Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Does the Noise in My Head Bother You?: A Rock 'n' Roll Memoir
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

371 pages of text, 3 page "Semiprologue", 32 pages of color and b&w photos throughout Tyler's life. Take the dust jacket off and there are wrap-around photos of Tyler in full regalia and mic stand. The inside front and back pages have the same series of photos.

In a nutshell-if you like Steven Tyler/AEROSMITH (originally spelled ARROWSMITH for about 5 seconds-Tyler wanted HOOKERS, but changed the spelling to A-E-R-O) you'll like this book. With the help of David Dalton, a long time Rolling Stone Magazine contributor, Tyler tells his tale in much the same style as he would in a conversation. His comments are sometimes off the wall and colorful, but somehow seem to help tell his life story. A quick glance at the chapter headings will prove my point. But Tyler writes in a very straightforward, in your face, no-holds barred style. Throughout the book Tyler constantly lays things out, no matter the subject matter, which helps paint a better, fuller picture of both his music, and himself.

Beginning with his birth, we learn about his parents and their strong influence on his adult outlook , his early formative years, friends and acquaintances, and his discovery of music. There's a lot of background details that help fill in Tyler's early life-a boyhood in many respects like other kids of the era, and how he found his way to music, and his decision to make music his life. Tyler talks about the comparisons between Mick Jagger and himself, and how the press played up their similarities. But Tyler makes no bones about Jagger/The Stones-he idolized them, along with other r'n'r stars of the day. We also learn about the many personal and band escapades-involving sex/drugs/r'n'r during the many years when the band was touring hard-and partying just as hard. If you've ever wondered about the highs and lows of a r'n'r band, this portion of the book will give you a good look into what it's all about. But Tyler tells his story with both great insight and humor, using that Tyler way with words, and that peculiar turn of a phrase that never seems to fail him.

For fans of the band, the book gets really interesting when the original band (with guitarist Ray Tabano), decided to try and "make it", by moving to Boston. This portion of the book really has the flavor of AEROSMITH-the song choices, the small clubs, trying to get by, and the beginning of their recording career, and the recording of various albums, and Tyler's on-going feud with guitarist Joe Perry The many details are what make this book worth reading-all the trials and tribulations that Tyler and the band went through in order to make music, and persevere in the music business.

Tyler also talks about his family-especially his four children. This is where he opens himself up and shows that underneath all that bravado, he's a caring, sensitive man. Tyler also talks about his stints in rehab, and the many physical maladies that have plagued him for a number of years, a number of which were caused by his r'n'r lifestyle. The book is also a cautionary tale of how excess can lead to ruin-his marriages and divorces, his troubles with his band mates, his regrets when looking back at parts of his life when the conflict of home life and his band made life almost intolerable, and so on. But in the end, Tyler (now a judge on American Idol) has adjusted to his sixth decade, living in Laurel Canyon, where many of his idols once lived, able to look back at a lifetime of music making.

For anyone who wonders if Steven Tyler is for real-this book will amply prove that point. His jive-talking, flavorful, sometimes off-color word usage, sometimes semi-nonsense style of writing keeps the interest up throughout this book. At times you get the feeling that Tyler is telling you his tales one on one, which is very effective, and sometimes visceral, but always interesting. The combination of small details throughout gives added depth to his story. It's an honest (as he sees it) look at a man, his music, his life in and outside of music, and how they all intertwine. And for all the jive bravado, you get the feeling, that underneath is someone who wants to let people know that, in many respects, he's just like us-an example-the book is dedicated to his mother. If you've ever wondered (as I have) if the persona he throws out is all there is, this book will help you see past all that. You may be surprised.

