Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hawkwind - 'Doremi Fasol Latido' (EMI) import
Remember, now this isn't the lp's first CD pressing on the One Way label; it's the lp's second reissue on the UK import EMI that comes with four (4) bonus cuts. First put out in 1972 as this was the space rock king's third mind-melting album. It's the first record to feature both bassist Lemmy and drummer Simon King (who actually stuck around for awhile). If there are any...
Published on February 17, 2005 by Mike Reed

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Sounds so OLD!
Published 3 months ago by NORMAN NELSON


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hawkwind - 'Doremi Fasol Latido' (EMI) import, February 17, 2005
This review is from: Doremi Fasol Latido (Audio CD)
Remember, now this isn't the lp's first CD pressing on the One Way label; it's the lp's second reissue on the UK import EMI that comes with four (4) bonus cuts. First put out in 1972 as this was the space rock king's third mind-melting album. It's the first record to feature both bassist Lemmy and drummer Simon King (who actually stuck around for awhile). If there are any new Hawkwind fans out there, this reissue is one of the first titles you should hunt down a copy of. One big reason, 'Doremi Fasol Latido' has the original versions of some of Hawkwind's standards that EVEN to this very day stands the test of time and continues to draw in new listeners whenever they get played on one of those 'community-funded' radio stations where the DJ plays whatever they want. Cuts like "Brainstorm", the galactic brain damaging "Space Is Deep" (first time I heard this tune, I went out of my mind-thought I died for a few minutes and went to space rock heaven) and "Time We Left This World Today". An absolute 110% must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaviest Spacerock Album of All Time!, April 24, 2003
By 
This review is from: Doremi Fasol Latido (Audio CD)
Arguably the HEAVIEST rock album of all time. Hawkwind's "Doremi" succeeds both as heavy metal and spacerock in equal measure. Lemmy Kilmister's rumbling bass lines are augmented by D. Brock's fuzzed and wahhed electric guitars as thunderous drums keep the tribal beat going. Certainly, the feedback-drenched sequeway from "Brainstorm" into "Space Is Deep" qualifies as rock's most audacious song intro (-the sonic equivalent of the sky being torn in two! ). "Space Is Deep" being another strong point-combining twittering audio-generators with hamfisted acoustic guitar work. "Time We Left This World Today" could've been done by primitive Amazonian tribesmen wielding Telecasters and forests of 100-watt Marshall stacks. The song's roto-rhythmic riffs and are orgasmically entrancing. Overall a tour-de-force for the heavyhanded spacerock enthusiast. Those liking "Space Ritual" will love "Doremi" ( -the album is in-fact cited as a major inspiration for Star Tribe's music ). Play this one LOUD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another mighty Hawkwind classic!!, September 27, 2006
By 
R. Recchia "reck" (blodgett mills, ny) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doremi Fasol Latido (Audio CD)
For review number 200 on Amazon (do I get a prize or something?), I thought I'd write a review for an album by one of my all time favorite bands.......Hawkwind!!! My brother John originally bought this on vinyl sometime around 1980, and my biggest memory of it was the story that appears on the back cover, which has Hawkwind and it's road crew as super heroes who were called upon to fight evil on distant planets and/or universes, or something like that! When I finally bought Doremi on CD in 1991 (on ONE WAY RECORDS, whose version did not include the story), I was initially not overwhelmed by how GOOD this album was, but how LOUD it was. As a matter of anti-fiction, I first thought that other than the song 'Space is Deep' that this album was horrible! After a another listen or two, however, I grew to love this album.

As stated earlier, this is an extremely LOUD album, with much emphasis on drums and bass guitar. This was the 'Winds first album with drummer Simon King and bassist Lemmy, the band's tighest and heaviest rhythm section up to that point (and maybe their heaviest rhythm section ever). This album and Space Ritual were Hawkwind's first two (or maybe only two) heavy metal albums. Lemmy was a great addition to the band..not only was he a great bass player, he could also write songs, play guitar and sing...if you consider what Lemmy does singing, that is! Given all this, it is pretty odd that Lemmy provides the album with it's most quiet and laid back song, with the acoustic guitar ballad 'The Watcher'. Personally, I prefer the version of this song that would later appear on Motorhead's On Parole album. Synthesizer and audio generator player Del Dettmar provides the album's other truly quiet moment, the 49 second synthesizer and piano instrumental ' One Change '.

