Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 28, 2009
As a medical doctor I am very pleased with this book. The authors have done something very unlikely -- they wrote an fun, entertaining book that is also scientifically and medically excellent. Well researched, well-referenced and easy to use. Quite a public service!

CEC
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2009
Using solid medical research and some really funny storytelling, these two doctor-authors debunk so many commonly forwarded myths that it can save the internet. I get so many email forwards that could have been easily nipped at the bud if the sender has just read this book. Think of how much more time we'd all have, and how the internet would be free and clear of such dispelled myths!

So the next time someone sends you an email about the evils of antiperspirant, organ donations, or the advantages of peeing on jellyfish stings, just send them a copy of this book! The short chapters make for easy on-the-go reading, and the numerous citations in the index make for some interesting follow-up research.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2009
About: Doctors Vreeman and Carroll tackle common beliefs about health and the human body including the Five Second Rule, double dipping and how much water one should drink. The book is organized into six groups of myths: the body, diseases, sex and pregnancy, babies and children, what we eat and drink, and myths that spark debate and controversy.

Pros: Quick read, interesting, lots of myths tackled, well written, references in back.

A Few Things I Found Interesting:

* Yellow urine doesn't mean you are dehydrated, neither does being thirsty

* You can't "beat" a breathalyzer

* A mosquito's buzz is just the flapping of its wings

* Once the irritating oils are washed off, you can't get poison ivy from someone's poison ivy rash

* Putting butter on a burn is a bad idea

* Green mucus from your nose doesn't mean you need antibiotics

* Poinsettias aren't that poisonous. No people have died from poinsettia poisoning

* Vitamin C doesn't prevent colds

* Sugar does not make kids hyper

* Twins don't skip a generation

Cons: No in-text citations, would have liked to see a further reading and other resources section.

Grade B+
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2009
Do you want to be able to correct your mother on the myths about citrus when she foists vitamin C tablets on you when you have the sniffles? Perhaps just rattle off some interesting tidbits of knowledge at a summer BBQ when everyone is slathering themselves with spf 1000 sunblock? This book is rife with great nuggets of medical information presented in bite-size chunks. A fun and informative collection of essays on commonly believed medical myths that will occasionally make you feel smarter than your doctor.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2009
Just purchased this book last night and can't put it down. I sat on the couch reading and sharing these extremely interesting and witty short descriptions of misconceived myths with my unbelieving husband! I love my mother-in-law but I must admit it was fun to remind him that she is not always right! Who would have thought two research docs could be so funny!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2009
As a healthcare provider I had originally thought I wouldn't learn anything from a book like this but was pleasantly surprised to see longheld healthcare beliefs effectively debunked in a very entertaining fashion through this book. I've also passed on this book on to my non-healthcare provider friends and they have not been able to put the book down. The simple conversational tone makes this book an enjoyable, quick read while also providing easy to understand information about your body and health.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2014
Really basic stuff here - almost common sense stuff, most of which is over-explained. Disposable trivia-type info mostly. "Why Do Clocks Run Clockwise" is a much more compelling read along these lines.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2014
I saw an ad on TV about this book and thought it would be a fun read. I ordered it right away. It certainly is funny.
It's revealing and unbelievable the lies and half-truths we've all grown up believing.

It's a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2009
I was really happy to hear the sound science behind "facts" that i remember questioning as a child. I got the book for my parents and after they had read it, i called a little family meeting.

It was really fun to discuss all the things that they had truly believed from their parents without question and then passed on to me. It made for a laughter-filled evening!:)

Elyce Elder
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2011
This book will change your life....or at least make you less stupid. Our parents and friends have told us a lot of lies...this book helps to spread the truth. Haleluah!!
All joking aside, this book is written quite well, and also presents the facts in a "hard to dispute" way. It may make some of your friends mad at you...it did with me (apparently people like to think that a dogs mouth is cleaner than a humans' mouth...even though they usually eat whatever comes out of them).
I would highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse