Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The reports of rock and roll's death are greatly exaggerated
This album is the reason I despise MTV and commercial radio. To think that I've lived my life for four years without this album, or even the knowledge of it's existance! If it hadn't been for Powertrip's radio play, I would have lived on never knowing that this band still existed. Every track on this album is infused with energy, and memorable in it's own right. This...
Published on July 20, 2000

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere in between...
...POWERTRIP and SPINE OF GOD, Monster Magnet delivered with DOPES TO INFINITY. Starting off with weird noises and stomping, sabbathtesque riffing, the title track welcomes you once again to the weird world of Dave Wyndorf. The magnet changed with every album but DOPES is, as another reviewer already pointed out their first steps in the later mass-appeal direction. The...
Published on March 15, 2002 by gotnotasteatall


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The reports of rock and roll's death are greatly exaggerated, July 20, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dopes to Infinity (Audio CD)
This album is the reason I despise MTV and commercial radio. To think that I've lived my life for four years without this album, or even the knowledge of it's existance! If it hadn't been for Powertrip's radio play, I would have lived on never knowing that this band still existed. Every track on this album is infused with energy, and memorable in it's own right. This band opened for Marilyn Manson? In a just world, the situation would have been reversed. This band is all about energetic rock, and totally free of pretention and fake emo posturing. Try it, you'll like it... especially if you're like me, a music fan who's felt deserted by Metallica and Megadeth, and either disgusted or unimpressed by recent entries into the heavy music market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monster Magnet's Magnum Opus, January 8, 2001
This review is from: Dopes to Infinity (Audio CD)
Only once every few years do I happen to find an album that is so beautifully crafted, that it is near impossible to select any favorites from the album, or only listen to one song; Dopes to Infinity is one of those few albums, where the album might as well be one long song, instead of divided into 12 individual sections.
MM blend psychedelic and rock elements together to create an hour long episode inside MM's brainchild Dave Wyndorf. The lyrics are purposefully written to be obscure with many science fiction and space-tinged themes, which is one of MM's glamors by truly being askew from the normal, standard popular rock crowd.
While I find it difficult to select any one song as a favorite, the top of my list would be "Dopes", "Negasonic" (which is the song that introduced me to MM), "Third Alternative" and "King of Mars". The lowest points I would point out would be Blow 'Em Off and Dead Christmas which have a more acoustic feel to them, but even they have their shining moments.
Not only would I label this among my favorite albums in my collection, this album has also placed its stamp in my life, detailing my life back in 1995-6.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy It, April 3, 1999
By 
Jason L Cheung (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dopes to Infinity (Audio CD)
While they are currently relegated to opening for Marilyn Manson, Monster Magnet undoubtedly deserves to be touring on their own. Dopes to Infinity was probably one of, if not THE most underrated rawk album of 1995. You will really be missing a gem if you don't buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Monster Magnet Album of All Time, December 26, 2001
This review is from: Dopes to Infinity (Audio CD)
What more can be said about Monster Magnet? That they are one of the last orginal rock bands in existance? That their sound is a culmination of everything from punk to heavy metal? That Dave Wyndorf is a genius? All have been said before. The proof? This album: Dopes to Infinity.
from the very beginning Dopes to Infinity is something special. The title track is not only heavy, blusy, and smashed, it is almost anthem like to the point where the word "beautiful" is not over doing it. The blistering assault of Negasonic Teenage Warhead is a quintacential hook of the album. With an infinitly hummable tune and a chorus you'll find yourself singing aloud to yourself. Look to Your Orb for the Waring is is perhaps the albums best song musically with it's obvious nods to not only Sabbath and Deep Purple, but also to Pink Floyd and even Nirvana. I Control I fly is one of the heavyest tracks to ever come out of the band, burning with energy and Daves ego in full swing. Dead Christmas is the albums wild card. All it needs is Jim Morrison instead of Dave to make it a Doors song! The album as a whole is a phenomina not seen in ages. Like AC/DC's Back in Black, Magnet will more than likely never be able to top this release. Certainly almost nobody else can. My advice: By this album, you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Monster Album, July 26, 2003
By 
This review is from: Dopes to Infinity (Audio CD)
The lads of MM aim to play with the big cats on this album and they succeed beyond their wildest dreams. The title track opens the album with nerve shattering snorting violence and the action doesn't let up until 70 minutes later. "Negasonic Teenage Warhead" can be used as a therapeutic device for highschool brats. "I will deny you!" That is, you've got nothing on me, you pseudo-peers. Things get downright scary in "All Friends and Kingdom Come." But like any good trashy horror novel, if you're not scared you wouldn't be getting what you want. Robert A. Heinlein's Stranger in a Strange Land meant to purge its readers of pity and fear. MM agree. By making you so damn scared you get a huge rush when you realize that what's so bloody scary is YOU. If you like trash, you probably read comics. & Dave and the boys have come up with the perfect soundtrack to any cosmic comic with "Ego the Living Planet." This one can be profitably listened to while you read things like Marvel's Earth X. "I Control I Fly" kicks out the jams and rocks frenetically, while "Dead Christmas" provides some darkly amusing moments of introspection.
