Customer Reviews


568 Reviews
5 star:
 (255)
4 star:
 (116)
3 star:
 (72)
2 star:
 (56)
1 star:
 (69)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


234 of 246 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A COLORFUL LOOK AT A R'N'R LIFE THROUGH TYLER'S EYES
371 pages of text, 3 page "Semiprologue", 32 pages of color and b&w photos throughout Tyler's life. Take the dust jacket off and there are wrap-around photos of Tyler in full regalia and mic stand. The inside front and back pages have the same series of photos.

In a nutshell-if you like Steven Tyler/AEROSMITH (originally spelled ARROWSMITH for about 5...
Published on May 4, 2011 by Stuart Jefferson

versus
104 of 122 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A horrible effort. Read J. Kramer's book instead.
Being a mega-fan of Aerosmith and firmly believing that the Get Your Wings, Toys In The Attic and Rocks albums are the holy trinity of American hard rock I was looking forward to this book with baited breath. Having finished it a few days ago I must admit to being hugely disappointed.
The entire book has rush job written all over it, Tyler was definitely trying to...
Published on May 25, 2011 by ElBandito


‹ Previous | 1 257 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

234 of 246 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A COLORFUL LOOK AT A R'N'R LIFE THROUGH TYLER'S EYES, May 4, 2011
371 pages of text, 3 page "Semiprologue", 32 pages of color and b&w photos throughout Tyler's life. Take the dust jacket off and there are wrap-around photos of Tyler in full regalia and mic stand. The inside front and back pages have the same series of photos.

In a nutshell-if you like Steven Tyler/AEROSMITH (originally spelled ARROWSMITH for about 5 seconds-Tyler wanted HOOKERS, but changed the spelling to A-E-R-O) you'll like this book. With the help of David Dalton, a long time Rolling Stone Magazine contributor, Tyler tells his tale in much the same style as he would in a conversation. His comments are sometimes off the wall and colorful, but somehow seem to help tell his life story. A quick glance at the chapter headings will prove my point. But Tyler writes in a very straightforward, in your face, no-holds barred style. Throughout the book Tyler constantly lays things out, no matter the subject matter, which helps paint a better, fuller picture of both his music, and himself.

Beginning with his birth, we learn about his parents and their strong influence on his adult outlook , his early formative years, friends and acquaintances, and his discovery of music. There's a lot of background details that help fill in Tyler's early life-a boyhood in many respects like other kids of the era, and how he found his way to music, and his decision to make music his life. Tyler talks about the comparisons between Mick Jagger and himself, and how the press played up their similarities. But Tyler makes no bones about Jagger/The Stones-he idolized them, along with other r'n'r stars of the day. We also learn about the many personal and band escapades-involving sex/drugs/r'n'r during the many years when the band was touring hard-and partying just as hard. If you've ever wondered about the highs and lows of a r'n'r band, this portion of the book will give you a good look into what it's all about. But Tyler tells his story with both great insight and humor, using that Tyler way with words, and that peculiar turn of a phrase that never seems to fail him.

For fans of the band, the book gets really interesting when the original band (with guitarist Ray Tabano), decided to try and "make it", by moving to Boston. This portion of the book really has the flavor of AEROSMITH-the song choices, the small clubs, trying to get by, and the beginning of their recording career, and the recording of various albums, and Tyler's on-going feud with guitarist Joe Perry The many details are what make this book worth reading-all the trials and tribulations that Tyler and the band went through in order to make music, and persevere in the music business.

Tyler also talks about his family-especially his four children. This is where he opens himself up and shows that underneath all that bravado, he's a caring, sensitive man. Tyler also talks about his stints in rehab, and the many physical maladies that have plagued him for a number of years, a number of which were caused by his r'n'r lifestyle. The book is also a cautionary tale of how excess can lead to ruin-his marriages and divorces, his troubles with his band mates, his regrets when looking back at parts of his life when the conflict of home life and his band made life almost intolerable, and so on. But in the end, Tyler (now a judge on American Idol) has adjusted to his sixth decade, living in Laurel Canyon, where many of his idols once lived, able to look back at a lifetime of music making.

For anyone who wonders if Steven Tyler is for real-this book will amply prove that point. His jive-talking, flavorful, sometimes off-color word usage, sometimes semi-nonsense style of writing keeps the interest up throughout this book. At times you get the feeling that Tyler is telling you his tales one on one, which is very effective, and sometimes visceral, but always interesting. The combination of small details throughout gives added depth to his story. It's an honest (as he sees it) look at a man, his music, his life in and outside of music, and how they all intertwine. And for all the jive bravado, you get the feeling, that underneath is someone who wants to let people know that, in many respects, he's just like us-an example-the book is dedicated to his mother. If you've ever wondered (as I have) if the persona he throws out is all there is, this book will help you see past all that. You may be surprised.

