Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Happening At The Zoo--I Do Believe It (With Apologies to Paul Simon)
Calvin Trillin is at it again, covering the 2012 presidential campaign in rime. While I suspect most readers would agree that he will never be in the league with Dorothy Parker and Ogden Nash-- sometimes his lines get a little forced but they of course do finally rime-- Mr. Trillin is quite good at covering practically all that happened in one of the most god-awful...
Published on November 28, 2012 by H. F. Corbin

versus
19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clever, but....
"Dogfight", Calvin Trillin's new offering regarding the 2012 presidential race, has much of the old Trillin in evidence...wonderful insights measured and often matched by clever verse. There are some real gems, too....."Michele, our belle", (referring to the Michele of the Bachmann, not Obama variety) is the best in this collection. In fact, the author is at his peak here...
Published on November 28, 2012 by Jon Hunt


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Happening At The Zoo--I Do Believe It (With Apologies to Paul Simon), November 28, 2012
This review is from: Dogfight: The 2012 Presidential Campaign in Verse (Hardcover)
Calvin Trillin is at it again, covering the 2012 presidential campaign in rime. While I suspect most readers would agree that he will never be in the league with Dorothy Parker and Ogden Nash-- sometimes his lines get a little forced but they of course do finally rime-- Mr. Trillin is quite good at covering practically all that happened in one of the most god-awful campaigns in recent history. A Rip Van Winkle awaking the day after the presidential election would get a pretty accurate account of the circus or zoo (either metaphor works quite nice-- and forgive me-- would suffice) that the campaign became from reading DOGFIGHT. And there is a very good chance that Mr. Van Winkle would wish that he had remained asleep.

Here are some of my favorites of Mr. Trillin's letter bombs in verse:

As in DECIDING THE NEXT DECIDER, he reminds us again that the people on the Sunday shows are "Sabbath Gasbags."

On Mike Huckabee:

"But would he run? He'd hinted that he might,
Then said he had no stomach for the fight.
(Although the actual stomach he'd once shed
Was starting once again to get widespread.)"

On Michelle Bachmann:

"Emerged as Palin lite--or even lighter. " [a scary thought.]

On Donald Trump:

"Gas-filled as if by some gigantic pump."

On Rick Perry:

"With even more impressive hair than Kerry" but Texans
"The space beneath the hair, they say, is airy."

On Herman Cain:

"His ignorance is not what did him in.
No, Cain's campaign was sabotaged by sin."

On Newt Gingrich:

He is such an easy target. Trillin says he has the moral standards of a tick and says he
"Just floated away like a hot air balloon."

On Rick Santorium:

"We'll never find another man
Who's holier than thou."

On Ron Paul:

"So he won't do flip-flops. He long ago flipped."

On Mitt Romney:
(Of course Mitt gets most of Mr. Trillin's bombs since he eventually emerges as the Republican candidate, but this is my favorite:)

"Reveal himself? No, Mitt would not be forced;
The humanizing had to be outsourced.
And so Ann Romney, Mitt's appealing bride,
Proclaimed there was a human being inside
This mannequin. Of this she seemed assured.
No details though. We'd have to take her word."

There isn't much for President Obama to do, but his performance in the first debate with Romney is worth quoting:

"The President seemed listless all the while--
Less certain of the points that he would share
And wishing he were anyplace but there."

Finally, Mr. Trillin gets my thanks and gratitude for calling out the neocons for being "draft dodgers all."

So until 2016, we bide this astute observer of our political zoos a fond farewell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clever, but...., November 28, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dogfight: The 2012 Presidential Campaign in Verse (Hardcover)
"Dogfight", Calvin Trillin's new offering regarding the 2012 presidential race, has much of the old Trillin in evidence...wonderful insights measured and often matched by clever verse. There are some real gems, too....."Michele, our belle", (referring to the Michele of the Bachmann, not Obama variety) is the best in this collection. In fact, the author is at his peak here when he delivers new lyrics to old songs.

What is lacking, however, is cadence. Trillin's poems don't trip off the tongue so much as they stumble. A few too many syllables spoil much of his work and many are easily "correctable" to fit a rhythm that would work perfectly. It's a shame because his poems reveal such a wonderfully expansive mind. "Dogfight" has its moments of brilliance but there could have been many more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trillin leaves you grinnin', November 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dogfight: The 2012 Presidential Campaign in Verse (Hardcover)
I'v got quite a few books by Trillin. This one is a nice book of the 2012 election in rhyme. Almost overlooked it, glad I bought. Very entertaining. Low price, fast read. Worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not As Good As Expected, January 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Somehow, although the poems are clever, this one did not "grab" me the way some of Trillen's other stuff did. In fact, after getting half-way through, I put it down. But remember, ANY criticism is merely an opinion; e3ven the so-called experts. And I'm certainly not that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Calvin Trillin!, December 29, 2012
By 
Tina B. Tessina "Dr. Romance" (Long Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the most fun thing of the whole campaign. All the ads should be written by Trillin -- clever, light-hearted, pithy and to the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short but excellent book!, December 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a very nice book, it is funny, intelligent, surprisingly accurate to the point of being somewhat of a historical account. I bought it on kindle but am re-buying in hard cover, this is a book that one may want to keep in one's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, but amusing, December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've long been a fan of Calvin Trillin's work. He's brilliant and funny, and consistently entertaining. This book, sadly, is a letdown. The verse doesn't scan and is only mildly amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 10, 2014
This review is from: Dogfight: The 2012 Presidential Campaign in Verse (Hardcover)
Very Funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best part is the Republican primary race, July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Highly amusing and accurate account of the election. The best part is the Republican primary race. The ending is a lot less hopeful than his book about the 2008 election but that was to be expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great content, but...., March 26, 2014
Loved the content. Just got tired of the style. Hard to believe anyone thought the GOP ran a serious campaign. Scary to remember that they had so many wackadoodles...and even more so, now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dogfight: The 2012 Presidential Campaign in Verse
Dogfight: The 2012 Presidential Campaign in Verse by Calvin Trillin (Hardcover - November 20, 2012)
$16.00 $11.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.