Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Double Jeopardy (1999)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 19, 2000
When you get this on DVD or video when it comes out, you won't want to put this on pause. Ashley Judd plays Libby PArsons, a young woman who has everything she could want . . . until her husband is declared dead after his blood is found on the deck of their yacht, and she is caught with the knife by the Coast Guard. Evidence in court points towards her, she is incarcerated in prison, then by accident learns her husband Nick has faked his death! Hearing she cannot be convicted for murdering him twice, she begs for parole and escapes from her parole officer, an alcoholic, down-on-his-luck job-hater Travis Layman(Tommy Lee Jones, who is virtually recreating his US MARSHALLS role) to track Nick down. There's some great action scenes in the process and some unexpected and unusual plot twists, especially towards the end. So summing up, this movie is well worth watching and very hard to fault.
0Comment| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This 1999 film stars Ashley Judd as a woman who is convicted of killing her husband. His body is never found and the audience knows she's been framed. While she's in prison she finds out she can never be tried for the same crime twice, so when she gets out she goes hunting for him. Naturally there is a darling little child involved and naturally our heart goes out to the woman who's been terribly wronged. Tommy Lee Jones is cast as her parole officer who runs a half-way house. She spends a lot of time running away from him and this leads to some wonderful chase scenes. At one point they are both underwater after she's been handcuffed inside a car.
There are no real surprises in the film, just some fine acting, good photography and a fast-paced script that throws Ashley Judd and Tommy Lee Jones into conflict. In spite of the formula however, I thoroughly enjoyed it. Therefore, I suggest it as a escape film to keep you mind involved in the perils of the people on the screen instead of focusing on your own day-to-day issues. Recommended.
11 comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 5, 2008
This highly suspenseful thriller showcases Ashley Judd's tremendous talent. Not only is she a phenomenal actress, but also her physical abilities in this movie were impressive. Tommy Lee Jones is as good as he always is. His performances always look so effortless, but never less than stellar. The decision to pair Judd and Jones was genius. They played well off of each other, and had a commanding on screen presence. What a great movie that leaves you guessing on the outcome until the very end!
33 comments| 59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2006
I think I have worn out my video of Double Jeopardy. Am going to buy the DVD. I must have watched this movie 50 times!

What do I love about it? I love the scenery! Filmed in beautiful British Columbia and New Orleans. The outdoor scenes are so magnificent! And the part in the movie when Libby Parsons is interred in the New Orleans mausoleum. How creepy was that!

Bruce Greenwood was totally slimey as Libby's two-timing husband. And Tommy Lee Jones was superb as the alcoholic rehab supervisor.

And if you are aware of Hitchcock's movies and the McGuffin theory, you will see that the Kozinski painting was the McGuffin in this movie.

How wonderful to see the street scenes of New Orleans before Katrina. The movie spoke to the essence of New Orleans scene.

One of the favorite movies in my collection.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2005
This is such a great movie. Although it's not so new anymore, I still watch it every now and then. It's fantastic. For a change it's great to see a female lead take control of a situation and get revenge like she did. I especially love the scene at the charity auction where her husband hears her voice as she makes a secret bid. It's priceless. Filmed mostly in the beautiful heart of the French Quarter in New Orleans, it's a great thriller with good acting and a great storyline. I love seeing the bad guys not getting away with their crimes. Good performance from Tommy Lee Jones too.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2000
This is SO different from most things I have seen! The plot is wonderful and you have high class suspense and funny remarks! When Ashly Judd and hubby go on a romantic boating get away, Judd's husband sets her up for his murder. While in prison for 6 years for "killing her husband," she finds out, accidently, that her husband is alive and well! When she gets out, her plan is revenge and getting her son back. Jones, her parol officer, must capture her for leaving "past curfew." (tee-hee) This makes for Judd not only the hunter, but the hunted. All and all a wonderful movie! The adventure, drama, and suspense is wonderful and I recommend anyone with GOOD TASTE(! ) to see it!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2000
Being a big fan of thriller flicks such as Jagged Edge The Hand That Rocks the Cradle I hoped that when I purchased this on DVD, I would not be disappointed... Quite frankly, I wasn't. For those of you who don't know the plot, (Libby Parsons) Ashley Judd is imprisoned for killing her husband and the film just turns out to be a roller coaster ride from then on in.. Probably the strongest moment experienced is when (in prison) Libby discovers that her husband is alive and that she has been double-crossed... Gripping stuff! I found Tommy Lee Jones' role to be a bit "deflated" and at times unnecessary, but overall this was an immensly enjoyable film and was definitely worthy of being added to the "must watch again soon" section of my collection.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2002
Ok, it's a pretty predictable movie, but that doesn't take away any of the tension,suspense, or drama away from "Double Jeopardy".The Performances are superb.Ashely Judd is believable, and likable in her role.The rest of the performances are also very well done.There are some funny parts, and basically this movie will keep you on the edge of your seat, while stirring up many feelings.It's a good movie folks, don't pick at the small stuff.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2000
When I first heard about this film I thought it was going to be a Donna Mills type weepy. But this was superbly acted, especially by Judd, and excellently written and directed. It turned an average tvmovie story and turned it into an absolutely gripping film. Judd is excellent as Libbs Parsons and by the looks of this she is set to be as big as old Julia. In short this is an exciting thrill ride. Highly reccomended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2016
A very interesting story, a little bit unusual and holds your interest for the entire video. Tommy Lee Jones is at his usual best and Ashley Judd is outstanding. There is plenty of action in this video by both of the stars. The story moves from various locales as it unfolds; thus making the story more interesting and appealing. This has become one of my favorite videos and I enjoy seeing it over again from time to time. I purposely try not to reveal the story for fear of spoiling your viewing. I promise you will be thrilled and entertained. I highly recommend this video to everyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.