Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two tails up!
Dog tales are always a big hit with kids. This one combines adorable illustrations, simple text, and a poetry lesson all in one. A great introduction to haiku, along with an explanation of it in the back. Love it!
Published on August 9, 2007 by J. A. Davis

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Perhaps I was looking for something more. I felt this book didn't really teach anything to toddlers, preschool, or elementary children anything about dogs or animals, which is what I was looking for.
Published on June 9, 2011 by AL


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two tails up!, August 9, 2007
By 
This review is from: Dogku (Hardcover)
Dog tales are always a big hit with kids. This one combines adorable illustrations, simple text, and a poetry lesson all in one. A great introduction to haiku, along with an explanation of it in the back. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Praises!!!, July 22, 2007
This review is from: Dogku (Hardcover)
Dogku is wonderful. I am a dog lover as well as an educator and found this book to be one of my favorites. It helps introduce children to haiku.Praises for Dogku!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great haiku lesson, April 22, 2009
By 
FRG Leader "Jennshu" (Northglenn, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dogku (Hardcover)
I bought this book to use in a fourth grade classroom as we begin a unit on Haiku. It is a wonderful story that successfuly uses a new haiku for each page of text. It beautifully captures the life of a stray dog who finds a home but can't quite behave as the family would like him to. Overall this dod is living the good life with his adorable new family.

The illustrations are wonderful! I find myself paging through it just to look at the pictures again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adorable introduction to the art of haiku poetry, April 30, 2009
This review is from: Dogku (Hardcover)
This book combines charming illustrations with haiku poetry to tell the story of a cute little stray dog and the family who adopts him.

My son, who is a toddler, loved the pictures (he is a dog lover!). The cute, colorful illustrations remind me of the artwork in Cowlick! (Deluxe Golden Book). (For more of Tim Bowers' excellent artwork, check out Fun Dog, Sun Dog.) As far as reading it to a young child, because of the haiku verses it feels a little disjointed and choppy as you read it to a child too young to appreciate the haiku.

However, having said that, I think that this would be wonderful for a little bit older child. What a fun introduction to the art of haiku. Clements even includes an explanation of haiku in the back. "That's what haiku is like...a small container. Choosing a small container can help you pick the perfect words and arrange them just right." He explains that this is why he made it a picture book, because a picture book is also like a small container - "not many pages, not many words."

This is an adorable book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful introduction to Haiku for young readers!, October 6, 2008
This review is from: Dogku (Hardcover)
I actually got this book for my 3.5 year-old daughter and though she is a bit young to grasp the concept of Haiku, the story itself is poignant and captivating. It centers around a stray dog that finds a home with a nice family, and this is told in a series of Haikus. The illustrations are nice yet what I loved most about the book was the haikus themselves. Such a simple form that managed to convey the message of adoption. I'm looking forward to other works by Andrew Clements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I DO LOVE THIS LITTLE BOOK. THE LITTLE ONES CAN LEARN SO MUCH FROM IT AND ADULTS CAN SIMPLY ENJOY., October 14, 2011
This review is from: Dogku (Hardcover)
Hmmm, let me see. We have a small and easy to read book. The book is about a loveable dog. The art work is excellent; cute and beautifully executed and then, to top it all off, the entire book is written in a series of Haikus. The author, Andrew Clements has come up with a complete winner and I have to tell you that this is one of my favorite books written for children.

The story line here is simple. A raggedy little terrier dog; a stray who is tired, hungry and very dirty shows up at the back door.

"There on the back steps.
the eyes of a hungry dog.
Will she shut the door?"

Mom is in the kitchen cooking, sees the dog and of course relents.

The little scruffy dog makes himself right at home and almost becomes an instant member of the family.

"Morning brings children.
Hugs, licks, barking, and laughing.
Warmer than sunshine."

All is well...or is it? The family departs, doing things that families do during the day and the new little dog is left alone in the house...alone, alone, alone. What is a puppy to do?

"The house is quiet.
No kids, no mom, and no food.
What's a dog to do?"

Well our little white shaggy ragamuffin does what comes natural for such bright little creatures:

"Chew on dirty socks.
Roll around in a week-old trash.
Ahhh...that's much better."

Good grief, Mooch (That is what the family has named the dog) is in big time trouble. The family holds a meeting. Mooch overhears the work "pound" mentioned. Oh my! Dad departs. Oh my...again!

What will be done?

Like many of the other reviewers here, I cannot think of a better book to introduce the young to the delights of haiku. Each little piece is precise. Each is strict to the 5/7/5 rule. The author says so much with so few words...three lines, 17 syllables and the child learns so much. It is fascinating to watch children use this book. Once they catch on to what is going on you can see them counting the syllables and pondering the words..Inevitably they will then take the next step and start writing their own.

I must confess to you that I am particularly fond of this book as the little dog Mooch is almost identical to my Ivan (Named after Ivan the Terrible) who came to our door some three years ago; ragged, tired, hungry and dirty. He has been my constant companion since.

This is a good book folks...give it a read and expose your children to an art form that will give them a lot of satisfaction for the rest of their lives.

The author has also been kind enough to give a little short haiku lesson at the back of the book

Don Blankenship
The Ozarks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dogku - fun story for all, June 19, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dogku (Hardcover)
Clever, funny and well-written story of a homeless dog that finds a home with a nice family, written in haiku. My 8 1/2 year old neighbors loved the story. They had just learned about haiku in school and enjoyed reading the story and counting out the number of syllables. The illustrations are first rate, too. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dogku, October 2, 2008
By 
This review is from: Dogku (Hardcover)
A wonderful book! Kids will delight in the poetic story, and the illustrations capture the mood and flavor of this loveable dog. What a great tool to use with any age to take a favorite subject and make it a haiku. As with all other Andrew Clements books, he thinks like a kid and writes so they are engaged. Adults who love children's literature will have to surmise he never "grew up" and lost the ability of being a kid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book, May 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dogku (Hardcover)
Beautiful haiku that tells a story of a lost dog finding a new home at the same time. Appropriate for grades 1-5 frankly. Read it to grade 4 and then did our own animal haiku.poems. Some children told a story like Clements in haiku - others just wrote a couple of verses about an animal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very cute story; enjoy reading this book; nice pictures; good for kindergarten to first graders; happy with this purchase, November 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dogku (Hardcover)
very cute story; enjoy reading this book; nice pictures; good for kindergarten to first graders; happy with this purchase and
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dogku
Dogku by Andrew Clements (Hardcover - June 26, 2007)
$17.99 $13.35
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.