Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Men Italian Style: Masculinity and Sensuality
Uomini is the Italian word for `men' and that is what this beautifully designed book from Rizzoli Publisher is all about. Mariano Vivanco has captured `masculine archetypes, modern Adonis, the hero, the sportsman and the soldier' in this classy portfolio of luxurious black and white and color photographs.

Mariano Vivanco is a fashion photographer originally...
Published on March 22, 2011 by Grady Harp

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good, but, not that good
Please don't expect a lot of frontal nudity. There are some hot men, mostly boys though in Dolce Gabbana underwear. I am tired of Tony Ward and he is featured prominently in this book. The photography is quite good, the models quite handsome, but, in the end it's pretty boring for the price.
Published on May 17, 2011 by Mark S. Benton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good, but, not that good, May 17, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dolce & Gabbana Uomini (Hardcover)
Please don't expect a lot of frontal nudity. There are some hot men, mostly boys though in Dolce Gabbana underwear. I am tired of Tony Ward and he is featured prominently in this book. The photography is quite good, the models quite handsome, but, in the end it's pretty boring for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just okay, July 12, 2011
This review is from: Dolce & Gabbana Uomini (Hardcover)
I felt so excited upon receiving this book, but the passion only lasted halfway through my reading. Most of the pictures are very exquisitely beautiful, but I just can't understand what is with the beach part. Several shots of less famous models (I certainly don't know them) playing along the beach (and several others) are apparently not of the same quality as the first half of the book. And it kind of hindered my whole emotional flow while reading it -- until the nude shots of Chad White picked me up again. And seriously, given all the closefisted picks of big names such as Sam Webb, Clint Mauro and Cory Bond, I see no reason why Tony Ward should get a big mention. Maybe Vivanco has a thing for him, but in my opinion, monochrome pictures just couldn't convey the beauty of the current Ward.

For that matter, I think Bruce Webber's "Roberto Bolle: Athlete in Tights," which attracted some bad reviews, is much better considering that the content is always close to the theme and each picture serves some purpose. But still, I look forward to the David Gandy one. Maybe a coffee table book focused on a single person is easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well. You'll Look At It Once. I Suppose., July 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dolce & Gabbana Uomini (Hardcover)
My knickers were down around my shoes and my artistic sensibilities high and hard in anticipation of this here tome. Dolce and Gabbana.... and Tony Ward too? Woe Woe Woe is me and Woe Woe Woe will be you too....My little heart is torn asunder to report: Boys and Girls. Save your hard earned coin and treat yourself to a massage, a spaghetti dinner or a book by Rick Day. The cover is inviting, but overall? Ever so Ho. Ho. Hum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Men Italian Style: Masculinity and Sensuality, March 22, 2011
By 
This review is from: Dolce & Gabbana Uomini (Hardcover)
Uomini is the Italian word for `men' and that is what this beautifully designed book from Rizzoli Publisher is all about. Mariano Vivanco has captured `masculine archetypes, modern Adonis, the hero, the sportsman and the soldier' in this classy portfolio of luxurious black and white and color photographs.

Mariano Vivanco is a fashion photographer originally from Lima, Peru, but he now divides his time between London and New York creating acclaimed images for internationally renowned magazines such as, Dazed & Confused, Vogue Nippon, Vogue Homme Nippon, Numero, Another Magazine, Man About Town, Allure, Details, GQ Italy, L'Uomo Vogue, 10 and 10 Man. He is an expert in his field and for this publication he has gathered some of the top models in the industry and because the underwriter for this portfolio is Dolce & Gabanna, he has most of his models clothed in that fashion creators' underwear!

Vivanco elects to create sculptural images, placing his models in athletic positions not unlike the sculptures found in public places in Rome. The men are all of perfect bodies and faces and the backgrounds and settings of these images are sophisticated and very much in the Italian vein of beauty. This is a book that celebrates the male form that will appeal to all audiences! Grady Harp, March 11
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Male Beauty, December 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dolce & Gabbana Uomini (Hardcover)
Its a truly beautiful curated book and a feast for the eyes and a tribute to the male form which is not celebrated as much in pop culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Service, April 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dolce & Gabbana Uomini (Hardcover)
It is really hard to be asked to reveiw a book that almost 6 weeks later I still have not received. Obviously this seems typical with Amozon that the left hand does not know what the right hand is doing.Dolce & Gabbana Uomini
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dolce & Gabbana Uomini
Dolce & Gabbana Uomini by Mariano Vivanco (Hardcover - March 22, 2011)
Used & New from: $204.13
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.