Customer Reviews


8,329 Reviews
5 star:
 (7,142)
4 star:
 (717)
3 star:
 (214)
2 star:
 (103)
1 star:
 (153)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


676 of 740 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Downton Goes From Strength to Strength
With a global audience of over 125 million, Downton Abbey Season 4 is probably the most anticipated show this year. This number of followers is set to increase as Chinese State TV has, apparently, just started to broadcast it, although what the average Chinese television viewer will make of the antics of the Crawleys I shudder to think! This time round we pick up six...
Published 12 months ago by Brett H

versus
584 of 754 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plots Getting Tired, Characters Becoming Caricatures
My wife and I loved Downton Abbey from the first episode. To an extent, we still think very highly of it.

But we watched the first two episodes of Season 4 last night and, when they ended, heaved a big "meh."

There are a number of problems with Season 4 of Downton Abbey:

CAUTION: MIGHT BE SPOILERS AHEAD!

1. Thomas is still...
Published 8 months ago by Just Bill


‹ Previous | 1 2834 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

676 of 740 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Downton Goes From Strength to Strength, September 22, 2013
With a global audience of over 125 million, Downton Abbey Season 4 is probably the most anticipated show this year. This number of followers is set to increase as Chinese State TV has, apparently, just started to broadcast it, although what the average Chinese television viewer will make of the antics of the Crawleys I shudder to think! This time round we pick up six months on from the tragic end to the Series 3 Christmas Special.

Downton has moved with the times, and, as usual, great care has been taken to make the setting, including all the small details, correct for the period. Hence clothes and hair styles have changed and advances in technology, such as the telephone and even new fangled electric kitchen gadgets are evident. The cast has all the significant characters who survived the last series, so Maggie Smith continues as the matriarch who dominates every scene she is in, and Shirley MacLaine makes a welcome reappearance after her all too brief involvement in the previous series. Seeing her sparring with Maggie Smith must be one of the more memorable aspects of this show. There are some new faces to look out for, one of whom is Kiri Te Kanawa, the New Zealand opera singer as well as a couple of other well known characters in cameo roles.

More of the scenes this time round have been filmed on location in London. Meanwhile at Downton itself, the antics and interaction of those `below stairs' continues to contribute some very interesting story lines and their trials and tribulations are, in many ways, one of the most interesting aspects of the show. Above stairs initially Lady Mary is, understandably, rather subdued whilst Lady Edith really seems to be coming into her own having, perhaps, been somewhat overshadowed previously. The producers have publicly promised no more deaths, at least for a while, but I will not be giving away any key parts of the plot here as I certainly do not want to spoil anyone's enjoyment!

Downton Abbey has certainly continued to go from strength to strength and has confounded those critics who thought it would peter out after a couple of series. If you enjoyed the previous seasons then Season 4 is unlikely to disappoint, and there is every sign that the show is set to continue. I do not believe any announcement has been made about Season 5 yet but apparently some of the key figures have already signed contracts for it. However, personally I would not be surprised to see it run up to the 1930s in due course. I certainly hope so!

For those of you interested in additional features this set includes 'The Making', The Downton Diaries and New Arrivals.

Edit in January 2014 - Just to clarify following a number of comments on the review. This review was written when Season 4 was released in the UK three months ago. The set issued in the UK did not include the Christmas Special episode which is the finale as it was not aired until December 25th. However, this North American issued set being released on Jan 28th certainly does include the Christmas Special (even though it is subtitled UK Edition!) ie this set as sold here does include the Christmas Special. Hope this makes sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


213 of 231 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PBS, January 6, 2014
If you are on Season 4, you know if you love this show or not. But for those of us with Prime who do not want to wait, the show is available on PBS's website - new episode each week until the series is over. You have to sit through a couple of 30 second commercials, but I am ok with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


485 of 558 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meaning of UK Edition, November 25, 2013
By 
admirer (Hyde Park, VT United States) - See all my reviews
UK Edition means uncut. Region 1 is USA and Canada
Region 1: U.S., U.S. Territories, Canada, and Bermuda
Region 2: Japan, Europe, South Africa, and the Middle East, including Egypt
Region 3: Southeast Asia, East Asia, including Hong Kong
Region 4: Australia, New Zealand, Pacific Islands, Central America, South America, and the Caribbean
Region 5: Former Soviet Union, Indian subcontinent, Africa, North Korea, and Mongolia
Region 6: China
Blu-ray Discs

Region A/1: North America, Central America, South America, Japan, North Korea, South Korea, Taiwan, Hong Kong and Southeast Asia
Region B/2: Europe, Greenland, French territories, Middle East, Africa, Australia and New Zealand
Region C/3: India, Nepal, Mainland China, Russia, Central and South Asia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


584 of 754 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plots Getting Tired, Characters Becoming Caricatures, January 6, 2014
By 
Just Bill (Grand Rapids, MI United States) - See all my reviews
My wife and I loved Downton Abbey from the first episode. To an extent, we still think very highly of it.

