Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Offbeat Mysteries with Strong Social Undercurrents
Guido and Paola Brunetti are two of the most compelling and believable characters in these mysteries. You will enjoy them all, but there are some cautions. First, some of the mysteries are not "solved" in the sense that some culprit is rightfully brought to trial and imprisonment. Second, some of the plots may actually cause you considerable worry and sorrow,...
Published 16 months ago by TomCZorn

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars can't watch
What was Leon thinking? Impossible even with the sound on mute. Language wrong, body movements wrong, even the haircuts are wrong.
Published 10 months ago by Johann Stallings


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Offbeat Mysteries with Strong Social Undercurrents, May 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Donna Leon's Commissario Guido Brunetti Mysteries - Episodes 15 & 16 (DVD)
Guido and Paola Brunetti are two of the most compelling and believable characters in these mysteries. You will enjoy them all, but there are some cautions. First, some of the mysteries are not "solved" in the sense that some culprit is rightfully brought to trial and imprisonment. Second, some of the plots may actually cause you considerable worry and sorrow, although they all include at least a bare minimum of occasional humor. Finally, I am not fluent in Italian, and most of the actors in these mysteries are native speakers of German, which is the language used for the DVDs. Fortunately, clear English subtitles are used throughout, with relatively few glitches. Nevertheless, I found myself listening to the German rather than reading the English, and since the locale is Venice, I sometimes suffered a measure of cultural dislocation. But that is minor. You will definitely enjoy these mysteries no matter what your native tongue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brunetti, July 25, 2013
This review is from: Donna Leon's Commissario Guido Brunetti Mysteries - Episodes 15 & 16 (DVD)
I got all all of them and it is one of the best set of DVD's I have ever bought. They are as good as Donna Leon's books. Subtitles - a great assistance for us older types.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want more, October 20, 2013
By 
J. Duetsch "bookworm" (WARREN, NEW JERSEY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Donna Leon's Commissario Guido Brunetti Mysteries - Episodes 15 & 16 (DVD)
Can not get enough of these episodes. Acting and facial expressions are wonderful.. Do not mind that they speak German....please give us more like this...Donna Leon cannot stop writing about this family and police department.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Donna Leon's Commissario Guido Brunetti Mysteries - Episodes 15 & 16, August 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Donna Leon's Commissario Guido Brunetti Mysteries - Episodes 15 & 16 (DVD)
These murder mysteries are set in Venice, but all of the actors speak German - however, English subtitles follow along. There is much humor woven into all of the stories in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Venice is a character, June 14, 2013
By 
Joanne L Dallas (TRABUCO CANYON, CA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Donna Leon's Commissario Guido Brunetti Mysteries - Episodes 15 & 16 (DVD)
The mysteries are filmed in such intriguing locations in and around Venice. It's like a trip to secret places of the city
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guido Brunetti Mystery, June 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Donna Leon's Commissario Guido Brunetti Mysteries - Episodes 15 & 16 (DVD)
Over the years we have enjoyed the series by Donna Leon and have listened to most of her stories on CD. We were happy to finally get the German TV drama. The stories are difficult to read for me as I don't enjoy when I can't pronounce a lot of the words. The TV series brings the stories to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Donna Leon's Commissario Brunetti - edpisode 15, June 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Donna Leon's Commissario Guido Brunetti Mysteries - Episodes 15 & 16 (DVD)
They took some liberties with the story (15). We haven't viewed (16) yet. While the scenery was gorgeous, it didn't look like the pictures of Brunetti's terrace was taken from the area where D. Leon says he lives, rather the scenery looked like it was taken from the Guidecca. Also, there had been no hint that we'd have to read subtitles. It should have been dubbed! As always with a film
made from a book one has read, the characters did not look as I had imagined. I think Brunetti was more fastidious in dress and
kind in demeanor than in this film. Still, we liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great set of shows, July 30, 2014
By 
Robert Young (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Donna Leon's Commissario Guido Brunetti Mysteries - Episodes 15 & 16 (DVD)
Great series, only small change with shift to a different actor for Brunetti after the first 4 shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, July 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Donna Leon's Commissario Guido Brunetti Mysteries - Episodes 15 & 16 (DVD)
Good acting and good storyline. Not properly Italian though unfortunately, as it is sometimes too 'stiff', instead of more friendly touching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brunetti, June 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Donna Leon's Commissario Guido Brunetti Mysteries - Episodes 15 & 16 (DVD)
Again, my favorite of all the international mysteries. He is handsome, and sometimes his family are quite amusing. The stories all get an A plus from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Donna Leon's Commissario Guido Brunetti Mysteries - Episodes 15 & 16
$29.95 $20.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.