Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars math without trying
"shut the box," or "tric-trac" to some (not to be confused with the French board game), is a fun quick play for kids and adults. For kids, it combines adding the pips on dice with combinations on the tiles. For adults, it's part strategy, part luck, and potential drinking game.

Other versions have one board and go to 9. This version has two boards back to back...
Published on August 12, 2008 by Joe Btsfplk

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Piece of garbage, don't waste your time/money
Christmas gift gone wrong! This is the second different shut the box game that has arrived broken!! Two of the corner joints had come apart, the rod holding the tiles that you flip wasn't attached on one side, and the frame was severely scratched in multiple places. This is extremely poor quality and we returned immediately!!
Published 9 months ago by J. Swanson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars math without trying, August 12, 2008
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Double-Sided Shut the Box Game-12 (Toy)
"shut the box," or "tric-trac" to some (not to be confused with the French board game), is a fun quick play for kids and adults. For kids, it combines adding the pips on dice with combinations on the tiles. For adults, it's part strategy, part luck, and potential drinking game.

Other versions have one board and go to 9. This version has two boards back to back and 1-12 numbered tiles. This allows you to play alone, with an opponent, or just play the 1-9 "game." It's well built and should last a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Double-Sided more fun than single, January 11, 2009
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Double-Sided Shut the Box Game-12 (Toy)
I bought this for my sister. I had never played Double-Sided before, and it is much more fun than single. Of course, you can still use it as a single if you are doing a solitaire. The product itself is not really plush, but is just fine for the price. No lid, so your can't close it up for storage. But a nice toy at a fair price. Shipped fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this game - great for kids, December 30, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Double-Sided Shut the Box Game-12 (Toy)
Love this game! I got it for my 1st & 2nd graders who are working on moving past doing addition by counting on their fingers -- they need to get faster on memorizing simple addition facts, and this provides a fun way to practice without them thinking of it as a math drill. I love the double-sided game, since I can play with them, and they love the extra quality time with parents or grandparents. My only wish is that the game had either a lid or a way to store the dice without them falling out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great way to pass the time, September 24, 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Double-Sided Shut the Box Game-12 (Toy)
Shut the box is great for any age, any skill level. You can make your own rules or play by the ones included in the game. The two sided version is a great way to add some fun if you want to compete against someone else! LOVE THIS GAME.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars double sided 12, December 2, 2008
By 
PAINTERPOET "DFM" (somewhere in the midwest) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Double-Sided Shut the Box Game-12 (Toy)
This shut the box 12 is even better than the nine
even the grown ups like this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A big hit in my family, January 2, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Double-Sided Shut the Box Game-12 (Toy)
This was the hit of our recent Christmas. The game takes about 1 minute to learn, a few minutes to play, and is addictive. My kids have played it alone or against each other and against mom and dad every day since Christmas morning. It's refreshing to get more than our money's worth on a toy for a change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We felt it would provide more of a challenge to her age group as well as the adults - since all play this and have a lot of fun., September 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Double-Sided Shut the Box Game-12 (Toy)
We chose to order this game for a 12 yr old granddaughter because it had numbers 1-12 instead of just the 1-10 provided with many other shut-the box games. We felt it would provide more of a challenge to her age group as well as the adults - since all play this and have a lot of fun. It truly is a good family game as long as the children have basics in math. Her mom was just as excited to see the game as our granddaughter. Physically, this game was a replacement for one that arrived with a broken bar of numbers and looking as if it was either poorly made or had been used and returned. I returned the first game without problem to Amazon, only I had to re-order it from scratch and at a slightly higher price. However, this second game arrived in tip-top condition - all parts very secure, wood stained evenly and beautifully, felt completely covering bottom and glued well. The difference was amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Piece of garbage, don't waste your time/money, April 5, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Double-Sided Shut the Box Game-12 (Toy)
Christmas gift gone wrong! This is the second different shut the box game that has arrived broken!! Two of the corner joints had come apart, the rod holding the tiles that you flip wasn't attached on one side, and the frame was severely scratched in multiple places. This is extremely poor quality and we returned immediately!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Transaction, January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Double-Sided Shut the Box Game-12 (Toy)
Fast delivery. First played this game at a bar in St. Augustine and loved it so I bought one for home. Great game for when you're just sitting around with a couple friends or family, road trip, camping, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile investment in fun, basic game, August 31, 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Double-Sided Shut the Box Game-12 (Toy)
I had never heard of this game before it became a Christmas gift discussion. We purchased it for our seven and six year olds, but it has quickly become a favorite game of everyone in the family, including the kids. As a game it is easy to learn and fun to play.

The object of the game is to cover as many boxes as possible by covering the total of dice tossed. We liked this two-sided version of the game because you can play with a friend.

It's laid back fun, nothing compared to blowing up planets or evildoers in a video game, but perfect for quieter recreation. It has helped our children firm up their addition and counting skills, and is the kind of game that doesn't require intense rapt attention, so you can bring it out in a group of friends and play it along with your conversation, like old-fashioned tavern games. It is well constructed out of wood and travels well in it's box.

Considering the quality of the game itself, and the quality of the construction, it was well worth the modest price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Double-Sided Shut the Box Game-12
$24.99 $22.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.