Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for a child with a language disorder
My daughter has a mixed receptive/expressive language disorder and has some difficulty following other games. She does know all her letters and their sounds, so this is a game that we can play together, take turns, and have fun collecting all the items for Dora's picnic. It is possible to have a "winner" and loser", but we just enjoy having fun. The turn taking aspect has...
Published on July 24, 2007 by OneMom

versus
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT WORTH IT
MY DUGHTER IS 4 YEARS OLD. SHE WANTED THAT GAME FOR CHRISTMAS. THE OBJECT IS TO GO FROM LETTER TO LETTER AND FIND A PICTURE THAT WOULD START WITH THE LETTER YOU ARE ON. AFTER FIRST ROUND OF PLAYING SHE KNEW ALL THE ANSWERS SO THERE WAS NO MORE PLAYING. NOT WORTH A MONEY
Published on December 25, 2006 by M. Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT WORTH IT, December 25, 2006
By 
M. Williams (KEY WEST, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dora the Explorer: ABC Game (Toy)
MY DUGHTER IS 4 YEARS OLD. SHE WANTED THAT GAME FOR CHRISTMAS. THE OBJECT IS TO GO FROM LETTER TO LETTER AND FIND A PICTURE THAT WOULD START WITH THE LETTER YOU ARE ON. AFTER FIRST ROUND OF PLAYING SHE KNEW ALL THE ANSWERS SO THERE WAS NO MORE PLAYING. NOT WORTH A MONEY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dora ABC Game, January 2, 2007
This review is from: Dora the Explorer: ABC Game (Toy)
I was very disappointed with this game. There is really no way for anyone who plays to 'win' the game. It is more of a practice set than a game. (You are better off purchasing flash cards at a fraction of the cost.) Once your child masters the pictures, there is no point in pulling it out any more anyway. Some of the pictures used for learning phonics don't make alot of sense to me either. For example, a bowl of cherries is used for the letter C.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for a child with a language disorder, July 24, 2007
By 
OneMom (Great Lakes) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dora the Explorer: ABC Game (Toy)
My daughter has a mixed receptive/expressive language disorder and has some difficulty following other games. She does know all her letters and their sounds, so this is a game that we can play together, take turns, and have fun collecting all the items for Dora's picnic. It is possible to have a "winner" and loser", but we just enjoy having fun. The turn taking aspect has been wonderful as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ABC game, January 11, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dora the Explorer: ABC Game (Toy)
This is a good game. My 3 year old already knows the alphabet, we are working on their sounds now, so when you are done learning the letters, use it to make the sounds before moving along. Easy 1st game for all toddlers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, but still OK, January 12, 2007
By 
This review is from: Dora the Explorer: ABC Game (Toy)
The game consists of a game board, a Dora game piece, and 26 tiles with all the letters of the alphabet. The object is to move around the board landing on every letter of the alphabet and then locating the tile that has an object that begins with that letter. The letter on the board will correspond with the color of the tile. That does help the kids, but I feel that it can be a little difficult for children who don't know their letter sounds. I wish it had more to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More like Flash cards than game, October 25, 2007
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dora the Explorer: ABC Game (Toy)
It doesn't "Play" like a game- there's only 1 game piece. Good for much younger kids for letter recognition and some sounds. We play by matching the card to the letter, put the card on the board and then Dora "hops" from card to card. There isn't really enough room on the board for this. I'd recommend plain old flashcards over this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Make up your own directions!, August 30, 2012
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dora the Explorer: ABC Game (Toy)
I bought this at a garage sale and it didn't come with directions so I made up my own. My daughter loves it just b/c it is Dora. You can make learning fun by adapting game to meet the skills of the child(ren) you are playing with!

Here are the directions / variations I came up with to Dora ABC Game.

Version 1: Age 2 1/2 - 4? (Once child can count to 6 and match letters)
Place the board with the ABC / picnic side up. Roll a dice. Have child count the dots on the dice and move the same number of letters on the board. Child picks up corresponding card and places it on blanket on the bottom of the board to have for the picnic at the end of the game. Once the child reaches the end have them name all the items they got to have at their picnic. If you are playing with more than one child, have each child name the items they contributed.
Level 1: Letter matching
Place letter cards letter side up and match the letter card to the letter they landed on. Then place picture side up on the blanket.
Level 2: Picture letter matching
Place cards picture side up. When the child lands on a letter they must find the picture that starts with the letter they landed on.
Level 3: Expanded picture matching
After the child has learned all the picture / letter combinations have them name another item that starts with that letter to bring to the picnic before they place their card on the the blanket.

Version 2: Age 2 1/2 - 4? (Once child can identify ABC's.)
Place the board with the backpack side up.
Level 1: Place cards letter side up. You state a letter, child finds it. They turn it over and place the item in backpack. Play until all items are in backpack.
Level 2: Place cards picture side up. You state a letter, child finds the card with the picture that starts with the same letter and place the item on backpack. Play until all items are in backpack. Have the child empty backpack by naming another item that starts with each letter.
Lever 3: Place level 2 and then have the child empty backpack by naming another item that starts with the same letter, either by looking only at the picture.

Be creative and make it fun!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is a great idea with poor execution, July 16, 2008
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dora the Explorer: ABC Game (Toy)
This game is a great idea with poor execution. The child is supposed to find the picture card that begins with the same sound as the letter on the board. However, some of the pictures are not reasonable. For example, the "C" sound is represented by "cherries."

Initially it was a fun way to quiz my three year olds knowledge of letter names and sounds, but after we identified the few that he needed to work on, the game became pointless.

At age 3, he still enjoys playing with the backpack shaped game board and flipping through the tiles, but the point of the game is lost after the first go round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not for a 3 year old!!! POOR GAME OVERALL, January 6, 2008
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dora the Explorer: ABC Game (Toy)
I was really disappointed with this game. I have the diego game for my boys and love it so assumed this would be good too. First of all there is no way a on level 3 year old could play this without really telling him what the answer is. You are given a card for each letter with a picture of something starting with that letter on it. The board has the letters A-Z on it in order and you take and move your pawn to the letter and have to pick up the correct picture that starts with that letter to move on. Thats it, nothing else to it. It will be the same game over and over again. My 6 year old could play this but not a 3 year old like its suggested. Wouldn't waste my money on this again for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and versatile preschool game, December 27, 2007
By 
C. Fleming (MS United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dora the Explorer: ABC Game (Toy)
I purchased this game for my 2 1/2 year old daughter thinking it might be too advanced for her, but she loves Dora, so I thought I'd give it a try. This game is great because it is versatile for children who are just learning their letters as well as for children who are learning to recognize which sounds go with which letters. I adapted the game to fit her skill level by having her find the cards that matched the letters on the board. Later I'll be able to use the game to help her learn letter sounds. It is a cute little game for a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dora the Explorer: ABC Game
$18.51
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.