Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Down the Road
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars14
5 star
79%
4 star
21%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 6, 2000
Our family loves this book. It's a great example of forgiveness and families that work together to get us through the tough times. Our Afr. Amer. daughter particularly loves the beautiful pictures of this AA family.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2014
Hetty is sent down the road to buy eggs for breakfast from Mr. Birdie's Emporium and Dry Goods Store. It is the first time by herself.
"Down the road, one and two, eggs for breakfast, how-de-do"

On the way home, she trips over a rock but even though the eggs spill from her basket they do not smash. However, when she decides to pick some nice juicy apples for the family, from the wild apple tree, all the eggs tip out of her basket and smash on the ground. So upset, she climbs the tree as she does not want to go home and tell Papa and Mama that there will be no eggs for breakfast.

There is such a sweetness in this story as Papa comes along, finds her and instead of yelling at her, joins her in the tree to eat apples. Then Mama comes along looking for them both and also joins them in the tree. No eggs for breakfast? No worries! They enjoy apple pie instead.

When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. This is an excellent story to demonstrate to children how to be versatile and make use of what you do have, not complaining about what you do not.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED from our house to yours!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2012
Well, the title says it all. One of my favorite lines is Hetty jingling the money in her pocket and saying ...this must be what it feels like to be grown up-- to have money in your pocket and be walking down the road...

I'm a librarian and when I read this to kindergarten through third grade they are all hushed when Hetty drops the eggs. I mean, this is her first big trip to the store alone, and she has begged to go. And Papa has gone out on a limb for her and told Mama that she was big enough to go by herself, absolutely.

The watercolors by E.B. Lewis are magnificent. The best one of all is Papa standing at the bottom of the tree looking up at Hetty as if he were angry. The reader really doesn't know what will happen. Forgiveness happens. It's wonderful. Please read it to all the young children you know.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2000
This was a very good book. This story shows a young girl who is given the responsibility of going to the store alone. When she makes a mistake she is afraid to go home. The story showed how the young girl corrected her mistake. It also showed loving parents who were understanding and supportive. This was a great family story. The girl learns about responsibility. The illustrations were done in watercolors and are beautiful.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2015
This is one of the best children's books I have read. My children are captured by Hetty as she proudly goes to the store by herself, they fully understand the gravity and importance of this trip. And when the eggs break, well, I think they would like to climb into a tree and hide too. But the best part of the story is the grace shown by Hetty's mom and dad. It's beautiful. The illustrations are beautiful too. I often tear up reading this book to my kids. Love, love.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2005
Hetty is a well-developed character. Students who have failed at a task despite their best efforts can identify with Hetty. The realistic watercolor illustrations enhance the text and show the emotions that Hetty is feeling. This well-paced story gives an accurate depiction of life in the country. The onomatopoeia used in the story helps the reader to visualize the setting and Hetty's actions.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2009
My first review was for WE this book was also wonderful because it shows both sides, the child's and parents feelings associated with childhood events. It is simple but meaningful.

The illustrations compliment the beauty of the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2010
When a child tries hard to obey mom and dad, but ends up cracking all the eggs she was to fetch, dad and mom find her in a tree scared to go home. The love they show through their actions is parenting at it's best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2005
I am a third grade teacher and I use this book to help teach writing. When I read the book to my students, I ask them to look for how the author used certain crafts. This book contains many teachable elements.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 1999
What a charming story of a little girl who learns about responsibility, forgiveness, and making the best of a mess. We love this story!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.