The album gets off to an overwhelmingly loud start, however, with Nik Turner's 11 and a half minute spacy , three chord hard rocker ' Brainstorm ', one of the most well known Hawkwind tunes of all time and one that would remain in their live set for the rest of their career, which in 2006 is still going strong. Certainly not Turner's best set of lyrics, but the song has a powerful and very catchy guitar riff, and some very prominent backing vocals from Lemmy. The best way to enjoy this song (if, like me, you don't do drugs) is to just turn the volume all the way up and let the song overwhelm and surround you and take you in. Next up is my favorite song on the album, Brock's acoustic guitar led ' Space is Deep ', which I think is the one of the more melodic songs here. I love Brock's vocals (he has always been my favorite vocalist for this band), the acoustic guitar riff, and particularly the synthesizers...the best use of synthesizers on a Hawkwind album up to that point.

The second half gets off a very strong start with the fast-paced and heavy riff rocker 'Lord of Light'. Great song, but not the best mix, with way too much wind effects (or should I say just to be clever, 'Hawkwind' effects?) on Brock's guitar. Still, this song has more powerful drumming and bass playing from King and Lemmy. 'Down Through The Night' is another acoustic guitar and snthesizer driven number, quite listenable like most of this record. I like the version of this song from Space Ritual, which has more electric guitar on it. 'Time We Left This World Today ' is another hard rocker, though I think it is one the weaker and more sloppy tunes on the album. Still, it is very catchy and has more of Lemmy's prominent and distinct background vocals.

As for the bonus tracks, well...I haven't bought this remastered version, but two of the tracks, Urban Guerilla and Brainbox Pollution, show up on the compilation by Cleopatra Records, 'Psychedelic Warlords', 'Lord of Light' shows up on another Cleopatra Records Hawkwind compilation LORD OF LIGHT, while 'Ejection' originally popped up on Bob Calvert's wonderful Captain Lockheed album. All four of these are great songs, but if you own these three albums (and One-Way Records Doremi) then I guess getting this remastered version would be redundant, even though I bet it restores the story on the back of the LP (the pun wasn't intended!) and probably includes some pics, so maybe it isn't a waste of your time getting it!

In either form...this is certainly not the best SOUNDING Hawkwind album, but it is still one of their best in terms of songs and definitely their loudest album. I like it a bunch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waiting to Take Off, December 10, 2009
By 
This review is from: Doremi Fasol Latido (Audio CD)
"Standing on the runway, waiting to take off, you gotta help me, help me to shake off... this body and mind..."

The Line Up:

* Dave Brock - 6 and 12 string acoustic guitar, electric guitar, vocals
* Nik Turner - saxophone, flute, vocals
* Lemmy (Ian Kilmister) - bass guitar, acoustic guitar and vocals on "Space Is Deep" and "The Watcher"
* Dik Mik (Michael Davies) - Synthesizer
* Del Dettmar - Synthesizer
* Simon King - drums
* Robert Calvert - vocals on "Urban Guerilla" and "Ejection"
* Paul Rudolph - guitars on "Ejection"

Notes:

I'll begin by noting that at the time, the members complained about how poorly the record was recorded: muddy and washed out and tinny. And on the 1991 mastering, the record sounds terrible.

But the version available to today comes from 1996, and the engineer did a wonderful job at making a silk purse out of a sow's ear. The sound is vastly improved on the '96 version, and there is absolutely no trace of the 'loudness war'. While they probably could do an even better job with today's technology, the '96 is still excellent and very satisfying despite the dreadful recording. However, the bulk of the material appears on "The Space Ritual" in a much better form. "Space Ritual" is a double live album that came out in '73, and is possibly the greatest live album ever released.

