Customer Reviews


138 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great album; crappy re-release
Re-released to coincide with their upcming Cruefest 2 Tour, where it will be played in its entirety, this version of Dr. Feelgood shows that some bands are too high in their laurels to pay attention to their released product.

When Motley was struggling in the mid 90s to stay relevant, they released the excellent Crucial Crue series, which included demos,...
Published on May 28, 2009 by WilM.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Motley Crue - 'Dr. Feelgood' (Hip-O)
Nice job on this CD reissue - that is if you initially liked this lp when it first came out in 1989. Myself, I never was all that crazy about this (corporate) Motley Crue release. I mean to me 'Dr. Feelgood' was simply too commercial. Three way-over played tracks which are "Don't Go Away Mad", "Same 'Ol Situation" and the over-rated title cut "Dr. Feelgood". However all...
Published on October 27, 2005 by Mike Reed


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great album; crappy re-release, May 28, 2009
By 
WilM. "'MVFan'" (Republics of TX & Guatemala) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dr. Feelgood (Audio CD)
Re-released to coincide with their upcming Cruefest 2 Tour, where it will be played in its entirety, this version of Dr. Feelgood shows that some bands are too high in their laurels to pay attention to their released product.

When Motley was struggling in the mid 90s to stay relevant, they released the excellent Crucial Crue series, which included demos, instrumentals and unreleased versions. Dr. Feelgood's Crucial Crue is excellent and complete. Including FOUR demos and the unavailable Get It For Free, it encompassed the process that led to the success of Dr. Feelgood.

However, this new version, includes only the five singles in live versions previously found in 1998's Motley Crue Live Entertainment or Death, which, in itself, is a very bad live album.

So, do yourself a favor and hunt for the Crucial Crue version, if you don't have it, and stay away from this re-re-release that adds nothing of value to this magnificent album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Crue at their Creative and Commercial Pinnacle, November 22, 2002
By 
This review is from: Dr Feelgood (Audio CD)
This is Motley Crue's best and most focused album, with Shout and the '94 Corabi album coming in tied for second. After years of shoddy, drug-influenced work with Tom Werman, The boys hooked up with future Metallica producer Bob Rock. They're commitment to sobriety was a long time coming, and with Bob Timmons help, they finally built up the courage to live clean and say nope to dope. This album was recorded around the same time Aerosmith was working on their classic "Pump". In fact both bands studios were right next to each other! On Dr. Feelgood, the production is crisp and clear. The days of partying with chicks and kegs of booze in the studio were over, no more of Nikki being too strung out to play, the Crue finally gave it 110% effort the whole way through the recording process and it paid off. Big time. Their first (and only) album to top the charts. Every song but 1 released as a single. 6 Hit videos on MTV. A Sold-Out world tour played to all corners of the earth. The Metal Edge readers choice award for 1990. An American Music award for favorite Hard Rock album. I could go on & on.
I'll review this song by song (my ratings are in parenthesis)
1.T.nT "Terror 'n Tinseltown)-Nice intro, sets the tone. (5/5)
2.Dr. Feelgood-The infamous title track, features an excellent Tommy Lee back beat, clever lyrics. I Like Mick Mars demonic voice at the end. (5/5)
3.Slice of your Pie-Has a great blues influence, Steven Tyler co-arranged it. (4/5)
4.Rattlesnake shake-Rollicking mainframe, with a full horn and piano section. Vince Neil is in fine form vocally. (5/5)
5.Kickstart my heart-A top ten hit, Heavy riff, excellent slowed down bridge, and a kick-ass Tommy Lee drum solo to finish it off. The video was a blistering, in-your-face performance. (5/5)
6.Without You-Motley's second best ballad besides "Home sweet home". It's very deep and sentimental, heart-felt. (5/5)
7.Same ol' Situation-Nikki Sixx plays a nice bass line, tells an interesting story. I loved the video back in the day, Motley were at the top of the mountain, music-wise and commercially.
This song, along with Dr. Dre's "Next episode" played in my head while in line for my last paycheck of Summer 2000. (5/5)
8.Sticky Sweet-Top notch musicianship. Takes me back to September 1990 when I got my new bike. (5/5)
9.She Goes Down-Packed with sass, raunch and a chugging backbeat towards the end. (5/5)
10.Don't go away mad (Just go away)-Yet another megahit, it's a power rocker, with a catchy chorus. The coda is terrific. the video sort of foretells the internal conflict and tensions that arose in early 1992. (5/5)
11.Time for a change-A perfect closer. It's socially aware with relevant lyrics. And the chorus sounds like a choir singing. The only downside I can think of is in the title, The band is talking about change. Unfortunately the wrong kind happened, 2 years later in the Fall of '91. Music changed big time. Grunge exploded out of nowhere and bands like the Crue fell out of favor. It was the end of an era. The reign of the Hair Bands ended overnight. That said this track is still a 5/5.
If you don't own this album yet you're in luck. In 1999 the band acquired their back catalog and Master tapes from Elektra and started their own label called Motley records/Beyond. Their previous albums were re-issued under the Crucial Crue series, it's fitting that this was their best album, because it's also the best of the re-releases.
There's new liner notes pertaining to info on selected songs, and Demo versions of songs as well as unreleased tracks. The title cut has different words and it's an interesting listen. You can hear what's missing and in turn corrected on the final songs.
The demos for "Without You" and "Kickstart my heart" don't pack quite the punch of their album counterparts, all things considered, they're still pretty decent as is.
The unreleased track "Get it for free" Is good, but it seems more fit for the Girls, Girls, Girls album. It would have seemed out of place on Feelgood. It makes sense to me why it was left off.
My review is a bit lengthy, but by now you get the point. Don't miss out on this Rock-N-Roll classic. As I said before, It's Motley Crue at their creative and commercial pinnacle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great classic rock album, December 7, 2005
By 
Mike D (Independence/Kansas City, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dr. Feelgood (Audio CD)
This should get more play on classic rock radio. Motley Crue had pretty much given up being a mid-80s hairband and had abandoned the whole leather, devil-worship image from the earliest days. Still there's prejudice against the Crue from rock n roll radio for whatever reason.

