Customer Reviews


222 Reviews
5 star:
 (124)
4 star:
 (62)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hiaasen's funniest book--and THAT is saying something!
I stumbled across one of those bass fishing shows a few days before I read this book. I couldn't believe people would sit around and watch people fish! But they do. And Hiaasen had a ball writing about it, too.
This book has so many great moments. Skink and the poodle is one of the funniest things I've ever read. I laughed so hard, tears streamed down my...
Published on May 3, 2000 by Gary Jonas

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars consider it Hiaasen-Light...
Carl Hiaasen is a man who seems to hate so many things: corrupt politicians, polluters, cheats, racists, and hypocrites. This hatred, which usually manifests itself as hilarious satire, does get a bit old as one reads more than 2-3 Hiaasen novels. Yet if Hiaasen is on form the number of one-liners and hilarious situations greatly outweigh the repetitiveness of the...
Published on December 28, 2001 by lazza


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hiaasen's funniest book--and THAT is saying something!, May 3, 2000
I stumbled across one of those bass fishing shows a few days before I read this book. I couldn't believe people would sit around and watch people fish! But they do. And Hiaasen had a ball writing about it, too.
This book has so many great moments. Skink and the poodle is one of the funniest things I've ever read. I laughed so hard, tears streamed down my face. I called a friend and tried to read the scene over the phone, but I couldn't stop laughing. It's all right, my friend knew I was crazy. He rushed out and bought the book, though! The pit bull in the trailer park scene and the aftermath is also priceless. I guess this is Hiaasen's dog book as well as his fish book.
Needless to say, if you haven't read Hiaasen, start with this one. You'll be hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the funniest books ever written!, August 10, 1997
By A Customer
Carl Hiaasen has taken wonderfully wacky characters such as Skink, a mystery giant who wears a glass eye retrieved from a stuffed owl and who dines on road kill, and has turned them into individuals that you have to love. Hiassen's villians, while bad, will capture the reader's imaginations with their total ineptude.

This is the first book that I have read by Hiaasen, but the outrageous humor contained in the twists and turns of the plot, centered around a bass fishing tournament, have convinced me to read his other works.

Although this was the funniest book I believe I have ever read, Hiaasen, makes his real message, enviornmental destruction, loud and clear and if the reader is not an enviornmentalist before reading the book, there is a good chance s/he will put the book down believing there is work to be done in saving our county, whether it be the swamp lands that Hiaasen weaves into his tale, or perhaps the mountains or lakes in our own back yards!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully Wacky!, December 20, 1999
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is also my favorite of the Hiaasen books, with Native Tongue and Tourist Season following. Hiaasen has a fabulous sense of chaos and absurdity. My husband and I laugh aloud at the bizarre events and characters that people his world. But there's enough underlying grit to make it all weirdly real, and definitely the underlying humanity to make it moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasure-filled reading experience!, May 24, 2005
My first Hiaasen and an example of how useful reviews (reading other people's reviews) can be. I found out about Hiaasen by reading someone else's review of a Tim Dorsey book. As a matter of fact, a good number of books I have read recently are books that other people said were good and judging by previous books they reviewed, it looked like they had tastes similar to mine.

About the book...this is pure reading entertainment. Hiaasen's wicked imagination is what makes the book so interesting. He's written a typical mystery but the venue and the characters are anything but typical (television evangelism and professional bass fishing). Hiaasen spends so much time with character development that it is impossible not to feel an attachment to these crazy people and concern for the impossible situations in which he puts them. Everyone knows that the people who fish, regularly lie about the fish they caught and the ones that got away, but in Double Whammy the men on the professional bass fishing circuit have stepped it up a notch by cheating and murdering to cover up their cheating.

These characters are all larger than life and the stunts they pull are zany and over the top, but amongst all the fun, there is a real social message here that Hiaasen is able to pull off without being offensive.

Laugh out loud funny in spots and humorous nearly throughout. It was a joy to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carl Hiaasen is great, but Double Whammy is not his best, December 19, 1999
By 
I like to space my serious reads out and delve into a little escapism once in a while. This is great escapism, hilarious characters and scenarios, and extremely readable. The only issue I had with this one was excessive use of poetic license and direct contradictions. I know little about the pro-fishing circuit, so that's not my beef. Terribly amusing, but not as endearing as the excellent Stormy Weather, or Lucky You, where the endings come together much cleaner (If you read this book, you'll see what I mean when you witness contradictions and great implausibility in the final tournament).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fishing, Hiaasen Style!, October 9, 2004
By 
James N Simpson (Gold Coast, QLD Australia) - See all my reviews
Making a novel about fishing entertaining is a mammoth task, but Hiaasen has achieved just that. Double Whammy doesn't start off as fast a pace as his other novels but once ex governor now wilderness living hermit Skink comes on the scene the pace quickens and never drops off. Fans of this character from some of his later novels will learn how one of his most interesting facial features happened. I won't give away what that characteristic is for those who have not read those novels or are reading this as a stand alone but for those who have read newer adventures it is really interesting to know, and purchasing Double Whammy to read how it happened is worth the price alone.

Police officer Jim Tyle from most novels with skink is back in this one too as well as Officer Garcia from the novel Striptease. Queenie the world's biggest Bass, some dim-witted fishing tv show hosts with huge egos, a shonky on air priest/Floridian property developer and a low IQ'd hit man who forms a close relationship with a bulldog accompany private R.J. Decker in making this a memorable read.

