Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Dr. Seuss at his best.
This DVD contains four digitally remastered (great image quality) classic Dr. Seuss stories:
* Green Eggs and Ham: about Sam-I-Am and his never ending quest to make people sample the dish he loves best.
* The Sneetches: about a narrow-minded and prejudiced group of creatures who don't accept others who don't look exactly like them.
* The Zax: about two...
Published on January 12, 2004 by M. E. Volmar

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointment
When it says Green eggs and ham and others, it gives you Dr. Seuss on the loose with three mini shows, including Green eggs plus Grinch Night, but it is exactly the same menu as appears on the Dr. Seuss Celebration disc that has 4 other videos, I bought both thinking there were different videos on each, never imagining that these same videos were on the other disc
Published on December 15, 2010 by paternoster


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Dr. Seuss at his best., January 12, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dr. Seuss - Green Eggs and Ham and Other Favorites (Grinch Night) (DVD)
This DVD contains four digitally remastered (great image quality) classic Dr. Seuss stories:
* Green Eggs and Ham: about Sam-I-Am and his never ending quest to make people sample the dish he loves best.
* The Sneetches: about a narrow-minded and prejudiced group of creatures who don't accept others who don't look exactly like them.
* The Zax: about two hardheaded and proud beings who waste a whole lifetime for not yielding the right of way.
* Grinch Night: about a courageous kid who faces the Grinch and saves his whole town from his malicious Halloween tricks and terrors. (A must see on Halloween night).
It also contains two wonderful sing-along songs: He Will Eat Them and Grinches Inches Closer.
Not only does this collection of cartoons contains the marvelous songs and poetry of Dr. Seuss, it is also a great way to teach kids about human values like open-mindedness, tolerance and acceptance, humility, courage and selflessness. They are filled with original art and are also very entertaining.
Buy this DVD for your kids and enjoy it with them. I would also recommend buying Dr. Seuss' The Cat in the Hat and Dr. Seuss' How The Grinch Stole Christmas.
--Reviewed by M. E. Volmar
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Dr. Seuss!, October 5, 2004
By 
This review is from: Dr. Seuss - Green Eggs and Ham and Other Favorites (Grinch Night) (DVD)
Three out of the four cartoons on this DVD run at about 10-15 minutes average length. While the fourth (Halloween Night is Grinch Night), runs at about 20-30 minutes. So all in all, you are getting around 52 minutes worth of Dr. Seuss entertainment, which really isn't all that bad.

Green Eggs and Ham- A decent cartoon but with it being based off of a book, it seems to kinda get on your nerves after a while with all of the rhythms and rhymes. But not too bad. The sound is top notch on the DVD but the color seems to be kinda bland.

The Zax- The shortest of the cartoons on the DVD, this one is pretty entertaining even though it is extremely short. The coloring and sound are great!

The Sneetches- My second favorite cartoon on the DVD. A story that has a true message to it. Sound is good and the color is pretty much intact but there are a few scenes where the color seems to have faded a little.

Halloween Night is Grinch Night- One of my all-time favorite Dr. Seuss cartoons! The creatures in the story are kinda creepy and it is very appropriate for Halloween, hence the title. This is obviously the longest cartoon since it was made for CBS back in the early seventies I believe. This one seems to be absolutely intact with sound and coloring.

