Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ****BLU RAY SPECIFIC REVIEW**** A Great Film gets a problematic BD...
The Film:

Kubrick's best film? Tough to say. 2001, A Clockwork Orange, and Spartacus are pretty darned good. One of the best dark comedies of the 20th Century? Easily. Probably the single best. Consistently, some times uproariously funny, "Dr. Strangelove" is an indisputable classic. It expertly weaves the paranoia and fear of the period with phenomenal comedic...
Published on August 13, 2009 by Matthew T. Weflen

versus
8 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wanted to buy this but they altered the original film cutting out what Kubrick wanted us to see
I wanted to buy this on Blu-Ray, but I see they molested this version like they molested the DVD version. I guess I won't be buying it... Thanks a lot idiots!
Published on July 17, 2009 by Queue Cumber


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ****BLU RAY SPECIFIC REVIEW**** A Great Film gets a problematic BD..., August 13, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dr. Strangelove [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The Film:

Kubrick's best film? Tough to say. 2001, A Clockwork Orange, and Spartacus are pretty darned good. One of the best dark comedies of the 20th Century? Easily. Probably the single best. Consistently, some times uproariously funny, "Dr. Strangelove" is an indisputable classic. It expertly weaves the paranoia and fear of the period with phenomenal comedic performances, to both funny and chilling effect. Peter Sellers is absolutely stunning in this film, as is George C. Scott. The nuclear farce escalates and escalates throughout the 90 minute run-time, ultimately culminating in... well, I won't spoil it.

Simply put, this is one of those films everyone should see before they die.

The Blu-Ray:

This is a tough disc to review. The movie is so incredibly good that it might be blinding to the flaws in the presentation. And flaws there are.

The first one that will strike anyone who's seen this film before on home video is that this film is not presented in the 1.33:1 "academy ratio." Instead, it is cropped to a 1.66:1 ratio which is very close to today's widescreen TVs, with *very* slender black bars on the sides.

Now, I'm as big a fan of widescreen images as the next guy. But I'm an even bigger fan of seeing everything the director intended me to see, i.e. the original aspect ratio of a piece of film. Apparently, when Sr. Strangelove was transferred to laserdisc, Kubrick told Criterion that the film is supposed to switch from 1.33:1 to 1.66:1 aspect ratios, depending on scene. In the war room, for instance, the lighting above and some binders below the 1.66:1 frame were intended to be seen. Since this disc is fixed at 1.66:1, the image never opens up to show us this information. Is it story critical? No. But it could have been present, given the existence of other Blu-Ray discs that switch aspect ratios on the fly. It's too bad that it wasn't done here.

Another potentially problematic aspect of this transfer is video noise. I am a big proponent of film grain being presented realistically in a HD image. I don't want it scrubbed away by excessive "noise reduction." But this image strains my tolerance. Static backdrops and human faces positively swim with noise, much of which looks more "digital" than true "analog" film grain. I truly wonder whether a projected film print would have this kind of noise. Again, some sort of happy medium should have been achieved.

OK, bad news out of the way, I can still say that this is a highly watchable transfer. Blacks are much more solid than the previous DVD, and detail in some scenes is good (but not great). For a 45 year-old b&w presentation, this looks pretty good. It's not at the level of the recent "Casablanca" or "Seventh Seal" Blu-Rays, but it certainly holds its own.

Audio is presented in a 5.1 channel mix, as well as the original mono. The surround mix is pleasant, splitting some of the info (such as gunshots or airplane noise) out into the rear surrounds.

Extras are mostly carried over from the most recent DVD edition, with one new documentary included, and the film trailer tragically absent. It was a GREAT trailer, very 60's modern and cool. Really sad and kind of inexplicable that it was left out. The docs are presented in 480p, which is kind of lame. The "commentary" is a combination text overlay/video interview trivia track. Unfortunately, the text overlays pretty much half of the screen, making it tough to catch important parts of the film. The videos are interesting enough, but they talk over some key parts of the film, and some of the truly outstanding performances are obscured. Overall, the track is more irritating that it's worth, and I would have preferred a new 1080p documentary to it.

