Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Door To Door
After all the reviews I've read about this album, I was expecting it to be a total downer. Suprisingly, it isn't, at least to me. There isn't one song on Door To Door that I dislike, and a few of them I really find to be among the band's best. Overall though, it's still the Cars' weakest album. Most of the magic that had surrounded Heartbeat City and their great 1985...
Published on August 13, 2004 by Z. Hilgefort

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Door to Door but, don't expect More
First let me start off by saying that I have every Ric Ocasek CD but, only the 2 or 3 disc Cars greatest hits. So I jumped at the chance on getting this reissue. The good news is "Door to Door" is back in print. By some offshoot of Electra records called FridayMusic. I can't pick up on any kind of remastering. It sorta sounds like those Wounded Bird releases (like...
Published on May 11, 2011 by Fieval Years


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Door To Door, August 13, 2004
This review is from: Door to Door (Audio CD)
After all the reviews I've read about this album, I was expecting it to be a total downer. Suprisingly, it isn't, at least to me. There isn't one song on Door To Door that I dislike, and a few of them I really find to be among the band's best. Overall though, it's still the Cars' weakest album. Most of the magic that had surrounded Heartbeat City and their great 1985 single 'Tonight She Comes' (my favorite Cars song) had worn away by 1987. Most of the band members seemed more interested in their solo albums working on Door To Door. It's no wonder they split up after this album. At least it starts out great, with 'Leave or Stay', packed with more of that familiar Ric Ocasek humor and a nice, melodic chorus. After that comes the sole 'hit' on Door To Door, 'You Are The Girl'. A charming song with some of the band's best harmonies, and pretty, trademark keyboard-driven melody. There's still magic here at least. This was the first Door To Door song I'd ever heard, as it was also on The Cars Complete Greatest Hits collection. 'Double Trouble' is good, but not great, though it has a good chorus and driving guitars. 'Fine Line' is one of my favorite Cars songs. Moody, atmospheric, and filled with great lyrics, this has, like 'You Are The Girl', a classic Cars feel. One reviewer dubbed 'Fine Line' as a limp 'Drive' remake, though it's always reminded me more of 'A Dream Away' from the Shake It Up album or 'You Wear Those Eyes' from Panorama. Possible the best song on Door To Door. Then there's 'Everything You Say' which is one of a few of the songs on this album that has a different feel than your average Cars song. It's almost country or rockabilly-ish. I still like it though. Another great chorus. 'Ta Ta Wayo Wayo' is weird and different, but still quite good. Reminds me of Sandinista!-era Clash, sort of. Check out that boogie-woogie piano riff; very weird for a Cars song. 'Strap Me In' is a failed single, which is too bad, since it's a great, classic-feeling Cars rocker. Killer chorus; should've stormed the charts. Killer intro too, very stately and classical. The next song, 'Coming Up You', I really love. It's bordering on soft rock, but I don't care. Can't get enough of that melody and Ben Orr's honey voice. Miss 'im. This was yet another failed single, but I can't get enough listens to it. 'Wound Up On You' is a wonderful ballad, a la 'Why Can't I Have You'. Pretty chorus, filled with soft, subtle hooks. Shoulda been a single. 'Go Away' is more friendly than the title implies, with the narrator imploring his significant other, "why don't we go away?". This one also has a great hook in the chorus, and no matter what people say about this album, the Cars' gift for songcraft and melody still remains intact. The last song on the album, and the last Cars song ever, is the near-punk attack of the title track. This one is a bit of a mess, production-wise, but I guess we all got used to the slickness of Heartbeat City. It's not bad, but coulda been better, just like most of this album. Though I like Door To Door for the most part, I just wish they'd more and better albums after this one. Ah well. Any car can run out of gas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars one of the cds i a"door" most, March 2, 2005
This review is from: Door to Door (Audio CD)
the cars' album "door to door" was released in the latter half on 1987. it's true that most people say this album was a disaster and really killed the group, but i say don't judge so quickly. it's apparent that this album is so very little like "heartbeat city" but that's the beauty of it! "door to door" has more of a rock and roll feel to it as opposed to "heartbeat city" (although "h.c." is still a great album.). people really underappreciated this album, featuring the extremely catchy "you are the girl" which is toward the beginning of the album. this is such a happy song you gotta love it. after that is the flipside of the coin with "double trouble" probably my favorite cut on the album. this song is great hard rock. although it's very simple and i was waiting for more guitar work from elliot, this song will keep your ears attentive for the whole song. next is one of their old songs from '77 that was released finally on "door" called "ta ta wayo wayo". this song is also very addictive as ric croons out another tune and david robinson controls the drums. "coming up you" displays some great vocals and synths and should be one to check out. the song "fine line" is another catchy tune that will keep you rocking. and finally, the brilliant "strap me in" displayed that the cars can still rock, with that catchy elliot easton guitar lick. this album should have gotten more attention. this album shouldnt have killed the cars career like it appeared that it did. although not on the levels of "panorama", "the cars", and "candy-o", this album deserved to go multiplatinum. the reason why this album did so poorly is because they had gone completely pop with "heartbeat city" and to come out with this was like night and day. all the bandwagon jumpers were there for 1984 but when "door to door" was released it didn't have all those happy-go-lucky songs so the bandwagon tools jumped off, hence the extreme decline in sales for this. if you are a real cars fan you will appreciate this album for what it's worth. definately buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WAY underrated..., March 23, 2006