The Songs:

"Brainstorm" is a space rock classic. It's a driving compelling 11 minute jam. And Lemmy provides driving runs and power chords with his bass. As Lemmy has noted, he doesn't play the bass like a bass player, but a deep guitarist. And you can't miss his backing vocals.

"Space is Deep" is done as an acoustic version here. The fantastic use of primitive electronics makes this a very good listen.

The heavily effected electric piano of "One Change" works very well for this very short interlude before...

"Lord of Light" is unleashed with its effects, distorted riffs and driving bass. Lemmy conjures up some superb bass lines on this one.

"Down Through the Night" may feel simple and repetitive, but it is done with a purpose. You can feel it as a forerunner of Trance and Ambient.

The segue to "Time We Left This World Today" is a bit bumpy, but that is a small complaint for what follows. A massive riff fractures into atonal tribal chaos with harsh rhythms, irregular sax bleeps, wah-wah, and chanting.

The album proper ends with "The Watcher" an acoustic piece with Lemmy taking the vocal duties. The major key of the guitars feels at odds with the minor key of the melody line, and the piece is all the more bleak for leaving out the drums. The song and album end with understated electronic effects that provide a perfect dénouement.

The reverie is short lived as the first bonus track "Urban Guerilla" shatters the effect. While I appreciate most bonus tracks, they really do disrupt the coherence of some albums. "Urban Guerilla" is completely out of place stylistically and lyrically. Skip.

"Brainbox Pollution" is a good song, but it also doesn't fit with the wonderful coherence of the original album.

The single edit version of "Lord of Light" is a bad hack job of the version on the album.

The final song is "Ejection", a vastly inferior version to what appears on the Starfighters album. So I usually only line up the first 7 tracks when listening.

Summary:

If you already have the live album Space Ritual, then there's not much reason to touch this one, unless you are a big fan, then it is essential because of Lemmy's "The Watcher" and the acoustic "Space is Deep". That is not to say it is a bad album, it is a great album. But most of the album appears on the double live "Space Ritual" album in much better versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hawkwind - Space Is Deep.........., September 24, 2008
By 
Steven Sly (Kalamazoo, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doremi Fasol Latido (Audio CD)
Hawkwind's 3rd album would be the first to feature Lemmy (who would go on to form Motorhead) on bass and Simon King on drums. Overall the sound of the band became a bit heavier with this release, but the material was still very much in the space rock vein. Guitars, bass and drums are up front on this one with the keyboards reined in a bit from the band's previous efforts. The album opens with "Brainstorm" a rollicking rocker that reminds me of "Shouldn't Do That" from the previous album. "Brainstorm" is still a staple in the band's live set today. "Space Is Deep" and "Time We Left The World Today" are two other favorites that bolster the band's science fiction themes. I am not really sure if this is a concept album or not, but there is a long story written in the liner notes about space heroes running through the galaxy that may or may not fit as a storyline to the music. The last track is the menacing "The Watcher" with Lemmy on vocals and is truly a chilling little science fiction tune. Lemmy would best be known as a metal pioneer, but this song is mellow, melodic, and dark. This is another strong early Hawkwind album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another purchase I don't regret, October 12, 2004
By 
Dylan Madeley (Woodbridge, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doremi Fasol Latido (Audio CD)
My first Hawkwind purchases were "Hall of the Mountain Grill" and "Space Ritual". With that in mind, I had high expectations. Not only because I was impressed with every single Hawkwind album I had purchased so far, but because live versions of some of the songs on this album appear on Space Ritual, so I was anxious to see if the studio songs were as worthy as their live counterparts. I've come to the conclusion that the studio versions are more than worthy--they just might be better than the live versions on "Space Ritual", which is saying something.
"Brainstorm" is not my favourite Hawkwind album opener, but a great one nonetheless, a nice long rocker with lyrics you can hear well enough to tell that they make sense, yet not well enough to discern exactly what they are without good ears. Then, it gets better: "Space Is Deep" opens with a fantastic intro of plucked notes, supported by a firm foundation of hot electronics and spacey sounds. "One Change" follows, brief, wordless, as if the album were shifting gears. Then, suddenly, you hear the opening screeches of "Lord of Light", another good rocker equal in stature to "Space Is deep", and moving seamlessly into the beautiful "Down Through The Night", which in turn leads to "Time We Left This World Today" and "The Watcher". There is not a single bad cut on this album, not a single track I would define as filler, not a single good reason why any Hawkwind fan wouldn't add this to their collection if it were readily available and they could afford it.
In sum, I absolutely love "Doremi Fasol Latido". It's brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hawkwind daze...., November 28, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doremi Fasol Latido (Audio CD)
THE FIRST TIME I HEARD THIS ALBUM WAS AT A PARTY IN 1973 WHILE DRINKING BOONESFARM STRAWBERRY HILL AND EATING PEYOTEBUDBROWNIES.SOMEONE PUT ON AN EIGHT TRACK OF THIS ALBUM AND JUST LET IT PLAY CONTINUOUSLY FOR ABOUT 6 HOURS.I GUESS THAT JUST ABOUT SAYS IT ALL..................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ride the wind, September 9, 2008
By 
This review is from: Doremi Fasol Latido (Audio CD)
The one thing about Hawkwind that immediately jumps out to me is the way the band creates their instrumental jams. They are unlike anything I've ever heard before. I guess they're supposed to put the image in your head of watching something SOAR across the universe, and you know, it actually works quite well, especially on the early albums where the sound was muddy, yet extremely appealing. For that alone, Doremi Fasol Latido rules a LOT.

