Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars McAnally's Beautiful "River", August 5, 2009
This review is from: Down By The River (Audio CD)
Prime Cuts: You First, If You Hang Around Enough, Until Then

Mac McAnally is anathema to all that's happening in Nashville today. For starters, this celebrated singer-songwriter isn't your twenty something gal smiting poster boy. Further, the songs on "Down By the River" are by no means sonic cousins to those cadaverous songs that graced country radio lately. Rather, McAnally is a ruminative poet of the highest order: he has a way of presenting piquant observations of life that strikes right at the heart. Where many of us falter to present into words the deepest longings of the human heart, McAnally has just the right vocabulary set to well-constructed melodic tunes. "Down By the River," his debut for Toby Keith's Show Dog Records comes right off the heels of McAnally's number 1 duet with Kenny Chesney "Down the Road." However, despite the hype of "Down the Road," this album's lead single "You First" has thus far escaped radio's attention. Despite radio's tepid response, this is a stellar album: it's the kind of disc so rich with meaning that you'll find yourself yearning to listen to it over and over again.

Musically, "Down By the River" defies genre classification. Like Guy Clark, Joe Ely and John Hiatt--McAnally belongs to a class of his own. Here he draws from all entire array of American roots music-- -country, folk, Cajun, ballads, and pop--in composing all these 11 tracks (8 of them are his solo compositions with others being co-writes with Jeff Hanna, Al Anderson and Lenny LeBlanc). Lead single "You First," a contemporary country ballad co-written with worship leader Lenny LeBlanc, strings together vignettes of sacrificial love in the protagonist's life that is movingly delivered through McAnally's smooth tenor. Another contender for country radio is the Jeff Hanna (of Nitty Gritty Dirt Band fame) co-write "If You Hang Around Long Enough," an infectious honky tonk number, finds McAnally philosophizing about life. While on the album opener "Blame It on New Orleans," McAnally`s leisure walk stroll across Bourdon Street is spiced with some Cajun-sounding horn section and syncopated drums.

Never bound by musical boundaries, "On Account of You" finds McAnally in Gospel territory made even more sacred sounding with its churchy piano. "(Nothing Like) On a Sunny Day," lives up to its title with its luminous Caribbean beat and its sprightly whistling. "Bound to Get Down," on the other hand, is a sharply written ersatz blues number with a lowdown and boogie beat. Avid fans who have treasured some of McAnally's heart tugging compositions such as Sawyer Browns' "After All These Years" and Alabama's "Old Flame," would be utterly satisfied with the album's closer "Until Then." A smothering inspirational ballad, "Until Then" is a warm and sensitive encouragement to the down trodden to embrace life that ought to be our constant daily reminder.

Whether or not "Down By the River" becomes a commercial success is a moot point. This is a stellar record with 11 superb tracks: each one of them bears their own individualistic imprint. Never for one moment does McAnally force any of his paeans into a moulded template. Rather, they each take their own form making each one of these numbers shine in their most beautiful arrays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAC MCANALLY ROCKS!, August 29, 2009
This review is from: Down By The River (Audio CD)
I HAD KNOWN OF MAC MCANALLY BECAUSE OF HIS ASSOCIATION WITH JIMMY BUFFETT AS BOTH A MEMBER OF THE CORAL REEFERS, AS A RECORD PRODUCER, AND AS A SONGWRITER BUT I DIDN'T REALIZE WHAT A GREAT SINGER HE IS!
HIS NEW CD IS QUITE A TREAT. THERE IS SOMETHING ON IT FOR PRACTICALLY EVERY MUSICAL TASTE - COUNTRY, DIXIELAND, TEXAS SWING, BLUES AS WELL AS SONGS THAT DON'T FIT NEATLY INTO ANY PARTICULAR CATAGORY.
I HAD THE PLEASURE OF SEEING MAC IN CONCERT A WEEK AFTER THE CD WAS RELEASED AND HE PUT ON A FANTASTIC SHOW. HE HAS BECOME ONE OF MY FAVORITE SINGERS AND I LOOK FORWARD TO HIS NEXT RELEASE,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER MASTERPIECE FROM MAC, December 3, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Down By The River (Audio CD)
Just when I think Mac McAnally can't do better than what he's already done, he does; and indeed he as done it with his new CD, Down by the River. While Mac and his fans consider his work mainly country, I think his style is really hard to "pin down". When I'm talking to my friends about Mac, I always say that he does a little bit of everything. The new CD has a little bit of everything on it.

