Customer Reviews

480
4.0 out of 5 stars
Dragon Age Origins: Ultimate Edition [Download]
Platform for Display: PC DownloadChange
Price:$29.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

295 of 305 people found the following review helpful
on January 12, 2012
Platform for Display: PCVerified Purchase
Just bought Dragon Age Origins (ultimate edition). After putting about 12 hours into it, I can truly say that it's a wonderful game in the tradition of Bioware's Knights of The Old Republic, Baldur's Gate and Neverwinter Nights; set in a new universe with dark fantasy and truly epic battles I haven't seen the like of since Peter Jackson's Return of The King. I'm not going to go into too much detail though, because there are many quality reviews here on Amazon and elsewhere on the internet. I want to share more the buying and installing experience.

First of all, there is no downside to paying an extra $10 and getting the "Ultimate Edition" Versus the standard "Origins". The Downloadable Content packs (7 packs) that are included in the ultimate edition cost about $15 a piece separately, so they are well worth it in the bundle. The DLCs themselves fit seamlessly for the most part into the main story, and add a great deal of adventure and added playtime to the story. Go for the Ultimate Edition by all means.

Installing... The DVD-disk physical copy version has two disks, both of which come in the box. They automatically patch the game up to 1.04 is it installs (the latest version), and install very easily and flawlessly. However, the DRM (Digital Rights Management, anti-piracy measures) is a nightmare. A NIGHTMARE.

As I read the terms of service (yes, I sometimes do that), I actually contemplated sending the game back. It was that bad. The choicest bit of it comes to mind: "You agree that a breach of this License (disable the DRM, make a video for YouTube using the game, use a No-CD crack, etc) will cause irreparable injury to EA for which monetary damages would not be an adequate remedy and EA shall be entitled to seek equitable relief in addition to any remedies it may have hereunder or at law without a bond, other security or proof of damages".

Translation? If you do anything they don't like AT ALL, no amount of money or apologies is enough to fix the "irreparable injury" you cause to their $3 BILLION dollar-a-year company. They will have to put you in jail to ease the pain. So anyway...

Firstly, it uses two serial numbers: One for the main game, and one for the DLCs. You get three installs per serial number. The DLC serial code is expired as of 2009, luckily I didn't have any problems with it. Secondly, you are required to sign up for an EA/Bioware account to use the serial number for the DLCs. If you do this, you also must be logged on to the internet when you start the game. Thirdly, they use a disk-check (SecureROM) every time you start the game. Fourthly, the game collects info on your gameplay and PC. Goodbye privacy, because this game phones home like a momma's boy.

Lastly, ANY CHANGE to your system invalidates one of your three installs. Get a new computer, upgrade you RAM in your current one, put in a new cooling fan, replace the hard drive, buy a new graphics card... Any of these things invalidates one of your three installs. If you run out of installs, you have to buy a new game. So good luck playing it five years down the road.

In summary: It's a great game, but Electronic Arts (EA) is a horrible company with draconian DRM practices. This is the first game that I have bought from them since they started using DRM, and I almost didn't. I probably won't again. The companies punish honest gamers, because it is much easier to steal these games than buy and install them legitimately.
1818 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
on September 9, 2011
Platform for Display: PC DownloadVerified Purchase
Game Summary

Dragon Age Origins (DAO), is a single-player game of incredible depth. I wouldn't consider the game old, but it did come out about two years ago and has already spawned a sequel (more on that later). Though DAO was released on several platforms, it was primarily designed for the PC, which is what I played it on.

Without a exposing too much of the plot, you play a central protagonist who becomes a member of a unique fighting force known as the Grey Wardens. Your mission is straight-forward enough: to defend the land of Ferelden from an invasion of demonic darkspawn. That two-sentence synopsis is a gross oversimplification, but trust me, the less you know going into this game, the better. If you must know more spoilers, you know how to find them.

Presentation - 4 out of 5 stars

While the gist of the story may not seem like anything revolutionary, it is in its execution which makes DAO special. As soon as you jump in, you're going to realize that some serious world-building has taken place. These aren't just massive environments for the sake of being massive, these are areas chalk-full of goodies to explore, people to converse with, and baddies to slay.

The game's sound is one of its greatest strengths. Every person/creature you come across is excellently voiced and the musical score is nothing short of breathtaking. The graphics are the only deduction I give here. Not because they aren't good; they're just not great compared to everything else. At times there is some awkward NPC movement and minor choppiness can occur during spells or huge battles. They're good enough to appreciate from time to time though. With the right hardware, textures are sharp. You'll find yourself pausing from time to time in the midst of a battle just so you can rotate the camera and admire the snapshot.

Gameplay - 5 out of 5 stars

Many will agree that gameplay is the most important criteria, but in some ways it is the most subjective. Like some other roleplaying games, in DAO there are three main aspects to gameplay: 1) character building, 2)dialogue, and 3) combat.

