Customer Reviews


337 Reviews
5 star:
 (209)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is my daughter's favorite book!!!
My daughter has had this book since she was 6 months old (she's 15 months old now) and it is her favorite book, I have read it so many times that I have it memorized. She brings it to me to read at least 3 times a day. Her copy got so worn from all the hugs and taking it everywhere with her that I had to buy a new one. The longer version is great but board books are...
Published on October 18, 1999

versus
124 of 137 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars But the real one, not the board book
The board book verisions of Dr. Suess and other books from the beginning reader series are terrible abridged and watered down versions of the originals. Most of the fun of the rhymes is lost. They even changed some of the letters completely (including the pictures.) With as many as four letters of the alphabet crowded on a single page, it is too much and too...
Published on May 15, 2000 by R. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

124 of 137 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars But the real one, not the board book, May 15, 2000
By 
R. Smith (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dr. Seuss's ABC: An Amazing Alphabet Book! (Board book)
The board book verisions of Dr. Suess and other books from the beginning reader series are terrible abridged and watered down versions of the originals. Most of the fun of the rhymes is lost. They even changed some of the letters completely (including the pictures.) With as many as four letters of the alphabet crowded on a single page, it is too much and too detailed for an infant or toddler to focus on. Get the original and don't worry about a few ripped pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


