Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource for Parents - esp. first timers!
This is a very thorough, well organized resource for baby/child questions and issues from birth (even pre-birth) on up. I tend not to think any one book is a complete all in one - but this is pretty darn close. We also like that the advice and opinion offered is not as tense as some other books, as in "you MUST do this and be SURE you DON'T do this", rather, it offers...
Published on July 14, 2004

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More of an overview than anything else
Was expecting more in-depth information for the first 2 years of baby's development, but this very short book feels more like a bunch of generalizations and quick comments. Not worth the money if you have Dr Spock's Baby and Child Care. Also found Heading Home with Your Newborn (Jana/Shu) much more useful than this one.
Published on November 3, 2010 by AprilD


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource for Parents - esp. first timers!, July 14, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Dr. Spock's The First Two Years: The Emotional and Physical Needs of Children from Birth to Age 2 (Paperback)
This is a very thorough, well organized resource for baby/child questions and issues from birth (even pre-birth) on up. I tend not to think any one book is a complete all in one - but this is pretty darn close. We also like that the advice and opinion offered is not as tense as some other books, as in "you MUST do this and be SURE you DON'T do this", rather, it offers examples and reasons behind the tried and true and stresses no one is a perfect parent - no two babies are exactly the same.
I plan to purchase several copies for my friends that are currently expecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More of an overview than anything else, November 3, 2010
By 
AprilD (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dr. Spock's The First Two Years: The Emotional and Physical Needs of Children from Birth to Age 2 (Paperback)
Was expecting more in-depth information for the first 2 years of baby's development, but this very short book feels more like a bunch of generalizations and quick comments. Not worth the money if you have Dr Spock's Baby and Child Care. Also found Heading Home with Your Newborn (Jana/Shu) much more useful than this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful.., August 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dr. Spock's The First Two Years: The Emotional and Physical Needs of Children from Birth to Age 2 (Paperback)
I am a first time parent at 45. This book simplifies alot of questions I have. This advice is most helpful because Dr. Spock has been around for many generations. Even though I was not raised on his theory/thories, my grandmother/great-grandmother swore by Dr. Spock when it came to child rearing. Not everything he recommends makes sense (in this era) but the fundamentals are pertinent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of good info, is a good book, September 5, 2010
By 
Esmeralda Cullen (San Salvador, El Salvador) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dr. Spock's The First Two Years: The Emotional and Physical Needs of Children from Birth to Age 2 (Paperback)
The book arrived on time.
I liked the book, the way is written makes you feel that Dr. Spock is talking to you.
It gives you an opinion and advices of what to do with your baby
and also gives you a peace of mind in many aspects that you may go thru with a newborn.
But does not replaces the baby's practitioner.
Dr. Spock was not very keen on giving cows milk or any kind of meat to a kid,
I think you should get your own opinion about that.
Buy the book, it is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the purchase, August 12, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dr. Spock's The First Two Years: The Emotional and Physical Needs of Children from Birth to Age 2 (Paperback)
There are a lot of books out there that talk about child development and what to expect for new parents. This book really does not give you any specific things to look out for. Basically it is written like a self help book with not much in the way of guidance. For child development get the book called "Baby Steps" by Claire B Kopp, PHD. In addition, the stuff in this book is made into an applicable 5 step process for calming your baby in the DVD and book called " the happiest baby on the block".
The Dr. Spock books dont go into depth in any one area. I suggest finding specific topic books on the areas of interest to you. A lot of things in this book are things that once I had the baby did nothing for me. In addition, when you leave the hospital , the nurses and pediatrician seeing your child at the hospital go over this with you prior to being discharged.
Don't waste your money on this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excllent Book, October 7, 2005
This review is from: Dr. Spock's The First Two Years: The Emotional and Physical Needs of Children from Birth to Age 2 (Paperback)
Guys,this book really help us expect what is not expected, and prepare us for each detail and baby development needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dr. Spock's The First Two Years: The Emotional and Physical Needs of Children from Birth to Age 2
$14.95 $10.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.