Prime Music
& FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by
Gift-wrap available.
FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by ExpressMedia
Condition: Used: Very Good
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Dohnanyi: Violin Concerto, No. 2
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Dohnanyi: Violin Concerto, No. 2

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Instantly with Prime Music Album
Other Formats & Versions Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, November 20, 2001
"Please retry"
$4.99 $3.40

Product Details

  • Composer: Erno Dohnanyi
  • Audio CD (November 20, 2001)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Asv Living Era
  • ASIN: B00005QITH
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #495,487 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. American Rhapsody, Op. 47
2. Harp Concertino, Op. 45
3. Romanza
4. Violin Concerto No. 2 in C minor, Op. 43: Allegro molto moderato
5. Violin Concerto No. 2 in C minor, Op. 43: (Intermezzo) Allegro commodo e scherzando
6. Violin Concerto No. 2 in C minor, Op. 43: Adagio molto sostenuto
7. Violin Concerto No. 2 in C minor, Op. 43: Allegro risoluto e giocoso
8. Wedding Waltz, Op. 18 No. 4

Editorial Reviews

8 tracks. Janice Graham, violin. Lucy Wakeford,harp. English Sinfonia, John Farrer

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By J Scott Morrison HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on May 4, 2005
Format: Audio CD
If there's anything you can say about the music of Ernst von Dohnányi, it's that it is always well-made, tuneful and charming. To quote Balint Voszonyi's article about Dohnányi in The New Grove, the composer had 'an unerring mastery of form and instrumentation, fluency, and a rich but utterly natural sense of harmony.' That description fits the music on this disc right through the last track. Some of it is not deathless--the 'American Rhapsody' is probably only a step above pops concert music (and great fun, with its quotations from American folksongs -- 'On Top of Old Smoky' figures prominently). The 'Wedding Waltz' from 'The Veil of Pierrette' is more of the same sort of thing, and completely luscious. But the three other works are more than just charming, they are simply beautiful.

The big work here is the Second Violin Concerto, a four-movement work, that is in the tradition of the big Romantic concerti. It starts with a rather biting first section but soon grows into a full-fledged Brahmsian-cum-Korngold work that overflows with invention, great melodies, expert counterpoint and orchestration. There are many reminiscences of Hungarian folk music. Its dramatic arc is satisfying in the extreme. There is much opportunity for virtuosic display by the soloist including numerous cadenzas. The violinist here is the concertmaster of the English Sinfonia, Janice Graham, and she plays with big tone and considerable brio without abandoning her basically lyrical sound. One wonders why this concerto isn't heard more often.

The pastoral Harp Concertino is a one-movement work that was written about the same time as the Second Violin Concerto, in the late 1940s after Dohnányi had moved to the United States.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in