************

If you don't already own this, buy it. Just buy. Don't think. It's amazing, and an absolute must-own. Any of the above issues will not really matter to someone who doesn't own another edition. This one will do just fine.

If you do already have the more recent DVD edition, this is a tough recommendation. The picture quality is certainly better. There is more detail, better black levels, and fewer artifacts such as jagged edges and edge enhancement. But you're going to get a cropped image that may not square well (so to speak) with your recollection of the film you've seen before. And you'll be missing out on the classic trailer, in exchange for yet another superfluous documentary. So it's not really an upgrade. It's more of a lateral move from the DVD.

I still give the disc 4 stars. The film is 5-star material all the way. The BD presentation has some serious flaws, but it still is highly watchable and has a fair amount of value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray: So you own the 40th Anniversary edition but is the 45th Anniversary worth the double dip?, June 16, 2009
This review is from: Dr. Strangelove [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It was a time of turmoil in the world. There was the threat of a nuclear war between the United States and Russia, how fatalistic Americans were during the Cuban Missile Crisis, the US involvement in the military conflict in Vietnam was starting to heighten and tensions were high. Director Stanley Kubrick wanted to make a thriller on a what if there was a nuclear accident.

Using Peter George's novel "Red Alert" (written back in 1958) as a source to write his film adaption, his knowledge of nuclear war after reading over 50 books on the subject, after the Cuban Missile Crisis started to become a growing concern with Americans, Kubrick wanted to give a unique perspective and not make things so grim. He immediately decided to change the screenplay which was more of a serious thriller into a black comedy.

Needless to say, his decision to do so has made "Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb" a classic film that was ahead of its time back in 1965 and has so much relevance in today's modern world. The film was well-written as the film is a satire on the political system, sexual themes (which the names and the characters and their role in the film plays a big part of the film's theme and their manhood) and most importantly the Cold War.

The film's storyline and even what went on behind-the-scenes to create the film are two very interesting stories and now, fans and new viewers who have been curious about this classic film and what went on behind-the-camera can experience it all on this 45th Anniversary Special Edition via High Definition on Blu-ray.

VIDEO & AUDIO:

"Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb: 45th Anniversary Special Edition" receives its first High Definition transfer ala 1080p (aspect ratio 1:66:1). With the outcry of videophiles of how a classic like "Patton" was heavily DNR'd (Digital Noise Reduction), the good news is that Sony didn't go that direction. So, with the Hi-Def transfer, you do see a lot more detail but also you see the grain of the film quite strongly at times (moreso in the B-52 sequences). But there are scenes that look absolutely awesome. Where the images look pristine and blacks are nice and deep with no sign of compression artifacts. Overall, this is the best transfer of the film to date.

As for audio, "Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb: 45th Anniversary Special Edition" is presented in English and French Dolby TrueHD 5.1 (and also its original English mono audio presentation). For the most part, the audio is primarily dialogue-based but when you get to the action sequences as the US military fight each other, machine guns and blasts are heard quite nice and clearly. In fact, the military standoff featured good use of the fronts and rears and good directional of audio and hearing the soldiers scream from different areas.

The film utilizes the front channels quite well and again, dialogue and even the very few music used in the film comes out quite clearly for a film that is 45-years-old. And "Dr. Strangelove" does sounds great for a film that was made in 1964. But by no means is the sound going to be as immersive as a modern war film on High Definition but for a film that is 45-years-old, it sounds great. So, the fact that this classic film has received a lossless soundtrack is a major plus.

As for subtitles, English English SDH, French, Arabic and Dutch subtitles are included.