"Brainstorm" is the lengthy track on here, and it's probably the best one too. You have an energetic and VERY punk-like vocal melody and chorus, which soon leads into a bizarre and intriguing space rock jam. I don't know if Hawkwind created the term "space rock", but they are better at it then most bands. These instrumental jams sound believable, and you know, I've heard all kinds of jam bands from the 70's and NONE of them make jams like the ones Hawkwind are known for. Hawkwind has their own sound, that's for sure.

"Time We Left the World Today" is very catchy, and reminds me of a certain Chambers Brothers song with a similar title. The Hawkwind song has some guitar work that will knock your socks off when you hear how funky it is, and how much it rocks and sounds melodic. Great great stuff.

The other songs are about good songwriting. Some of them remind me of the other popular space rock band that was popular at the time, UFO. One such track that reminds me of UFO would be "Lord of Light". I love Hawkwind though, and the early stuff is just fantastic hard rock/space rock with a distinct and wonderful sound and style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, November 22, 2009
This review is from: Doremi Fasol Latido (Audio CD)
If a virgin to Hawkwind, Space Ritual is the starting point; one of the few live albums in rock that gives you a better idea of what a band was about thAn the studio work.

But if you want more--and you will--this is the logical place. Dorimi has a lot of the material contained on the double live juggarnot.

Hawkwind's music was, structurally, so simple, it gave them a chance to take it to its enth degree live. This is not a knock. Coltrane kept his changes simple so he could strech the improvosation, and Hawkwind work the same way.

Hearing this at first may disappoint--it may sound flat, only in compairson to the tracks on Space Ritual. But in the studio, this music has a simple, purpulsive energy. This stuff may be labeled progressive, and to a large extent, that is true. But Dorimi has all the aggression and punch of any 70s punk album.

This is either punk with progressive shadings or progressive punk. Who cares what it is called. Pick this up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't drop that Acid yet..Take this instead, November 1, 2008
This review is from: Doremi Fasol Latido (Audio CD)
This was the first album I heard by Hawkwind and Imediately became the status of thinking about music my whole life..This is mans best musical Composition ever made in history. and still to this day , the greatest album ever..From there I got all past and present albums for their 38 year history..Never an album with the same sound like AC/DC. This band has never had a sound that labels them..I have turned many people into Hawkwind freaks by showing them this album first..Even in Vietnam, Brainstorm is now a great song among my friends. The studio version is the ultimate..For some reason the live versions have never been just like it.5 stars is too little..go 10 stars..25 years ago I had the album cover silk screened onto my leather motorcycle jacket and still proudly wear it."Standing on the runway, waiting to take off..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Doremi Fasol Latido
Doremi Fasol Latido by Hawkwind (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.