Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Ships Tuesdays and Fridays. Ref# 1188. GS
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Donizetti: Lucrezia Borgia
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Donizetti: Lucrezia Borgia Import

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Instantly with Amazon Music Album
Other Formats & Versions Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, October 17, 1989
"Please retry"
$99.99 $17.95
"Please retry"
$44.95 $6.49

Amazon's Jonel Perlea Store

Visit Amazon's Jonel Perlea Store
for all the music, discussions, and more.

Product Details

  • Performer: Andrea Mineo, Franco Ruta, Shirley Verrett, Montserrat Caballé, Alfredo Kraus, et al.
  • Orchestra: RCA Italiana Opera Orchestra
  • Conductor: Jonel Perlea
  • Composer: Gaetano Donizetti
  • Audio CD (October 17, 1989)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Import
  • Label: RCA Victor Europe
  • ASIN: B000026H0F
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #872,303 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Prologue: Nella Fatal Di Rimini
2. Prologue: Nella Fatal Di Rimini
3. Prologue: Tranquillo Ei Posa
4. Prologue: Tranquillo Ei Posa
5. Prologue: Tranquillo Ei Posa
6. Prologue: Ciel! - Che Vegg'io?
7. Prologue: Di Pescatore Ignobile
8. Prologue: Gente Appressa - Io Ti Lascio
9. Prologue: Maffio Orsini, Signora, Son Io
10. Act I, Scene 1: Nel Veneto Corteggio
11. Act I, Scene 1: Viva! Evviva! Viva! Viva!
12. Act I, Scene 1: Addio, Gennaro.
13. Act I, Scene 2: Tutto Eseguisti?
14. Act I, Scene 2: CosÌ Turbata?
15. Act I, Scene 2: Soli Noi Siamo.
16. Act I, Scene 2: E SÌ Avverso A Gennaro
17. Act I, Scene 2: Trafitto Tosto Ei Sia
18. Act I, Scene 2: Guai Se Ti Sfugge Un Moto
19. Act I, Scene 2: Infelice! Il Veleno Bevesti
20. Act Ii, Scene 1: Rischiarata È La Finestra
See all 30 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful By Steven Muni on June 21, 2005
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Lucrezia Borgia was first produced in 1833, 18 months after Donizetti's comic masterpiece, L'elisir D'Amore. The music is quintessential bel canto, dominated by the title role, which needs a firebrand soprano to do it justice.

There are two studio recordings, this one made in 1965, and another one 12 years later with Joan Sutherland, Giacomo Aragall, Marilyn Horne, and Ingvar Wixell. While that is a stellar case, this recording is the benchmark.

Montserrat Caballe was 32 when she made this recording, shortly after she revived this opera in a concert production at Carnegie Hall, and was never in better voice. Shirley Verrett was one of the great mezzo-sopranos, and her performance in the trouser role of Orsini is just riveting. Enzo Flagello was a regular at the Met in the 1960s, and sings a robust and solid Alfonso.

But the revelation here is the soaring voice of the woefully under-recorded Spanish tenor Alfredo Kraus. He was a member of a rare and dying breed--a true "tenor di grazia", a high-flying lyric tenor able to spin a supple legato as well as hit the high Cs and Ds. With perfectly secure and seemingly effortless technique and wonderful phrasing, his duets with both Caballe and Verrett are simply magical. One realizes why many critics consider him one of the finest tenors of the 20th century. Listening to this opera will let you understand what bel canto truly means, and what all the excitement is about. If you enjoy bel canto opera, then this recording is a MUST HAVE.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Daniel G. Madigan on November 25, 2013
Format: Vinyl Verified Purchase
Great recording, definitive Lucrezia Borgia, a very hard opera to sing, but Caballe can sing it like Callas would have. Canbe had on CDs as well.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category