Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 9104 is just like it's little brother.
I purchased a Double Horse 9100 Hoover about 2 months ago and love it. This new Double Horse 9104 is the "big brother" of that heli and is just as fun,the only difference is that you need WAY MORE space to fly the 9104 than the 9100. The 9104 is almost 10" longer than the 9100 and much faster. As far as performance the two are nearly the same.They both have identical...
Published on July 23, 2011 by minisoldr

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars would be great if it worked right
i have had some expirence with previous helicopters but this one was unusuable. i believe it would have worked fine but the motor for the tail rotor couldn't be trimmed properly. the trim would work at a given speed but when i tried to ascend or descend the helicopter would spin out of control. the helicopter was fast and seemed like it would have been great to fly but...
Published on April 14, 2012 by SAM


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 9104 is just like it's little brother., July 23, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Double Horse 9104 -71Cm 3.5Ch RC Helicopter with Gyro - Colors May Vary (Toy)
I purchased a Double Horse 9100 Hoover about 2 months ago and love it. This new Double Horse 9104 is the "big brother" of that heli and is just as fun,the only difference is that you need WAY MORE space to fly the 9104 than the 9100. The 9104 is almost 10" longer than the 9100 and much faster. As far as performance the two are nearly the same.They both have identical flight characteristics and tendencies. The only reason I purchased this chooper is for the challenge of flying a bigger faster chopper with out the risk of a large investment(at $75 this thing is a bargain). If you are an intermidate to advance flier this heli should be no problem to fly(after some swashplate adjustment). But if you have never flown before I would NOT recomend starting with this one. It's far to fast and the controls are way to sensitive for a first time flier or a beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice RC Helicopter, July 5, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Double Horse 9104 -71Cm 3.5Ch RC Helicopter with Gyro - Colors May Vary (Toy)
Bought this helicopter for my son's 14th birthday. After initially trimming it so it could hover nicely, he has begun to learn how to fly it. It has crashed several times and I'm amazed how durable the thing is- not to say it's indestructible, but it seems to be very well built. We try to fly it in the morning, or late evening when it is calm outside. Like all RC helicopters, any wind or breeze will make it difficult to maneuver. I think the larger size helps in this department, but it doesn't eliminate the problem. Before ordering it, I checked several RC hobby sites and found replacement parts are readily available in case you do crash it and break it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice rc heli, May 24, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Double Horse 9104 -71Cm 3.5Ch RC Helicopter with Gyro - Colors May Vary (Toy)
i just got mine today from another place. charged the battery about 35 minutes and it was ready i took it down to a friends to fly it. it was not a problem to trim it. the only thing i found out was if you can feel a slight breeze the heli will have a hard time trying to gain any ground forward even with the trim at full forward. it flew fine had plenty of lift for me i really enjoyed it mine is all stock for now. the heli comes with rubber like main blade and tail rotor blade and the fins on the tail shaft are rubber like. mine has the plastic landing gear and plastic canopy. the newer models have rubber like landing gear and canopy. and the heli comes with a extra tail rotor blade and extra main blade. i did not have any trouble with it all went great flight time seemed like longer than 8 minutes. i did do a check for trouble out of the box and found out that 1 of the connect bars for the balance bar was off. i just snapped it on and every thing else looked good. i did a system check after the battery was charged and every thing worked as it should. i will try to post some pics soon. i enjoy this heli and have all ready ordered a bigger battery i see nothing wrong with it in stock form if flew in no wind. so i hope this helps buy your self 1 and enjoy the 9104 double horse great rc heli
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Presently Surprised, December 15, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Double Horse 9104 -71Cm 3.5Ch RC Helicopter with Gyro - Colors May Vary (Toy)
Finished maiden voyage. On first day of flight it was very windy; consistently at 3-5 mph with gusts at 6-7 mph. Could not gain any ground in a forward direction. Wind threw it wherever it pleased. Noticed on YouTube a mod for forward thrust by adding weight to inner canopy. I used several ounces of my niece's play-dough to accomplish this. Also adjusted swash plate's neutral position in the forward position. Later on wind died down a bit. Went back outside and noticed immediate improvement in gaining ground with head winds. Went much faster in a forward direction. I got a little too excited and crashed her twice, once into a neighbor's garage door and another time into a large pile of gravel. Both crashes didn't even affect operation in the slightest. On the next day went back out with no wind at all. No crashes with overall flight time of about 10-12 mins. I unwrapped the antenna to increase range. Never lost signal or stalled or interruptions. Got her way up in the air pushing the limits and stilled responded well. Even began to perform tricks (no where near ability of 6 channel). I noticed that it leans to the right while hovering. This is due to the weight of the servo placed on the right side of heli. On YouTube there is info to correct this with a counter weight to the left side of the heli. I would not recommend flying this one indoors. Even outside look for an open area to fly in. Inside a residential neighborhood on a windy day is not a good idea. The forward trim at neutral and additional weight to the inside of the canopy works well with forward thrust and speed. She is very durable and able to stand extreme crashes. Even comes with extra main blades and rotor blades. DH really got this one right. Can't beat the price. Who else is offering a fixed pitch, single blade, affordable, 3 channel heli? I found this way more enjoyable than the DH 9100 which is now being prepared for parts salvage. This is more suited for those who are ready to up their game to intermediate flying with aspirations towards a 4 channel or 3D skill level (without the expensiveness). Happy flying. I hope that this was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for a 3 ch heli, December 6, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Double Horse 9104 -71Cm 3.5Ch RC Helicopter with Gyro - Colors May Vary (Toy)
I have had no problem what so ever with this heli. I would say that it is fairly easy to fly for beginners and It is fun to fly, if thats all you want to do. 6 ch helis are more fun as you can do more stuff with them, but they are a lot more difficult to fly until you master it, and each one has their own flying characteristics...
The 9104 does what I tell it to (unless the wind starts blowing). You can not fly this thing in wind, I will fly in very light wind and sometimes the controls get a lil tougher, but you can still manuver it. The higher you go, the more wind you have, common sence.

