Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zander has a point
Compared to...oh...Master of Puppets, Reign in Blood, Peace Sells, or Among the Living, this might seem like the worst thrash album of 1986. But let me remind you that...I believe it was Kerrang!...gave this album 6 out of 5 stars, the only album to ever garner that kind of review, at least up to the early '90s! I don't know how anyone can listen to the album's opener,...
Published on April 5, 2005 by Dan Duval

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok
Their best album but it's nothing short of being just decent. Nothing special, mush better music thrash out there. As with every album they have made since including this one it's just ok.
Published on May 30, 2010 by Deimos


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zander has a point, April 5, 2005
Compared to...oh...Master of Puppets, Reign in Blood, Peace Sells, or Among the Living, this might seem like the worst thrash album of 1986. But let me remind you that...I believe it was Kerrang!...gave this album 6 out of 5 stars, the only album to ever garner that kind of review, at least up to the early '90s! I don't know how anyone can listen to the album's opener, Hammerhead, and NOT fall for it immediately. Sure it's pure thrash metal with very few innovations, save for one Hell of a bassist/songwriter in Newsted. But ya know what? It kicks your ass, period. Doomsday for the Deceiver has everything you'd expect from a metal band, just maybe not in their debut! A 9 and a half minute title track? Not in a debut, baby. F'nJ are criminally underrated, and it's time they got the respect they deserve. Metalheads, pick this up and you will not be disappointed. And as for Zander knocking the production, I have the original pressing for this CD and its guitars sound pretty good, so maybe got another copy of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly 20 years old and still as fresh as ever, October 13, 2003
By A Customer
Flotsam and Jetsam burst onto the thrash metal scene with this awesome debut almost 20 years ago, and produced a classic piece of thrash metal that still sounds as fresh and inventive now as it did then.
Their only album before Jason Newstead "left to join the girl scouts", to quote F&J themselves :), Doomsday is a masterpiece of riffs, speed, thundering bass and inventive guitar licks. And the drums aint have bad either!
Vocals are less mature than later efforts like Quatro and Drift, but Eric AK was singing for a quite different genre of metal in Doomsday (and it does suit the music very well).
Even after scores and scores of listens, my ears can still find new guitar licks amongst the pace - whilst it may lack the technical complexity of death metal like Nile's In their Darkened Shrines or Cryptopsy's And Then You'll Beg, this album is still filled with excellent songs and is much easier to get into it and the aforementioned albums.
Every track is great - there's no filler on this album. And its a crying shame that Flotsam and Jetsam never achieved the success that titles like Doomsday and Drift deserved, whilst bands like Metallica made a fortune by turning their backs on the genre that gave them a platform.
So where better to start your Flotsam and Jetsam collection than with their classic debut. If you are a fan of later Flotsam albums like Drift, High or My God, then Doomsday will be an interesting change of pace. If you are a thrash fan in general, then you'll simply love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unbelievable reissue.......well worth the small price!!!!!, December 8, 2006
This review is from: Doomsday For The Deceiver (20th Anniversary Edition) (2CD/DVD) (Audio CD)
A definite addition to your metal collection.......Flotsam & Jetsam's debut released in 1986 'Doomsday For The Deceiver' stands out as an important album in metal. Not perfectly written and arranged but a necessity for the Flotsam fan. Here we find the origins of (soon to be Metallica bassist) Jason Newsted as truly fronting the band as the main lyricst and spokesperson. Eric A.K. singing out those high pitches, Kelly Smith thumping away with a style of his own and Mike Gilbert and Ed Carlsson trading off solos so nicely.

Most of the tracks are arranged great with two epics back to back 'Doomsday For The Deceiver' and 'Metalshock' that will leave you speechless. But as I've metioned there are some that are not so great. The one that stands out as the biggest disappointment is 'Fade To Black' the shortest number on the album. It sounds like a different band, completely horrible and worthless. And then as the album rounds off it does become generic with the song 'Der Fuhrer' and the boring instrumental 'Flotzilla'. These songs do not offer much to the ear. So with keeping that in mind this album really is only about 4 stars.

