDonPachi Resurrection is a port of the Japanese shmup arcade game DoDonPachi Daifukkatsu, by developer CAVE. Note that this release works on North American and PAL consoles. It will not work on a Japanese console however (maybe trying to stop reverse importing? no idea).

Resurrection is the most colorful CAVE shmup to date, full of bright eye-popping visuals and over the top bullet patterns. It also has some really cool enemy designs, such as boss fights that transform from space ships into robots in smooth transitions. It's absolutely gorgeous in motion.

This is also the most forgiving game in the DonPachi series. Players who were frustrated with the difficulty of previous DonPachi games will find this one more palatable. But don't worry, scoring is as hardcore as ever, and even the best players will be hard pressed to maximize their scoring potential. Sure, I got the one-credit clear, but I'm not going to pretend my score isn't rubbish.

Several game modes are included. You get the original arcade version and two arrange modes. The arrange modes drastically change up the game and scoring mechanics; at times they barely seem like the same game. Definitely give them all a try at least once.

Even more arrange modes are available via DLC, including the Black Label version which has a lot of cool new features. For example, playing "strong mode" in the arcade version enhances your firepower, while in Black Label it gives you the second-loop enemies. While it would be nice if they were included on the disc, I do appreciate making them available instead of just dropping them entirely.

The only arrange not available on this release is the second Black Label Arrange, or "Ketsupatchi" as it's commonly known, as it uses Ketsui cubes for scoring. If you really want that one game mode you'll have to buy the Black Label disc from Japan (which is region locked, Japan only). I like Ketsupatchi, but I don't consider its absence a deal-breaker.

In conclusion, this is a great game for both shmup newbies and veterans alike. If you're at all interested in shmups, this is an excellent package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, fun game, September 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dodonpachi Resurrection: Deluxe Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
If you're looking for a great shooter experience, look no further.

The game is region free (it's a UK game). It works just fine on my North American Xbox 360.

And it's just as insane as previous Cave based shooters.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cave, NUFF said., August 18, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dodonpachi Resurrection: Deluxe Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Haven't played SHMUPS since the PS2 era. And learning that CAVE did a few region free games, and Rising Star did this port region free as well, I had to pick it up. Dondonpachi was one of my favorite games on the SEGA Saturn, so I had to pick this new title up. I'm very amaze on the video options this game gives the players to set it up for their HD set or SDTV. Very solid.

Most people buying this game know what they're getting into, bullet hell mayhem. And is really well done. From the music, the art and even the sound effects, all well done. The filters(To smooth out the pixels in the art)is not that bad at all. Oh, and you'll get a ton of achievements in seconds, lol. Great game, worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New High Score, March 20, 2014
By 
C. Wheat (Edinburg, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dodonpachi Resurrection: Deluxe Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
For those looking for that Shoot em'up itch to scratch, and like the challange of score attacks, ranking, and bullet hell fun this is the game for you.

You will always have fun trying to beat your latest high score or that of your friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The game has arived in perfect condition, February 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dodonpachi Resurrection: Deluxe Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The perfect game for shmup fans, Cave did a excelent job making his transition from arcades to home consoles, the game response is smoothly just like arcade. Very changeling bullet hell shooter i love it,and also the game has the Novice mode good for beginners.
Awesome i highly recommend for those both hardcore and beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dodonpachi, March 5, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dodonpachi Resurrection: Deluxe Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Excellent game, a must have! DLC black label available in other marketplaces, cave enough said, get it, if you love shmups you are gonna love this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, August 21, 2014
This review is from: Dodonpachi Resurrection: Deluxe Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Fun. Works like normal for American 360. No issues. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shooting bliss, February 16, 2013
By 
norma e borrero (bronx, new york United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dodonpachi Resurrection: Deluxe Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
no American release, I don't see why not. shooting, and fun all the way. old school shump, for those who love this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shmup heaven, February 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dodonpachi Resurrection: Deluxe Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
have these reviews always required 20 words or more? sometimes i just wanna read some short and sweet. anyhoo, this game is a must-have for any shmump fan. cave puts out some fantastic games and this game is no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dodonpachi Resurrection: Deluxe Edition (Xbox 360)
$49.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.