Customer Reviews


405 Reviews
5 star:
 (192)
4 star:
 (102)
3 star:
 (52)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A movie thriller that holds your attention all the way!
When you get this on DVD or video when it comes out, you won't want to put this on pause. Ashley Judd plays Libby PArsons, a young woman who has everything she could want . . . until her husband is declared dead after his blood is found on the deck of their yacht, and she is caught with the knife by the Coast Guard. Evidence in court points towards her, she is...
Published on February 19, 2000 by Mr N Forbes-warren

versus
19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All is revealed in the trailer
Will she shoot him?
Double Jeopardy is the name of a law where a person can not be convicted twice for the same crime. Ashley Judd is a woman convicted of killing her husband. She is sentenced to 6 years of prison and taken away from her child. After a year she finds out that her husband is alive. Thus setting up the question, "Will she shoot him?"...
Published on February 21, 2000 by Jamie Bouadana


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A movie thriller that holds your attention all the way!, February 19, 2000
This review is from: Double Jeopardy (DVD)
When you get this on DVD or video when it comes out, you won't want to put this on pause. Ashley Judd plays Libby PArsons, a young woman who has everything she could want . . . until her husband is declared dead after his blood is found on the deck of their yacht, and she is caught with the knife by the Coast Guard. Evidence in court points towards her, she is incarcerated in prison, then by accident learns her husband Nick has faked his death! Hearing she cannot be convicted for murdering him twice, she begs for parole and escapes from her parole officer, an alcoholic, down-on-his-luck job-hater Travis Layman(Tommy Lee Jones, who is virtually recreating his US MARSHALLS role) to track Nick down. There's some great action scenes in the process and some unexpected and unusual plot twists, especially towards the end. So summing up, this movie is well worth watching and very hard to fault.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Double Jeopardy, April 5, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Double Jeopardy (DVD)
This highly suspenseful thriller showcases Ashley Judd's tremendous talent. Not only is she a phenomenal actress, but also her physical abilities in this movie were impressive. Tommy Lee Jones is as good as he always is. His performances always look so effortless, but never less than stellar. The decision to pair Judd and Jones was genius. They played well off of each other, and had a commanding on screen presence. What a great movie that leaves you guessing on the outcome until the very end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No surprises, but fast-paced script and good photography, January 19, 2004
This review is from: Double Jeopardy (DVD)
This 1999 film stars Ashley Judd as a woman who is convicted of killing her husband. His body is never found and the audience knows she's been framed. While she's in prison she finds out she can never be tried for the same crime twice, so when she gets out she goes hunting for him. Naturally there is a darling little child involved and naturally our heart goes out to the woman who's been terribly wronged. Tommy Lee Jones is cast as her parole officer who runs a half-way house. She spends a lot of time running away from him and this leads to some wonderful chase scenes. At one point they are both underwater after she's been handcuffed inside a car.
There are no real surprises in the film, just some fine acting, good photography and a fast-paced script that throws Ashley Judd and Tommy Lee Jones into conflict. In spite of the formula however, I thoroughly enjoyed it. Therefore, I suggest it as a escape film to keep you mind involved in the perils of the people on the screen instead of focusing on your own day-to-day issues. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I really love this one, September 30, 2005
By 
Little Miss Cutey (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Double Jeopardy (DVD)
This is such a great movie. Although it's not so new anymore, I still watch it every now and then. It's fantastic. For a change it's great to see a female lead take control of a situation and get revenge like she did. I especially love the scene at the charity auction where her husband hears her voice as she makes a secret bid. It's priceless. Filmed mostly in the beautiful heart of the French Quarter in New Orleans, it's a great thriller with good acting and a great storyline. I love seeing the bad guys not getting away with their crimes. Good performance from Tommy Lee Jones too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I absolutely love this movie!, August 23, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Double Jeopardy (DVD)
I think I have worn out my video of Double Jeopardy. Am going to buy the DVD. I must have watched this movie 50 times!

