Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where Does It Come From?
Down Comes The Rain is an excellent book that introduces to young children the formation of rain and where it actually comes from. It also discusses the transformation of water into ice and also the evaporation of water. Children can understand the book through its simple terms and colorful illustrations. Rain is just one of the many things that young children often...
Published on April 9, 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for elementary
This is a great book. However, it was to advanced for my preschoolers. I had hoped it was simpler so that the children could understand how the water cycle worked. They got the basic idea which was great, but the book itself was to complicated. It is definitely more suited for mid elementary age.
Published 4 months ago by Stephanie Vought


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where Does It Come From?, April 9, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Down Comes the Rain (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
Down Comes The Rain is an excellent book that introduces to young children the formation of rain and where it actually comes from. It also discusses the transformation of water into ice and also the evaporation of water. Children can understand the book through its simple terms and colorful illustrations. Rain is just one of the many things that young children often wonder about. It is a very good book that can be added to any elementary classroom when discussing a unit on weather or simply to have at home to read togther on rainy days! Many hands-on activities, such as putting a teaspoon of water into a saucer and coming back to see that it has evaporated into the air, can be done by using this book. I have added this book to my list that I plan to use in the classroom!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice book for young children on the water cycle, July 23, 2008
This review is from: Down Comes the Rain (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
This is a nice book to read aloud to those in the range of 4-8 years, and could be read by a 2nd-grader. The book does a good job explaining the water cycle, condensation, evaporation, the formation of clouds, hail, etc. It's easy to understand and enjoyable to read. The illustrations are wonderful also. There are practical illustrations and activity suggestions, like putting a teaspoon of water on a plate to evaporate, boiling water on the stove, or filling a glass of water with ice to away condensation.

I'd recommend this as a good book on the topic for anyone with preschoolers or early elementary age children; it's a nice addition to our homeschooling library. My only gripe is that it's mentioned that water vapor in clouds can turn into rain and into hail, but there's not even a passing mention of snowflakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute and educational, October 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Down Comes the Rain (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
Great book series for kids who are curious and love to learn. I have bought several and my son loves them. I have given them as gifts as well with great response.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite book of the "learn about" series, June 12, 2010
This review is from: Down Comes the Rain (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
The illustrations really make this book stand out. There are lots of little details and funny things to keep kids interested. Also teaches a lot about weather.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book for the Kids, May 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Down Comes the Rain (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
I thought it was really good, very detailed as well as colorful and educational. and very appealing to the children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Educational, April 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Down Comes the Rain (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
Kids (5&6) loved learning about rain and how if forms, Nana learned something too. I like these books because they are actually learning something while they read and the pictures are very helpful in telling the story. It was still a little hard for them to read on their own, but at least they tried.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great for elementary, April 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Down Comes the Rain (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
This is a great book. However, it was to advanced for my preschoolers. I had hoped it was simpler so that the children could understand how the water cycle worked. They got the basic idea which was great, but the book itself was to complicated. It is definitely more suited for mid elementary age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cute fun and child friendly., August 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Down Comes the Rain (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
I Liked it. Pictures are child appealing, and language us easily understood. I look forward to sharing this with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars super easy to read, nice information for early readers and preschoolers, August 12, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Down Comes the Rain (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
nice information about the water cycle, easy to read and easy to show/teach about were the water come from. the images blend with the paragraphs. Short sentences and very colorful images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars teacher choice, July 5, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Down Comes the Rain (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
Good book for a classroom while studying weather. The book could span from preschool to fourth grade, as a preschool teacher it worked for me nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Down Comes the Rain (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2)
Down Comes the Rain (Let's-Read-and-Find-O
ut
by Franklyn Mansfield Branley (Paperback - August 16, 1997)
$5.99 $5.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.