But we watched the first two episodes of Season 4 last night and, when they ended, heaved a big "meh."

There are a number of problems with Season 4 of Downton Abbey:

CAUTION: MIGHT BE SPOILERS AHEAD!

1. Thomas is still there, and still a colossal pain in the ass. Despite being one of the most despicable people at Downton Abbey, nearly universally disliked by every other character, Thomas is still employed at D.A.

2. Now that Miss O'Brien is gone (she left in the middle of the night without telling anyone), Cora Crawley needs a new Lady's Maid. Enter Edna, who more or less tricks her way back into D.A. by answering an ad to be Miss O'Brien's replacement. The character was without scruples when we last saw her; she's not improved now, and quickly forms an alliance with Thomas.

3. So, once again, Thomas is paired with a woman - this time Edna - to wreck havoc on the other servants at D.A.

4. The problem with that is two-fold: (a) the person they chose to stab in the back is Anna. Anna! The sweetest, most compassionate and kind member of the staff; and (b) the Earl and Countess of Grantham actually believe Thomas and Edna when they speak ill of Anna. Cora Crawley, apparently not the sharpest crayon in the box, always took the side of Miss O'Brien, too. But now she's taking the side of a brand new Lady's Maid against Anna! How can that be? Can Cora and Robert Crawley really be that bad a judge of character? When Robert confronted Bates to tell him to keep Anna in check, my wife and I looked at each other and shook our heads. Would Robert have done that? Does he not know what kind of people Bates and Anna are?

5. The fact that we now have nearly the same configuration of characters we did in Season 1, with the nearly the same conflict, tells me that Julian Fellowes is out of ideas. Now he's just recycling what came before, only setting it in a new year (1922, if I recall the super on the screen correctly). Characters who do not change, who remain the same, are really bad, two-dimensional characters. Cora Crawley hasn't changed. She's still a dimwit. Thomas hasn't changed. He's still a manipulating scuzz ball. Bates and Anna are still the moral center of Downton Abbey. But now that Thomas and Edna are set on attacking them, I'm afraid we're ready to stop watching.

We enjoyed Season 1-3 and watched them religiously. A few of them made us cry. We really got into the characters and the stories.

But something feels really off about Season 4. Or maybe something feels precisely on. Everyone is exactly the same. And if all Julian is going to do is recycle the same conflicts (usually with Thomas and his female cohort), then we've got better things to do with our time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


