Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art Based on Science
A book doesn't stay in print for over 20 years without meeting a need, and this book does that: It provides an introduction to the basic principles of behavior change in highly readable language. That makes it useful for anyone interested in training or teaching -- pet owners and professional animal trainers, of course, but also parents, teachers, corporate trainers and...
Published on February 11, 2009 by Paul Chance

versus
45 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best introduction to clicker training---so what's the answer?
Any serious dog trainer, shelter/rescue volunteer or dog owner eventually needs to read Don't Shoot the Dog but it would not be my first choice for a novice dog owner intent on "taming" their beloved bundle of energy. Pat Miller wrote a better introduction to clicker training, The Power of Positive Dog Training but even that would not be my first read. Perhaps one of...
Published on November 12, 2009 by J. Tew


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art Based on Science, February 11, 2009
This review is from: Don't Shoot the Dog!: The New Art of Teaching and Training (Paperback)
A book doesn't stay in print for over 20 years without meeting a need, and this book does that: It provides an introduction to the basic principles of behavior change in highly readable language. That makes it useful for anyone interested in training or teaching -- pet owners and professional animal trainers, of course, but also parents, teachers, corporate trainers and managers, spouses, and just about everybody else.

The title (which comes from a list of ways you can get "rid of" unwanted behavior) is unfortunate, in my opinion, because it suggests that the book is limited to dog training when in fact it is much broader than that. Indeed, some people have criticized the book because it is NOT a dog training manual. The subtitle comes much closer to describing the nature of the book.

Many people think that you need one set of procedures to train dogs, another to train cats, another for horses, another for people, and so on, so they look for a species-specific how-to. It's true that some critters learn faster than others and people get a lot more from watching models and from hearing instructions than do dogs and cats. It's also true that a book aimed at teaching or training a particular species will provide useful concrete examples. But the principles of behavior, and most of the procedures for changing behavior (which is what teaching and training are all about) are essentially the same no matter the species. This is why Pryor likes to say that no one should be allowed to have a baby until they have demonstrated that they can train a chicken.

Like a lot of people, Pryor tends to confuse negative reinforcement and punishment, as one reviewer pointed out. But to dismiss the book because of such an error is itself a far greater error. If my own book on classroom teaching proves to be as influential and durable as Pryor's book, I will be very pleased indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great information, applicable to all species!, October 14, 2010
By 
rra104 (Mineral Point, PA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Don't Shoot the Dog!: The New Art of Teaching and Training (Paperback)
If you are looking for a basic dog training book, then you will be disappointed. Most dog training books focus on specific methods, whereas this book focuses on principles of behavior modification. That said, you will learn tons about application of behavior modification principles from this book, and they work on any species, humans included. It's a great read, full of valuable information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best introduction to clicker training---so what's the answer?, November 12, 2009
By 
This review is from: Don't Shoot the Dog!: The New Art of Teaching and Training (Paperback)
Any serious dog trainer, shelter/rescue volunteer or dog owner eventually needs to read Don't Shoot the Dog but it would not be my first choice for a novice dog owner intent on "taming" their beloved bundle of energy. Pat Miller wrote a better introduction to clicker training, The Power of Positive Dog Training but even that would not be my first read. Perhaps one of Ian Dunbar's earlier books, Teaching a New Dog Old Tricks, or Dr. Dunbar's Good Little Dog Book. I've read dozens of doggie books and have yet to find the perfect one. Patricia McConnell has several short ones that deal with specific issues that are very good.

It amazes me how ardent supporters of "All Positive" training are but I suspect that most of them really don't understand classical and operant conditioning and few have studied any books about clicker training. I believe there are two types of clicker trainers: (1) people with a clicker hanging from their wrist and (2) true dog trainers who happen to use a clicker.

While I do not use aversive methods (but I did as recently as six years ago) that does not remotely mean that my three dogs weighing in at from 70-130 pounds don't know the meaning of "NO!" or that they don't have limits and boundaries. To me "NO!" is a management word (as opposed to a training term), meaning, "stop whatever you are doing instantly." I doubt that I use it more than once a week. "NO!" is like setting off the fire sprinkler system---it's an emergency measure beyond which there are no "easy" remedies. Off leash and without a remote device I have to know that a sharp, "leave it", "here!" or "Uh-Uh" or "enough!" will instantly bring a smiling Great Dane or Weimaraner back to me. If there is a daredevil squirrel jumping from tree to tree it can be difficult to break their focus but the three of them sitting at the base of the tree staring longingly upward as if in a trance means they aren't getting in any trouble and they will begrudgingly respond to me...eventually.

It also is surprising to discover how impassioned the other side is---the so called "traditional" trainers. Many of them who are in the business have probably seen their revenue shrink. Some, based on their rantings, aren't very bright or educated. Others are just really intent on dominating someone or something. When they start talking about how much more humane their prong collars are than The Gentle Leader...