I remember fondly being 13 years old in 1984 wearing the pentagram Crue tee shirts with my mullet and having people think I was a demonologist. Fun times.

As far as this album goes, it's kind of the Layla of my generation. Pure classic rock. In a league of its own. Beyond mere metal. Still a favorite among strippers. That's about a perfect album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motley Crue's best, May 18, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Dr. Feelgood (Audio CD)
I was all into Motley Crue back in the 1980's. I have every CD they have ever done from those days. I think this CD showed off how good it could get!! With Motley Crue in the past you had those 2 or 3 songs from each album that rocked and then the rest of the album would leave you flat. This CD rocks from beging to end. With songs like "Kickstart my heart" "Dr. Feelgood", "Slice of Your Pie","Same Ol' Situation" and so on.... Put this CD in, turn the volume up and then stand back because your going to be blown into the next room!!! God bless ROCK N' ROLL!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another classic Motley Crue album, May 2, 2005
By 
This review is from: Dr. Feelgood (Audio CD)
Being a huge fan of both 80's hair metal and hard rock, it is good to see that bands in both of those genres have had their CDS being re-issued lately. And luckily enough,Motley Crue, one of the most talented hair bands of the 80's, have gotten their albums re-issued,and it is great to see that time is being kind to Motley Crue's fifth album, "Dr. Feelgood" (1989). Yes, you read right, this album has finally been re-issued. This, in my opinion, was Motley Crue's best album. It produced Motley Crue classics such as "Dr. Feelgood", "Kickstart My Heart", "Without You", among others, and not only are the songs great, but you get special appearances from artists like Steven Tyler, Bryan Adams, Skid Row,etc. Now this has everything a Motley Crue album needs.

My favorite songs: "Dr. Feelgood", "T.nT. (Terror In Tinseltown)" (this is like part one of "Dr. Feelgood" (the song), "Slice Of Your Pie", "Without You", "Kickstart My Heart", and "Don't Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)", which sounds like an "ode" someone might send out to a snobby ex-girlfriend- listen to the lyrics, it starts off as a very pretty love song, and then it gets to the "I Don't Care About You Anymore" part of the song- there is a reason why I like this song so much, but I don't know what it is, I just do.

As for the re-issuing on this album,there are five bonus tracks: original demos of "Dr. Feelgood","Without You", "Kickstart My Heart", and "Time For Change", as well as a demo for a song that was never released at all:"Get It For Free". The producer of this album, Bob Rock, wrote a few small liner notes inside the album sheets, and Nikki Sixx commented on three of the bonus tracks while Mick Mars commented on the remaining two. I would have liked to see Vince Neil and Tommy Lee comment on one or two of the bonus tracks also,but getting some comments from at least two members of the band is better then not getting comments on the bonus tracks from band members at all.

Besides the thing I just mentioned about the liner notes, my only other complaint is that while this CD is enhanced, the only other bonus thing you will get if you pop this CD into your computer is the video for "Kickstart My Heart". Kind of dissappointing, but this might serve good for people who can't afford Motley Crue's "Greatest Video Hits" DVD. Again, something is better than nothing.