If you're interested in the other side of the r'n'r coin, so to speak, check out the book "And On Piano Nicky Hopkins: The Extraordinary Life of Rock's Greatest Session Man". As much as Tyler ultimately "made it" in music, Hopkins story (truly perhaps the greatest session man in r'n'r) is altogether something different. This book is a window into the r'n'r lifestyle of a man few could match.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


102 of 105 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Wild Ride Inside, May 5, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book has surprised me. I expected wild stories, fun anecdotes, foul language from time to time, and plenty of music, drugs and sexual escapades. What I didn't expect was Steven Tyler opening up to share his childhood dreams, the extent of his drug habits and glimpses of his insecurities and faltering moments in life. This book shares the life of a unique human being, not an advertisement, as is the case with some celebrity biographies.

The first reviewer, Mr. Jefferson, does a fine job of describing the book, so there's no reason to duplicate his effort. I will say that he's absolutely right in pointing out the conversational style of the writing. At first, I thought it seemed a little disjointed, but once I "got in the groove", the experience was like listening to Steven Tyler talk about life.

If you're easily offended, don't even think about reading this book. If you survived the 60's/70's or if you listen to rock music or if you're intrigued to know the man behind the curtain of scarves, you can handle the wild ride inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dude, looks like a writer ., May 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I liked ST back in my early high school years. Really didn't get onboard when Aerosmith had their 90's resurgence & I am NOT a major fan of American Idol. What drew me to this book was Steven's story in Rolling Stone. All I can say is I LOVE the book so far. I love his recollection of his boyhood days. Proof that not every person who struggles with drug abuse had a horrible childhood. His was almost idealic. When I am reading it IS as if he is narrating. If you are familiar with the way he talks...you will totally get the things he says and the stories will flow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


104 of 122 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A horrible effort. Read J. Kramer's book instead., May 25, 2011
Being a mega-fan of Aerosmith and firmly believing that the Get Your Wings, Toys In The Attic and Rocks albums are the holy trinity of American hard rock I was looking forward to this book with baited breath. Having finished it a few days ago I must admit to being hugely disappointed.
The entire book has rush job written all over it, Tyler was definitely trying to capitalize on his American Idol success. The number of errors is mind-numbing and frustrating for even the most casual fan, here's some of them;
1) Tyler describes penning 'Pandora's Box' for the Rocks album in 1976, when in fact that song appeared on the Get Your Wings album of 1974.
2) Tyler attributes the lyrics to 'Combination' erroneously to 'Bright Light Fright' which appeared a year later on the Draw The Line album.
3) Tyler mentions the inspiration for the song 'Dude Looks Like A Lady' as being derived from a conversation he had with Motley Crue in New York in 1991, the song appeared on the Permanent Vacation album in 1987.
Tyler is no doubt a narcissist and misogynist, he details a sexual relationship with a fourteen year old girl quite graphically, he was twenty six at the time and the whole episode reeks of exploitation.
He later professes indignity that his wife would chastise him for his on the road infidelities stating that it was only 'sex', but claims incredible betrayal when the same woman leaves him after having an affair with a construction worker.
He also confesses to physically abusing the late Cynrinda Foxe-Tyler, his first wife, the details of this abuse were detailed explicitly in her book, Dream On.
Another disturbing passage features Tyler learning of his daughter Mia's self-mutilation when she appeared on Good Morning America, he mentions being horrified that people like Oprah would think he was a horrible father. The fact that he would worry more about how he would look rather than his daughter's well being was troubling to me.
Elsewhere in the book, Tyler randomly attacks friends, ex-girlfriends and bandmates with no rhyme or reason. These attacks reached their nadir when he insulted a bandmate's penis size, a person he once claimed to be good friends with. Really terrible and immature stuff.
Tyler writes in a rambling, stream of consciousness style that borders on incoherent at times. It really adds nothing to the book and negates the impact of some stories that could have been fascinating. It would have been nice to learn more about his overall experience of being a rock star and his relationships with the other guys in the band. Instead the book sometimes feels like a beginner's guide to pharmacology, the amount of space wasted on drug related issues is exorbitant and dull.
Overall, Keith Richard's Life is a much better book, however I strongly recommend Joey Kramer's Hit Hard as one of the most poignant and effective memoirs ever. Kramer's life journey should serve as an inspiration of personal growth and self-discovery, Tyler's makes me wish I had not read it and instead just stuck to the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If there's a fifth, sixth dimension. . . . If? Oh, come on!, May 9, 2011
Steven Tyler has lived the life of a hundred rock stars -- endless amounts of sex, drugs, insane behavior and ear-blisteringly awesome rock'n'roll. He's practically a rock archetype!

So I was expecting that "Does the Noise in My Head Bother You?: A Rock 'n' Roll Memoir" would be a pretty wild ride. Actually, it was more like being dragged behind a roller coaster on a little skateboard -- a wild, raucous, colorful explosion of Tyler's rock'n'roll life, constantly dancing between witty cleverness and manic exuberance.

Stephen Tyler had a fairly ordinary upbringing, which didn't stop him from being the mystical, mischievous wild-child of his New York family. And though his father was a pianist, he fell in love with rock'n'roll at an early age, cycling through several small-time bands and roaming through the wilds of 1960s New York City.