This is the best thing that Monster Magnet has produced so far. But I suspect that they're only beginning to tap into the demented mind of the teenage brat. We Want More!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIER FINEST HOUR, March 3, 2003
By 
This review is from: Dopes to Infinity (Audio CD)
their best album ever!!! this album combines black sabbath doom style riff-o-rama with hawkwind style psychadelic mind mending music to offer up, without a doubt, the most awesome album MM ever spewed forth. despite the few reviewers who do not see the beauty of this album, i assure you, this is the goods delivered.
with hits like "negasonic teenage warhead" with the simple verse riff (one string strummed) and the flanger to give it flavor which leads us to the explosive awesome chorus that just makes me jump out of my skin. we also have the instrumental "ego, the living planet" which is a bit repitive but still rocks. "look to the orb for the warning" and "third alternative" are alos worth noting as exceptional pieces.
this whole album i can listen to from start to finish & top to bottom. rarely do i skip a track and when its over, frequently do i replay some of them. if this is your first MM experience or you are looking to get into them, this is one good place to start but you may be too blown away to go to work tommorow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not their best, but better than most, April 8, 2003
By 
Wheelchair Assassin (The Great Concavity) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dopes to Infinity (Audio CD)
Although I find "Superjudge" to be the best Monster Magnet release, "Dopes to Infinity" will always occupy a prominent place in my collection. If you're a fan of sludgy, Sabbathesque metal, you certainly can't go wrong with this album. Monster Magnet have always rocked unapologetically, and done so with more flair and musiciansip than any of the boring, wimpy Seattle-lite and nu-metal bands currently polluting a radio dial near you. Dave Wyndorf's vocals are often trippy, but they still hit hard, and he and Ed Mundell pull off some excellent Iommi worship on guitars. The first four songs on "Dopes to Infinity" comprise a rock clinic of sorts, from the massive, stuttering riffs of the title track and "Look to Your Orb for the Warning," to the rhythmic crunch and irresistible groove of "Negasonic Teenage Warhead," and the mystic trippiness of "All Friends and Kingdom Come." The quality doesn't stop there, either. "Ego, the Living Planet," is almost entirely instrumental, but its fuzzy and repetitive riffing is downright mesmerizing. Rarely does an instrumental hold my attention like this one does. The eight-minute "Third Alternative" is a swirling, sinister epic, with subdued verses building to an explosive chorus. The fast, roaring, "I Control, I Fly" could almost qualify as thrash metal, and the woozy psychedelia of "Vertigo" closes the album out on the best note possible. All in all, a quality album from a band that knows how to rock. You can do a lot worse than to add "Dopes to Infinity" to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last pure Stoner Album., October 23, 2003
By 
Eric Moen (Darien, Il United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dopes to Infinity (Audio CD)
Dopes to Infinity was the Magnet's last foray into the world of Stoner Rock (a sub-genre they themeselves helped create). Later albums could be deemed a more pure, hard form of Rock, & though I love all of the Magnet's albums, this one still holds a special place in my heart.
A lot of similar themes in terms of track arangement can be found here. The first (& title) track starts off quiet & trippy, & carries, getting louder & heavier as it goes. The second track (& hit single "Negasonic Teenage Warhead") knocks you clean across the room as a sample of Rock of any type in it's least condensed form. The album carries strongly from beginning to end, including songs like "I Control, I Fly," "Dead Christmas," & the appropriately monster instrumental "Ego, the Living Planet."
One track, "Look to Your Orb for the Warning," appeared a few years later on the soundtrack for "The Matrix." Sadly, however, the song is not in the movie itself. Still, I'm glad to see Monster Magnet get some degree of come-uppance, after something in the neighborhood of 15 years reveling in near obscurity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE TRIP..., February 10, 2011
This review is from: Dopes to Infinity (Audio CD)
Simply the best MM ever IMHO.
Nasty... Trippy... & Great Production & Sound.

Let the "Melt-Down" begin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've got mushroom clouds in my head, boy, December 28, 2008
This review is from: Dopes to Infinity (Audio CD)
"Dopes to Infinity" is Monster Magnet at their absolute best. Listening to Dave Wyndorf and the gang's recent output it's hard to even compare, such is the fall from grace. Thankfully though, this album and its predecessors are superb. Catchy, melodic, fuzzy and spacey, the sound is irresistible.

In fact, the first six tracks on "Dopes to Infinity" make up some of the very best stoner rock to come out of the 90s. Tracks like "Look to Your Orb For Warning", "Negasonic Teenage Warhead" and the title track perfectly blend grooving, fuzzy riffs with melodic hooks, all encapsulating Wyndorf's raspy and powerful vocals. There's slower, more psychedelic edged tracks, the best of which "All Friends and Kingdom Come" wonderfully forges a kind of melancholy, trippy atmosphere. It's all great and consistent listening. Monster Magnet at their best are superb; it's a real shame it went downhill from here.

I've noted someone has tagged this album as 'mean'. Damn right, this is mean f**king goodness. Yeah.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dopes to Infinity
Dopes to Infinity by Monster Magnet (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.