It does not matter how good a product is, you will always have people out there to run it down, especially the ones that think they know everything but in reality know nothing. Bad reviewers here probably know nothing or very little about flying.

This is a cheap heli, but its a 3 ch, so what do you expect. For the price, you cant beat it. It is tough for light crashes. You cant expect to crash things and they not break. Another common sence thing. It just depends on how hard the crash is whether its gonna break or not, or if you crash a lot, something will eventually give. If you have never flown before, use common sence, keep it low until you can fly it good. Some people rush into things and then ruin whatever and they blame it on the product when its actually the operators fault.

Overall rating, I give it a five. Good quality and workmanship.
Good luck and happy flying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars read instructions, December 9, 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Double Horse 9104 -71Cm 3.5Ch RC Helicopter with Gyro - Colors May Vary (Toy)
read the instructions. They tell you how to adjust the swash plate. Mine was lacking forward motion even after trimming. after adjusting swash plate it worked great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun first RC Helicopter, October 25, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Double Horse 9104 -71Cm 3.5Ch RC Helicopter with Gyro - Colors May Vary (Toy)
I purchased 2 or these and shipping was fast.
I gave one to my 20 year old son for a birthday gift
and it flew well out of the box, neither of us had flown RC before.
lots of fun 10 min at a time but takes 3 hours to recharge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast and big, December 8, 2011
By 
Dan (aka THXkid) (Phoenix, Az United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Double Horse 9104 -71Cm 3.5Ch RC Helicopter with Gyro - Colors May Vary (Toy)
Length:: 1:12 Mins

this helo came defective, crack canopy which just got worse, charger is bad, helo will just drop from the sky which could be bad battery or motor will return and try another, will edit if new one is better

1/3/2011
ok finally got this one out and got it trimmed and even going in with a slight breeze flew great went anywhere I wanted it to go even against the breeze, this flys so much faster over the coaxial blade double horses, its the only helo of the 7 I have that has crashed or hard landing and no damage, love the size also its around the 380-400 size the battery is same one for other double horses also like the 9101 and 9053, but this is a odd size so parts will only fit for the model only, on some other double horses parts will interchange so far only the batteries will, very pleased with it, so far does better than my newer DH 9116 which I cant even get trimmed out correctly, this one was a snap.

