Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: VH1 Presents Live & More Encore!
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Thank you Scientist Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
96
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 26, 2003
An early music DVD release (1999) but don't let that put you off. The picture quality and 5.1 surround sound are perfect. We've all heard of poor 5.1 music DVD's, but this is extremely natural sounding and you feel like you are actually there.
Donna Summer is one of the most gifted female singing artists of our time, and her voice sounds even better in 1999!
Fans and non-fans will enjoy this show because it includes many of her greatest hits, as well as new music. Also included is the hit "No More Tears-Enough is Enough" which she originally recorded as duet with Barbra Streisand. On the DVD, she is joined by Tina Arena for this duet and it is very impressive. Tina Arena has a fantastic voice too. Tina's career hasn't been all that great possibly due to her bad choice of material over the years.
Other highlights include a re-working of "Dim All the Lights" where Donna reveals the true side of dealing with record companies.
I am thrilled that "On the Radio" and "I Feel Love" are included on the DVD. No sign of "State of Independence" but time doesn't allow artists to sing all their songs at concerts.
I now await a Donna Summer music video clips DVD.
11 comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2000
I don't know how it's possible, but Donna Summer's voice has actually IMPROVED over the years. Her updated readings of her classic hits add a new richness and fullness to these fine songs. It's amazing to see her bring a song like "I Feel Love" to LIFE, which was such a studio creation in its original form. You'll love "Dim All the Lights" even more after hearing Donna's story about who she originally wrote this song for (but then changed her mind and kept it for herself!). And who would have thought that Australian chanteuse Tina Arena could fill in for Barbara Streisand on "No More Tears (Enough is Enough)" and not suffer from the comparison?
This DVD is a MUST-HAVE for anyone who has ever enjoyed a Donna Summer song, and it also is likely to win over non-fans through the sheer power of her voice.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2001
naturally, i have been aware of donna summer and her music for many years, even though i had never actually watched her perform her hits on stage. i caught this show on its original airing on VH1, and i was completely spell-bound. Her presence on stage, her command of the audience, and, above all, the power and richness of her amazing voice nailed me. Never resorting to impossible-to-sing-along-with vocal gymanastics, unlike most modern-day divas, Ms. Summer just sings the songs the way they should be sung, with power and precision, and a lot of soul. Her performances of 'Someone to Watch Over Me' and 'If There is Music There' are awe-inspireing. 'Bad Girls' and Hot Stuff' never sounded better, and 'Last Dance' was extraordinary. This concert should be seen by all wannabees in the dance music industry as proof that there should be first and foremost a voice to carry the song. This wonderful lady is proof of that, she's a living legend, and has never sounded better in her life!
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2000
This DVD's been out for a while, so surprising I am the only first to write this review. After several trials of serious listenings to songs by songs in this title. I would like to make a fully review as follows:- If 10 stars is full for rating.
1. SOUND QUALITY - 9 stars 2. PICTURE QUALITY - 8 stars 3. MUSICIANSHIP - 7 stars 4. SONGS ATTRACTION - 9 stars
Donna is sexy and beautiful at the concert, most titles are all hot popular hits. It is enjoyable to listen to all previous superb hits specially the song ON THE RADIO with the tremendous recording technique to make a super presence of being there at the concert.... the audiences' singings with Donna are so transparent to make me feel like being at a forest listening to all those different kinds of birds warble together, what a thrill ! Probably those people would feel like that if they play with 5.1 surround systems, the presence is so fantastic !
Tina Arena appeared in the title NO MORE TEARS who replaced Barbra Streisand is a brilliant take. Hope Tina will release more albums of hers, she really is a good singer.
Anyone who specially loves disco and Donna's singing does not buy this DVD will miss out the best music in their collections.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2006
Donna Summer was a radiant 48 years old at the time of this great live 1997 or 1998 VH1 concert. While Summer had long shed her voracious "Bad Girl" image of the seventies, quite a bit of her ponyish beauty remained intact here. This concert does full justice to her still-beautiful chameleon-like voice as she moves easily from full-throated disco ("MacArthur Park") to pop standards (an exquisite version of Gershwin's "Someone To Watch Over Me")and broadway ("If There is Music There,"), to pop-rock ("She Works Hard for the Money,"), country ("I Don't Wanna Work"), sultry gospel-blues ("Riding Through the Storm") and back again. Summer's rapport, ease and generosity with the audience is equally gratifying. Not unlike many other great artists of yesteryear, feature-length concert footage of Summer is hard to come by, so this DVD is definitely welcome! The sound quality is absolutely amazing--especially given that it came out in 1998, around the time that DVDs first took off! At its best, this concert effectively showcases all the qualities--part glamour girl, comedienne, renegade, devoted wife and mother--that set Donna Summer apart from the rest of the pack.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2002
I'm a fan from Donna Summer for years now and I saw her live last year in Holland! She's really great live, her voice is one of the best in musicbusiness. I've heard Barbra live, but Donna is better. I've heard Celine live, but Donna sings better. So: If you like disco, gospel and a very good voice, buy this DVD. It's great!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2000
From the opening number,the magical MacArthur Park, to the Last Dance finale, this is one scorching summer performance. Never has the Diva Donna looked and sounded so great, each song simply comes to life through Donna's amazing vocal talent. The classic hits still sound so fresh and vibrant as they did when they first boomed out all those years ago and the new songs just make your heart yearn for more.
The concert itself is a fantastic experience for dedicated fans and new recruits alike, it show just what a true performer donna is, My only dissapointment is that i was'nt actually THERE when it all happened.
If you only buy ONE concert video this has got to be THE ONE!
This Summer will last all seasons.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2000
What else could I say but, WOW! The quality of this DVD is awesome and extremely spotless, just right for the queen of disco. Donna Summer is the voice of all dance music and she is the pulse of what you hear today in the clubs. This DVD captures all her hits and let's you not only sing along with it but watch Donna strike a pose doing it! I encourage all to purchase this great DVD and experience a true performer. There's no lip singing here, so sit back, relax and enjoy all the hits from a woman who works hard for the money.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2004
I hate to say it, but the Disco 70s were my "glory years", and Donna Summer personifies that time. Now years later, it is truly wonderful to see a matured and looking fabulous Donna sing these songs again with so much flair: she is clearly having a lot of fun.

Everything about this DVD is so enjoyable--Donna has one of the best voices in the business; it's with good reason she has surivived where others haven't. She looks great, and I love her interaction with the audience, her gestures, and eye communication. She is really quite humorous.

And who knew she could be such a fine singer in other genres? I Don't Wanna Work shows what a great folk singer she is. The songs she wrote for her life-story musical are very good.

The musicians in this production deserve special mention here. They are really excellent, and really make this show come alive. Also great is the light show, the camera work, and don't forget the great audience who are totally appreciative of the Great Diva. The background singers include her husband and sister, and what a hoot they are.

Also I absolutely love the video of Con Te Partiro. It is a clever and wonderfully directed video, Donna looks unbelievable, as is her singing. And for those who love the sight of beautiful men (like me) the accompanying male ballet movements are a real treat!

The only negative thing I can say is the inclusion of that awful "No More Tears" song. It is even more irritating with Tina Arena than it was with Barbara.

Anyone who lived and loved the 70s MUST have this video. And if you are of the younger generation and not familiar with Donna Summer, just get and discover something you are sure to enjoy.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2001
Realmente amo a Donna desde sus comienzos. Seguí fervorosamente su carrera y poseo todo el material que puedo obtener en mi país y el que puedo conseguir de otros lugares. Este DVD es excepcional en todo sentido. Resume perfectamente su carrera y todos los temas interpretados son fabulosos. Pero lo que más quiero destacar es la permanencia y continuidad de esta DIVA ABSOLUTA a través de los años. Fue única en los '70 y alcanzó la cima en los '80. Pero hoy, a 30 años de sus mayores sucesos, sigue vigente y cada tanto nos lo demuestra con distintas apariciones, como en este show. Su VOZ permanece INTACTA, casi me animaría a decir MEJOR QUE NUNCA (HER VOICE IS BETTER THAN EVER!) Desde consagrados éxitos como: Hot Stuff, Bad Girls, Last Dance y un excepcional dúo con Tina Arena en el tema que grabara con Barbra Streisand "No More Tears (Enough is enough)", hasta nuevos temas como "My Life", que es espectacular ("My Life" is amazing!) y que pertenece a una obra suya: "Ordinary Girls", la que espero muy pronto esté en DVD para poder verla completa. El DVD tiene como bonus 2 versiones del tema "Con Te Partiró" (que Donna transformó en esa maravilla que es "I Will Go With You") y datos sobre su biografía y discografía completa; además de datos sobre los lugares alcanzados en los charts por sus temas. En resumen... ESCRITORA Y COMPOSITORA GENIAL; INTÉRPRETE ÚNICA Y MAJESTUOSA!!! No se pierdan este DVD. Don't loose this DVD; it's a fabulous show with THE BEST SINGER IN THE WORLD!!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.