Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired Work
DOING BUSINESS BY THE GOOD BOOK is an inspiring collection of business truisms based on Biblical teachings. The author of the book, David Steward, is a very successful businessman and the founder and CEO of a billion dollar company called World Wide Technologies. Establishing his company in the highly competitive "tech" field was not easy, especially when there were...
Published on April 2, 2004 by The RAWSISTAZ Reviewers

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good Business, Bad Bible
I was assigned this book for a class at seminary.

Written by a self-made African-American entrepreneur, who obviously holds deep convictions about how his faith impacts his life in the business world, this book claims to provide "52 lessons on success straight from the Bible." David Steward's life is a "rags to riches" story. Born into a poor family on the...
Published on March 3, 2010 by Geoffrey R. Folland


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired Work, April 2, 2004
By 
The RAWSISTAZ Reviewers (RAWSISTAZ.com and BlackBookReviews.net) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doing Business by the Good Book: Fifty-Two Lessons on Success Sraight from the Bible (Hardcover)
DOING BUSINESS BY THE GOOD BOOK is an inspiring collection of business truisms based on Biblical teachings. The author of the book, David Steward, is a very successful businessman and the founder and CEO of a billion dollar company called World Wide Technologies. Establishing his company in the highly competitive "tech" field was not easy, especially when there were countless naysayers who doubted that a small minority business could garner success in this area. However, Steward credits his commitment to God's principals as the driving force behind his corporate success. Already known as a dominant business leader, David and his wife were asked to teach a Sunday School class for business people. It is this Sunday School class, called Doing Business by the Book, which provided the material for this powerful book.
The lessons in the book are set up in an easily understood manner. Each of the 52 lessons has its own theme and includes a scriptural passage relating to the particular theme. The actual "meat" of the lesson includes the author's interpretation of the scripture and his own experiences with the theme. Steward provides readers with a wealth of information and willingly uses his own experiences as examples.
While this book is targeted towards a business audience, the lessons will motivate anyone who reads it. The book covers a broad array of subject areas, including planning, communication, networking, and flexibility. However, the most powerful message in the book is that our morals and values should be upheld in all aspects of our lives, including the professional arena. David Steward provides relevant, hard-hitting food for thought and his personal experiences are just as powerful as the Biblical lessons he teaches. DOING BUSINESS BY THE GOOD BOOK will provoke readers to examine themselves and consider the word of God before making decisions in their lives. I cannot recommend this book enough.
Reviewed by Stacey Seay
of The RAWSISTAZ Reviewers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful business book using thebible as a guide, December 31, 2003
This review is from: Doing Business by the Good Book: Fifty-Two Lessons on Success Sraight from the Bible (Hardcover)
Perhaps if someone less successful in business than David L. Steward and Robert L. Shook wrote this guide book, readers would chuckle over the concept that the Bible offers sage advice on business practices. Business ethics seems an oxymoron as the Golden Rule of Wall St. seems that them with the gold makes the rule (look at who has access to Mr. Bush, Mr. Clinton or those fiefdoms we dub Congress). However, cynicism aside, Mr. Steward and Mr. Shook makes a strong case that those who follow biblical guidance have a very high chance of success.
The authors break the self help book into fifty two topics such as good leadership, empowerment, networking, conviction, etc. Each chapter contains a brief definition, scripture quotes, and examples of success. The advice is solid as the topics are relevant and biblical citations and parables fit quite soundly in today's information age. This is an insightful and interesting book that encourages people to conduct business activities in a positive manner straight from the bible. Ye who doubt must not forget Abraham. He was the leading businessman of his time until he hears a voice in his head. Heeding the advice, he sells the business, relocates and gives the choice beach front property to his nephew. Following that lordly voice in his brain he becomes the leading businessman again.
Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real classic, March 28, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Doing Business by the Good Book: Fifty-Two Lessons on Success Sraight from the Bible (Hardcover)
There is a handful of terrific books by terrific writers ... few are better than what Robert L. Shook and Dave Steward have put together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be considered "must reading", August 9, 2004
This review is from: Doing Business by the Good Book: Fifty-Two Lessons on Success Sraight from the Bible (Hardcover)
In Doing Business By The Good Book: 52 Lessons On Success Straight From The Bible, Dave Steward (Founder and CEO of World Wide Technology, a privately held, billion-dollar company headquartered in St. Louis, Missouri), draws upon his many years of personal experience and professional expertise to show his fellow Christians how they can succeed in building their business enterprise upon the solid foundation of Scripture. With the assistance of author Robert L. Shook, Steward has organized his presentation into specific chapters deftly addressing such issues as the entrepreneurial spirit and integrity, the concepts of delegation and adaption, finding a niche, providing good leadership in the service of others, building long-term relationships, taking a stand, the necessity for consistency, teamwork, risk-taking, operating a customer-driven company, handling confrontation, accountability, the role of praise and recognition, letting go and allowing God to work His will, and so much more. Doing Business By The Good Book should be considered "must reading" by all dedicated Christians in positions of managerial responsibility whether it be a local enterprise or an international conglomerate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doing Business By the Good Book: 52 Lessons On Success Strai, March 11, 2004
By 
Lisa M. ScottJoiner (ST. LOUIS, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doing Business by the Good Book: Fifty-Two Lessons on Success Sraight from the Bible (Hardcover)
David Steward's book should be required reading by all pastors and in all churches as well as in today's business world. It's wonderful! Easy to read, yet weighty in substance. Using biblical principles, David successfully shows a spiritually, mature integration of these principles and his faith with success and business workplace ethics. Churches could also benefit from this refreshing viewpoint of "doing business by the good book" and note that this "good book" is just as good for religous business. I see this book being used to teach biblical ethics and for bible study and Sunday School (one lesson X 52 weeks).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing!, January 11, 2004
By 
Gabriel (Hampton, VA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doing Business by the Good Book: Fifty-Two Lessons on Success Sraight from the Bible (Hardcover)
This book is the most inspiring how-to business book I have ever read! It is a must read for every principle centered business person. All business people can relate to the personal trials that David Steward overcame by faith. Thank you David for stepping forward and pointing to the source.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars weLEAD Book Review from the Editor of leadingtoday.org, December 21, 2004
By 
Greg L. Thomas (Litchfield, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doing Business by the Good Book: Fifty-Two Lessons on Success Sraight from the Bible (Hardcover)
This book is co-authored by David L. Steward and he is a true success story! He has risen from humble beginnings, and confronted many personal setbacks to become founder and CEO of the largest African-American owned company in the United States. Doing Business by the Good Book is his personal story of the faith and perseverance that he credits for his success. Steward shares 52 principles from the Bible that he believes were intended to be implemented in business strategy and conduct. This is not simply a book that blandly presents 52 Biblical principles. It is David Steward's own story of how these 52 principles impacted his personal and family life to eventually build World Wide Technology, Inc., a privately held billion-dollar company. Doing Business by the Good Book is almost like reading a private diary. Steward discusses his own vivid experiences to teach about business management, ethics, strategy and personal leadership. At the heart of his value system are the Biblical scriptures frequently mentioned throughout the book. A central theme is his belief that giving and serving others is an essential ingredient to becoming highly successful. If an organization honestly serves its employees and customers, their response of loyalty will help achieve an impressive bottom line.

