Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT READ!!!
I chose this book because of its five star rating & had to check it out for myself. It literally leaves you hanging off the edge of your seat! I couldnt wait to find out what happened next! If you want to read a super thriller book with extra benefits of mystery, murder, romance & suspense... This book is for you!
Published on September 11, 2005 by A.G.

versus
50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I must expect too much....
At 28, Stephanie Chalice is the top detective in her NYC squad. She is also hot. All of the men around her are hunks. All of them want her. And she's hot. A serial killer is taunting the city. And she's hot. If this seems repetitive, then you have an idea of what this book is like. Murders take a backseat to Stephanie's trials and tribulations as she tries to come to...
Published on November 16, 2011 by Steve in Scottsdale


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I must expect too much...., November 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Don't Close Your Eyes (Stephanie Chalice Thrillers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
At 28, Stephanie Chalice is the top detective in her NYC squad. She is also hot. All of the men around her are hunks. All of them want her. And she's hot. A serial killer is taunting the city. And she's hot. If this seems repetitive, then you have an idea of what this book is like. Murders take a backseat to Stephanie's trials and tribulations as she tries to come to terms with being hot. I can see that a lot of people liked it. But for me, this was a sluggish read with a plot that was given short shrift and a central character that, at many points in the book, I wished had been one of the killer's victims. And oh yeah - she's hot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT READ!!!, September 11, 2005
By 
A.G. (Brooklyn, NY) - See all my reviews
I chose this book because of its five star rating & had to check it out for myself. It literally leaves you hanging off the edge of your seat! I couldnt wait to find out what happened next! If you want to read a super thriller book with extra benefits of mystery, murder, romance & suspense... This book is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Close Your Eyes by Lawrence Kelter, August 13, 2011
This review is from: Don't Close Your Eyes (Stephanie Chalice Thrillers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Lawrence Kelter's writing style reminds me of James Patterson. It's is the type of book that held my interest from the first page to the last page. It ends with wanting more very suspenseful. It's a must read crime, sex, and suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Introducing Stephanie Chalice ..., June 14, 2011
By 
Paul Weiss (Dundas, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Don't Close Your Eyes (Stephanie Chalice Thrillers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Never mind what the title says! Lawrence Kelter's new police procedural thriller is guaranteed to keep your eyes wide open and probably your mouth as well in the bargain!

Stephanie Chalice is a real pip! In many ways, she's reminiscent of her namesake, Janet Evanovich's off-the-wall character, Stephanie Plum - humorous, sarcastic, sharp-witted, irreverent, sassy, sexy and attractive, hot-blooded and endowed with a distinct libido (among other things, of course). But, Kelter's purpose in making this a more dramatic suspense novel is clear. The humour is kept well within bounds. It's never Vaudevillian, slap-stick or over the top. In fact, there are definite whiffs of the influence of today's current crop of much darker, angstier sleuths such as Harry Bosch and Kelter has achieved a unique blend of the light and heavy that makes this a very readable and enjoyable novel indeed.

You'll want to keep your wits about you as read. The plot is best described as thick, labyrinthine and even, at times, somewhat tortuous. Don't let your attention lag!

That said, the ending is rewarding and enjoyable and I've no doubt that, like me, you'll find yourself looking forward to other chapters in Stephanie's life to see where Kelter is going to take that relationship with Mr Lido.

Paul Weiss
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Story, but..., August 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The story is interesting and pretty well-told, but the main character is totally obsessed with what she's wearing, what people think about what she's wearing, what she thinks about what she's wearing, how she feels about what she's wearing. There are lots of cliches in the book and a couple of misused sayings. The author writes well, but he needed a good editor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Close Your Eyes, August 6, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This wonderful book kept me interested from page one! Its the kind of book that keeps you wanting more. There is murder, humor, love & suspense all rolled up into one. The ending has a wonderful twist to it! There are no "dull" parts which made it hard to put down once I started reading it. Lawrence Kelter is a new author, Im looking forward to reading more of his future books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too bad there isn't a 'Zero Stars' option, July 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The only thing that would have made this book better would have been if it had cost $0.00 instead of $0.99.

It is very rare that I will abandon reading a book without having finished it but this one required I do so before I felt ill. Therefore, I can not speak to its police procedural genre since I have no way of knowing how it measured up in relation to the Harry Bosch/Joe Gunther/Thorton Savage novels in term of suspense and hard-driving detective works.

What I found utterly intolerable was the main character's persona. I am not sure why a male writer would depict a woman emulating a stereotypical male ethos but it he did females a disservice with this characters. I have read other novels with female law enforcement as main characters, i.e., the Joann Brady series, and they were good, to say the least. Det. Stephanie Chalice could have gotten shot to death half way through the novel and I would not have missed her at all had the rest of the story turned out to have been a half way decent crime novel.

Caveat emptor: Don't waste your time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Book!, May 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Don't Close Your Eyes (Stephanie Chalice Thrillers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the worst books I've ever slogged through. The author has no idea how women think. The verbiage and thoughts are not even close to reality. A detective obsessing over how she is dressed and over every man is ridiculous. In addition, the technical details are so wrong that it distracts from the book. The mother and father supposedly have type 1 diabetes. The author is too ignorant to understand that type 1 is juvenile diabetes, although adults in their 30s can be diagnosed. The pathology is the pancreas no longer produces insulin and the body starves itself of fuel no matter how much you eat. Without injected insulin, the patient withers away. Most adults, where weight, exercise, diet, and oral medications can help control blood sugar, are type 2 diabetics. Using this as a central tenent of the very flat, comically cartoonish characters distracted from the already bad plot and male jr. high locker room story. As an avid mystery reader of over 10 books each month, I'm always looking for new favorite authors. This one is on the never again list. Incredibly, indescribably bad. Not even worthy of one star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, August 26, 2005
Kelter's "Don't Close Your Eyes" was a fun and easy read with a great ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poss-ibilities, December 29, 2011
By 
Sharon "Sharon" (River of no return) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Don't Close Your Eyes (Stephanie Chalice Thrillers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This had possibilities, however the ego overruled and so did the hyphenated words, which slowed the flow of the reading.I would be interested in reading another of this writers works if those two components were smoothed out.
I am talking about three and four hyphenated words per page. not just one or two.I couldn't fathom the reasoning for them. They didn't enhance the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.