Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for the money
I bought two these kits to learn how to use a 2-part spray foam kit before I ordered a larger and much more expensive kit. The kit works well. I read the directions and went to DOW's website to watch the videos on how to apply and use the kits. If you are thinking about buy any larger kit and have never used a spray foam kit before this would be a great investment to...
Published on June 13, 2012 by D. Enoch

versus
59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth your $
I bought this product to spray into the back of 3' wide cantilever/floor joist cavities (from the side/ceiling below), so was looking forward to the extra 'reach' afforded by the spray-gun mechanism. The product lit. states a 6-24" reach (or thereabouts), but in real use, when spraying anything beyond a few inches from the gun nozzle, it was pretty much worthless. The...
Published on December 1, 2009 by K. Bisson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth your $, December 1, 2009
This review is from: Dow Chemical Co. 308900 Froth-Pak 12 Spray Foam Sealant System
I bought this product to spray into the back of 3' wide cantilever/floor joist cavities (from the side/ceiling below), so was looking forward to the extra 'reach' afforded by the spray-gun mechanism. The product lit. states a 6-24" reach (or thereabouts), but in real use, when spraying anything beyond a few inches from the gun nozzle, it was pretty much worthless. The spray comes out in a fan-shaped pattern, and it loses all accuracy with any distance at all -- resulting in irregular/clumpy coverage, leaving gaps. Plus, the gun was clogging and oozing out from back behind the nozzle -- we tried switching out nozzles and cleaning it out 3x, all with same results (so not a fluke). Coverage area was VERY minimal as well. Very disappointing performance all around -- I'd say not worth the time/$ at all! On the same project I also used the Touch n' Seal 12 kit (same idea as this one), and while that was far from a perfect system, it performed better than this one, and was about 30% cheaper as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very useful, October 31, 2009
By 
James (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dow Chemical Co. 308900 Froth-Pak 12 Spray Foam Sealant System
Dow advertises this product as the next step up from the off the shelf "GreatStuff" spray foam. But it won't fill gaps much larger than 1" despite the labeling, and won't stick on a vertical surface. The gun gets really gunked up fast as well. Not worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars good product poor coverage, July 8, 2009
This review is from: Dow Chemical Co. 308900 Froth-Pak 12 Spray Foam Sealant System
One of the most disapointing products I ever ordered. While the quality of the foam was good, the coverage area was so small that the product was unusable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for the money, June 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dow Chemical Co. 308900 Froth-Pak 12 Spray Foam Sealant System
I bought two these kits to learn how to use a 2-part spray foam kit before I ordered a larger and much more expensive kit. The kit works well. I read the directions and went to DOW's website to watch the videos on how to apply and use the kits. If you are thinking about buy any larger kit and have never used a spray foam kit before this would be a great investment to learn on or to do any small jobs around the house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware of learning curve, February 29, 2012
This review is from: Dow Chemical Co. 308900 Froth-Pak 12 Spray Foam Sealant System
This product has a high learning curve to it. Instructions say to replace the spray tip if you pause application for longer than 30 seconds. They mean it!! The nozzle will clog rapidly, especially in the presence of high humidity. They give you a supply of tips; use them, and plan your activity to keep application process smooth. As someone else pointed out, vertical application can cause erratic spray (the same way spraying texture from a hopper can be blotchy), so use it from a bit closer range to control it. Other than these cautions, product performs well. Additional nozzles should be available from where you got the kit, or the big-box home supply stores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Professional, August 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dow Chemical Co. 308900 Froth-Pak 12 Spray Foam Sealant System
I am the owner of a refinishing company 15 years running. This is a professional product for professional use, and to be applied by experienced personnel.
This product is fantastic. Does exactly what it is supposed to. You will not find a comparable product at any Home Depot, or retail home improvement shop.
Dries super fast, easy to use, is much more solid and firm compared to great stuff. Predictable expansion and coverage.
Do not listen to the armature Joe's in here bashing this product. They simply do not know what they are doing, and have the wrong expectations of this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars spray usage, June 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dow Chemical Co. 308900 Froth-Pak 12 Spray Foam Sealant System
used the product for insulating my aluminum duct work held on GREAT sprayed a good distance and filled gaps nicely.But as usually just not enough of the stuff but that's all in the calulation's of area,width,& lengh. All in all easy to use and spray pattern good recommend for the small jobs or area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Star Non-Professional, January 10, 2014
This review is from: Dow Chemical Co. 308900 Froth-Pak 12 Spray Foam Sealant System
The 5 Star Professional review gave me the confidence to purchase the product. It worked perfectly for me. I have used materials with hardner added separately and you have to move quickly. I think this is why others had difficulty. The 12 spray is only about one cubic foot of spray and you only have 30 seconds in between sprays. I did watch the video and read the directions and it worked perfectly. I only had two spots to do and ran from one end of the basement to the other and resumed spraying (in 20 seconds). The entire job took less than 2 minutes. I am perfectly happy with the coverage and mixture and deployment of the product. The only suggestion I would have for Dow is to really label one side of the black holder with a "B" as they indicate in the instructions. There is no "B" so I just screwed both of them in, did a quick test spray and did the job in 2 minutes. The instructions are for all froth paks so they should put in parentheses (for the Froth Pak 12, it does not matter which side of the holder receives the "A" or "B" cans). Thank you "Professional" for taking the time to help this Non-Professional:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product with countless uses, December 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dow Chemical Co. 308900 Froth-Pak 12 Spray Foam Sealant System
To echo another reviewer, the use of this product does take skill. The negative comments from others reflects the operator's inexperience, not the quality of the product. I have used this and larger kits and find them to do what they advertise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It really works, October 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It worked great. I have an old farm house and used the foam to seal the floor area. It worked do good I bought a larger box set and sprayed the air ducts in the crawl space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dow Chemical Co. 308900 Froth-Pak 12 Spray Foam Sealant System
$44.80 $40.67
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.