SPECIAL FEATURES:

"Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb: 45th Anniversary Special Edition" comes with a good number of lengthy special features and also, it is important to let Blu-ray collectors know that the presentation is in digibook format and not in the standard blue Blu-ray cases. The digibook has a book included which goes into "Strangelove's Durability: In Kubrick's Words" by Richard Tanne, pages dedicated to talents such as Peter Sellers, George C. Scott, Sterling Hayden and Stanley Kubrick. Also, chapters "Pie in the Sky: Or: How the Lunacy You Saw Wasn't All the Lunacy There Was" by Travis Baker and many still images from the film.

* The Cold War: Picture-in-Picture and Pop-Up Trivia Track (BD Exclusive) - When watching the film with this activated, people can learn many facts about the film and references to real life situations and through picture-in-picture also watch interviews with military commanders, military personnel and historians. Very informative and goes into detail about the US and Russia in term of their use of nuclear bombs and test sites.
* No Fighting in the War Room or: Dr. Strangelove and the Nuclear Threat - (46:04) Interviews with James Harris (producing partner of Kubrick), film critic Roger Ebert, filmmaker Spike Lee and many others about the significance of "Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb" and how relevant it is today.
* Inside: Dr. Strangelove - (46:04) This is the making of "Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb". How Kubrick read over 50 books on nuclear war and how the film became a comedy/satire from its original plan of being a thriller. Also, interviews with the cast and how certain talent were cast.
* Best Sellers: Peter Sellers Remembered - (18:27) A featurette celebrating the life of Peter Sellers on films and learning about the films he was in and friends and talent discussing how brilliant and versatile an actor he was. How he was able to play multiple characters for the same film.
* The Art of Stanley Kubrick: From Short Films to Strangelove - (13:50) Stanley Kubrick was a photographer, writer, producer and director but also an artist. This featurette goes into how he started out as a photographer and how he transitioned into becoming a filmmaker.
* An Interview with Robert McNamara - (24:24) Former Secretary of Defense Robert McNamara discusses why he calls the Cold War, a "Hot War" and the nuclear threats and strategies of the that time.
* Split Screen Interviews - (7:17) As part of the promotions of that era, both George C. Scott and Peter Sellers took part in mock interviews featured in split screen.
* Previews - Sony Pictures Home Entertainment theatrical trailers

JUDGMENT CALL:

As basic as this summary is, there is so much detail in the writing of "Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb" that it is one of those films to watch and just be in awe of. From the performances of Peter Sellers (playing multiple characters) to George C. Scott (who didn't know that he was being filmed during his run through of scenes) and just the amount of thought and detail that went into the creation of the film.

Director Stanley Kubrick went through many nuclear war books (over 50) and read quite a few of them several times in order to immerse himself and gaining the knowledge he needed in creating the film, finding certain situations of that time that seem absolutely frivolous now but actually did happen during that era and crafting characters based on other characters but giving everything a satirical spin. The results are magnificent and just brilliant!

At first, when hearing General Jack D. Ripper wanting to go to war due to fluoridated water. I thought such a thing was preposterous but then I learned that the John Birch Society at that time thought it was a conspiracy by the US government to introduce fluoridated water into the system. Also, to learn that the "Doomsday Device" was not a far off idea, that a scientist had proposed a Cobalt Bomb that would act like the Doomsday device and annihilate all human life on the Planet.

I was really amazed by this film and it definitely gave the viewers this unique perspective that Stanley Kubrick had at that time but giving it a comedy spin. You have to remember that during that era this film was released, the threat of nuclear war and everyone dying from it was very real. The political tension between the Kennedy Administration and the Russians was very real and very tense. So, for this film to put a comedy spin into nuclear war was probably unheard of. So, needless to say, it was a film ahead of its time and has so much relevance today.

The Blu-ray release of "Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb: 45th Anniversary Special Edition" is absolutely fantastic. You are literally getting your money's worth because the special features included are lengthy, informative and really go into the behind-the-scenes creation of the film and setting up the tension of that Cold War era.

