Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FINE SWEET APPLES, April 6, 2000
By 
Mary (Colorado Springs) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Down the Road (Hardcover)
Our family loves this book. It's a great example of forgiveness and families that work together to get us through the tough times. Our Afr. Amer. daughter particularly loves the beautiful pictures of this AA family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Down the Road, March 3, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Down the Road (Hardcover)
This was a very good book. This story shows a young girl who is given the responsibility of going to the store alone. When she makes a mistake she is afraid to go home. The story showed how the young girl corrected her mistake. It also showed loving parents who were understanding and supportive. This was a great family story. The girl learns about responsibility. The illustrations were done in watercolors and are beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Down the Road, April 6, 2005
This review is from: Down the Road (Paperback)
Hetty is a well-developed character. Students who have failed at a task despite their best efforts can identify with Hetty. The realistic watercolor illustrations enhance the text and show the emotions that Hetty is feeling. This well-paced story gives an accurate depiction of life in the country. The onomatopoeia used in the story helps the reader to visualize the setting and Hetty's actions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, March 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Down the Road (Hardcover)
I an studying with EB Lewis so I bought this for the illustrations. He is amazing. I also like the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If the eggs get smashed, make apple pie!, February 21, 2014
This review is from: Down the Road (Paperback)
Hetty is sent down the road to buy eggs for breakfast from Mr. Birdie's Emporium and Dry Goods Store. It is the first time by herself.
"Down the road, one and two, eggs for breakfast, how-de-do"

On the way home, she trips over a rock but even though the eggs spill from her basket they do not smash. However, when she decides to pick some nice juicy apples for the family, from the wild apple tree, all the eggs tip out of her basket and smash on the ground. So upset, she climbs the tree as she does not want to go home and tell Papa and Mama that there will be no eggs for breakfast.

There is such a sweetness in this story as Papa comes along, finds her and instead of yelling at her, joins her in the tree to eat apples. Then Mama comes along looking for them both and also joins them in the tree. No eggs for breakfast? No worries! They enjoy apple pie instead.

When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. This is an excellent story to demonstrate to children how to be versatile and make use of what you do have, not complaining about what you do not.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED from our house to yours!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maybe my favorite kids' book of all time..., August 27, 2012
This review is from: Down the Road (Paperback)
Well, the title says it all. One of my favorite lines is Hetty jingling the money in her pocket and saying ...this must be what it feels like to be grown up-- to have money in your pocket and be walking down the road...

I'm a librarian and when I read this to kindergarten through third grade they are all hushed when Hetty drops the eggs. I mean, this is her first big trip to the store alone, and she has begged to go. And Papa has gone out on a limb for her and told Mama that she was big enough to go by herself, absolutely.

The watercolors by E.B. Lewis are magnificent. The best one of all is Papa standing at the bottom of the tree looking up at Hetty as if he were angry. The reader really doesn't know what will happen. Forgiveness happens. It's wonderful. Please read it to all the young children you know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars attribution, August 23, 2009
By 
Angelina Garcia (la habra, california) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Down the Road (Paperback)
My first review was for WE this book was also wonderful because it shows both sides, the child's and parents feelings associated with childhood events. It is simple but meaningful.

The illustrations compliment the beauty of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great parenting in action - unconditional love at it's best!, July 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Down the Road (Paperback)
When a child tries hard to obey mom and dad, but ends up cracking all the eggs she was to fetch, dad and mom find her in a tree scared to go home. The love they show through their actions is parenting at it's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Teacher review, August 16, 2005
This review is from: Down the Road (Paperback)
I am a third grade teacher and I use this book to help teach writing. When I read the book to my students, I ask them to look for how the author used certain crafts. This book contains many teachable elements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Delightful New Classic, September 4, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Down the Road (Hardcover)
What a charming story of a little girl who learns about responsibility, forgiveness, and making the best of a mess. We love this story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Down the Road
Down the Road by Alice Schertle (Paperback - September 1, 2000)
$7.00 $6.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.