Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous BUT.............
As an avid boot collector I relish the entire experience.....from the moment I opened the shipping box and saw the beautiful Donald J Pliner box the wonderful experience began.....packaged perfectly I peeled back the layers of paper and was elated at first glance. Mind you, these boots are expensive (for me at least) at purchasing them was not done on a whim.....I looked...
Published on November 27, 2012 by A. Bartlett

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars stitching not strong
I bought these boots fell in love with them right away even though I knew the price was up there. I had to send them back because the stitching started to come apart and got caught in the zipper. I had to send them back. For the money these boots should be flawless.
Published on September 24, 2012 by B. Baker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous BUT............., November 27, 2012
As an avid boot collector I relish the entire experience.....from the moment I opened the shipping box and saw the beautiful Donald J Pliner box the wonderful experience began.....packaged perfectly I peeled back the layers of paper and was elated at first glance. Mind you, these boots are expensive (for me at least) at purchasing them was not done on a whim.....I looked at them about 3,000 times and finally HAD to pull the trigger....after fussing over which color to choose that is! I selected the espresso color and could not be happier with how beautiful these boots are. I grabbed two pairs of sock (one thick and one thin) to try them on with and as a true size 7, had to go with the thin socks not because of the foot fit but because of the ankle fit. I am 5'4", 135 lbs. and can wear every type of boot but these were tight in the ankle area and extremely stiff overall. I felt like I was walking in paper towel cardboard for the first few hours at work (driving was equally wonky as breaking took a few attempts to get used to) but as the day wore on they softened up and stretched quite a bit. I felt the inside zipper rubbing my ankles for most of the day and will switch to thicker socks as soon as I am able. The arch support doesn't exist and I can feel the cold street through the bottom of the boot which is a bit disappointing especially for the price. Once they stretch out more I will add gel inserts and thicker socks to make them more comfortable. While I am not totally thrilled with these boots as I dreamed I would be, I will keep them and work with them until we are best buds....I wanted the black suede pair too (which is why it took so long for me to make this purchase - couldn't decided between the two colors) but will not be buying them now. I have a pair of loden dulce vita Lujan boots that fit perfectly right out of the box for half they price and don't think we girls should have to work this hard to break in a pair of $400 boots....just my opinion....I'm also not thrilled to find out they are made in China now...also did not receive any compliments on these at work as I did the Fergie Ledger 2 boots that look just like these but are not real leather (something to think about if you are a boot collector like me!). I do recommend these but only if you are willing to do the work to make them comfy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bombastic!!, October 18, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I ordered these guys, oh say on a Friday maybe a Monday evening, got 'em yesterday. These thangs(I'm a Southern girl) are LUSCIOUS straight out the box y'all!! I saw these at a local shoe store here in Asheville, NC for $398 I wasn't about to cough up that kinda money when I knew AMAZON would have them at a more reasonable price($5 outside of $200 counts for reasonable to me). Okay, so here's the rundown. The boots fit snug around the calf. I was concerned because I'm a "Big legged" gal, but there is still enough room for thin socks and skinny jeans to fit. I typically wear a size 10-10.5, but I had to order an 11. That's okay though because these boots are so FLYY I would've ordered a 13 if I had to. Be aware that you might need to go up a half size or so to get a good fit in the toe box. The color espresso is really, really dark(Great!!)and will go with so many casual outfits. The stitching is excellent and the leather topnotch. I love a leather bottom shoe/boot, BINGO! These babies got that covered too! 3 brass zippers give these puppies LOTSA attitude. I'm very happy with my purchase. So happy I'm wearing my new boots right now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the Money., September 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I normally wear a size 9medium and ordered a size 9M in these boots. They fit me perfectly, the quality is superb as usual, and they are absolutely beautiful. Can't wait for it to get colder so I can show them off. My 7th pair of Pliners and the quality and fit are consistent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Boots, October 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I went for the Olive colour and absolutely love them, i am in the uk and wanted something a bit different... They fit fantastically and were spot on size wise... I have pretty thick calves and these fitted, although I don't think i can get them over jeans just yet... I am going to save and try to get them in brown also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful & Unique Boots, November 15, 2012
I bought these boots in the Olive color size 10. They are true to size. The leather is very soft on the inside and the outside is a burnished leather so the leather has an antiquing effect. The finish has a rubbed-off appearance with variation of shade so it really creates a unique look. I love the narrow opening as most boots seem to be way too wide in the calf area for me. Overall, great quality and I will purchase this brand again in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE THESE BOOTS!, October 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought these boots last year in black & absolutely LOVE them!! Love the brown ones just as much- extremely comfortable!!! Love the narrow calves! Tons of compliments as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous boot..., September 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is my first pair of Pliner boots. The quality is outstanding, the color and texture of the leather is very rich! The style is a bit "daring" compared to my usual straight-laced look; but because these are so unique and beautiful, I decided to go for it! I did not have the same trouble as one of the other reviewers as far as stitching...so that may be an isolated issue. Sizing is perfect. I wear an 8.5 and these fit true to size. As far as shaft diameter, I have a 14.25" calf and these fit well enough to tuck in a pair of skinny jeans as well as with an above-the-knee skirt. Gorgeous boot ladies!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars stitching not strong, September 24, 2012
I bought these boots fell in love with them right away even though I knew the price was up there. I had to send them back because the stitching started to come apart and got caught in the zipper. I had to send them back. For the money these boots should be flawless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my wife likes them - a LOT, February 4, 2013
By 
solocanoe (fort smith, ar) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
well, I'm a guy...and I'd not give you $25 for a pair of boots that looks like these. They look like I tied them behind my truck and drove down 20 miles of dirt road! lol!

But...my wife loves em. She's easy on her boots and shoes...and has a pair of this brand that's several years old and looks just like she got them...so I expect over the years my shock and horror at the price tag for these (in any condition!) will diminish some. (some...I mean lets face it...$400 for a pair of boots! ah...the things we do for our spouses. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, November 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love the look and colors. Comfortable and very very stylish, love the vintage feel. I bought a half size up, I wear a 6 and bought a 6 1/2. Fits great! Best boots i've purchased to date! Thanks!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.