Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Downsized
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars13
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$14.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 1, 2012
Edward McNeill once again demonstrates his unique ability to combine a high degree of literary savvy and clever intuition in knowing what the reader craves. As a brilliant craftsman of the drama/suspense novel, McNeill creates the character Quade O'Bric, a careful blend of the male sports hero and swashbuckling persona we all aspire to be. No doubt, McNeill was influenced by his extensive experience as a U.S. Marine officer in putting together this larger than life figure who makes the reader feel good but at the same time jealous of the author's fictional character who gives up job security to follow his dream.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2015
As with Mr. McNeill's other novels, one is captivated with the storyline's main character, in this case Quade O'Bric, who is typically human with both flaws and strengths. His journey from the abyss of alcoholism to renewed success is both moving and a reminder that life's mis-steps can be reversed by acknowledgement and determination. O'Bric's nemesis in the novel, P. Cletus Hammond, is despicable and vindictive and gets his just rewards. The contrast between these two personalities makes for a fascinating read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2012
I really enjoyed this book. The characters were interesting and I enjoyed their development and how they intertwined as the story went on. There were a few surprises that made this book fun to read. Really hard to put the book down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2014
An entertaining, suspenseful page-turner! Edward McNeill developed a great story involving employment, sports, marriage, friendships and enemies which unfolds with colorful characters and an inspirational way in which the storylines gel and conclude. I highly recommend Downsized and look forward to reading another Edward McNeill novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2012
Quade is an overweight, grouchy, imbibing sport journalist - not your typical protagonist. Downsized, his life begins to spiral out of control and he becomes an individual with too many unpleasant characteristics. However, he grabs his own bootstraps and, with the assistance of a support group of the unemployed, turns his life around. In doing so he also turns the tables on a variety of slimy personalities. Quade O'Bric quickly becomes someone you find yourself cheering for and, surprisingly, liking. In theses times of challenging unemployment the author, Ed McNeill, who has ALS and typed Downsized one finger at a time, has created a novel that is an inspiration in many ways.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2012
Ed McNeill is an outstanding story teller. His characters are well crafted and the story moves along at a quick clip. He does not waste any time with extraneous facts or side stories but everything is fleshed out in rich detail. I really enjoyed the read and hope to see more from this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2012
Downsized is relevant today as it tells the story of a nonconforming reporter, Quade O'Bric who experiences the ups and downs of working in a competitive industry. He suddenly and unexpectly receives a jolt of reality and is forced to reevaluate his life. His process of reevaluating is filled with unexpected twists. He experiences the tug a war of keeping balance in work and home life along with combating the tempting negative lures available in society. I highly recommend this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2014
The book shows what can happen in life if we take things for granted. We lose track of what and whom plays important rolls in our life and how it can affect us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2013
The author keeps you in suspense and captivates your attention throughout the story. The ending is quite descriptive and ties the whole story together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2012
ED McNeil's novel Downsized is a fun read. I recommend the book. The author entertains us with an interesting story about a colorful group of people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.