By 
Fat Tony "phatman" (Glenelg, SA Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Door to Door (Audio CD)
If this album had been released 1 year after 'Heartbeat City', rather than 3 years, I reckon it would have STORMED the charts- it may not be as adventurous or edgy as their 70s work, but so many people seem to have overlooked the fact that this is REALLY solid, catchy, satisfying, eclectic, hugely enjoyable pop/rock. 80s fans should go nuts for this if they give it a try- it's got everything from pop/rock songs absolutely PILED high with synths AND guitars to slow, simple, moody ballads to big growling rockers to accostic driven pop songs to piano boogie to explosive speed metal, all armed with strong hooks and polished with just-right production. Far from being messy or incoherent, I think this is one of The Cars' most consistent albums in terms of quality (I'm yet to hear 'Panorama'). Give it a go- you may just find 'Door to Door', as I did, becoming a highly valued part of your music collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Farewell Album For A Great American Band!, October 4, 2001
By 
Rob G (Dayton, OH) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Door to Door (Audio CD)
The Cars "Door to Door" is a classic example of a underrated rock album. Some of the critics obviously didn't get it however, fans and critics who know The Cars albums back to the beginning in '78 understand that "Door to Door" is an exellent very diverse album covering many music styles from the rocking "Strap Me In" and pop sounding "You Are the Girl" to the punk sounding title track "Door to Door" down to the softer sound of "Comming Up You" sung by Ben Orr. All of the songs are done with a true reflection of The Cars styles of previous albums while also showing a more mature sound. Producer Ric Ocasek does a great job in keeping the album sounding consistent, strong and not overly Produced. "Door to Door" is highly recommended and a superb foll-up to the very successful "Heartbeat City". A great ending to The Cars studio albums!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Car's Finest And Most Underrated Albums!!, July 10, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Door to Door (Audio CD)
The Car's sixth and final album of new material "Door To Door" was released in Oct. '87 to a fairly cold record buying public. "Hair Bands" were the order of the day at the time and the album barely cracked the top 30. As a result many people never even gave this Cars record a chance and soon afterward they quietly disbanded. "Door to Door" is filled with many songs that should have been classics on rock radio today. Some of these tunes include You are the Girl (the only single from the LP to make the top 40), Strap Me In (classic Cars riffs only a little harder than previous), the gorgeous Wound Up on You, and the very punkish title track to name a few. Two other tracks worth noting are Ta Ta Wayo Wayo and Leave or Stay. These two tunes were actually some of the first Cars songs ever written. You can find the original two track recordings of these songs on the double disc Cars anthology "Just What I Needed." Give this record a whirl. You will not be dissappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Farewell Album For A Great American Band!, October 4, 2001
By 
Rob G (Dayton, OH) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Door to Door (Audio CD)
The Cars "Door to Door" is a classic example of a underrated rock album. Some of the critics obviously didn't get it however, fans and critics who know The Cars albums back to the beginning in '78 understand that "Door to Door" is an exellent very diverse album covering many music styles from the rocking "Strap Me In" and pop sounding "You Are the Girl" to the punk sounding title track "Door to Door" down to the softer sound of "Comming Up You" sung by Ben Orr. All of the songs are done with a true reflection of The Cars styles of previous albums while also showing a more mature sound. Producer Ric Ocasek does a great job in keeping the album sounding consistent, strong and not overly Produced. "Door to Door" is highly recommended and a superb foll-up to the very successful "Heartbeat City". A great ending to The Cars studio albums!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Door to Door but, don't expect More, May 11, 2011
This review is from: Door to Door (Audio CD)
First let me start off by saying that I have every Ric Ocasek CD but, only the 2 or 3 disc Cars greatest hits. So I jumped at the chance on getting this reissue. The good news is "Door to Door" is back in print. By some offshoot of Electra records called FridayMusic. I can't pick up on any kind of remastering. It sorta sounds like those Wounded Bird releases (like somethings missing) as opposed to some of those Columbia early issue CD (which sounds like there is a snake hissing in the background). So nothing great yet, nothing awful in terms of the master. The booklet however is just a mere fold out with an ad for 180 gram vinyle and the other two panels have the smallest possible lyrics to "Door to Door." So if you already have the CD, there really is nothing new here. It is a five star CD for me, I'm having a blast hearing this CD and their new album "Move like this." Be sure to check out the Best Buy exclusive "Move like This" has two demos, two music video's and a cover of Suicide's "Rocket USA." Not a long review because most have already heard this album and I am not well versed in it enough to write a review worthy of the legacy. Just wanted to help those with a completist bug save their money. I was expecting a nice booklet with interviews and a story. Even better artwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album - but different from Cars Previous, December 5, 2007
This review is from: Door to Door (Audio CD)
First, this is a great album. But in trying to understand the mixed reviews, you have to go back a few years.

