Prime Music

Buy New

Includes FREE MP3
version
of this album.
or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
$4.95 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
Nats5 Add to Cart
$7.77  & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Don't Tread On Me
 
See larger image
 

Don't Tread On Me [Content/Copy-Protected CD]

311Audio CD
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (176 customer reviews)

Price: $7.28 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
 : Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
   Provided by Amazon Digital Services, Inc. Terms and Conditions. Does not apply to gift orders.
Only 5 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Monday, Oct. 27? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Complete your purchase to save the MP3 version to your music library.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
MP3 Music, 12 Songs, 2005 $9.99  
Audio CD, Content/Copy-Protected CD, 2005 $7.28  
Vinyl, Limited Edition --  

Amazon's 311 Store

Music

Image of album by 311

Photos

Image of 311

Videos

Sunset in July

Biography

Over the past 14 years, multi-platinum rock group 311 has taken to celebrating March 11th ("311 Day") with an epic, celebratory arena show that draws fans from around the world. This year, for the first time, it’s also the occasion of a new 311 album release (new 311 on 3/11!). Enter STEREOLITHIC, the group’s 11th album, featuring 15 new songs.

Don’t be ... Read more in Amazon's 311 Store

Visit Amazon's 311 Store
for 39 albums, 6 photos, videos, and 1 full streaming song.

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

Don't Tread On Me + Uplifter + Evolver
Price for all three: $23.08

Buy the selected items together
  • Uplifter $9.00
  • Evolver $6.80



Product Details

  • Audio CD (August 16, 2005)
  • Original Release Date: 2005
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Content/Copy-Protected CD
  • Label: Volcano
  • ASIN: B0009X3FBO
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (176 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #80,145 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Don't Tread On Me
2. Thank Your Lucky Stars
3. Frolic Room
4. Speak Easy
5. Solar Flare
6. Waiting
7. Long For The Flowers
8. Getting Through To Her
9. Whiskey & Wine
10. It's Getting OK Now
11. There's Always An Excuse

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

Don't Tread On Me resonates sound and energy the 311 way. Despite the brooding attitude of the grunge movement and the angst of the rap-rock movement, 311 has always stayed true to their own approach and their underlying message of unity and positivity. Because of their unique sound (mixing rock, hip-hop, reggae & funk), and because they have always maintained a balance of hard rocking songs and melodic, mellow gems the band has developed a rather diverse fan base from rock fans, punk fans, jam-band fans, pop fans, hip-hop fans to reggae fans, etc. BMG. 2005.

Amazon.com

311’s place in rock ‘n’ roll history seems secure. Unfortunately, so does its sound. Unlike other funk-inflected acts such as Red Hot Chili Peppers, and even Incubus, 311’s never fully expanded on the promise of its initial musical vision. On Don’t Tread On Me, the band’s eighth studio release, P-Nut and the gang seem intent on mining the same familiar terrain they have since their 1995 self-titled classic. Fans of albums such as 2001’s From Chaos and 2003’s promising Evolver will likely find Tread familiar and perhaps even comforting, but it’s unlikely to invite a new horde of fans as the album often sounds like an imitation of the bands 311 helped inspire in its decade-plus career. There are some nice touches. "Speak Easy," "Waiting" and many of the other tracks evoke images of sandy beaches and warm summer breezes, but none are strong enough to help Don’t Tread On Me stands out from the herd. --Jedd Beaudoin

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A more mature 311.. but still excellent stuff September 13, 2005
Format:Audio CD
In their new album, Don't Tread on Me, 311 predominantly show their collective mellower side. It's not a bad thing by any means. But the album is slower, has much less rapping, and much more of an "island" feel to it. It's an incredibly great album to simply chill out to. But after hearing so many of their albums that incorporate elements of rock, rap, reggae, and punk, one can only wonder why they toned down the party atmosphere they became known for. The answer? They've grown up. The members are now all over 30 years old. Don't get me wrong, they still crush live. A 311 live show is like a 3 hour party that attracts all walks of life. But sometimes there's a need to just move on. AC\DC should explore this idea instead of putting out the same album 10 times over. 311 may be a little guilty of this in the past few releases. But Don't Tread On Me defies that perception with the breezy undertones of songs like "Frolic Room", "Speak Easy", and "Whiskey and Wine", the latter featuring an awesome reggae breakdown by singer/guitarist Nick Hexum.

I dock one star because the only trace of hip hop on this CD is found in "Solar Flare", a song I feel is not up to par with rap-tinged 311 classics like "Freak Out" and "Down". It only features singer/turntablist (I don't hear any scratching on this album?) SA Martinez doing the rap verses, and Nick singing pre-choruses. Subpar at best. So basically, we hear no Nick Hexum rapping at all on this CD. A shame, considering the white boy from Nebraska has some of the craziest flows to ever grace the industry (see the song "Hive" from their critically-acclaimed self-titled album - 10 years old and still light years ahead of most of the music industry).