Whilst Skink and other characters may have become more developed in later novels this is still a sensational read. Also check out Hiaasen's masterpieces Sick Puppy, Hoot, Skinny Dip, Striptease, Lucky You and others as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who knew a book about bass fishing could be this much fun?, August 30, 2003
If I told you this book was just about bass fishing, you probably wouldn't read it. Thankfully, there is more to it than that. R.J. Decker is a private detective that finds himself in the office of Dennis Gault, a flashy and rich businessman that likes to fish for bass. Decker can't believe he is being offered $50,000 to try and prove that one of Gault's competitors, Dickie Gault, is cheating in bass tournaments. After putting up with Gault's attitude, Decker takes the job and the adventure begins in Carl Hiassen's 'Double Whammy.'
More than anything, what makes this novel enjoyable are the characters. Decker is surrounded by an unusual ensemble. 'Skink' is a swamp hermit with a mysterious past, and teaches Decker all about bass fishing. Skink also has a fondness for road kill that makes the other characters squeemish. Reverend Weems is hardly a surprising character given all the "bad" news about religious figures in recent years, but makes a nice partner for the cheating and impish Lockhart. Other law enforcement officers, Decker's ex-wife, and Gault's seductive, gold-digging sister round out the cast.
There is probably more bass fishing, or more about bass fishing, than the casual reader will want to know about. However, the bass fishing details do take a back seat to the mystery that surrounds the mysterious deaths of several secondary characters. The mystery is rather short lived, but the 'sting' that Decker and his comrades plan in the second half of the novel carry the story to a satisfactory conclusion.
I'd recommend this novel to anyone that enjoys crime fiction in the style of Hiassen and Elmore Leonard, or a style that might be described as Dave Barry light. Hiassen is unrelentless in his attack on the condo craze in Florida and what it has done to the environment there, so be ready for some commentary as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Florida Romp, July 26, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Hiaasen tackles the high-stakes world of tournament bass fishing in this romp through Harney County, Florida. RJ Decker is a photographer-turned-PI who gets hired by rich brat Dennis Gault to catch TV bass-fishing star Dickie Lockhart in the act of cheating during a tournament. Meanwhile, avid bass fisherman Bobby Clinch winds up dead, leaving behind a relieved widow and an orange Corvette-driving girlfriend, Lanie Gault, Dennis Gault's sleazy sister. When Dickie Lockhart is found floating in a fish tank in New Orleans after a tournament, all hell breaks loose. RJ turns to his odd new friends, the swamp-dwelling Skink, state trooper Jim Tile, and Cuban detective Al Garcia, rounding it out with his ex-wife Catherine, while they untangle a string of murders. They're pitted against the Gaults, the cops, some bizarre redneck thugs, and the leadership of the Outdoor Christian Network, with a backdrop of televised bass fishing and some grisly happenings to pave the way.

Though not as laugh-out-loud funny as "Stormy Weather," "Double Whammy" was a highly entertaining read that did make me laugh out loud. It's hard not to love the whole cast of good guys while sniggering at the idiotic, evil bad guys. This one is four-star entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing and hilarious novel of murder and bass fishing., July 28, 1996
By A Customer
Carl Hiassen lures you into this tale of bass tournaments, corruption and murder with the skill of a champion angler. There's something to hook you on every page: Convincing protagonists, hilarious supporting characters, local color, and an engrossing story of murder and environmental destruction.

To tell much of the tale would be to spoil the book's many surprises and twists. Set against the backdrop of cut-throat professional bass angling, Hiassen tells a tale off a private investigator, in over his head as he visits the murky waters of Deep South lakes and bayous. No one there is quite what they seem, whether that's Skink, a half-mad hermit the size of a bear, or a silver tongued, enormously rich televangelist trying to sell 20,000 condos before the next meeting of the board of directors.

Double Whammy is packed with action, humor, plotting and double crosses. As he proved in his novel Striptease, Hiassen has a deft touch with Florida politics, business and crime. In the end, Hiassen slips an environmental message into this enormously pleasurable read, but the moral is a soft-sell, working perfectly with his tale of homicidal rednecks and bass master wanna-bees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars consider it Hiaasen-Light..., December 28, 2001
By 
lazza (Fort Lauderdale, Florida) - See all my reviews
Carl Hiaasen is a man who seems to hate so many things: corrupt politicians, polluters, cheats, racists, and hypocrites. This hatred, which usually manifests itself as hilarious satire, does get a bit old as one reads more than 2-3 Hiaasen novels. Yet if Hiaasen is on form the number of one-liners and hilarious situations greatly outweigh the repetitiveness of the material. Unfortunately for the Double Whammy reader, Hiaasen was not on best form when he wrote this book.
Double Whammy is Hiaasen's take on the crazy world of the obsessed bass fisherman and the promoters of the sport. Tied into all this is murder, hypocritical tele-evangelists, and a gallery of very strange people. No, it is not believable ... and nor is it intended to be (well, not really). There are some very funny moments in the book, especially towards the end. Yet while reading it I seem to recall similar scenarios in Hiaasen's other (and better) works such as Strip Tease. Still, it makes for a pleasant if utterly forgettable read.
Bottom line: Hiaasen newbies are advised to read Strip Tease. Yet Hiaasen fans might very well enjoy Double Whammy, especially if they are into bass fishing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Double Whammy (Skink Book 1)
$7.60
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.