131 of 150 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars B, b, what begins with B? Bastardized Board Book, B B B, May 18, 2004
This review is from: Dr. Seuss's ABC: An Amazing Alphabet Book! (Board book)
The original book is great, but this edition has been butchered beyond belief. All the original pictures have been preserved, but the text has been chopped up to fit into the size limits of the format. For example, P: "Painting Pink Pajamas, Policeman in a a Pail. Peter Pepper's puppy. And now Papa's in the pail." becomes "Painting some pajamas pink. P...p...P." Spend the money and get the full-sized version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is my daughter's favorite book!!!, October 18, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Dr. Seuss's ABC: An Amazing Alphabet Book! (Board book)
My daughter has had this book since she was 6 months old (she's 15 months old now) and it is her favorite book, I have read it so many times that I have it memorized. She brings it to me to read at least 3 times a day. Her copy got so worn from all the hugs and taking it everywhere with her that I had to buy a new one. The longer version is great but board books are better when you have a small one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I would not, could not, buy this book!, April 25, 2000
This review is from: Dr. Seuss's ABC: An Amazing Alphabet Book! (Board book)
Actually, I did buy it, and was APPALLED by how horribly abridged it is. All the letters of the alphabet are rewritten into uniform, mind deadening rhythm, totally spoiling the charming surprises of the original. Buy the paper edition- maybe your kid will rip it up, but at least it's money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How can reading a revised edition to a baby be a travesty?, May 22, 2002
This review is from: Dr. Seuss's ABC: An Amazing Alphabet Book! (Board book)
Welcome to the wonderful world of whimsical, wacky writing, and crazy, colorful caricatures - "Big Q, little q what begins with Q? The quick Queen of Quincy and her quacking quacker-oo." An excellent educational tool, "Dr. Seuss's ABC An Amazing Alphabet Book!" is an inspired introduction to the alphabet, both upper and lowercase letters, and also reinforces letter sounds through alliteration. The text, format, and images have been adapted to accommodate board book standards; yet, the phrasing and prose, in this particular volume still flow. See the following excerpts:
The original -
"BIG V, little v
Vera Violet Vinn
Is very, very, very awful on her violin."
Revised edition -
"BIG V, little v, what begins with V?
Verna Vera Vin and her violet violin."
I am flabbergasted by the lack of enthusiasm for the revised board book editions of Dr. Seuss's (and others) "Beginner Books" published by Random House. I am thrilled to have the opportunity to offer my infant son a CLASSIC narrative, by means of a board book, even in its ADAPTED form. These magical miniatures are delightfully entertaining for little babies, who enjoy the positive interaction of cooperative play through reading. The objectives of these small books are to appeal to newborns, and very young children with short attention spans who are not attentive enough for the full text versions, they are NOT meant to replace the originals. Moreover, these pocketsize gems are fashioned for effortless travel to the market, on a plane, in the car, or on a train. Hee, hee.
I own most of Dr. Seuss's first editions, in addition to a few of the board book volumes, and agree that the original "Beginner Books" are just that - ORIGINAL. They are more amusing, entertaining, and educational, but are in fact more appropriate for older children, 4 years and older. I believe introducing infants to creative works, such as these, only encourages listening and learning from an earlier age. In summary, if your child is three or older purchase an original version, otherwise think of introducing your infant to the shorter, travel-anywhere format, and procure the original at a later date. The marvelous, magical magician, who was Dr. Seuss is worth it! Birth and up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy the board book, January 7, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dr. Seuss's ABC: An Amazing Alphabet Book! (Board book)
The board book is an abridged version of the original Dr. Seuss's ABC. The original is wonderful, my one-year-old's favorite book (and used to be one of mine), but the board book doesn't have the same great rhythm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Severely changed from the original, therefore no good, March 12, 2002
This review is from: Dr. Seuss's ABC: An Amazing Alphabet Book! (Board book)
Yes, it's nice that Random House Publishing has begun publishing these books in board books. But beware. They are not the same as the original! Sentences have been taken out, the rhythm has been artificially altered, and pictures have been severely edited. Some pictures have been entered into the book that were not there before, and sentences have been changed to meet the edited pictures' contents. I think it is a travesty that youngsters and parents think they are reading the original book (nowhere on the book does it say it's been edited) when in reality it is very different from the real book. If you want your child to have a book to chew on, there are many board books out there. If you want your child to know and love Seuss, get the original. Don't take my word for it though; go to the bookstore and compare them for yourself. I assume Random House is doing this with all the books they are making into board books, but I don't know for sure. Just make sure you know you're not getting the true Seuss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars get the complete book - it's fantastic, October 24, 2004
By 
This review is from: Dr. Seuss's ABC: An Amazing Alphabet Book! (Board book)
My only complaint with this book is that it excludes much of the original story and therefore the rhymes in the board book version are awkward. My daughter learned to recognize her abc's (at least the capital ones) from this book by 18 months. Board books are great for babies, but little kids will handle paper books just fine, particularly if they love them. As a mom & a children's librarian, I just have to say how SAD I think it is that publishers are so desperate for a buck that they'd cut a marvelous story from a genius like SEUSS down - just to get us to buy 2 versions of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hatchet job on original, May 14, 2004
By 
C. Virtue (Chelmsford, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dr. Seuss's ABC: An Amazing Alphabet Book! (Board book)
The original Seuss ABC is a lot of fun; good rhyme and meter. This one has been horribly hacked up to fit the board book format.
For example, the original entry for X is: "X is very useful if your name is Nixie Knox. It also comes in handy spelling ax and extra fox." Silly and bouncy. The board book version says: "X-ray and xylophone."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr. Seuss's ABC, August 29, 2001
By 
A. Rayhan Ahmad (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dr. Seuss's ABC: An Amazing Alphabet Book! (Board book)
The copy that I have is not a board book, thus I can't really comment on the board book version. Whatever it is, I have to say that this is a wonderful book. Knowing an 8-month old, they can't really sit still but this book has worked wonders to my 8-month old daughter. She was practically glued on my lap and gave one hundred percent attention as I read the book to her. The rhymes are catchy and fun to read, the alphabets were featured in Big and small letters with bright colors and the illustrations are huge and wonderful.These make the book appealing to the little ones. It would be a lot more fun if you sing to them with the "twinkle, twinkle little star" tune.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dr. Seuss's ABC: An Amazing Alphabet Book!
Dr. Seuss's ABC: An Amazing Alphabet Book! by Dr. Seuss (Board book - November 26, 1996)
$4.99 $3.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.