Character building begins with your origin. Who are you? An elf, human, or dwarf? A warrior, mage, or rogue? That is only the beginning. You can decide how you look, what your background is, and in what skills you will specialize as the game progresses. This is achieved with a very easy-to-understand interface where players can put as much (or little) time into their protagonist as they wish. Default options are available for folks who prefer to skip that kind of thing.

Dialogue is a pivotal part of the game. If you're annoyed by cut-scenes and talking, this game is probably not for you. Again, you can press the Esc key if you wish to skip scenes, but this isn't supposed to be Diablo. Aside from the interesting stories each character brings, there are a variety of choices you can make. These choices aren't classified as good or bad, but characters will have varying reactions depending on what you choose and ultimately shape the game's story. This is a very rich part of the game. There can be humor, anger, lying, embarrassment, and even romance. It all depends on what you do and say. Relatively small choices may come back to help or hurt you down the road. This creates a very enjoyable experience where you'll actually come to care for characters perhaps as much as you would in a different medium - such as in books or TV.

The combat is fairly straightforward, but it is a unique system and not everyone is accustomed to it. It's a hybrid between real-time and turn-based strategy where you control a group of up to four adventurers. At any time in the thick of the combat, you can pause the game and issue commands to party members to engage in particular skills or abilities. While you can attempt to run through and do this without the pause function, you'll probably die a lot (at least on the PC version). Even at higher levels you're not supposed to just waltz in and mow down your foes. In many cases your foes will be just as (or more) powerful than you, so you'll need to use tactics and strategy throughout. If you've played any of the Baldur's Gate or Icewind Dale offerings, you'll feel right at home. The combat here is more fluid and friendly than those earlier games and if you want to customize how party members automatically engage, there's a very intuitive system where you can do that. Personally I prefer to manually pause and direct each party member on my own.

Replay Value - 5 out of 5 stars

In case you missed it, the recurring theme here is choice. You choose your origin, your specialties, how you talk to other characters, and what strategies to employ when engaging the enemy. All of those factors will affect what sorts of quests/tasks are available to you. Which means some paths will be closed off based on decisions you make. Granted there are some standard objectives which will remain the same no matter how you're playing, but the manner in which you accomplish those can vary during each playthrough.

Upon completing this game I immediately felt the desire to jump back in and try it again. With the Ultimate Edition, there's even more to do outside the core game. After the original game, Bioware subsequently sold a lot of downloadable content, which includes new areas, items, and characters. The Ultimate Edition includes all of this - the original game, an expansion pack, and all nine additional content packs. Frankly put, there is a whole lot of value in this offering. If you find that you enjoy it, there's enough here to keep you interested for quite a while.

Rating - M for Mature

This is supposed to be an adult title. The genre encompasses what is known as "gritty fantasy" - where the storylines are often dark and somewhat Shakespearian. The blood will fly during fights, and at times speckle your party members. There's a setting which allows you to turn that off if you wish. Blood itself plays an important role in the game, so I tend to think some of this is meant to be symbolic. Sex can also happen, but it is more of the PG-13 variety where all you're going to see is some cleavage and underwear.

Bugs & Crashes

I downloaded this on Amazon. I know there's some horror stories on here, but the process seemed straightforward enough for me. The game ran well 98% of the time. There were a few instances where I would log on and it wouldn't recognize the additional content packs. These should only have to be downloaded one initial time. If they don't appear when you come back to play again, restarting the game should bring them up. There were a few times when the game would crash as well (usually during multiple spell-casting). Hopefully EA Games will address these issues, but I didn't feel that these were frequent enough to be that distracting. A simple restart of the game is all I had to ever do.

Final Thoughts

As a side note, Dragon Age 2 did come out earlier this year. However, I've been disappointed to discover that it was made for a different audience of gamers. Choice and variety took a backseat in order to favor a more action-centered, simplified game. That type of gameplay is appealing to some, but there are many fans who still cling to DAO. Perhaps in time a more faithful sequel will be made.

For better or worse, the face of gaming is changing. The focus is undoubtedly becoming more online-centered and fast-paced. Since the World of Warcraft phenomena, MMO games have quickly become the norm. Combining this with the surge of free-to-play online games, it is easy to see the growth of social gaming shows no signs of slowing. Various developers have already predicted the impending death of the single-player experience. DAO is pure example of why that should never be.

DAO is hands down one of the more enjoyable gaming experiences out there. You can feel the love that was put into this product, evidenced by all the little details which are impossible to catch with just one playthough. In closing, if you're interested in spending some time in a well-crafted world with interesting characters, buckle up your sword and come to Ferelden.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
113 of 131 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon October 30, 2010
Platform for Display: PC
In the past I have chastised EA a number of times for its release of cookie-cutter games, crippled with atrocious DRM schemes. So, in all fairness, I now have to say this: DRAGON AGE: ORIGINS IS A GAMER's DREAM! It is an excellent game collection which (unfortunately...) does not come free of DRM madness. The original game and its expansion have only a simple disk-check; however, for some unfathomable reason, the DLCs/Packs in this edition have to be...downloaded (and activated) from EA's site. So, thank you EA for trying to listen to your customers but too bad you missed the cigar for not been able to hold it together to the end.