But his life REALLY changed when he met his "mutant twin," Joe Perry ("Joe is cool, Freon runs in his veins; I'm hot, hot-blooded Calabrese, a sulphur sun beast, shooting my mouth off"). And lo, rock history was made. Their band Aerosmith rapidly ascended to become one of the biggest in rock history, careening and soaring along with Tyler's own ups and downs -- marriages, children, drugs and the band's breakups and reunions.

"Does the Noise in My Head Bother You?: A Rock 'n' Roll Memoir" is very different from most rock memoirs, which are usually written when the rock star's brain has cooled down and grown up. Steven Tyler still seems to be shooting off crimson sparks in every direction, ranting and rejoicing with insane joy.

This is also how he writes. He rambles energetically about the events of his life with surprising clarity, but he often interrupts himself with weird asides ("No wonder I got Lead Singer Disorder") and meditations on sex, women, drugs, God, childhood... and of course, music ("The blues, man, the blues... the blooze! That achin' ol' heart disease and joker in the heartbreak pack, demon engine of rock...")

And yes, he has countless interesting stories to tell, whether it's searching for elves in the Sunapee woods or getting bawled out by Anita Pallenberg for buying a book on black magic.

Tyler himself comes across as a giant, exuberant man-child, still crammed with insane energy. He's obviously very clever and intelligent (he boasts about rigging up electric fences IN HIS BEDROOM), and he stirs in literary references with his rock'n'roll knowledge. But he also includes some wrenching moments that have obviously scarred him deep, such as when he learned of his daughter Mia's troubles with cutting and drugs.

There's obviously still a lot of noise in Steven Tyler's head, and his wild, deranged memoir sweeps you away and sinks you into the manic recesses of his brain. Warning: do not operate heavy machinery while reading this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mostly Bologna, June 1, 2011
The first half of the book is semi-interesting as we learn that Mr. Tyler was a nature lover as a child, and had a remarkably "normal" upbringing for a guy who spent the rest of his life so messed up. I read it, hoping to get some insight into the seventies era Aerosmith when they were a legitimate rock band. Unfortunately there isn't much enlightening information about that period, and the book soon sinks into a monotonous recounting of Tyler's drug abuse/rehab cycle. Ultimately, Tyler comes off as the shallow, self-absorbed rock star caricature he always wanted to be. Kudos to anyone who could read the entire book - I certainly couldn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 60 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars boooooorrrinnnng, May 10, 2011
If you were hoping to find out things about the band and Steven your sort of in luck.But you must wade through another 300 or so pages of Tyler complaining how everyone else is an a**hole and he isn't.After reading about how he has tried quitting drugs about 50 times you yell "enough already".I am a recovering addict myself and yes people slip but when he's telling you that he's snorting lunesta?? you just want to scream.As far as his ongoing battles with Joe Perry,again it's Joes fault it's Joes wifes fault it's the managers fault ETC.

He does surprise you with his musical knowledge as far as writing music and playing it,but again it's like pulling teeth to get to the good parts.Some parts were very interesting but again when he starts giving reviews of Re-Habs as you would a restaurant it gets very old very quickly.

Save the money and get this from your library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what the heck is this?, November 12, 2011
Stephen Tyler gets an "A" in music and an "F" in writing. A bunch of rambling, crazy nonsense. Where was the editor for this mess?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Completely Superficial, July 11, 2011
By 
This review is from: Does the Noise in My Head Bother You?: A Rock 'n' Roll Memoir (Kindle Edition)
I liked Steven Tyler so much more before I read this huge snooze of a book. While I understand it is a memoir, you still have to care about the people in the story. You never get to know or understand Joe Perry, the rest of the band, Tyler's wives or his kids. Names pop up in chapters as if you are supposed to know who the people he is talking about are. Everything written is on the most superficial level. Even when he writes about his drug and alcohol abuse you don't get to know him well enough to even care.

Once finished I was left knowing Tyler was a foul mouthed, sex crazed drug addict whose whole world revolves around himself.

I saw Aerosmith play in my local town about 30 years ago and I was right in front of the stage. I've been a huge fan ever since. The clubs are where I grew up and I get the rock and roll lifestyle. This book was a huge disappointment and it felt like a rush job so that he could capitalize on his American Idol fame. I wish I would have never picked it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time and money, from a huge Aeromsmith fan, May 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Does the Noise in My Head Bother You?: A Rock 'n' Roll Memoir (Kindle Edition)
As far back as I can remember, I have loved Steven Tyler and I have loved Aerosmith, who doesn't? I have every studio album they have done and I am eagerly awaiting this new album they are supposedly working on. I even love him as a judge on American Idol. As far as I'm concerned, what ever this guy touches turns to gold, except for this book.He just seems to ramble on and on and on . . .
Every time you think you're getting to hear a good story about one of their albums, or something else you've been looking forward to hearing about, he goes of on some little tangent about drugs or something without ever finishing the story he was telling. If you are a fan, I would say to spend your money on some of his music rather that this book. I guess you might like it if you were'nt expecting a memoir. If you where expecting to hear a few strange stories without actually finding out anything about his career or his life than, get this book.
The man is an awesome performer, writer, singer etc but I wouldn't consider him an author. Don't bother with this, you won't get any insight into his life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 257 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.