Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An account of Dr. Seuss
This is a big, heavy coffee table book showing the public and the private art of Theodore Geisel - Dr. Seuss. The art is fascinating, ranging from advertisements that he did, to book illustrations and the `Midnight paintings' that he did not want shown to the public until after his death.

There are descriptions of events in his life and his work. They include...
Published 20 months ago by wogan

versus
11 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A curse and bad tidings, ill luck and a pox on the man that created this gigantic box!
I'll spare you Seusian rhyme from here on and cut to the chase... The book is fantastic. Great pictures. The four prints are small and not particularly special. But the box it comes in is HUGE! Where will I store this white elephant? I'll take the book out and toss the rest in the garage I guess. Save your money. Buy the regular edition of this book. It's the same size-...
Published 20 months ago by Stephen W. Worth


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An account of Dr. Seuss, November 29, 2012
This review is from: Dr. Seuss: The Cat Behind the Hat: The Collector's Edition (Hardcover)
This is a big, heavy coffee table book showing the public and the private art of Theodore Geisel - Dr. Seuss. The art is fascinating, ranging from advertisements that he did, to book illustrations and the `Midnight paintings' that he did not want shown to the public until after his death.

There are descriptions of events in his life and his work. They include the beginnings of Horton, calendars and many advertisements that he illustrated. The pictures are all well done and clear, many of them cover a whole page or even extending onto the next page. Each work has the medium it was done on and its title; although I wish they would have included the year it was made. The book is in mostly chronological order. Photos of Theodore Geisel are included. His work shows, in an interesting way, his social conscience.

This is a well done book, although one should be aware that it was published previously as `Secrets of the Deep' and it is sold as a very costly limited edition, but if you search you can find the regular book at a fraction of the limited edition's cost.
It is an interesting compilation of Seuss' work and life that fans of his and those of art would enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality prints, fascinating info, December 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This has lovely illustrations and a lot of fascinating information about a side of Dr. Seuss that we don't see in his children's books. In fact, we'd love to find a print of one of the works we found inside it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, November 26, 2013
By 
There are several great reasons to buy Caroline Smith’s Dr. Seuss: The Cat Behind the Hat. First of all, this is a beautiful book. The illustrations are finely printed and are beautiful to see. Second, if the only image you have of Dr. Seuss comes from The Cat in the Hat, you are in for a treat. While many of the images from Ted Geisel’s children’s books were familiar to me, I especially enjoyed seeing the midnight paintings, his ads and the political cartoons he drew. Finally, any reader who likes to learn more about a creative individual will discover in this finely written book a comprehensive perspective on Ted Geisel. Treat yourself to this expensive book with a value that far exceeds its cost.

Rating: Four-star (I like it)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An art book with some unnecessary text, November 20, 2013
Subtitled, "The Art of Dr. Seuss," this is more-or-less a restrospective of Seuss's entire career, but it focuses strongly on what the Doctor called his "Midnight Paintings," i.e., things not intended for publication in his lifetime. These range from very Seuss-y Seusses to some wild abstracts and surreal paintings ... but always with his sense of humor and delight in what he's doing.

There's text but it doesn't get in the way, and a couple of short essays by Seuss himself, including one on how the original Cat came to be written. There are sketches showing how some of his most famous books developed. And through it all there is Seussery.

I like it, but that is only to be expected, as I regard Dr. Seuss as the children's entertainer (author, artist, moviemaker...) of the twentieth century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, fun and informative!, November 19, 2012
By 
Scave31 (Puyallup, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dr. Seuss: The Cat Behind the Hat: The Collector's Edition (Hardcover)
Part biography, part art book, "Dr. Seuss, The Cat Behind the Hat" is a great peek into the many facets of Theodor Geisel, the artist and writer who touched so many lives, children's and adult's alike, and continues to touch them today, 20 years after his death. I learned a lot about the man...his need for privacy and why he keep much of his art out of the public eye. His art and writings, even that directed at children, reflected so much of his world view, his desire for fairness and equality for all people. I loved some of the stories behind how he created his art and why he wrote the books he wrote. His wit and humor stood out, even in the ads he wrote and illustrated to pay the bills during the Depression years. I loved seeing how some of the characters which came to be prominent in his children's books were present years earlier in his "midnight paintings" otherwise known as "the secret art of Seuss." Some of that art includes wacky taxidermy that will really tickle the reader, a book that featured the Seuss Navy for the 1936 National Boat Show, and many of his wonderful political cartoons.

I read this book in e-book form and found the art beautiful to look at, so I imagine the printed version will be stunning. Colorful, imaginative, and informative, The Cat Behind the Hat, was a smile-inducing, thoughtful, and a few times, when being reminded of especially good memories I have of Dr. Seuss's books, a bit tearful for me to read. I especially loved the section that discussed his foray into children's books, which came much later in his life. Oh, the places Dr. Seuss went...this book takes a reader there and lets them share a bit in the life that touched so many of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved This Book, June 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book is wonderful. would buy again. Think I buy one as gift. Meet a teacher who loves Dr. Seuss. I love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, March 24, 2014
This review is from: Dr. Seuss: The Cat Behind the Hat: The Collector's Edition (Hardcover)
Love this set. However I found it at walmart for $15 which is a prettttty awesome deal if you ask me. I plan to frame all the prints and the lithograph that comes with it. The box is beautiful and well made. Its definitely top brass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Art for himself, February 22, 2014
Ted Geisel (aka Dr. Seuss) made contributions to children's literature that might never be equaled. That's partly due to the fact that, according to one collaborator, the children's book market teems with imitators of every style around, except for Seuss's. No one dares to try.

But Seuss had a long and varied career as advertising illustrator, political cartoonist, and more, and still had time on his hands. Since a real artist must create art, he did - and kept it for his own amusement. He realized that his own passing made his privacy irrelevant, and left behind these wonderful works for us to enjoy, There's plenty of informative biographical text here, but it's really about the artwork: oils, acrylics, watercolors, sketches and mockups for his books, even slightly deranged sculptures. My one complaint (and I complain very quietly) is that the works reproduced here rarely, if ever come with mention of the year they were created. Perhaps that information was never available - but its lack prevents me from tracing themes and styles through different eras of his long and productive life. Despite that minor flaw, this has my highest recommendation for anyone who grew up loving his wonderful work.

-- wiredweird
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, February 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dr. Seuss: The Cat Behind the Hat: The Collector's Edition (Hardcover)
My husband and I simply love this book. As a fan of Theodor Seuss Geisel this book was must for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great book, January 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was for my son so i actually have not read the entire book just looked through it and read pages here and there.
I thought it was very well written and loved the Dr. Seuss artwork. My son says he really likes it, he is a Dr. Seuss fan and
17 years old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dr. Seuss: The Cat Behind the Hat: The Collector's Edition
Dr. Seuss: The Cat Behind the Hat: The Collector's Edition by Caroline M. Smith (Hardcover - November 13, 2012)
$300.00 $75.94
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.