262 of 338 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series!, May 20, 2013
I stumbled onto the first season of Downton Abbey quite by accident and enjoyed following both "families" upstairs and down. The writing is excellent and the story lines amusing and engaging. I enjoyed all of the seasons since and was surprised by the deaths of Sybil and Matthew, but not shocked. Both lead further into great drama and add the suspense of the "cliff hanger" for the next season to begin upon. The addition of the naughty cousin Rose may make some new inroads with the story line. With Mary now widowed with a son, and Tom now a widower with a daughter, who knows what tangled plot may now ensue? There is always more backstabbing and sneakiness to be sure between the likes of Thomas and Miss O'Brien, so I think all is not lost. Maggie Smith as the Matriarch is pure gold. She's my favorite! If a face could launch a thousand ships, her expressions could easily wipe out an entire Navy!! She's no sourpuss...she's just a powerhouse! She can say more with one look than most can say with pages of dialogue. I look forward to season 4 and hope there will be more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 66 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tired series, January 28, 2014
I'm not purchasing Season Four because it is such a huge disappointment. Frankly, when Dan Stevens chose to leave the series the intelligent move on the part of Fellowes and the producers would have been to hire another actor to play "Matthew" so that the storyline of his and Mary's marriage and Matthew's moving into the role of running the estate could have been continued because Matthew was the "future" -- he was the young professional class -- an attorney -- who had inherited an estate and married into the aristocracy and at the same time saw that Branson, his Irish servant class brother-in-law, was going to be a partner in the modernizing of the Downtown estate. There were many stories that could proceed from that -- but by "killing" the character of Matthew, Fellowes basically "killed" the core of the series. Frankly, if he was going to kill the Matthew character, he may as well have ended the series altogether because the writing and plotlines in season four so far -- are inferior and reflect bad daytime soap opera writing. Only the Dowager and Matthew Crawley's mother have any good lines and far too few IMO, having Anna raped and then treat Bates like dirt in order "to save him from himself" for fear he would attempt to avenge what happened to her is a moment of "jumping the shark" which no series can afford to do and keep its audience. The introduction of Edna as Cora's maid had no point. The new ladies' maid appears to have a shady past -- so once again we are supposed to believe that the Granthams are so stupid that they'd continually hire terrible people to work for them when very obviously in the past they were smart enough to hire very good staff like Mrs. Patmore, Anna and Bates, Carson, Daisy, Alfred and Mrs. Hughes. The character of Thomas remains static -- he's still a wretched man despite the fact that various members of the family and staff have shown compassion toward him in his time of despair at having been revealed to be homosexual in age when it could result in arrest and imprisonment. Thomas has never been revealed to be a "stupid" man so one would assume that over time, he would change for the better as he realized that the entire world was not set against him -- nonetheless, once again he is thoroughly unpleasant this season and -- worse -- his character is now boring.
I cringe at the knowledge that later this year the godawful Shirley Maclaine and her godawful character will return -- she's like nails on chalkboard -- and this time she'll be toting along Paul Giamatti -- ugh!
I think the best thing we can all do now is enjoy re-watching the first three seasons which were entertaining despite being soap operaish -- because now it's just a soap opera and not terribly entertaining soap opera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Downton Abbey, January 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey Season 4 (Amazon Instant Video)
Julian Fellowes does a masterful job of describing the differences between the social classes in England in the early 20th century and the struggles each individual in the story endures as he or she comes face to face with the changing cultural standards in a new century - from Isobel's distress that her widowed daughter-in-law should inherit very little from her deceased husband while the widow's infant son is "as rich as Croesus," to Mrs. Patmore worrying that the advent of electrical kitchen appliances will usurp her role as cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Every series has to hit a bump, March 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After the first three seasons, where we learned that having a child will destroy your life - there aren't too many people to bump off. The story lines are not the best, and hopefully in next season the remaining characters will find their balance without the folks who were all killed off previously. My biggest criticism is: Why is Lady Cora a complete idiot about the staff, and at some point Thomas just needs to go to America and stay there - he's useless as a foil and pointlessly creepy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 80 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Season Four Taking a Down Turn, January 14, 2014
Killing off Matthew is a MAJOR err on the part of the producers and directors. The elders in this season are becoming comical instead of compelling. The fury to add NEW characters to this season are seem to be shallow and of no real interest. Let's face it, in the past episodes we cared about the good guys and despised the the mean-spirited, corrupt characters. Now we're beginning to think it's the writers who are mean-spirited and struggling to find issues to keep the series going.

It would have been far more entertaining to see Tom and Matthew work together to save the Abbey and to work for women's rights in merry old England. It would have been far more entertaining to see the doctor and Matthew's mother become an item and work together. It would be far more entertaining to see Daisy become the landowner of her father-in-laws estate and build to something large and in competition to the Abbey or at least the Abbey needing her services.

The niece or whoever she is, is just plain boring, we don't care if someone would kidnap her. In fact, please do we've had enough already.

Season Four is starting off with a whimper. Good thing Sherlock is beginning soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Season 4--a lapse in judgment?, January 12, 2014
I've loved this show from the beginning and purchased Seasons 3 and 4. Like everyone, I was shocked at the ending of Season 3, explained by the fact that they hoped the actor playing Matthew would renew his contract, but he did not. Having watched all of Season 4 now, I have to say it feels like the author needed to fill time/space created when a few actors didn't renew, and after watching quite a few PBS and BBC programs, it appears they do tend to recycle a lot of actors through many different programs (and usually, they are very good actors), but maybe there is a limit to the number of "outside" actors they are allowed to use, and so it's difficult or too time-consuming to come up with entirely new characters that could require different actors, if there isn't a lot of lead time to plan. And the plot lines suffer as a result.

I still love this show, but agree there are some far-fetched story-lines here, that depend on showing the upstairs family as not very bright or thoughtful, even after all that has gone on previously, and the downstairs people as one-dimensional--either all good or all bad. They've almost turned "Lord Robert" and "Carson" into buffoons. I don't want to give away too much, but actually, that may be the problem I have with this Season: it's all either predictable or far-fetched, so I just didn't enjoy it as much as the first three.

I know they've said there is to be a Season 5, so hopefully, they have enough advance time to plan story lines, write dialogue, employ actors, and so create a better show for the rest of us to watch. Perhaps, Julian Fellows needs some help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2834 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Downton Abbey Season 4
Downton Abbey Season 4 by Hugh Bonneville
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.