If you're interested in the other side of the r'n'r coin, so to speak, check out the book "And On Piano Nicky Hopkins: The Extraordinary Life of Rock's Greatest Session Man". As much as Tyler ultimately "made it" in music, Hopkins story (truly perhaps the greatest session man in r'n'r) is altogether something different. This book is a window into the r'n'r lifestyle of a man few could match.
1616 comments|242 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2011
This book has surprised me. I expected wild stories, fun anecdotes, foul language from time to time, and plenty of music, drugs and sexual escapades. What I didn't expect was Steven Tyler opening up to share his childhood dreams, the extent of his drug habits and glimpses of his insecurities and faltering moments in life. This book shares the life of a unique human being, not an advertisement, as is the case with some celebrity biographies.

The first reviewer, Mr. Jefferson, does a fine job of describing the book, so there's no reason to duplicate his effort. I will say that he's absolutely right in pointing out the conversational style of the writing. At first, I thought it seemed a little disjointed, but once I "got in the groove", the experience was like listening to Steven Tyler talk about life.

If you're easily offended, don't even think about reading this book. If you survived the 60's/70's or if you listen to rock music or if you're intrigued to know the man behind the curtain of scarves, you can handle the wild ride inside.
11 comment|106 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2011
I liked ST back in my early high school years. Really didn't get onboard when Aerosmith had their 90's resurgence & I am NOT a major fan of American Idol. What drew me to this book was Steven's story in Rolling Stone. All I can say is I LOVE the book so far. I love his recollection of his boyhood days. Proof that not every person who struggles with drug abuse had a horrible childhood. His was almost idealic. When I am reading it IS as if he is narrating. If you are familiar with the way he talks...you will totally get the things he says and the stories will flow.
22 comments|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2011
Being a mega-fan of Aerosmith and firmly believing that the Get Your Wings, Toys In The Attic and Rocks albums are the holy trinity of American hard rock I was looking forward to this book with baited breath. Having finished it a few days ago I must admit to being hugely disappointed.
The entire book has rush job written all over it, Tyler was definitely trying to capitalize on his American Idol success. The number of errors is mind-numbing and frustrating for even the most casual fan, here's some of them;
1) Tyler describes penning 'Pandora's Box' for the Rocks album in 1976, when in fact that song appeared on the Get Your Wings album of 1974.
2) Tyler attributes the lyrics to 'Combination' erroneously to 'Bright Light Fright' which appeared a year later on the Draw The Line album.
3) Tyler mentions the inspiration for the song 'Dude Looks Like A Lady' as being derived from a conversation he had with Motley Crue in New York in 1991, the song appeared on the Permanent Vacation album in 1987.
Tyler is no doubt a narcissist and misogynist, he details a sexual relationship with a fourteen year old girl quite graphically, he was twenty six at the time and the whole episode reeks of exploitation.
He later professes indignity that his wife would chastise him for his on the road infidelities stating that it was only 'sex', but claims incredible betrayal when the same woman leaves him after having an affair with a construction worker.
He also confesses to physically abusing the late Cynrinda Foxe-Tyler, his first wife, the details of this abuse were detailed explicitly in her book, Dream On.
Another disturbing passage features Tyler learning of his daughter Mia's self-mutilation when she appeared on Good Morning America, he mentions being horrified that people like Oprah would think he was a horrible father. The fact that he would worry more about how he would look rather than his daughter's well being was troubling to me.
Elsewhere in the book, Tyler randomly attacks friends, ex-girlfriends and bandmates with no rhyme or reason. These attacks reached their nadir when he insulted a bandmate's penis size, a person he once claimed to be good friends with. Really terrible and immature stuff.
Tyler writes in a rambling, stream of consciousness style that borders on incoherent at times. It really adds nothing to the book and negates the impact of some stories that could have been fascinating. It would have been nice to learn more about his overall experience of being a rock star and his relationships with the other guys in the band. Instead the book sometimes feels like a beginner's guide to pharmacology, the amount of space wasted on drug related issues is exorbitant and dull.
Overall, Keith Richard's Life is a much better book, however I strongly recommend Joey Kramer's Hit Hard as one of the most poignant and effective memoirs ever. Kramer's life journey should serve as an inspiration of personal growth and self-discovery, Tyler's makes me wish I had not read it and instead just stuck to the music.
2020 comments|119 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Steven Tyler has lived the life of a hundred rock stars -- endless amounts of sex, drugs, insane behavior and ear-blisteringly awesome rock'n'roll. He's practically a rock archetype!

