Customer Reviews


422 Reviews
5 star:
 (215)
4 star:
 (140)
3 star:
 (43)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


183 of 187 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping the Germans in the dark...and pigeons in the air.
Before you begin reading this book, take a look at the map at the very front. It's a map of northern France and southern England. Notice how close the cities of Dover and Calais are; the sea distance is about 21 miles. Meanwhile, continue west to the widest gap between France and England which is about 100 miles. That's the distance between Portsmouth, England and the...
Published on June 1, 2012 by Jill Meyer

versus
69 of 76 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superficial overview
The deception efforts of D-Day are one of my favorite parts of modern history, and I have read a good amount of the published works on the subject. I believe this story is a very complex and multi-faceted tale, and not really a good candidate for a 300 page book.

The Good Stuff

* The material the book does present is fascinating. The narrative is...
Published on June 16, 2012 by Andy in Washington


‹ Previous | 116 17 1843 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars I like historical novels, September 20, 2013
By 
B. Ventura (Palm Beach, FL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was one of the best. Although I read a lot of WW2 history this was something I had never heard of or had even been suggested in any previous book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another great read by Macintyre, September 2, 2013
By 
Chet (Columbus, OH) - See all my reviews
Like Agent Zigzag and Operation Mincemeat before, Macintyre weaves a story that seems to be stranger than fiction. The plot and characters at times seem more unlikely than would be encountered in a Bond film, but are more meaningful in the role that they played in order to deceive the Germans leading up to the D-Day landing. Macintyre's writing style is enjoyable, and he paces the story excellently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, August 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent book. Love reading true history and Macintyer really hits a home run. If you like James Bond, you'll love this book, cause its the real thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing what they pulled off, August 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I visited the Churchill War Rooms in London, while reading this, and it added an entirely new dimension and perspective to my understanding of the dynamics of WWII espionage, and the crucial role it played in the success of D-day.
For any WWII history buff, this is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Double Cross the untold story of D-Day, August 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book sheds light on the truth behind how the Allies were able to pull off the D-Day invasion of Normandy against all the odds. The truth about theD-Day spies and their deception of the Nazi intelligence services reads like fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WWII HIstorical, August 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The back back story of how D-Day succeeded...great stories of German spies, codebreaking, and how a little dog almost spoiled the whole thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD READ., July 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i have visited Blechley and have MI5 friend who acted as a guide as we toured that and other facilities. I wish I would have read this book before as it would have helped fill in some of the more obscure details. Definitely a good read for the fans of the OSS and early CIA. Plan to re-read before my next trip across the pond and retrace some of my steps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, July 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great read... learned some very interesting new facts. This author has been a good find for history reads. Blah blah blah
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars WW II a story of Spies, July 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you like books about spies, this is your book, ! Well writen, much story recall, about WW II , you will enyoy it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Read for afficionados of WWII history, July 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Most D-Day tales focus on the military side of the historic disembarkation. This gives you the run-up to it and the wonderfully written narrative of the double-agents without whom D-Day would never have happened. The character studies of those involved are fascinating reading. The breathtaking near misses, conicidences, and acts of sheer chutzpah are thrilling reading. A great example of the cliche', "Truth is stranger than fiction."

P. Kurtz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 1843 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Double Cross: The True Story of the D-Day Spies
Double Cross: The True Story of the D-Day Spies by Ben Macintyre (Hardcover - July 31, 2012)
$26.00 $17.01
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.