Original Cars albums were very very unique in sound. This was due mainly to the influence of Ocasek, the lead singer and songwriter. The band had a sound that mixed punk and rock, with enough pop elements that they churned out some really popular songs that were fun to listen to. Some songs, invariably the ones that you never hear because they never hit charts, were in my opinion songs that you had to be in a whacky/crazy mood to listen to, but are popular nonetheless with Cars fans. But these guys had a talent for cranking out some great must-have material on an album-by-album basis.

So you have two major shifts on this album, and shifts like this will always lead to mixed reviews for Cars fans. The now-deceased Benjamin Orr sings the majority of the tracks - and his smooth pleasant singing voice contrasts greatly with that of Ocasek, who has a very unique contrasting voice. Ocasek has a strange-sounding voice, but it works, and it is integral to the distinctive and instantly recognizable 'Cars Sound'.

I couldn't imagine Ocasek singing many of the tracks on Door to Door. On the flip side, I have trouble seeing Ben Orr sing most of the earlier Cars style of music, but he seems the natural fit for the songs on this album.

Door to Door is different, and this is why you see the mixed reactions/reviews from fans that invested years into the Cars and generally expect consistency in sound. With this different frontman, and songs that aren't as punk as the 70s songs, there s some great stuff on this album, and I still don't understand why they never got more promotion and exposure. I do think the album might have been an effort to set Ben Orr up for some success after the band s split, especially after he sang the hit 'Drive' from Heartbeat City. It's a shame he didn't live longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars drastically underrated, great final album from The Cars, November 15, 2004
By 
This review is from: Door to Door (Audio CD)
It`s really hard for me to understand why the Cars' final album, 1987's "Door to Door", is so commonly referred to as a disappointment. Accusations such as this being a "last gasp" or that the band was "out of gas" are typical with this album--that's incredibly unfair & inaccurate.

Ironically, although a lot of music from this era suffered from `synth-mania' & bad production in general, this album actually used the modernized production values to its advantage--the album was produced by Ric Ocasek with additional production from his band-mate Greg Hawkes, & they did a great job, providing the album with a sound that jumps out at you, and the only time it gets annoying is on the opening song, the overly-'hip' rocker "Leave Or Stay".

Although "Door to Door" is certainly not without similarity to the previous album "Heartbeat City", the overall vibe is considerably different--this was clearly an intentional move, & maybe it's part of what turns fans off--here, there's more of an emphasis on Rock & less of an emphasis on synth-pop, despite the fact that there are, unsurprisingly, a lot of synthesizers on here. "Double Trouble" is a great, moody rocker--it largely wavers back & forth between two power chords, but it has an arresting, ominous feel & a great lead vocal from the late Benjamin Orr. The catchy "Everything You Say" is an up tempo, yet haunting minor-keyed song with jangly rhythm guitar. The album closes with the propulsive, fast-paced title track which has an irresistible song-opening guitar riff--it's kind of a cross between hardcore punk & speed metal--it sure does sound a heck of a lot different than anything on "Heartbeat City", but it works. The mid-tempo rocker "Strap Me In" is characteristic Ocasek, and it's a solid, catchy tune & has a great guitar solo from Elliot Easton.

There are a couple terrific ballads. "Wound Up On You" has some chord changes that are unusually imaginative for Ocasek, & they're highly effective & help give the song a dreamy quality. "Fine Line" is one of the most arrestingly gloomy songs ever recorded--it chills you to the core, featuring Easton's brilliant, powerful guitar work. The up tempo, wistful & breezy "Go Away" is another damn good song, with a great chorus--it was co-written by Ocasek & Hawkes, with the rest of the songs being written solely by Ocasek. "You Are the Girl" does very much recall the feel of "You Might Think" from "Heartbeat City", & it's sugary, but it's a fun feel-good tune. "Coming Up You", with its drum machine & `toy' keyboard sound, strongly recalls the "Shake It Up" era, & it's a bit tired sounding, but it's still nicely tuneful. A couple tracks had originally been recorded by the group in 1977 & were re-recorded for this album--the aforementioned "Leave Or Stay" is rather dumb & has a frustratingly slight chorus, but the upbeat, rocking, ultra-catchy "Ta Ta Wayo Wayo" is a blast.

"Door to Door" is an album I keep coming back to over time. I really don't see why so many listeners are so hard on it. There's so much great stuff here, and it's so thoroughly enjoyable overall, that it really does rank as a must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terribly underrated swan song for The Cars, July 27, 2005
This review is from: Door to Door (Audio CD)
The other reviews say all that needs to be stated. All I can say is, believe what the majority of people here are alluding to; this is not just a great Cars album, but arguably the best overall thing they EVER recorded. Darker and moodier, with a higher level of maturity than found on any previous releases. Don't be a victim of the rumors that this album was in any way inferior, it has greater depth than anything else they ever released. A proud way to go out actually...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Door to Door
Door to Door by The Cars (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.