So I was expecting that "Does the Noise in My Head Bother You?: A Rock 'n' Roll Memoir" would be a pretty wild ride. Actually, it was more like being dragged behind a roller coaster on a little skateboard -- a wild, raucous, colorful explosion of Tyler's rock'n'roll life, constantly dancing between witty cleverness and manic exuberance.

Stephen Tyler had a fairly ordinary upbringing, which didn't stop him from being the mystical, mischievous wild-child of his New York family. And though his father was a pianist, he fell in love with rock'n'roll at an early age, cycling through several small-time bands and roaming through the wilds of 1960s New York City.

But his life REALLY changed when he met his "mutant twin," Joe Perry ("Joe is cool, Freon runs in his veins; I'm hot, hot-blooded Calabrese, a sulphur sun beast, shooting my mouth off"). And lo, rock history was made. Their band Aerosmith rapidly ascended to become one of the biggest in rock history, careening and soaring along with Tyler's own ups and downs -- marriages, children, drugs and the band's breakups and reunions.

"Does the Noise in My Head Bother You?: A Rock 'n' Roll Memoir" is very different from most rock memoirs, which are usually written when the rock star's brain has cooled down and grown up. Steven Tyler still seems to be shooting off crimson sparks in every direction, ranting and rejoicing with insane joy.

This is also how he writes. He rambles energetically about the events of his life with surprising clarity, but he often interrupts himself with weird asides ("No wonder I got Lead Singer Disorder") and meditations on sex, women, drugs, God, childhood... and of course, music ("The blues, man, the blues... the blooze! That achin' ol' heart disease and joker in the heartbreak pack, demon engine of rock...")

And yes, he has countless interesting stories to tell, whether it's searching for elves in the Sunapee woods or getting bawled out by Anita Pallenberg for buying a book on black magic.

Tyler himself comes across as a giant, exuberant man-child, still crammed with insane energy. He's obviously very clever and intelligent (he boasts about rigging up electric fences IN HIS BEDROOM), and he stirs in literary references with his rock'n'roll knowledge. But he also includes some wrenching moments that have obviously scarred him deep, such as when he learned of his daughter Mia's troubles with cutting and drugs.

There's obviously still a lot of noise in Steven Tyler's head, and his wild, deranged memoir sweeps you away and sinks you into the manic recesses of his brain. Warning: do not operate heavy machinery while reading this!
44 comments|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2011
The first half of the book is semi-interesting as we learn that Mr. Tyler was a nature lover as a child, and had a remarkably "normal" upbringing for a guy who spent the rest of his life so messed up. I read it, hoping to get some insight into the seventies era Aerosmith when they were a legitimate rock band. Unfortunately there isn't much enlightening information about that period, and the book soon sinks into a monotonous recounting of Tyler's drug abuse/rehab cycle. Ultimately, Tyler comes off as the shallow, self-absorbed rock star caricature he always wanted to be. Kudos to anyone who could read the entire book - I certainly couldn't.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2011
As far back as I can remember, I have loved Steven Tyler and I have loved Aerosmith, who doesn't? I have every studio album they have done and I am eagerly awaiting this new album they are supposedly working on. I even love him as a judge on American Idol. As far as I'm concerned, what ever this guy touches turns to gold, except for this book.He just seems to ramble on and on and on . . .
Every time you think you're getting to hear a good story about one of their albums, or something else you've been looking forward to hearing about, he goes of on some little tangent about drugs or something without ever finishing the story he was telling. If you are a fan, I would say to spend your money on some of his music rather that this book. I guess you might like it if you were'nt expecting a memoir. If you where expecting to hear a few strange stories without actually finding out anything about his career or his life than, get this book.
The man is an awesome performer, writer, singer etc but I wouldn't consider him an author. Don't bother with this, you won't get any insight into his life.
33 comments|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2011
If you were hoping to find out things about the band and Steven your sort of in luck.But you must wade through another 300 or so pages of Tyler complaining how everyone else is an a**hole and he isn't.After reading about how he has tried quitting drugs about 50 times you yell "enough already".I am a recovering addict myself and yes people slip but when he's telling you that he's snorting lunesta?? you just want to scream.As far as his ongoing battles with Joe Perry,again it's Joes fault it's Joes wifes fault it's the managers fault ETC.