Overall,this is a great album made even greater, and if you are a Motley Crue fan, then pick up the re-issued version of this album. It can't get any better than this. If you enjoyed this album, then I also recommend all of Motley's albums (studio, live, and greatest hits, as well as their box sets)and if you enjoyed this album, then you will probably like the re-issued versions of the debut albums by both Slaughter and Warrant- the re-issued versions of Slaughter's first two studio albums are "Stick It To Ya" and "The Wild Life", and the re-issued versions of Warrant's first two albums are "Dirty Rotten Filthy Stinking Rich" and "Cherry Pie". Besides this album, I also have all of the albums that I just mentioned, and they all rock, just like Motley Crue does! If Vince, Nikki, Tommy, and Mick all read my review of this, then I have one thing to say to them: Please make a new full-length album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This was their "1984"., July 16, 2004
By 
Mike Clor (Richmond, VA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dr. Feelgood (Audio CD)
This album captures Motley at their peak and proves that while they didn't have the same hard and dark edge that they had with their first two albums, they could still make great and really fun hard rock party anthems. This one has something for everyone, featuring the metal masterpiece "Dr. Feelgood"- an anti-drug song, the stylish power ballad "Without You" and the adrenaline rushing rock anthem "Kickstart My Heart"-my personal fav on this album. Even if this C.D. doesnt have the macabre and heavy feel that "Shout at the Devil" had, it still has the same great feel and sticks to simply having fun and partying, which was what Metal was really all about. This album also features some of Mick Mars' best guitar work, being he gives great solos on each track. If you like hard rock from the late 70s or 80s, you'll love this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kickstart Dr. Feelgood..., January 26, 2004
By 
Sean Parauka (Orange, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dr. Feelgood (Audio CD)
In 1989, Motley Crue released the greatest album of their career. This album, "Dr. Feelgood" is a phenomenal album filled with out of this world riffs and beats and Vince's vocals are the best they have ever been. A lot of Motley Crue's famous hits came off of this album. Every song on the album is a classic. All the way from the opening track to the very end, the album is pure hard-core heavy metal.
These are the major hits that came out of this album and how much they rock.
2. Dr. Feelgood - An outstanding title track and probably Motley Crue's best title track to date. The riffs are excellent and the lyrcis are great. This is a real catchy tune that rocks this world. It's definately an A+.
5. Kickstart My Heart - THE GREATEST SONG OF THE ALBUM! Oh, my God, I have never heard a better heavy metal song than this one right here. This song is probably one of Motley Crue's best songs to date. The opening riff by Mick and Nikki is so intense and then Tommy starts banging the drums and then Vince starts screaming. The chorus line is extremely outstanding. This is without a doubt a Crue anthem and the music video to this song is awsome. This song is an A+, 5-Stars, Perfect 100!!!
6. Without You - This is the first ballad of the album. This song was written based on Tommy and Heather Locklear's relationship. The lyrics are so passionate and loving, and is definately one of the best metal ballads ever written. Vince's vocals on this album can't get any better than this. The song is definately deserves an A+.
7. Same Ol' Situation (SOS) - An excellent tune and a minor anthem. The riffs are great and the chorus line is very catchy. This is a great rocker to sing along to also. It deserves an A.
11. Time For Change - The second ballad of the album. Nikki wrote this song about the troubles he has had throughout his life. This is just at good as "Without You." The whole band sings the chorus line in this one and it's phenomenal. The chorus line goes, "Change. Now, it's Time For Change. Nothin' stays the same." This also earns a spot at the top of Motley Crue's ballads. It's definately an A+ all the way.
Those are the best songs off the album. The songs I didn't include are excellent also. These five songs are the songs that'll get you hooked on the album. It's definatley a must buy album if you are a Motley Crue fans. For those that are thinking about starting a Motley Crue collection, this is the album to start with. After you listen to the album once, you'll find yourself at the store buying another Crue album after the other (It happened to me). Order me up another Piece of Dr. Feelgood!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Heavy Metal Album Of The 1980's, January 11, 2002
This review is from: Dr Feelgood (Audio CD)
In The Crue's auobiography "The Dirt", Vince Neil writes that no one goes to a Motley Crue concert expecting a really heavy, thought-provoking experience...people go to a Motley Crue concert hoping to get a (session of oral pleasure) in the back seat of a car.
>
These guys made a career out of making music suited to just such a purpose, and they never did it as well as on this CD. The yardstick to whether a strip club is any good can STILL be determined by the number of Motley Crue songs you hear within the first hour (if it's less than two, you probably don't really want to be there).
>