This book is organized into 52 short and readable chapters that can be read in one sitting, or digested as one chapter per week for an entire year. The chapters cover virtually every aspect of modern business and decision-making including integrity, delegation, adapting to change, teamwork, risk-taking, confrontation, mentoring, empowerment, accountability and many more. The foreword is written by former president of the United States, George H.W. Bush. Steward gives much credit and praise for his achievements to his supportive wife Thelma.

Doing Business by the Good Book is an outstanding publication to read whether you are religious or not. Steward doesn't preach or lecture. He simply and gently teaches from the perspective of his personal example and experience like a seasoned old professor who has "done it all". At weLEAD, we rarely call a book inspirational, but this book certainly fulfills that definition. This is a needed and timely book, especially when you look at the evening news and see many business executives being prosecuted for serious crimes and unadulterated greed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good Business, Bad Bible, March 3, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doing Business by the Good Book: Fifty-Two Lessons on Success Sraight from the Bible (Hardcover)
I was assigned this book for a class at seminary.

Written by a self-made African-American entrepreneur, who obviously holds deep convictions about how his faith impacts his life in the business world, this book claims to provide "52 lessons on success straight from the Bible." David Steward's life is a "rags to riches" story. Born into a poor family on the wrong side of the tracks, through hard work and faith, he built a billion dollar Technology Company. The stories he relates from his own life and the history of the company demonstrate his business nous and personal integrity.

Although separated into 52 chapters, there is a lot of repetition throughout the book. The same themes come up over and over again. In my few years in the business world, and in subsequent reading, his points ring true as representing real wisdom. If he had just written a book on how to run a successful business, I would have recommended it to anyone.

My strongest reaction to the book, however, was as a result of his use (or should I say abuse) of Scripture. For a book that was supposed to draw its principles from the Bible, Steward consistently tried to make Scripture allude to the wisdom he was espousing, some of which was biblical and some of which was ungodly. Clearly he is familiar with lots of Scripture, but his understanding of it is woefully inadequate for the task he undertook. I was not just uncomfortable with his use of Scripture; I was deeply offended by it.

The worst abuse of Scripture appeared in his chapter entitled "Building Long-term Relationships" . He claimed that the parable of the sower "illustrates how relationships take time." Not every relationship will yield results, says Steward, but in long-term relationships the yield is substantial and we are abundantly rewarded! Of course, this parable is actually about people's heart response to the preaching of the kingdom. The abuse of this beautiful parable is a pet peeve of mine, but Steward takes its misinterpretation to a new level. He uses this parable to advocate the unbiblical practice of favoritism within the "old school network." Such discrimination, based on the parent's ability to afford elite education, is the very thing that Steward himself testifies to having overcome!

Another ridiculous abuse of Scripture occurs in the chapter entitled "Creativity and Innovation." In describing how these two expressions complement each other, he quotes from Isa 41:6-7, where the prophet is describing the construction of an idol! Steward then says, "Here we are reminded that we must work together, praising and encouraging each other, so that the sum total of our efforts becomes greater than our individual efforts. " Only if we want to be emulating those constructing idols!!!

Numerous other abuses and misuses of Scripture (almost every time the Bible is used!) could be cited. Suffice it to say, though, that this is the worst book on "biblical" principles for leadership or for doing business that I have read. I wish I could somehow recover the hours I wasted reading it. In fact, I found this book so offensive that, if I had the wherewithal, I would purchase every copy in existence and pulp it. My recommendation to David Steward would be to do that very thing in order to protect those with even less understanding of the Scriptures from being led astray by his example, and to rescue his reputation from the derision that such a publication must provoke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must reading for all business leaders, January 19, 2004
This review is from: Doing Business by the Good Book: Fifty-Two Lessons on Success Sraight from the Bible (Hardcover)
Who says good guys don't win! Steward has built the most successful African-American business in the country based on biblical lessons, proving that doing business according to the scriptures is not only the right way but the best way to succeed. Unlike other books on this subject, Steward doesn't preach--he's a successful businessman who tells what he did. His book is filled with ancedotal material that tells what worked for him, and if it worked for him, it can work for you. It's not a "do as I say," but a "here's what I did" book. You don't have to be a biblical scholar to enjoy Steward's message. Each of its 52 business lessons is easy to apply. The book demonstrates that by serving others, your employees and customers will be more loyal and this help to build healthy bottom line. Chapters offer tips on such subjects as: risk-taking,delegating, building long-term relationships, communicating,teamwork, and dealing with adversity. Chapters cite incidents in the bible on how to manage and lead people, and these examples are interwined with how Steward, a highly successful entrepreneur, applied these biblical lessons to build his company, World Wide Technology.
While it sounds elementary, what Steward did is the stuff that builds great institutions. What the author advises is right there in the bible. But applying biblical lessons to modern times is hard for many people to do. In this respect, DOING BUSINESS BY THE GOOD BOOK can be used as a step-by-step primer on how to put into practice what the bible prescribes. Read this wonderful book--it will change your life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Business Must Read!, January 9, 2004
By 
Lovell K. Wilkerson (Topeka, KS United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doing Business by the Good Book: Fifty-Two Lessons on Success Sraight from the Bible (Hardcover)
This book is full of wonderful guidelines and principles to follow if your desire is to be successful in business. An easy and enjoyable read. A must have for any personal business library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Doing Business by the Good Book: Fifty-Two Lessons on Success Sraight from the Bible
$21.99 $16.91
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.