Don't Turn Around and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $17.99
  • Save: $3.76 (21%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: *WITHDRAWN LIBRARY COPY in VERY GOOD condition* with customary collection markings/stickers. FULFILLED BY AMAZON. ELIGIBLE FOR FREE AMAZON PRIME SHIPPING OR FREE SHIPPNG ON AMAZON FULFILLED ORDERS OVER $35.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Don't Turn Around Hardcover – August 28, 2012


See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$14.23
$3.35 $0.01


Frequently Bought Together

Don't Turn Around + Don't Look Now (Don't Turn Around)
Price for both: $27.65

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Product Details

  • Series: Don't Turn Around
  • Hardcover: 320 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins; 1 edition (August 28, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0062102907
  • ISBN-13: 978-0062102904
  • Product Dimensions: 8.5 x 6 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 15.2 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (139 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #317,148 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Be prepared to stay up all night reading." -VOYA (starred review)

“Gagnon’s YA debut is a pulse-pounding scary-great read…[that] will have teens begging for more. Girl with the Dragon Tattoo for preteens and teens, a surefire hit.” (Kirkus Reviews (starred review))

“A tight, well-written thriller from a best-selling adult writer. The action and the developments come fast and furious all the way to the end.” (School Library Journal (starred review))

“Be prepared to stay up all night reading.” (Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) (Starred Review))

“A fast-paced, rip-roaring thriller for all ages.” (Harlan Coben, #1 New York Times bestselling author)

“Gagnon’s writing draws readers effortlessly into an adrenaline-packed ride. This is a smart, gripping addition to the growing hacker-action genre with strong appeal to fans of Doctorow’s Little Brother and Falkner’s Brain Jack.” (Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books)

“A sophisticated, mind-bending thriller.” (Katie Crouch, New York Times bestselling author of Girls in Trucks and The Magnolia League)

“An action packed, heart-thumping thriller. Clever, exciting and heart-wrenching. It’s the kind of book that starts out with a bang and barely gives you time to breathe.” (Publishers Weekly on the audio edition)

From the Back Cover

Sixteen-year-old Noa has been a victim of the system ever since her parents died. Now living off the grid and trusting no one, she uses her computer-hacking skills to stay safely anonymous and alone. But when she wakes up on a table in an empty warehouse with an IV in her arm and no memory of how she got there, Noa starts to wish she had someone on her side.

Enter Peter Gregory. A rich kid and the leader of a hacker alliance, Peter needs people with Noa's talents on his team. Especially after a shady corporation called AMRF threatens his life in no uncertain terms.

But what Noa and Peter don't realize is that Noa holds the key to a terrible secret, and there are those who'd stop at nothing to silence her for good.

Fans of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo will devour the story of Noa, a teen soul mate to Lisbeth Salander.


More About the Author

Michelle Gagnon is a former modern dancer, bartender, dog walker, model, personal trainer, and Russian supper club performer. Her bestselling thrillers have been published in North America, France, Spain, Argentina, Norway, Denmark, Sweden, Finland, and Australia. BONEYARD was a finalist for a 2009 Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Mystery/Suspense. The first book in her Young Adult PERSEFONE trilogy, DON'T TURN AROUND received four starred reviews and was an IndieNext and Junior Library Guild selection. Nominated for a Thriller Award, it was also chosen as one of the best YA novels of 2012 by Kirkus, the American Library Association, and the Junior Library Guild.
Michelle splits her time between San Francisco and Los Angeles.

Customer Reviews

I can't wait to read the second book in the series.
SIKBookReviewer
Some pages I felt like the character development was lacking a little and then other pages it didn't matter because the story was so good!
Tara Gonzalez
I highly recommend this book especially if you like thrillers.
Marianne Houghtaling

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Hannah @ The Irish Banana Review on October 10, 2012
Format: Hardcover
After a bit of a reading slump, I picked this book up off my shelf and, suffice to say, my reading slump is now over. Don't Turn Around renewed my love for books within the first chapter. Michelle Gagnon grabs you in a vise and doesn't let up ever. This book stole my breath in the best possible way.