So, to "Dr. Feelgood", then...Title track: Some seriously heavy "dropped-D" tuning (this is used a lot on this CD...Soundgarden gets most recognition for it, but The Crue had 'em beat by years) and one of Tommy Lee's best-ever drum tracks.
>
"Slice Of Your Pie": My favorite track...psychedelic intro and an homage to Steven Tyler in the credits for the drum track (likely to keep from getting sued...it does sound a helluva lot like "Rag Doll")...and the fade-out pays a solid tribute to The Beatles "I Want You (She's So Heavy)". if you're gonna rip someone off, you could do a lot worse than Lennon-McCartney.
>
"Rattlesnake Shake": More latter-day L.A. glam-funk influence with a cool horn section and a nice bass break by Nikki Sixx (sobering up DEFINITELY was worth it as far as his playing goes).
>
"Kickstart My Heart": Adrenaline personified. Not my favorite (MTV played this video WAY too much), but a Crue staple.
>
"Without You": My personal favorite "power ballad" from a time when all metal acts were required to record at least one (except for Aerosmith, who don't seem to record anything else). This song gets slagged off as filler, but I'd still rather listen to this than, say, "Every Rose Has Its Thorn"...saccharine, anyone?
>
"Same Ol' Situation": Good sing-along about the complexities of relationships (to put it mildly).
>
"Sticky Sweet": Not the strongest track on the CD by any stretch...white boy funk (Nikki does slap the bass a little bit) in a Warrant "Cherry Pie" groove (although this came out first).
>
"She Goes Down": Do I really need to add anything to this?
>
"Don't Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)": This may be the best-written song these guys ever recorded...it takes on the guise of a serious tune until the chorus kicks in...everyone's playing is as solid as it's ever been...fun song, always makes me feel good.
>
"Time For A Change": Okay, THIS song is pure filler...deserves all the bad publicity that "Without You" got...as cheesy as it gets...nice "All The Young Dudes" riff by Mick Mars in the fade-out...he obviously wan't taking it too seriously, either.
>
The bonus tracks are okay...demos to "Dr. Feelgood" (with slightly different lyrics), "Without You" (less layered guitars, but the cool arpeggiated acoustic part is heard throughout each verse, which I like...oh, yeah...Vince absolutely sounds like a girl during the whole song; maybe one the band's girlfriends did the initial vocal track), and "Kickstart My Heart" (wherein the afforementioned Vince blows the lyric), and the unreleased "Get It For Free", which is good, because it ain't really worth paying for.
>
Unreleased tracks are usually unreleased for a reason...but the songs that did make it to "Dr. Feelgood" are pretty much the strongest collection of work from heavy metal's Big Hair Era. Aside from maybe "Appetite For Destruction" by Guns 'N Roses, there isn't a better representaion of the sound of that time. Grab it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great way to end the '80's!, August 9, 2001
This review is from: Dr Feelgood (Audio CD)
This album of course marked the commercial peak of Motley Crue. In some bands' cases, that often means it is not quite their best work. (For example, while Def Leppard's "Hysteria" was a wonderful album and a huge commercial success, the still big but slightly less popular predecessor "Pyromania" was better from start to finish in my opinion.) However, in the case of the mighty Crue, their most popular album is also their best. This is a hard rock masterpiece. The title track was a defining, hard-rocking first single from the album which amazingly made the top 10. "Kickstart My Heart" is a great fist-pumping rock anthem that to this day is one of my Crue favorites. Singles like "S.O.S" and "Don't Go Away Mad..." are also exceptional. "Slice of Your Pie" and "She Goes Down" are classic Crue sleaze. The only track I to this day am not crazy about is the ballad "Without You". A big hit in it's time but a very weak song for a rock ballad. I am a big fan of rock ballads, and the Crue's "Home Sweet Home" is one of my favorite rock ballads ever, but "Without You" just doesn't cut it. "Time For Change", the last track on the original release of this album, is in fact a much better ballad. Despite the one weak track, this album still rates five stars due to the rest of the songs. To this day, one of my favorite hard rock albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars COOL CRUE, July 21, 2002
By 
This review is from: Dr Feelgood (Audio CD)
I've never been a Motley Crue fan in particular (I can't even remember how I bought this album) but Dr Feelgood is the band's tour-de-force...and is an excellent introduction to Motley Crue.
Although the band's image is a ruff and tuff party band, this album is in fact, extremely well-produced. The riffs are chunky; the melodies are sweet and the playing is tight. This is as ultimate rock as it gets. Dr Feelgood has a drive and verve that hasn't been matched since, and deservedly sold loads of copies. It's hard to explain why some albums hit the sweet spot more than others, but this one does with an array of tracks..."Kickstart My Heart" is a great song, and a personal favourite of mine. Motley Crue is perhaps somewhat underrated against their other rock peers but they transcended for a time above a crowded field. This shows the band's songwriting and rhythmic skills at their peak. Take it from a non-diehard crue fan. If rock is your forte, you'll have fun with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dr. Feelgood
Dr. Feelgood by Motley Crue (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.