Customer Reviews


169 Reviews
5 star:
 (139)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic game -- one of the best ever!
Before this game came out in the 90's I remember seeing a video about it. I knew I had to have it, and bought it immediately upon release. The graphics were absolutely stunning, and are even pretty good by today's standards. The storyline was great and the characters instant classics. And so when I got my Wii one of the first things I did was download this game--one...
Published on June 12, 2007 by bixodoido

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Every other level is fine. This happens in 3 levels throughout the game
During certain levels the picture has some sort of grey and black cage look imprinted in the screen. Every other level is fine. This happens in 3 levels throughout the game. It actually makes the game slightly more challenging.
Published 4 months ago by sarv


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic game -- one of the best ever!, June 12, 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country (Video Game)
Before this game came out in the 90's I remember seeing a video about it. I knew I had to have it, and bought it immediately upon release. The graphics were absolutely stunning, and are even pretty good by today's standards. The storyline was great and the characters instant classics. And so when I got my Wii one of the first things I did was download this game--one of the best I've ever played in over 20 years of gaming.

Needless to say this excellent game has stood the test of time. It is side-scrolling--pre 3-D--but that is one of the game's strengths in my opinion. There are some incredibly difficult levels (the mine cars are very tough), but the game is not impossible to beat and provides just enough challenge to really absorb you in it. Control is fairly simple but another plus--you don't need a whole slew of button combos to master this game, just some dexterity and practice.

I would recommend this game either on the Super NES or as a virtual game for the Wii. Whereas some older games are good just for their nostalgia factor, DK Country is certainly one that can be played and enjoyed even 13 or so years after it's original release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Super Nintendo's last breath, September 4, 2003
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country (Video Game)
When someone insults a next-generation video game's graphics with something like, "It could have easily been done on SNES," she or he may not remember Donkey Kong Country. Even on on X-Box, GameCube, PS2, or that Phantom thingy, the graphics on this baby are no insult. The CG resolution is crystal-clear and the animation in unparalelled. The rain fits perfectly and the transition of weather is flawless. The music isn't bad either . . . it's great, from Funky Kong's theme and the water stages to Candy's lovable romance beat and the final battle with King K. Rool. Both graphics and sound really push the SNES to its limits.
As for the gameplay, that's great too. The difficulty can challenge and even frustrate you, but you'll be coming back for more. If I have to say anything bad about the game, Dixie Kong is not here yet and there are no digitized voices. There are grunts and cries, but no actual words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Donky Kong rules!, October 18, 2002
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country (Video Game)
Who would've thought that the Donkey Kong series which started out as an "ape throwing barrels at people" game would turn into a full scale, 5 star, action/adventure extravaganza??? Donkey Country had it all. Flawless, clean and sometimes breath taking graphics and effects to complement the endless arrays of level by level challenge and outstanding game play.
The many bonus levels intrigued you and challenged you to be your best. The animal companions gave you an extra incentive to play because the Swordfish, the Rhino and the Frog made it that much better and that much fun.
The other thing that really revolutionized action/adventure type games was Donky Kong Country's boards and levels because none were exactly the same. Each board had it's individual quirks and perks and each board gave you that needed challenge that other action/adventure type games lacked at the time.
You could not put this game down. Me, personally, after 8 months after this game's release, I was still playing it because it was still that good (that and I was determined to play a perfect game and clear all the boards including the bonus levels).
This was the first installment of the newly revived series and it was a MUST NEED and still is. I would definately recommend this series to anyone and for those of us Triple Crowners (own the PS2, X-Box and Gamecube), I would definately stop all of the other games I was doing when the next installment of the Donky Kong series came to the home system. But for now, get this one and play the hell out of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Don't Get Much Better Than This, July 26, 2001
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country (Video Game)
When rumours of new 32-bit consoles were becoming a reality many fans began to forget about the Snes, that was of course until the release of `Donkey Kong Country'. A game so ahead of it's time that at it's first E3 showing many reporters mistook it for a N64 game.
With a revolutionary graphics engine and fantastic gameplay to boot, `Dkc' took the gaming world by storm and indeed acted as the final nail in the Megadrives coffin. Also notable is that this was the first `Big hit' from gaming giants Rare who would follow with the classics `Goldeneye' and `Perfect Dark'.
Another important point is that this game `is' completely without flaws, the rendering is perfect and the games music is one of the best soundtracks ever recorded. In technical retrospect `Dkc' is a 2d sidescroller with a 3d graphics overhaul, in English any fan of platformers should not be without this inspirational classic.
`Donkey Kong Country' was also the largest ever cartridge at the time carrying a massive (at the time) 32mb, and `til this very day the game remains a classic. If you still have a Snes or your a retro gaming fan like myself you should pick this up as soon as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first game I ever played!, October 18, 2004
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country (Video Game)
I remember playing this. I had a lot of fun with it. It saved Nintendo, really it did!