First of all, the greatest song in the world is on this CD, You First. In You First, Mac sings about friendships and growing up while honoring our military. The last verse of the song goes, "Now I'm standing over you, all the years that we've been through..." This gives me chills because it's almost identical to what my Dad's best friend said when he was standing over my Dad. Again, I think this is the greatest song ever.

Blame it on New Orleans was written about a great city, that, while it's had trials and tribulations over the last few years, has come back to be the great place it was before Katrina. Anyone that loves New Orleans will smile when they listen to this jazzy upbeat song.

The song, Big Disappointment speaks volumes about our lives today. As a baby boomer and member of the first pampered generation, it was all about me. I wanted things; and when I got them, it wasn't really that big of a deal and I was never satisfied. Only when you realize that it's not always about you, can you find satisfaction and happiness.

I could probably write a paragraph about every song on the CD, but I won't. While I like all of the songs on this CD (I like anything Mac does, "can't you tell"?), On Account of You and Sunny Day are my next favorites behind You First, Blame it on New Orleans, and Big Disappointment.

I can absolutely recommend the purchase of this CD. Also, if you've never seen Mac in concert, try to. It will be the best $25 or so dollars that you will ever spend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, January 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Down By The River (Audio CD)
A wonderful collection of Mac's latest work, this album is simply inspiring in it's simple assertion to take responsibility for your own life, to help those around you and, when it turns out well, Blame It On New Orleans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mac is Back!!, August 4, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Down By The River (Audio CD)
It is great to hear some new music from Mac McAnally. He has one of those warm, memorable country singing voices, something that has been underappreciated with Mac's primary reputation coming as a preeminent Nashville songwriter. I've always most enjoyed his genre-defying songs that could be pop, folk or whatever. When he gets into pure country, his music still sounds good, but it's a bit more generic and not as remarkable. On the new album, some songs fall into the former crossover category, especially the beautiful closing track, "Until Then." It's an Instant Mac Classic. I also appreciated the flavors of gospel, blues and other stuff in several tunes. A couple of good-ole-boy country rockers, sounding too much like a whole lot of what's on the radio right now, are the only reason I'm not giving this CD an even higher rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mac's well never dries up as long as he stays down by the river...., February 27, 2011
This review is from: Down By The River (Audio CD)
Songwriting is once again amazing - "Blame It on New Orleans" and "Down by the River" get this one
off and running. Each song thereafter lives up to the quality of the first two. Even if you have
never been to war, Mac's song to the veterans "You First" will remind you of a best friend and move
you to tears. If you have already heard this CD, you will understand when I say that this CD
is a big 5-star, really, really big.......disappointment. Stay down by the river, Mac, and keep
it coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Down by the River, September 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Down By The River (Audio CD)
Great music by Mac. This CD was exactly what I was looking for from him - not just beach and beer music that he sings with Jimmy Buffett!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Mac music, August 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Down By The River (Audio CD)
Love the New Orleans flavor on 1st track, good mix of his talents. Until Then is a favorite of mine. You First is a very moving song about devotion to one another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mac McAnally Ddown By The River, October 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Down By The River (Audio CD)
Absolutely wonderful. How it is he isn't a mega star I don't know. Incredibly well written lyrics and great playing/arrangements. Instant favorite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lifetime Mac fan., April 16, 2011
By 
J. R. Charles "Randy" (Southeastern Wisconsin-United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Down By The River (Audio CD)
I have loved Mac's records since the early eighties. "Down By the River" is his very best since "Live and Learn" from 1992. Those in between were real good but this new one rises to a high level that Mac can get to when he puts his mind to it. The recorded quality and his choice of musicians are back to Mac form too!
It would be something else if folks in the biz could rise to Mac's level. "Down By the River" is a must for Mac fans. Six stars if possible!

An addendum: I just finished reading wikipedia's bio and I am amazed that Mac has not garnered way more attention and adoration for the music he makes! C'mon folks......one of the best in the business deserves better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Down By The River
Down By The River by Mac McAnally (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.