For those that own the 40th Anniversary DVD Special Edition (released back in 2004), you may be wondering if its worth the double dip. Personally, I would have to say yes because of the High Definition transfer and lossless audio. You also, get the Blu-ray exclusive "The Cold War: Picture-in-Picture and Pop-Up Trivia Track" which is very informative and a booklet. But if none of these interest you, then you are safe with the original DVD Special Edition release. (Note: The DVD Special Edition release does come with a theatrical photo and advertising gallery not included on the special features of the Blu-ray edition). With a release for it's 40th, and now it's 45th, there is probably a big chance we will see another release 2014 for a 50th Anniversary Special Edition.

But for Blu-ray fans who have been wanting Kubrick's films on Blu-ray with a 1080p High Definition video transfer and lossless audio track, you can't go wrong with this release because it's quite solid and definitely worth having in your Blu-ray collection. "Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb: 45th Anniversary Special Edition" is highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still the best!, July 27, 2011
By 
P. Gregory (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dr. Strangelove [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
DR. STRANGELOVE: OR HOW I LEARNED TO STOP WORRYING AND LOVE THE BOMB still makes me laugh. Watching it on Blu-ray last night reminded me once again what a fantastic movie this is. Stanley Kubrick was a genius, and he made sure to cast fellow geniuses Peter Sellars and George C. Scott in his film. For my money, the film has Peter Sellars best performances ever. Though I had read that he was unhappy with the over-the-top takes used, George C. Scott is sheer perfection...and incredibly funny. And who better to play insane General Jack D. Ripper than Sterling Hayden?

This is very much the perfect movie. Great script (thanks to Kubrick, Peter George and Terry Southern). Great cinematography, thanks to Gilbert Taylor (the man who would later shoot STAR WARS). Great production design, thanks to the legendary Ken Adam. Great performances, as mentioned above. Plus Great direction, thanks to Maestro Stanley Kubrick.

Blu-ray HD transfer is not perfect, yet still pretty good. Was pleased that the film was presented in HD-ready full-screen 16:9. Black and white cinematography looks beautiful, even with slight aberration (unnatural grain) evident under certain lighting conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kubrick's film is a masterwork (BD version review), November 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dr. Strangelove [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
With all this debate on aspect ratio aside, what knowledge I have of it is only from what I read throughout these reviews, my opinion of the film is based on 1) the content of the movie itself and 2) how this BD version actually looked to me as I viewed it on my 50" Samsung Plasma HT system.
First I must say I did actually see this in the theater at the age of 11 with my parents when it was released. I was awe struck then and have always felt the same each time I've view it over the years. There is really nothing more I can add about the brilliance of Kubrick, the cast and crew in making what I consider one of the best movies made that hasn't already been said in the many reviews posted here.
My wife had never watched Dr. Strangelove and a few years ago I rented it for her...Well she was totally amazed at what this film brought to the table in terms of content and character.
So after I put together my home theater system earlier this year, Dr. Strangelove was one of the first titles I wanted to pick-up in Blue-Ray. After reading a lot of the debate going on in the reviews about the aspect ratio I was becoming greatly confused on which version would actually be the best one to buy...I finally gave in to the BD release with many of the special extras included (the had cover book with many of the movies photos was very nice, though I wished they had provided some sort of protective cover to slip over it).
I am so glad I did go with the BD version, even after all the talk back and forth about the different aspect ratio thing. The contrast level and deep blacks are exceptional. The film still has that bit of grainy quality to it, but I believe it was intended to be that way, it was still very sharp and clear and I didn;t really see anything cut off from the screen. The sound quality is quite good and comes out wounedful on my 5.1 surround sound. If you play Blue-Ray one will not be disappionted with this version. For anyone on the fence thinking about purchasing this, now is a great time to buy. The price is much lower now than when I bought it a few weeks ago and it's a terrific deal for what you get. I highly recommend it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Stragelove on BlueRay, September 11, 2009
This review is from: Dr. Strangelove [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great! absolutley the best remaster I have seen in a black and white film. The razor shapness and brightness brought about by High Def Blue Ray makes viewing this movie better then ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, August 27, 2011
By 
Bruce G. Taylor (Kensington CT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dr. Strangelove [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
With no reservations I can say that this is the greatest piece of satire that has ever been put to film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dr. Strangelove - Blu-ray Info, June 17, 2009
This review is from: Dr. Strangelove [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Version: U.S.A / Sony / Region Free
Aspect ratio: 1.66:1
Original aspect ratio: 1.85:1
MPEG-4 AVC BD-50 / AACS
Running time: 1:34:45
Movie size: 23,949,828,096 bytes
Disc size: 32,942,746,598 bytes
Total bit rate: 33.70 Mbps
Average video bit rate: 25.96 Mbps