Update 1/15/2012
Flew this today outside in a slight 4-5 mph breeze, it handled great got 2 complete 7-10 minute flights out of it had to compensate for the wind and landed it perfect, ended doing 30 foot 360 circles with the nose pointing inward and the tail outward up at about 50 degrees did about 3-4 of these, thought I better stop as I came real close to giving a 30 foot oak tree a shave on the tree limbs, but of the 10 helos I have this and my modded DH 9053 has been the most fun, have a DH 9116 that cant get it to fly correctly just about given up trying to dial it in. trying to get very good on the 400 and 450 size double horses 3 and 4 channels as I got a 6 channel Esky Belt CPx sitting on the shelf all ready to go.

Update 1/25/2012
flew again in a very slight breeze this bird is a balst to fly, will post video from this flight, have flown 10 times now and no crashes or busted parts very nice bird, oh thing when being film just shut up you sound so stupid when you hear yourself later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Double Dog Dare You to try this one, October 14, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Double Horse 9104 -71Cm 3.5Ch RC Helicopter with Gyro - Colors May Vary (Toy)
I Double Dog Dare You to try this one!!

I finally left the beginners Rc Helis up to this Intermediate Double Horse 9104. I was impressed with its construction once it arrived. I took it out, charged it and started testing it on the ground soon. I didnt actually take it up in flight for about a day and a half due to getting used to the adjustments and balancing all controlls to the point where it would lift and hover in place without too much movement away from center point. It was challenging to fine tune but once I got it to a good control setting I was off flying with Glee like a little boy!! It proved to be incredibly agile, control and reaction to change in any direction or acceloration was excellent. It was fast and sharp. I also started seeing how much easier it is to start learning basic trick moves without loss of control.

The coolest thing was when I tried to see how high it flies,, wohoooooo!!! I took the damn thing so far up I caould barely see it and it still had control. Then, I let go of the throttle and let it dive down fast and throttled to regain control at about 30 feet with ease. Its awesome and I recommend it for RC Heli flyers who are ready to move up to singles. Dont buy this one yet if you have no experience. A little too advanced for the beginner id say but not an "Advanced Heli".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fix pitch RC helicopters, January 9, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Double Horse 9104 -71Cm 3.5Ch RC Helicopter with Gyro - Colors May Vary (Toy)
I own several other RC helicopters, co axial, single blades and some of them are fairly expensive. This is an awesome helicopter, big and powerful. For under hundred dollars I am amazed how well and sturdy it is. I normally don't post comments but I saw a lot of negative comments before I ordered mine mainly about small issues. Look guys, a big portion of having fun with RC helicopters and airplanes is the engineering part of it. If it tilts to the right or left then balance it. If it tends to go forward or backward just adjust the swashplate, if your radio reception is not good then adjust the antenna.

Flying model airplanes and helicopters used to be a luxury hobby and inaccessible to the most of us, the fact that the Chinese can make this and sell it to us for $60 or $70 is not only good but amazing. I recommend this, just go and have fun.

A couple of little recommendations that might help:
I) Adjust the swashplate and there is a good youtube instruction for how to do that
II) Start slowly, unlike the co axial RC helicopters the fix pitch RC helicopters are harder to control. But they are much better than co axial and it is worth it. It is not that difficult to learn.
III) Don't fly this inside I think it can be really dangerous.

I also received it quickly and had no issues with the item. I emailed the dealer and they responded in less than 24 hours, so I do recommend this item ( hey guys I have no affiliation with the dealer trust me!). I just ordered another one. Have fun!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.