Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The man behind the cat
Dr. Seuss has become such a fixture in our world that its hard to fully appreciate the impact he had on children's literature and our culture. This book explores both the origins of his whimsical books and the impact he had on the publishing industry. As portrayed here, Dr. Seuss is possessed of a slightly skewed view of life, but is devoted to promoting the causes he...
Published on April 10, 2006 by Andrew W. Johns

versus
70 of 87 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars tedious hero-worship
It's often better to know certain people only through their works, and to avoid altogether what passes for a biography written by "long-time friends." This is the overview he was afraid of reading, what had to wait to be written until his passing? There is no semblance of objective distance in this book. Even the most awful, and possibly revealing, aspects...
Published on October 23, 1999 by devon w thompson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 87 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars tedious hero-worship, October 23, 1999
It's often better to know certain people only through their works, and to avoid altogether what passes for a biography written by "long-time friends." This is the overview he was afraid of reading, what had to wait to be written until his passing? There is no semblance of objective distance in this book. Even the most awful, and possibly revealing, aspects of this man's life--chief among them the suicide of his sixty-nine year old wife of more than four decades--are glossed over and swept aside, the authors preferring to concentrate on his happiness in taking up with the wife of one of his friends soon after. And there are countless mentions of his "brilliant color sense"--a subjective talent, at best--to the extent that by the end of the book you might believe that this was on par with the cure for polio. Dr. Seuss was a wonderfully talented author of children's books, and a worthy subject for an honest and well-rounded biography. Unfortunately, this is not it. Go back and read "Green Eggs and Ham" again. Go read "The Cat in the Hat." Leave this alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The man behind the cat, April 10, 2006
This review is from: Dr. Seuss & Mr. Geisel: A Biography (Paperback)
Dr. Seuss has become such a fixture in our world that its hard to fully appreciate the impact he had on children's literature and our culture. This book explores both the origins of his whimsical books and the impact he had on the publishing industry. As portrayed here, Dr. Seuss is possessed of a slightly skewed view of life, but is devoted to promoting the causes he believed in, including children's literacy. As a man who truly believed that reading should be fun, he wrote books that he felt were fun to read, and knew that others would enjoy them too. Its a shame that his fear of public speaking kept the world from knowing him better during his lifetime, but he lives on in his impressive body of wacky and delightful books and art. I would highly recommend this book for anyone who wants to get a glimpse of the man behind the cat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light, happy-go-lucky biography of an American icon, July 9, 2007
By 
Kedar Deshpande (Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dr. Seuss & Mr. Geisel: A Biography (Paperback)
Dr. Seuss is an American icon by anyone's standards. He taught millions of children how to read and enchanted young and old alike with his clever, unsentimental stories and rhymes, as well as his fanciful, detailed drawings.

While this biography doesn't get to the core of the man, it is nevertheless entertaining and good at portraying Dr. Seuss' perpetual, impish, childlike vision of the world. We see that he was a prankster and ever-young at heart, even into his 80s. At the same time, we also see a man who was passionate about his work and perfectionistic in his sense of color, meter and story development. And he didn't shy away from heady topics such as the environment, nuclear war and aging. Indeed, because of his skill and keen, honest, funny insights into the world, both children and adults reveled in his surreal, magical worlds. With books like The Lorax and The Butter Battle Book, we see a subversive, brilliant man who was thirty years ahead of his time, simultaneously writing about important issues, while entertaining everyone and also teaching children how to respect their world and the people around them.

Dr. Seuss seemingly had infinite energy for writing, drawing, painting, collaborating, imagining and building a canon of classic literature. It started early, from his days at Dartmouth, to his early attempts to break into the publishing market during the 1920s. His biographers, the Morgans, do well to emphasize his boundless spirit and curiosity---he managed to travel to exotic corners of the world, write over fifty books, and still never missed a parade or retrospective in his honor.

This biography is not a "tell-all" and doesn't probe into the depths of the man or his wonderful, mysterious, inexplicable creative process. It's a light, charming biography of a man that all of us seem to know and love, despite having never met him. Of course, after reading this book, you'll wish that you HAD known him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Life Ever!!!, February 23, 2013
This review is from: Dr. Seuss & Mr. Geisel: A Biography (Paperback)
This book is probably the most descriptive and most informative biography you can ever read about Dr. Seuss. This book tells you things that you could have never imaged. It makes you wonder how the author could have gotten ahold of the information. I love this book and how much it explains things about Dr. Seuss's life. After reading this book, you will realize how good of a book it is and you would want to buy this book for yourself.

In my opinion, the beginning of the book was definitely not a page turner, but it does provide good facts such as how Dr. Seuss's name was actually Ted Geisel. The beginning of the book talks about things like how he went to two colleges. One college for just the four required years, then another college where he wanted to become a professor. Later in the book, when Ted actually starts to write children's books, that's when it gets better and more interesting, especially with all the conflict he is left with. According to the author, Ted illustrated and wrote all of his children's books.