Dolby TrueHD Audio English 1299 kbps 5.1 / 48 kHz / 1299 kbps / 16-bit (AC3 Core: 5.1 / 48 kHz / 640 kbps)
Dolby Digital Audio English 192 kbps 2.0 / 48 kHz / 192 kbps
Dolby TrueHD Audio French 1217 kbps 5.1 / 48 kHz / 1217 kbps / 16-bit (AC3 Core: 5.1 / 48 kHz / 640 kbps)
DTS Express English 128 kbps 2.0 / 48 kHz / 128 kbps / 24-bit

Subtitles: English, English SDH, French, Arabic, Dutch
Number of chapters: 16

#The Cold War (BonusView - PIP track)
#Inside Dr. Strangelove (SD - 46 minutes)
#No Fighting in the War Room (SD - 30 minutes)
#An Interview with Robert McNamara (SD - 25 minutes)
#Best Sellers (SD - 19 minutes)
#The Art of Stanley Kubrick (SD - 14 minutes)
#Split-Screen Interviews (SD - 7 minutes)
#BD-Live enabled
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must!, April 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dr. Strangelove [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
There is little to be said for this Kubrick classic that has not already been said so I will not belabor the facts already presented that prove this is a magnificant piece of motion picture work. The new Blu-ray format in which this offering is now presented along with additional features adds much to the home enjoyment this movie. As one is generally unable to relive the excitement, frustration, anticipation, laughter coupled with fear offered by Dr. Strangelove in a large theatre venue, this product certainly offers the viewer the next best thing. In my opinion, an absolute must for the private home motion picture collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "No Fighting in the War Room!", January 13, 2012
By 
JAMES MCCORMICK (cedar rapids, Iowa United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dr. Strangelove [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
5 Stars = Masterpiece

Hilarious black comedy from the master, Stanley Kubrick, spoofing & really making a statement out of the cold war & the USA's anal paranoia of Communist take over. Still holds up fantastic today! Got to love the nuclear bomb riding Slim Pickens! What a classic scene!

Peter Sellers is at his best portraying three very different characters! His Dr. Strangelove has to go down as a comedic performance of the 20th century! A true masterpiece!

Communism will never be the same! Neither will Capitalism!

"No fighting in the war room!" LOL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't get ripped off buying the U.S. version, June 29, 2014
By 
Norman M. (San Mateo, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dr. Strangelove [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you don't know what the movie is about, there are other sources and reviews, so I won't go into it here. Dr. Strangelove is 50 years old and the fun and message still holds up. The Blu-Ray version is great, but if you are interested in it, buy it from Amazon.UK and not the U.S. Amazon.

The Blu-Ray was sold by Amazon in early 2013 for $9.99 and shortly went out of print and unavailable. Private companies soon listed the Blu-Ray for $75 to $100. I just bought it through Amazon.UK for $10.92 plus $3.99 in shipping (from The Netherlands) and watched it last night; it was a beautiful print. The UK version is the same June 16, 2009 Release Date as the U.S. version and it is Region Free, so it will play on any Blu-Ray player. Between the UK and the US versions, the cover is the only thing that is different; both versions are the full 95 minutes in the 1964 theatrical release.

The $14.91 sure beats paying $80.00!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dr. Strangelove  [Blu-ray]
Dr. Strangelove [Blu-ray] by Stanley Kubrick (Blu-ray - 2009)
$78.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.