He does surprise you with his musical knowledge as far as writing music and playing it,but again it's like pulling teeth to get to the good parts.Some parts were very interesting but again when he starts giving reviews of Re-Habs as you would a restaurant it gets very old very quickly.

Save the money and get this from your library.
22 comments|51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2011
I have to give him credit for putting all cards on the table! I too am amazed that he can put complete articulate sentences together after that amount of HEAVY drug use. I was getting nauseous when he was describing what he has ingested at times...blaahhgg!! He is really blessed to say the least! I too a amazed the editor did not edit a bit more to keep the time line.....the book started out really fun about his childhood, and leading up to the Rock scene - The center of the book which is all about the drug craziness and scrapping literally made my head spin. He has alot to say, and says it in a rambling, spinning sort of way about those times....I skipped the end of Ch5 and lighlty skimmed through 6 & 7 because there was too much drug/raunch story redundancies. No real meat about those times just a bunch of stories that will appeal to the male audience and make the female audience see that fantasies about being with a Rock Star can really mess you up good!!.......However;
It is a fun story (We are listening to it on CD)...with quite a bit of reality enhancements for sure, as only Steven can do, but he admits that too! He adds quite a bit of fantastical/cosmic awareness at the time he was super goofed up on multiple substances. This is clearly built in hind sight...because, at the time he was in such a raging stupor!
My husband ( who is Stevens age) listened to it along with me. He never knew anything about Steven Tyler or this era of Rock and Roll.
He was wide eyed and looking at me quite suspiciously, wondering .... Did you do that? Do you condone this? Do you idolize this?
lol..lol..lol.....well..what happened in the '70s stays in the '70s until someone writes about it!!! I am quite certain if I did what he did I wouldn't be alive to tell about it! It's made for great conversation between us.
It's a fun book, fun stories, take most of it with a grain of salt, and know it's an adventure of a Cosmic Sunapee Fairy Creature making his way through the big Cities on a tour bus, and finding his way back home again.
Steven in all his complexities is such a lovable character!!!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2011
I'm a rock 'n roll fan and also a mental health professional that's been in the field for over twenty years. Tyler's book is an interesting read for the most part, but problably not for the reasons he intended.

Tyler basically comes across as completely self-absorbed and narcissitic. All his various problems and addictions are caused by unfeeling band members, managers, wives, girlfriend, etc. Nothing is his responsibility. In one section that's unintentionally funny, he talks about his serial infidelity (it's a rock 'n roll thing) and blames his wife for being unfeeling and uncaring. Doesn't she know screwing a lot of women is a job requirement? Why can't she understand Steven's just doing his job? He ends the chapter talking about how lonely it is to be a rock star. Poor guy.

Other than Joe Perry, his fellow band members are barely mentioned. Tom Hamilton co-wrote "Sweet Emotion" and Brad Whitford co-wrote "Last Child," two of the band's biggest hits; yet you never learn anything about them personally, or what they contributed to the band. Tyler does thoughtfully mention the various band members penis sizes (surprise, Tyler is the biggest dick).

To be fair, the book was entertaining for the most part. Tyler is obviously a talented singer and songwriter. However it's hard to get beyond the overweening self-absorption. As a mental health professional, the book is almost a treatise on narcissism (lack of empathy for others, grandiosity, a sense of "specialness" and entitlement along with the belief no one understands their "specialness").

If one wants to understand Steven Tyler's chronic drug dependence and endless rehabs that is where you start. A talented man.....not a very good human being.
99 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.