Now fast foward 20 years and we have a remixed and remastered edition for the fans. And I must say the hero of the day is the original producer who also remixed/remastered the album the one and only Bill Metoyer. A huge credit goes to him. What an awesome job he did!!!!!!!!!

So disc 1 is the original album with bonus tracks, disc 2 is the remixed/remastered version of the debut(also with bonus tracks) which brings me to where your money will truly be spent. Disc 3 is a dvd which is about 90 minutes long chock full of performances that you would never get to see anywhere else. Old footage of the boys rocking out in various place(please see description). The quality is low budget but that will not matter to a fan.

So get yours horns up and enjoy this beautiful 20th anniversary edition of 'Doomsday For The Deceiver'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW! What an improvement!, November 29, 2006
By 
axstar (Scottsdale, AZ) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doomsday For The Deceiver (20th Anniversary Edition) (2CD/DVD) (Audio CD)
The new mix and mastering of Doomsday is amazing! It's so clean, it sounds like it could have been recorded this year. I'm hearing things I never noticed before, and this is after listening to the album for 20 years! If you don't have this CD, only buy this version. If you already have it, trade in your copy and get this one. You still get the original with the Iron Tears Demo, and a 2nd disc with the Remix/Remastered version and the Metal Shock Demo. Plus, the DVD is pretty cool. There's a live show from 1985 with 4 unreleased songs, an interview, a cheesy music video, and a picture montage. It's funny to see Jason Newsted with his poofy hair back in the days before he joined Metallica. Hopefully, a remix/remaster of No Place for Disgrace will be ready in 2008 for it's 20th Anniversary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential thrash metal, June 4, 2001
By 
Court Thompson (Marlboro, NY United States) - See all my reviews
I am forced to write a review after reading some of the comments already contributed about this album. I cannot imagine any fan of 80s thrash being the least bit disappointed by this music. It is one of the finest examples of the genre in existence. It is apparent from this recording why Jason Newstead was chosen as Cliff Burton's successor. Furthurmore, I think this beats anything Metallica has done: I assure you, this is not a careless exaggeration. This recording is simply awe-inspiring. The only bad side I can think of is the feelings of depression you may experience realizing this style of music has been all but abandoned...even by those who helped create it. Bloody shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Underdog's Best, May 5, 2006
This album was really great for the underdogs of thrash metal back in the era. Hammerhead gets things going and it is just non stop until thier epic title track. I reccommend this album to anyone that is looking to listen to something else rather than your basic Metallica or Megadeth cds. Enjoy!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic thrash, December 4, 2002
By A Customer
After hearing this album, you will know why Jason Newsted was chosed to replace Burton, and to this day I still think Newsted was a better bassist, and this album prooves it. If you some how missed getting this album for your thrash collection, get it immediatlly. You will absolutly not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True classic, April 15, 2004
I don't care how old this album is, it is truely one of the classic thrash albums of all time. Jason's bass is incredible, you'd never hear him like this again, Lars and James wouldn't allow that. The songs are simple and lacks the complexity of today's death/thrash bands but still the 1st song Hammerhead would kick the butt of many of them. The only bad thing about it is the vocals are sometimes too girlish. It sounds like you're listening to Poison or Skidrow or any other sh** like that. A great example of 80's thrash to remember how it all started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous metal album, January 27, 1999
By A Customer
This ranks as one of the best metal albums ever. Ever wonder where Jason Newstead (now Metallica) came from? Well, this is it. On this album, you can really hear what an amazing bass-player he is. "Metalshock", "Doomsday..." and "Flotzilla" are the best tracks on the CD, but that doesn't mean that the others are bad in any way. If speed metal is your game, this is definately a must-buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, May 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doomsday For The Deceiver (20th Anniversary Edition) (2CD/DVD) (Audio CD)
Their best album but it's nothing short of being just decent. Nothing special, mush better music thrash out there. As with every album they have made since including this one it's just ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.