Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bridging the Inter-species Communication Gap
John Ross is vastly under-rated and under-cited; at least it seems that way with other trainers I've spoken with on the East Coast of the USA. This book provided the foundation for my training with my first dog that has led to my entry into professional dog training. While many people looking for house manners for their puppies seem to turn to the Monks of New Skete...
Published on January 24, 1999

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best book out there...
I've been reading book after book on dog behavior, trainging, etc. in preparation for my new puppy. Of all the books I've read this is my least favorite. I feel like the tone of the book is a over-simplified while other great books like "The Other End of the Leash" and "Good Owners, Great Dogs" respect the intelligence of their reader. I also think that using the book...
Published on October 5, 2007 by J. Jones


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Informative and helpful, February 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dog Talk: Training Your Dog Through A Canine Point Of View (Hardcover)
We bought this book with two others and it was one that we referred to often. In our house we referred to the author as "The Arrogant One" as in "The Arrogant One says..." But putting that aside, it was well written and gives great descriptions and instructions. After going about raising our dog this way (and buying three or more books was the suggestion of the Monks from New Skete who raise German Shepherds), we are convinced that folks like John Ross and Barbara McKinney are essential in helping new pet owners make informed decisions. They really helped us gain a good perspective for raising our dog. Highly suggest this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dog Training made simple, September 5, 2009
By 
This review is from: Dog Talk: Training Your Dog Through A Canine Point Of View (Hardcover)
I read this book years ago prior to owning my first dog. I went out and got a beautiful Lab puppy. I used what I had learned from the book and was very pleased with the results. I had a wonderful well trained canine companion for 15 years. I recently purchased this book to refresh my memory as I am now in the market for a new canine friend. If you are looking to purchase a newborn Puppy, I would also recommend "Puppy Preschool" by the same author. I bought both of these books and have not been disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He really shows what it's like to train your dog from the canine point of ..., September 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dog Talk: Training Your Dog Through A Canine Point Of View (Hardcover)
I trained with my Rottweiler under John Ross. He really shows what it's like to train your dog from the canine point of view. His book is very informative and his step by step guide to training is second to none. I have recommended to and purchased this book for many of my friends and relatives who want to know why my dogs are always so well behaved! Follow John's advice and guidance and you will have wonderful canine companions who want to please you at all times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Dog Training Book Ever, June 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dog Talk: Training Your Dog Through A Canine Point Of View (Hardcover)
I trained my Miniature Schnauzer with this book and his Puppy Preschool book. She was fully trained at 4 months old and I get complimented on what a great dog she is all the time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy and effective !, January 29, 2014
By 
Happy reader (Port St Lucie FL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dog Talk: Training Your Dog Through A Canine Point Of View (Hardcover)
This works ! We get compliments regarding our dogs behavior almost daily. We followed the steps outlined in this book and have been rewarded with a dog that is a valued member of our home, and welcomed wherever we go with her. She is happy and looks to us for leadership, being firm when needed, never harsh, rewarding good behavior, understanding how a dog thinks is why this method is successful. Your dog will never think like a human, but John Ross teaches the reader to understand and think like their dog to be successful with training and living together. This is a tried and true method.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love John Ross's Training Tips, December 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dog Talk: Training Your Dog Through A Canine Point Of View (Hardcover)
I always read his column when I was raising my lab. He ideas make good sense.Have a three year old rescue Whippet mix so decided to go to John's book for advice. Again he did not let me down. If you want to have a house dog pal this is the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dog Talk teaches you the way your dog see YOU!, April 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dog Talk: Training Your Dog Through A Canine Point Of View (Hardcover)
Dog Talk teaches you the way your dog see YOU! Dog owners don't realize it but you are always teaching even when you think you are not. This book explains when you do xxxxx, your dog sees and hears yyyyyy. It is a book I reccomend to all my clients. The first 90 pages are essential to all dog owners.
Lauren Trichter
Sarasota County Dog Trainer (Florida)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book plus Puppy Preschool are great for new puppy owners, December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dog Talk: Training Your Dog Through A Canine Point Of View (Hardcover)
Although current trainers believe John Ross's methods are outdated now, my husband and I used them to train a very feisty determined Dane Lab mix who turned out to be a most wonderful, smart companion. His method is also positive reinforcement
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, September 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dog Talk: Training Your Dog Through A Canine Point Of View (Hardcover)
Great product and great service! Every dog owner would benefit from ownig this book. It helps in every aspect of raising my ZuChon propely! Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best book out there..., October 5, 2007
By 
J. Jones (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dog Talk: Training Your Dog Through A Canine Point Of View (Hardcover)
I've been reading book after book on dog behavior, trainging, etc. in preparation for my new puppy. Of all the books I've read this is my least favorite. I feel like the tone of the book is a over-simplified while other great books like "The Other End of the Leash" and "Good Owners, Great Dogs" respect the intelligence of their reader. I also think that using the book recommended "NHAA" over a simple "No" is silly. Anyway, this book is alright, but there are MUCH better out there. Try the two listed above as well as "Positive Perspectives; Love your dog, Train your dog" by Pat Miller and "The Art of Raising a Puppy" by the Monks of New Skete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dog Talk: Training Your Dog Through A Canine Point Of View
Dog Talk: Training Your Dog Through A Canine Point Of View by Barbara McKinney (Hardcover - April 15, 1995)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.