The moment the book opens with Noa waking up, the action starts and doesn't let up. This book is heavily compared to The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, and I get the similarities. But Noa is not Lisbeth Salander. While both are tech-savvy geniuses who have lived on their own for a while, Noa has a heart that Lisbeth just never got. Noa is endearing, frustrating, and thrilling.

I will say that this story definitely focuses more on plot than characters, but that totally works here. I felt like I had a good grip on the characters--they were engaging, unique, and had chemistry--but the real gem is the plot. Gagnon spares no expense as she dives into the world of corporate and government conspiracies. She creates this complex and intricate plot that weaves together into an ingenious literary knot.

I am so thrilled that there will be more books because I did not nearly get my fill of Noa (and Peter--especially Noa with Peter) and this crazy world. I'm usually the girl who has to have a romantic storyline to really fall hard for a story, but that wasn't the case here. Yes, there's some fun moments between Noa and Peter, and I truly hope their relationship evolves through the series, but the story itself was so exciting, I was addicted from the first sentence. Gagnon already had an established fanbase with her adult audience and that it sure to increase significantly with the YA crowd. She wrote a novel that will easily appeal to teens and adults.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Marianne Houghtaling on October 10, 2012
Format: Hardcover
Imagine waking up on a cold table with an IV in your arm with no idea where you are, how long you have been there, and not knowing if anything was done to you? These are the questions facing Noa Torson. Noa is a brilliant computer hacker whose life went from happy to nightmare in an instant. She is a survivor, and she will need all her skills and strength to keep ahead of the fiends who are chasing her. I highly recommend this book especially if you like thrillers. The characters are so likable. You can feel their happiness and disappointments and are cheering for them all the way. I started reading this book late one evening and had to get up early the next morning to finish it. It was absolutely compelling. It is the first book of three in the series, and I anxiously await the second book.Don't Turn Around
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By KVB99 on December 5, 2012
Format: Hardcover
Teen hackers take on evil corporate america and the government and try to shut down sinister experiments on kids. Sounds like an interesting premise, but too many stumbles along the way that prevent the story from really taking flight. The two biggest issues I had were, first, the implausibilities that kept dogging the story and kept me rolling my eyes again and again. Second, the ending didn't work for me at all. After spending the entire book building up the characters Peter and Noa, readers deserved a better resolution of their relationship by the end of the book. The ending seemed to be so focussed on creating enough loose ends for a sequel that the story lacks a satisfying ending. Also, the Matrix like sermon at the end just had me rolling my eyes even more. Hacker types may be able to mine more from this book than I did. If there ever is a sequel, I think I'll pass on it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Nyx on September 2, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition
*SOME SPOILERS AHEAD*

I love books about hackers, and this one had just the perfect mix for me. Hacking, weird medical surgery, goons dressed all in black, and a conspiracy! WOOO xD

It was all pretty well done, I really liked the characters, all of them, even Mason with his creepy stalker-killer thing he had going on. I felt so bad for Peter with his a-hole parents, and I don't care how guilty the mom feels she still didn't do crap. Noa was pretty kick-ass although a bit clueless at times. I mean she is a big time hacker right? Why not actually put those skills to use to find out who the mysterious helper was. And she needed money, why not use her skills to get some as well? I guess my problem is that she didn't actually do much hacking at all, just at the start to get the info and at the end for her plan, which was truly genius *SPOILER*too bad it didn't truly work out*SPOILER*

I really liked how all the elements were woven in, the weird surgeries, the disease that killed Peter's brother, how Noa fits into all of it, the 'mysterious' helper, Amanda. It's all done to keep you guessing and trying to figure out what is going on, which it most definitely accomplished. I would still like to know how the government fits into all of it, and why they started making such fatal experiments in such a large scale when the Owner's daughter of the pharmaceutical company hadn't even gotten the disease yet. I'm guessing they both tie in somehow and that it will be answered in the next book.

The ending was...good and bad. Peter totally played the hero and didn't even get the girl! But at least she got away. I was NOT happy that *SPOILER*Cody was killed*SPOILER* was it completely necessary?
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?