But that doesn't stop me from enjoying this CD immensely.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Melodic, tight and focused October 20, 2005
Format:Audio CD
"Don't Tread On Me" shows 311 stomping over familiar musical territory with the greatest of confidence and precision, while at the same time adding a few new twists to their musical mix. The leadoff title track is a good indicator of where this album will head: its intro teases one with the promise of a good rock groove, then abruptly switches to a bouncy reggae vibe with typically tight drumming from Chad Sexton and an super-bouncy P-Nut bassline. "Thank Your Lucky Stars" may be one of 311's most poppy tunes, with an excellent chorus straight out of a classic-rock songbook. "It's Getting OK Now" gives Tim Mahoney a chance to stretch his chops, and "Solar Flare" begins with some excellent distorted bass and becomes the only real "classic" 311 rocker on this disc.

What some have taken issue with are the mellower, groovier tracks like "Waiting," "Getting Through To Her," and "Whiskey & Wine." If you are a fan of songs like "Amber," and "I'll Be Here Awhile," you'll like these songs, and this album. 311 gets credit for always sticking to their guns while exploring new songwriting and stylistic possibilities. The songcraft on this album is superb and mature, harmonically and melodically.

Musically, the singing on this album is the real standout, particularly Doug Martinez's vocals. He performs the only raps on the entire album ("Solar Flare"), but his voice has never sounded better, whether taking the lead on tracks like "Getting Through To Her" or harmonizing with Nick Hexum. Martinez is definitely the standout of this disc; buy for his vocal performance alone. Highly recommended 311 album.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
Format:Audio CD
I have seen many mixed opinions of the new album from 311 fans so far. I respect every opinion that is voiced, albeit negative rants tend to sound close-minded for the most part. As a fan of all musical styles (even including some country, death metal, and pop, but I favor mostly rock, funk, hip-hop, traditional jazz, reggae, ska, and punk), I thought I would offer my opinion of the album overall from a more positive perspective:

DTOM-- The first songs on the album is also the first radio single, which is, above all else, interesting. This song does have some captivating dynamics, and it sets the tone for the whole album: solid reggae and dancehall-influenced styles mixed with driving rock. This is what the band does well, and they certainly shine in doing so.

Thank You Lucky Stars-- From the main riff to the riff in the bridge, you can't help but think that you've heard this before. The riffs here can sound a bit mundane, but the vocals are definitely the song's saving grace. Simple, but very effective in the chorus. The overall vibe paints a luminous mental picture of everything that makes you thankful, which I believe was the songs' intention.

Frolic Room-- Although the familiar and sometimes repetitive groove-rock elements stick around in this song as well, I found the verses to be great. Very Clash-inspired. By this point in the album also, you can tell that this is both Nick and SA's best performance vocally to date. The harmonies are just on point, and they only get better.

Speak Easy-- Lots of layers make this very easy-breezy Carribean feel with the steel drum and the synth. The mix on this song was just great, as with so many layers, it could have easily sounded like to much, yet everything on this track was given room to breathe.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent 311 album, disregard bad reviews
I've been a 311 fan since the 90's and I think that the awful reviews for "Don't Tread On Me" are unwarranted. Read more
Published 14 months ago by Shelley D. Bowen
5.0 out of 5 stars The title and the cover art says it all
Just wanted to make a note that this is the only 311 album with a multi-word title, therefore making it the BEST! Ok not really. Read more
Published on June 30, 2010 by Stereocontact
2.0 out of 5 stars Run away... fast
I have listened extensively to every single one of 311's studio albums, and this one is just below par on almost every measure. Read more
Published on March 4, 2010 by C. Givens
5.0 out of 5 stars Great
not their best but it still very good when you let it settle. Some favs on this one.
Published on December 7, 2009 by Steven
2.0 out of 5 stars What happened?
I love 311. They are and always will be one of my favorite bands, but this album well....sucked. Yes I said it. It sucks and I will tell you why. Read more
Published on May 29, 2009 by omnikua
2.0 out of 5 stars don't tread on this
I'm a huge fan of 311 but this is clearly there worst record they have released. Even Nick Hexum recently admitted this and stated that he felt the album was rushed. Read more
Published on May 12, 2009 by This Guy
2.0 out of 5 stars Decent, But Awful By Comparison
Given the funky, reggae laiden rock that 311 is known for, this album is terribly bland and not creative at all. Read more
Published on October 9, 2008 by Alex Goldberg
4.0 out of 5 stars Great CD to have in your 311 collection
I had to have this CD after a friend let me listen to the first song. Don't Tread On Me is a great song and the message it has is great. It's a fun and playful song. Read more
Published on June 30, 2008 by D. Best
5.0 out of 5 stars 311 fan from way back
I have been listening to 311 for a long time. I have seen them live twice. They really are amazing. But I found evolver and from chaos to be lacking. Read more
Published on January 10, 2008 by The Legend Of Megadon
1.0 out of 5 stars I'm almost speechless..
This album is an absolute disaster..an embarrassing turd that 311 tried to pass off as genuine with the hopes that their devoted fans wouldn't think it was disgusting. Read more
Published on December 24, 2007 by Justin
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Look for Similar Items by Category