Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All hail the dark lord
This book cleared up all those dreams I had and the vague childhood memories of going over to Old Scratch's house. Uncle Nick always was a beelzebub keeper and sold the honey under the twilight moon in summer. I'll never forget those autumn bonfires over at Old Hob's house. Oh the songs we used to sing! I don't know what ever happened to my cape. The funniest thing I ever...
Published 4 months ago by oldjug

versus
89 of 127 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pure Insanity
I am a librarian and under no circumstances would I allow this title to be on the shelf. What a load of rubbish that will simply terrify children for no reason whatsoever. Are people deranged to actually promote this book? It is child abuse in my opinion.
Published on June 30, 2010 by smilinglibrarian


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All hail the dark lord, March 17, 2014
This review is from: Don't Make Me Go Back, Mommy: A Child's Book about Satanic Ritual Abuse (Hurts of Childhood Series) (Hardcover)
This book cleared up all those dreams I had and the vague childhood memories of going over to Old Scratch's house. Uncle Nick always was a beelzebub keeper and sold the honey under the twilight moon in summer. I'll never forget those autumn bonfires over at Old Hob's house. Oh the songs we used to sing! I don't know what ever happened to my cape. The funniest thing I ever remember was when my second cousin Belial had all those winged monkeys that used to fly around the fire when we'd say Aunt Lilith's magic words. Great times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 127 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pure Insanity, June 30, 2010
This review is from: Don't Make Me Go Back, Mommy: A Child's Book about Satanic Ritual Abuse (Hurts of Childhood Series) (Hardcover)
I am a librarian and under no circumstances would I allow this title to be on the shelf. What a load of rubbish that will simply terrify children for no reason whatsoever. Are people deranged to actually promote this book? It is child abuse in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 134 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars To "A Reader" and anyone who believes in the validity of SRA, January 12, 2006
By 
Alpha_67 (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Don't Make Me Go Back, Mommy: A Child's Book about Satanic Ritual Abuse (Hurts of Childhood Series) (Hardcover)
I highly suggest you read "Satanic Panic: The Creation of a Contemporary Legend," as should anyone who believes in Satanic Ritual Abuse. That was a horrible black spot on our recent history, and unlike this book, tells the truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 133 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Of all the books of the SRA hoax this is the most dangerous, January 31, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Don't Make Me Go Back, Mommy: A Child's Book about Satanic Ritual Abuse (Hurts of Childhood Series) (Hardcover)
A children's book about Satanic Ritual Abuse? Why? Now instead of just hearing about all the evil crimes being comitted by fictious satanists we have a book aimed specifically at children that show pictures that will go a lot farther at implanted false memories.
In one SRA hoax a child who claimed to be the victim of satanists was shown to have gotten these images in his head by being read a picture Bible that shows a baby being split apart during the story of King Solomon. It appears that the entire point of this book would be to plant false memories at an even faster rate. Every copy of this book needs to be burned before all damage is done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 80 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book featured on Awful Library Books, December 9, 2009
This review is from: Don't Make Me Go Back, Mommy: A Child's Book about Satanic Ritual Abuse (Hurts of Childhood Series) (Hardcover)
I don't advocate book burning so I will just recommend all copies get turned into compost. This book is useless at best. There are many other better written books dealing with childhood trauma out there for adults. Kids should NEVER see this book ever it is too scary and too confusing. Whether you believe SRA is real or not this isn't the book to deal with the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 116 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just make substitutions..., March 18, 2011
This review is from: Don't Make Me Go Back, Mommy: A Child's Book about Satanic Ritual Abuse (Hurts of Childhood Series) (Hardcover)
...for every time they mention "day care", substitute in "church." For every time they say "teacher" substitute in "priest." Then this book will be much more useful for child abuse victims.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


106 of 159 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware, December 23, 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Don't Make Me Go Back, Mommy: A Child's Book about Satanic Ritual Abuse (Hurts of Childhood Series) (Hardcover)
Popular books claiming the reality of Satanic abuse have been proven fraudulent, the most embarassing to the recovered memory movement being "Satan's Underground" by Lauren Stratford. Not a single documented case has arisen in the past seventeen years of intense search. Satanic ritual abuse is a media myth. Please read "Making Monsters" by Ofshe and Watters instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 82 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A dangerous book, June 16, 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Don't Make Me Go Back, Mommy: A Child's Book about Satanic Ritual Abuse (Hurts of Childhood Series) (Hardcover)
This book talks about ritual abuse in a day-care
setting. Readers should be aware that starting in
1983 there have been many court cases similar in
nature to this book. Bakersfield CA, the McMartin
Pre-school, Little Rascals etc are well known.
Many adults were given long jail sentences. It
is only in recent years that researchers have found that it is possible for investigators to implant false memories in the mind of young
children simply by asking direct questions
repeatedly. People convicted are now having their
cases reviewed and are being released from prison.
There is a strong possibility that the content
of this book is based on false implanted memoires,
and that the book should be considered a piece of
fiction rather than non-fiction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Concern about pictures and suggestibility, November 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Don't Make Me Go Back, Mommy: A Child's Book about Satanic Ritual Abuse (Hurts of Childhood Series) (Hardcover)
While I applaud the intentions of the author, as one who works extensively with this issue, I felt that the pictures were too graphic and suggestive for a child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!, January 1, 2014
This review is from: Don't Make Me Go Back, Mommy: A Child's Book about Satanic Ritual Abuse (Hurts of Childhood Series) (Hardcover)
One HELL of a good read.
Devilishly funny.
My son, Damian, thought it was the funniest book he's ever read.
An all around great book to read around the sulfur pit with the family.
They say you can't judge a book by its cover, but honestly, LOOK AT IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Don't Make Me Go Back, Mommy: A Child's Book about Satanic Ritual Abuse (Hurts of Childhood Series)
Used & New from: $114.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.