What do I love about it? I love the scenery! Filmed in beautiful British Columbia and New Orleans. The outdoor scenes are so magnificent! And the part in the movie when Libby Parsons is interred in the New Orleans mausoleum. How creepy was that!

Bruce Greenwood was totally slimey as Libby's two-timing husband. And Tommy Lee Jones was superb as the alcoholic rehab supervisor.

And if you are aware of Hitchcock's movies and the McGuffin theory, you will see that the Kozinski painting was the McGuffin in this movie.

How wonderful to see the street scenes of New Orleans before Katrina. The movie spoke to the essence of New Orleans scene.

One of the favorite movies in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS WAS A GREAT MOVIE! A MUST SEE!, February 18, 2000
This review is from: Double Jeopardy [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is SO different from most things I have seen! The plot is wonderful and you have high class suspense and funny remarks! When Ashly Judd and hubby go on a romantic boating get away, Judd's husband sets her up for his murder. While in prison for 6 years for "killing her husband," she finds out, accidently, that her husband is alive and well! When she gets out, her plan is revenge and getting her son back. Jones, her parol officer, must capture her for leaving "past curfew." (tee-hee) This makes for Judd not only the hunter, but the hunted. All and all a wonderful movie! The adventure, drama, and suspense is wonderful and I recommend anyone with GOOD TASTE(! ) to see it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yeah, it's predictable, but so..., December 31, 2002
By 
Tatiana Plaksin (Los Angeles,CA,USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Double Jeopardy [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Ok, it's a pretty predictable movie, but that doesn't take away any of the tension,suspense, or drama away from "Double Jeopardy".The Performances are superb.Ashely Judd is believable, and likable in her role.The rest of the performances are also very well done.There are some funny parts, and basically this movie will keep you on the edge of your seat, while stirring up many feelings.It's a good movie folks, don't pick at the small stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All is revealed in the trailer, February 21, 2000
This review is from: Double Jeopardy (DVD)
Will she shoot him?
Double Jeopardy is the name of a law where a person can not be convicted twice for the same crime. Ashley Judd is a woman convicted of killing her husband. She is sentenced to 6 years of prison and taken away from her child. After a year she finds out that her husband is alive. Thus setting up the question, "Will she shoot him?"
Double Jeopardy is one of those Hollywood ventures where the commercial ruins any suspense or intrigue the film has. As we meander through this tale there isn't any shockers or brilliant acting. Academy award winner Tommy Lee Jones has never looked so bored. His character is an almost carbon-copy of the character he has played in two Fugitive movies. Bruce Greenwood plays a jerk as he has always played on the big screen. And as for Ashley Judd, she does the best she can with this two dimensional character as she tries desperately to bring credibility to it. This poor, poor woman needs a juicy role where we can see her act like I know she can. Maybe the DVD will have some good special features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Double Jeopardy, March 3, 2000
This review is from: Double Jeopardy (DVD)
Being a big fan of thriller flicks such as Jagged Edge The Hand That Rocks the Cradle I hoped that when I purchased this on DVD, I would not be disappointed... Quite frankly, I wasn't. For those of you who don't know the plot, (Libby Parsons) Ashley Judd is imprisoned for killing her husband and the film just turns out to be a roller coaster ride from then on in.. Probably the strongest moment experienced is when (in prison) Libby discovers that her husband is alive and that she has been double-crossed... Gripping stuff! I found Tommy Lee Jones' role to be a bit "deflated" and at times unnecessary, but overall this was an immensly enjoyable film and was definitely worthy of being added to the "must watch again soon" section of my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, March 4, 2000
This review is from: Double Jeopardy (DVD)
When I first heard about this film I thought it was going to be a Donna Mills type weepy. But this was superbly acted, especially by Judd, and excellently written and directed. It turned an average tvmovie story and turned it into an absolutely gripping film. Judd is excellent as Libbs Parsons and by the looks of this she is set to be as big as old Julia. In short this is an exciting thrill ride. Highly reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Double Jeopardy (1999)
Double Jeopardy (1999) by Bruce Beresford
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.