I really enjoyed the middle of the book. It tells things that are really interesting in my opinion. One of them was how he was at his drawing board for about 6 months trying to make the perfect children's book. Another one was about how bad the economy was because of the depression, but there was still a big need for children's book. I also found it interesting how famous Dr. Seuss is now because of his unique style of writing and drawing. Back then that was the same reason why the first 27 publishers turned him down. His first book was "And to Think That I Saw It on Mulberry Street". After his first book, he had a brilliant idea for a book that was called "Horton Hatches the Egg". Ted's main conflict while writing his books was how he didn't know how to continue his books when he was stumped on a situation. In this case Dr. Seuss didn't know how to get Horton out of the tree when he got stuck in there. I also found interesting that after writing this book, Ted went to fight in World War II. That's the reason why he didn't write any books for a while. Thinking about how famous Dr. Seuss is it's hard to believe he had a lot of books that weren't big sellers.

During the middle and near the end part of the book, I was really dumbfounded by how Dr. Seuss actually had some ideas on how to make this world a better place. This is one of the reasons why this book was a great way to find every little thing about Dr. Seuss. Ted made one book that made people change their feelings about this world and keeping the earth clean. People have probably heard of this book but never actually thought the real meaning of it. Just finding about this book makes me realize that Dr. Seuss actually had a great sense to make a book appealing to children but yet an eye opener for adults. The name of the book was The Lorax. The sole purpose of the book was to open people's eyes on how this world will no longer be the same if we don't stop pollution.

At the end, the best part of the book is where.... Wait I can't tell you. You're just going to have to find out the ending all by yourself. So make sure you buy this book. It is by far the best biography I have ever read. It is also the most informative book I have ever read of Dr. Seuss. The authors gave it 100 percent to find every last detail about Theodor Geisel's life.

Word Count (639)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Introduction to the Seuss World, January 20, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Dr. Seuss & Mr. Geisel: A Biography (Paperback)
I have read almost all of the books written by Dr. Seuss, but knew little about the wonderful man. This book is full of humour and delightful insights into the workings of children's books (non-existent before Dr. Seuss) and the many other projects under his guise. Recommended reading for everyone over 20-- to recapture the magic behind the Cat, Horton and the Grinch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr.Seuss+Mr.Geisel:A biography, June 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dr. Seuss & Mr. Geisel: A Biography (Paperback)
Very much what I expected of a biography: well written ,readable, enjoyable and gives a good view of the person behind all the famous books and characters!Writers kept their respect for a good friend and that's something you can read between the lines. I couldn't turn it down and spend most of the night reading!
Too bad we can't expect anything more from this wonderfull person!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chronicled the life, didn't capture the essence, June 8, 2009
By 
This review is from: Dr. Seuss & Mr. Geisel: A Biography (Paperback)
Dr. Seuss' as a person was as fascinating as the characters in his books. Unfortunately, this biography doesn't really capture that.

The authors steer clear of saccharine praise. But the style is empty. The book catalogs the man's life in full, but by the end of the read I felt I knew everything about what he did and when and very little about who he was and why. As if afraid of criticism, the book makes no serious attempt to connect the themes of his literature with his personality or experiences. The authors waste an opportunity at creative writing about an extremely creative man, thus the biography simply feels like an extensive Wikipedia page. Not poorly written, just not very much fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tasteful and Intersting, May 13, 2008
By 
Audrey (Oakland University) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dr. Seuss & Mr. Geisel: A Biography (Paperback)
A cleverly written biography of one of the most influential writers of the 20th century. Although he died not so long ago, it seems as if Dr. Seuss the legend has been replaced by Dr. Seuss the label in the minds of America's youth. This biography was a touching, insightful look into the life of the man behind the cat. Although obviously written with a pro-Seuss bias (they were his friends, after all), the book was pleasure to read, and is sure to be passed on to friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this story as much as I love Dr. Seuss, March 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dr. Seuss & Mr. Geisel: A Biography (Paperback)
This is a great book that anyone who has read Dr. Seuss books can read. It is hard to find this book in libraries that I have access to. So glad that it is now mine and I don't have a "deadline" on returning it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding and a big surprise to learn about the life of our beloved Dr. Seuss, August 28, 2014
By 
This review is from: Dr. Seuss & Mr. Geisel: A Biography (Paperback)
I read a lot of Dr. Seuss books in my time, but never knew anything about this mysterious person who wrote those wild stories with the crazy illustrations. I had no idea. I was quite surprised. I won't spoil it but if you want to know about the life of the man behind the Dr. Seuss pseudonym, read this book! You will be happy that you did. It puts the stories in a whole new light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dr. Seuss & Mr. Geisel: A Biography
Dr. Seuss & Mr. Geisel: A Biography by Neil Bowen Morgan (Paperback - Aug. 1996)
$18.50 $12.94
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.