Graphics:11/10: It set the SNES to its limits. Crystal clear 3D images. Great rain and water.

Sound:10/10: Great sound. The monkey's grunts sound pretty good.

Music:10/10: Jungle music that is very catchy.

Gameplay:9/10: Although not as good as the other 2, it's fun.Play as Donkey or Diddy and romp through many worlds. You can also ride on animal buddies, too.

I suggest you to get this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Greatest Donkey Kong Game EVER!!!, January 17, 2007
By 
PRC928 (Sonoma, CA USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country (Video Game)
The Greatest Game of Donkey Kong History.

Game Play 10/10 -/- Simple, Hard, but Very Fun.

Graphics 10/10 -/- When It Comes To Donkey Kong Country, Good Graphics are an All-Time-High. Nintendo Wasn't Lying when the box art said "3D GRAPHICS."

Music 9/10 -/- Some good stuff. and that's saying a lot because I mostly listen to Punk Rock.

Overall 10/10 -/- Greatest DK Game. THE most "action-packed" game... at least until the second one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Donkey Kong, April 5, 2004
By 
Meg "Livin la vida loca in Maine!" (Presque Isle, ME, United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country (Video Game)
I remember in 1994 how incredible I thought this game was graphically. Looking back at it now, in this era of PS2, Xbox, or GC, it still stands up. Why? Not only is it an awesome game, with many different levels, the graphics are still awesome. SNES was one of the best systems that ever came out. This is one reason why. If you're looking for a great game, check this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remember when this came out around 1994 or 1995?, September 17, 2002
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country (Video Game)
I knew sheer bliss playing this game, it made 2d gaming look amazing, and the Super Nintendo appeared impossibly, invincibly powerful. A great, classic game, I just wish they made games like it for Gamecube...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST series on the BEST system, October 22, 2005
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country (Video Game)
Who knew a game with primates would be so fun??? Well this is one of my favorite games of all time and thousands of others. You may ask why? Blow the dust off your Super Nintendo(if you still have it) and pop it in. Look at the beautiful character models and backgrounds as Donkey Kong is beating his chest. Listen to the brillant songs of the jungle. Still not convinced. Play the game. You'll enter a vibrant jungle world, a frozen winter world, and a polluted industry world just to name a few of the worlds in the game. Oh and if you forgot, SNES is the best system ever so you know its a good game. Nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The SNES's Shining Moment, December 9, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country (Video Game)
This game is definitely hands down one of the greatest video games to ever be released.

Donkey Kong Country was a game that revealed the positive side of the barrel-throwing Donkey Kong. It also introduced Donkey Kong's sidekick Diddy Kong. And with the graphic production from Rareware, the stunning graphics blew any other SNES games' graphics away!

This game is a definite challenge for the player. The game structure is defined by challenge levels and the boss battle at the end of each "world", which sounds pretty formulatic, but you won't even care once you start playing the game.

I have also never played a video game with such an atmospheric and amazing musical score as well. It really brings out the atmosphere in this game. Whether you're in the jungle, deep in the caverns, or swimming with the fishes, there's always a suiting soundtrack to each level.

I don't want to tell any more than what I have, as I might spoil the plot if I do, but if you're looking for a fun, spectacular, mind-blowing (at least for a game released in 1994) and classic game, Donkey Kong Country awaits. And so does the stolen banana horde.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Donkey Kong Country
Donkey Kong Country by Nintendo (Nintendo Super NES)
Used & New from: $25.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.