If you have a dog and are not enjoying the experience---good for you for attempting to learn some possible answers by buying a book. Sadly, it probably won't be enough. You need a trainer to train you as much as to train your dog.

Don't be wowed by the slickest web site and view with suspicion franchise dog training operations. A local shelter or rescue might have some suggestions. You might check with a local hospital that allows therapy dogs and find out who trained them or certified them. At a local dog park seek out the owners with well balanced dogs and ask them.

Degrees are nice when coupled with hands on experience and successes. Telephone consults are worthless. Expect that the top of the game in terms of dog training and behavior assessment will be not only few and far between but heavily booked and not inexpensive.

The two best in my area, both women, both educated but not doctoral level, both widely admired, both do hours of pro bono work for shelter and rescues, both own big dogs of breeds with aggressive reputations, both with many years of documented success rehabilitating dogs with problems. Not every dog owner needs their services. For most people, a reputable entry level group class will be invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't shoot the dog, July 27, 2010
This review is from: Don't Shoot the Dog!: The New Art of Teaching and Training (Paperback)
Don't Shoot The Dog makes you think that this book is based on dogs...but in fact it is based on human relationships and Dolphin training as well. It's the best book I have ever read on positive reinforcement training. Maybe not the easiest read but so educational. As a dog trainer I apply this to my own training and even human relationships.

There is no force used in this method of training and can be used on almost anything and anyone. From kids to birds.
This is a must read for anyone serious about training their dogs and having better relationships with the people around them. To understand training this is the book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Don't Shoot the Dog" is a must read, April 2, 2007
By 
Ruth Friscoe (Columbus, Ohio USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don't Shoot the Dog!: The New Art of Teaching and Training (Paperback)
Karen Pryor explains why punishment so often fails and why positive reinforcement

does(on people as well as dogs). The book is clear and easy to read. I found

it thoroughly enjoyable and very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The whys of positive reinforcement, August 25, 2011
By 
Kathryn "K" (La Mesa, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Don't Shoot the Dog!: The New Art of Teaching and Training (Paperback)
This book goes into the underlying principles and techniques of behavior modification through positive reinforcement. The science is in, and has been for a while, that using positive reinforcement is the most effective way to teach anything with a spinal column the behavior you prefer it to do. Anyone interested in why and how positive reinforcement is such an effective behavior modification tool will like this book. I rate this book four stars instead of five because the author is first a scientist, not a writer, but her prose is readable enough and she explains the concepts succinctly. Despite the title, she didn't write this to teach people how to clicker-train their dogs, but if you are doing that, it will help you do it better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for anyone involved in teaching/training - which is everyone!, May 11, 2007
This review is from: Don't Shoot the Dog!: The New Art of Teaching and Training (Paperback)
Although I think I'm reviewing the previous edition, I can't imagine enough has changed that this review will be obsolete!

Kare Pryor presents the science of behavior in an easy-to-read, layman's format. No more huge textbooks, the general public now has a shorter, fun-to-read (full of amusing anecdotes!) book that will give them accurate information. Although gently promoting positive reinforcement training methods, Karen gives the science behind her reasoning. Great book for anyone who wants to change behavior, from pet dogs to spouses to children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Dog is Really Smart Now, February 22, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Don't Shoot the Dog!: The New Art of Teaching and Training (Paperback)
After reading this book, I used the methods described to teach a very stubborn dog to sit, lay down and rollover in one afternoon. Easy to read, great examples, and applicable to human beings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dealing with people & animals: the manual, November 1, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Don't Shoot the Dog!: The New Art of Teaching and Training (Paperback)
I've read this book a few times, and even got the book on cd for my commute. I've recommended it for coworkers who have problems with blowing up at others. I've recommended it for parents.
I'm so glad I ran into this book: all because I adopted a "special needs" dog and had to recondition some undesirable behavior out of him. I thought I was learning to help him, and I ended up helping my whole life. I'm a better trainer at my job, I'm a more effective communicator with my spouse, and a much better parent. And frankly, I like people so much more now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST place to start for any pet owner, April 28, 2009
This review is from: Don't Shoot the Dog!: The New Art of Teaching and Training (Paperback)
After being in dogsports for many years I still recommend this as the place to start for new pet owners. I even give it as a gift sometimes to new pet owners. It opens the door to a whole host of more complicated books, seminars, videos, etc. HOWEVER, if the beginner gets lost initially or set on the wrong path, they may be doomed to have poorly trained pets forever. Start easy, with the proper info. That is exactly what this book does. I'd give it 10 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Don't Shoot the Dog!: The New Art of Teaching and Training
Don't Shoot the Dog!: The New Art of Teaching and Training by Karen Pryor (Paperback - November 1, 2006)
Used & New from: $6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.