Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STUNNING!!
Forget everything that you think you know about DOROTHY MILLS.

You know nothing.

Dorothy has been accused of nearly strangling a baby in her care. Enter Jane, the court appointed psychologist sent to evaluate her mental state. I don't want to say any more and ruin the twists, curves and flat out blind sides this film delivers.

DOROTHY...
Published on October 14, 2010 by Deidra Cox

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dorothy Mills (2008)
Plot - IMDB
A psychiatrist is assigned to work on the case of a disturbed young girl.

Review - 2/5
On the cover it says 'A contemporary take on The Exorcist', yeah not really. This is absolutely nothing like The Exorcist nor is it as entertaining or scary. I almost fell asleep at the agonizing slow pace I had to deal with the first hour. It picks up...
Published 8 months ago by Duane


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STUNNING!!, October 14, 2010
By 
This review is from: Dorothy Mills (DVD)
Forget everything that you think you know about DOROTHY MILLS.

You know nothing.

Dorothy has been accused of nearly strangling a baby in her care. Enter Jane, the court appointed psychologist sent to evaluate her mental state. I don't want to say any more and ruin the twists, curves and flat out blind sides this film delivers.

DOROTHY MILLS is fascinating, haunting, creepy. On certain levels, it reminded me of THE WICKER MAN. No, not that horrible remake with Nicholas Cage. The stunning original 1973 WICKER MAN. The isolation of the island and the pagan images during the dance evolved that whispful quality of THE WICKER MAN.

Everything about this story works. The characters, the setting, the twist within a twist within a twist. DOROTHY MILLS is like a Russian puzzle box. You think you know where you're going and there you are, inside another box.

I can't recommend DOROTHY MILLS enough! Just be prepared to lose the next couple hours and be mesmerized. It's nothing short of breathtaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Conduit..., December 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dorothy Mills (DVD)
I came across DOROTHY MILLS quite by accident, and I'm certainly glad I did! With its perfectly unsettling mix of various (yet original) elements from THE EXORCIST, THE WICKER MAN, WAKE WOOD, and SYBIL, DM should be a supernatural classic. The interplay between Jane (Carice van Houten) and Dorothy (Jenn Murray) make the building horror absolutely believable, and make up the core of this dark gem. If you are a lover of the paranormal, psycho-thriller w/ heavy doses of dread and paranoia, then DOROTHY MILLS will fill your soul w/ ice...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A PERFORMANCE!!!! This is an amazing film!, March 31, 2009
By 
Paulo Leite (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dorothy Mills (DVD)
WOW...

I can only say "wow"... this film boosts the performance of a lifetime. Young Jenn Murray is simply amazing as this young girl suffering from multiple personalities that may or may not be the work of the dead.

She is simply amazing!

The story is quite simple: a doctor from the mainland goes to a remote Irish island where 15 year old Dorothy Mills seems to have murdered a baby. As she starts to know Dorothy and spend some time with her, she uncovers the many personalities inhabiting the girl's body. There is an innocent 3 year old girl... a boy who protects Dorothy from killing herself... a slut who teases the town's men... and Duncan who is a little more violent than the others.

It all seems to be a simple case of multiple personalities until young Dorothy talks to the doctor as her lost son. And suddenly we start to understand that there's more to the town's dead than we can see... because they all end up in Dorothy's body.

This film is much more a FABULOUS supernatural/psychological drama than plain horror. And in its own right, it is truly amazing. The story is magnificently well told with unbelievable performances. The direction is sharp, precise and masterful. Everything here is right.

Don't expect any gore.
Expect an inexpensive Irish film that will give you an amazing experience seldom found in films with 10 times the budget.

Simply amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dorothy Mills (2008), May 11, 2014
By 
Duane (Murphy, NC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dorothy Mills (DVD)
Plot - IMDB
A psychiatrist is assigned to work on the case of a disturbed young girl.

Review - 2/5
On the cover it says 'A contemporary take on The Exorcist', yeah not really. This is absolutely nothing like The Exorcist nor is it as entertaining or scary. I almost fell asleep at the agonizing slow pace I had to deal with the first hour. It picks up towards the end, but it's not anything new. Tried to throw some awful twist into it, and frankly I wasn't shocked or amazed. Can we please stop making possession/split personality films. Geez!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars REAL GOOD, DIDN'T EXPECTED!!!, May 18, 2009
By 
Benjamin Kidman (Hayward,CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dorothy Mills (DVD)
This was a very well made movie with quality acting by all. The description of the movie does not tell the whole story. There is much more to the story line that is very interesting. There's a lot of tension and a few bloody scenes, mainly dead sheep. Dorothy is a "gifted" young girl who many believe is under demonic control. A doctor comes to comes to her home after a disturbing incident Dorothy has while babysitting. The doctor believes Dorothy has multiple personalities. This is when the story really takes shape and draws you in. What is really Dorothy's gift??? You will have to watch the movie to find out. Very entertaning story and well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dorthy Mills, June 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dorothy Mills (DVD)
Did not enjoy this flick. It was slow and poorly done. Acting was ok. Story was week and not convincing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not great, June 29, 2014
This review is from: Dorothy Mills (DVD)
The movie was slow. I thought it was not a great story line however I had to watch it until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dorothy Mills, April 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dorothy Mills (DVD)
I would have to say that I knew where this was going. It was pretty easy to determine. I understood why the townspeople thought her remarkable, especially for the setting. The outcome was pretty good, knowing it's what was expected. I would say it's a light horror. No gory details so it's safe for those that don't like the "blood stuff".

Spoiler alert: Don't read further if you don't want to know about the storyline:

It's patterned after The Three Faces of Eve. That's my best guess. So, that pretty much tells you where it's all coming from. Right down to the "history" of the "why". I look at this as a remake of Eve, but from a different view. It's a child, not an adult telling their story. I liked the Eve movie, so this one was right on target.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Foreign style, but good story., January 18, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dorothy Mills (DVD)
Didn't like the fact that it was a foreign made movie, BUT.....it was good and would recommend it. I think Hollywood would have done a better job, but the plot/story was very creative, and the acting was really not that bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tired and Trite Story only partially saved by Carice Van Houten, May 2, 2009
By 
This review is from: Dorothy Mills (DVD)
There are two reasons to rent this DVD: Carice van Houten who is becoming one of the finest actresses on the screen today and the scenery of Ireland. Otherwise this tedious and silly 'thriller' is a tired unimaginative rehash of all of the previous movies about multiple personality disorders such as The Three Faces of Eve, Sybil, etc that are so superior to this story written by Juliette Sales and writer/director Agnès Merlet.

Apparently hoping to make a silk purse out of a sow's ear, director Merlet places her story on an Island off Ireland populated with a sick group of folks who protect the strange secrets of the title character Dorothy Mills (Jenn Murray). Needing to explore her own demons, a Dublin psychiatrist Dr Jane Van Dopp (van Houten) gains the assignment to explore the strange case of Mills and her history. In a series of flashbacks and inane reenactments of incidents, the truths behind the island's strange inhabitants, Dorothy Mills, and Dr Jane Van Doop come forward. The ending has a twist but not one that justifies the dull story that requires a large amount of patience on the part of the viewer. Pass on this one. Grady Harp, May 09
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dorothy Mills
Dorothy Mills by Agnès Merlet (DVD - 2009)
$12.97 $12.02
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.