Overall, while the only thing that seems to be suffering the most from these four cartoons is the fading of colors. But it's not the DVD's fault. These films were made back in the sixities and seventies and have been shown many times on television since their creation. I am surprised that their condition is not as worse as shown on the DVD. Definitely worth the money if you're a Dr. Seuss fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grinch Night on DVD!, October 5, 2003
By 
A Dude "wyrmwood" (Spanish Fork, Utah United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dr. Seuss - Green Eggs and Ham and Other Favorites (Grinch Night) (DVD)
Grinch Night is the best Halloween special never ran on TV these day. It was a truly memorable expereince on those cold October nights of my childhood. And although it was released (and purchased by myslef) on VHS the grainy picture and sub-par sound really doused the viewing. But now we have it on DVD and a whole new genration of children (and adults) can enjoy this priceless treasure digitally. Thank you Universal reincarnating this masterpiece.
Oh, my only complaint about this volume; shoulda' entitled it "Grinch Night and Other Favorites" with the Grinch's snarling visage on the cover......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grinch Night Is The Better Story, October 27, 2003
By 
Daniel R. Lally (North Saanich, British Columbia, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The video version of "Green Eggs and Ham" is much better than the book. It contains more details and action, which makes it fairly entertaining for little children. However, Grinch Night is far superior and better for family viewing.
Although Grich Night is not based on a story book like "How The Grinch Stole Christmas," it demonstrates some good Dr. Seus techniques. Here the Grinch is portrayed differently and doing magic with both his eyebrows and cart. The story starts with things pleasent in Whooville when, suddenly, a sweet-sour wind causes things to be unpleasent and, as a result, making the situation suitable for the Grinch to come down and cause trouble with his scary features. However, a young boy name Eukariah wanders outside and gets blown up the mountain where he walks into the Grinches route and feels he must try and prevent him from reaching Whooville. However, in doing so, young Eukariah must face the Grinches scary magic, which is too powerful for anyone to overcome as long as the sweet-sour wind keeps blowing.
Do not be satisfied with "How The Grinch Stole Christmas." "Grinch Night" is a must-see and is also easier to be expanded into a movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars That old sour-sweet wind's a-blowin'...., February 9, 2007
By 
This review is from: Dr. Seuss - Green Eggs and Ham and Other Favorites (Grinch Night) (DVD)
This review is directly for Grinch Night rather than Green Eggs and Ham as Grinch Night is the sole purpose that i purchased this DVD. Yes, I have been waiting some time for this particular animated special to appear on DVD as it is definitely a "Must-Own". For those people like myself, who grew up watching "How The Grinch Stole Christmas" as well as the various Charlie Brown holiday specials, not to mention all those wonderful Rankin & Bass collaborations, Ginch Night will always have a place in my heart(as well now in my DVD library). Maybe not as memorable (or popular, obviously) as it's Xmas predecessor, the few times as a child that i watched Grinch Night enraptured me. It will always be required viewing around Halloween time right along with "It's The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown" & "A Garfield Halloween". I'm 32 now but will always feel like a child all over again while watching this show. And someday, I hope to share the magic of Grinch Night with children of my own...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr. Seuss DVD, April 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dr. Seuss - Green Eggs and Ham and Other Favorites (Grinch Night) (DVD)
This DVD that includes Grinch Night was exactly as advertised and came quickly. It has Green Eggs and Ham, too, and The Sneetches, as well as another short cartoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EDUCATIONAL AND FUN FOR ALL CHILDREN, December 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dr. Seuss - Green Eggs and Ham and Other Favorites (Grinch Night) (DVD)
How could you not love Dr. Seuss. Green Eggs and Ham introduces children to rhymes and the concept that what we thnk we do and don't like may not be correct. We have to try it and see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Green Eggs N Ham, June 4, 2008
By 
This review is from: Dr. Seuss - Green Eggs and Ham and Other Favorites (Grinch Night) (DVD)
Classic Dr. Seuss - excellent purchase for my growing teens who sometimes like to re-capture youthful events with mom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A sweet, older video of Dr. Seuss cartoons for kids, January 9, 2010
This review is from: Dr. Seuss - Green Eggs and Ham and Other Favorites (Grinch Night) (DVD)
This is a good DVD for even really young kids. There's no violence and a good moral lesson in each tale. My favorite is the "The Sneetches", a great example of how pejudice based on something silly (like a blue star on one's belly) is a terrible way to run a society.

The only thing I didn't like were all the ads and previews for other products, but I guess that's to be expected these days. I recently purchased a "THomas the Tank Engine" DVD that had the same problem-- at least 10 minutes of ads for toys and videos before the actual DVD began!

Overall, I think that this Dr, Seuss video is a good choice for toddlers and any kids under 12. I enjoyed watching it too-- the older stories reminded me of the Dr. Seuss books I read as a kid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This made my granddaughter's day!, December 25, 2007
By 
IamMams (Wilmington, DE) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dr. Seuss - Green Eggs and Ham and Other Favorites (Grinch Night) (DVD)
I originally purchased this product in VHS format about ten years ago for my oldest grandchild ... she loved it and watched it incessantly. My second grandchild is now three ... she began watching it about two years ago and loved it as well but, unfortunately, the VHS tape broke. I'm so happy I was able to purchase this (as well as the "Cat in the Hat") for her in DVD format. I presented both DVDs to her for Christmas, she was ecstatic and has watched both of them already. Great entertainment for kids of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dr. Seuss - Green Eggs and Ham and Other Favorites (Grinch Night)
$29.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.