This is one of those games that are easy to control, a joy to roam through and fun to play at no end.
I am a huge cRPG fan and cannot remember such a great companion/squad cRPG ever since the Baldur's Gate Saga. And to tell you the truth, this is the game I was dreaming of being able to play one day while playing BG (yeah, by now we all know that NEVERWINTER NIGHTS never delivered).

There are about a dozen gender/race/class/background choices and a great many combinations in forming your party. The armor and the weapons are exceptionally made and everything shows on your characters. And the graphics are truly beautiful! You have to see the rendering of flames to believe them.
Nevertheless, what really stands out is the gameplay. Every battle is a puzzle to be solved, pausing ever so often to reallocate enemies to the best suited party members (a feature I loved in BG!). Of course one can always turn off the autopause feature and let the AI take over the rest of your party and turn the game into an hack&slash action RPG (not exactly my cup of tea but, hey, it's still nice to know it's there).

Finally, this is a game made just like the classics in many ways, including duration. I have been playing the game for hours at no end and I feel the urge to start over the moment I reach the epilogue. Now DRAGON AGE: ORIGINS is one satisfying RPG!

My only gripe is this: I did not appreciate such short dialogue options. Most fit a single line and more often than not they consist of a couple of words. I like my RPGs to be wordy and challenging to my verbal imagination as well - and I want my characters to participate in the humor, not just provoke it or react to it. Remember the long dialogue options in BG? Well, expect to find DRAGON AGE: ORIGINS much more laconic.
I guess 10 years of fast-paced FPS and blitzkrieging RTS do take their toll...

This ULTIMATE EDITION not only contains both the original game and its AWAKENINGS expansion but also all nine Content Packs. For such an epic game to be sold at this price, this is a bargain not to be missed!

The blood sprays, the swords clang and the spells explode. The animations are beautifully made and add a lot to both enjoyment and immersion. There is a verse in Homer's Iliad I love: "the warrior fell, his armor echoing around him" - and I was reminded of it many a times throughout the game.

The game is now complete and it will stay with you for a very long time.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
1111 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
on December 3, 2010
Platform for Display: PC DownloadVerified Purchase
After spending nearly a day downloading this game, the installation failed at 70 percent. I looked it up and all sorts of people have been having this issue for over a year now and it's never been resolved. Apparently, it's due to corrupted RAR files in the download. I was finally able to circumvent the issue by downloading the game again, substituting good RAR files from the new download for the corrupted ones in the old download, and installing it from there. All in all, the process was way more work than I would have liked. Had I known about it beforehand, I would have just bought a physical copy of the game.

The game itself, however, is great! It runs perfectly. The story and structure are brilliant, the controls intuitive, the classic RPG feeling genuine, etc. I truly recommend this game if you're willing to suffer through some hassle downloading it.

I would have given this game five stars if not for the download process.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
on May 3, 2011
Platform for Display: PC DownloadVerified Purchase
DO NOT BUY THIS DOWNLOAD VERSION

As others mentioned: nothing wrong with Amazon; the problems are all EA/Bioware's fault.

EA's forums are filled, two years later, with customers who still can't get the downloadable content to work. There is no - zero, no none, nada - support from EA. Two years later, EA's official response is still, "Other people can get it to work." THE SIMPLEST user-generated fixes consist of text-editing XML files, command-line path edits, and/or using developer console tools.

DO NOT pay extra for the Ultimate Edition download. There is a significant chance that you will never be able to play any of the DLC, or that your DLC will at some point become "corrupted" or "unauthorized" after partial play. If you want the DLC, perhaps you should consider obtaining an alternate version and burning it to a CD so you can access it without connecting to EA. Note that I have not done this, but I'm sure a reasonably savvy gamer can figure out how to obtain an "alternate version". Online forums contain a number of reports that those playing "alternate versions" experience far fewer problems than those of us who paid for the downloadable version.

The main game (ex-DLC) works reasonably well. Load times can be significant but crashes are infrequent. Game design itself is decent. A reasonably good compromise between an adventure-focused RPG and an micromanagement tactical slugfest. Personally, in terms of design/playability I would rate Elder Scrolls:Oblivion a 4 and DA:O a 3.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
54 of 65 people found the following review helpful
on January 7, 2012
Platform for Display: PC Download
Bought this game on the packaged bundle with DA2 for $12.50 because the bargain was too good to be true. Turns our you really get what you pay for. It was my first (and last) game download purchase from Amazon. They had a chance to pull me away from Steam and failed. Your experience may vary as one can see from reading all the reviews on this game (for some people it works flawlessly, others encounter issues too numerous to list). I hope Amazon will not edit my review and at least 1 or 2 poor souls looking to get the game they paid good money for to work can make use of my experience described below.

The game file is big and aware of that, I downloaded it from work. Download speed there is faster and instead of taking days (meaning pauses to download etc...) I could get it done in a couple of hours while leaving the PC (docked and wired connection) behind for meetings. So I did try to take precautions given the numerous reviews mentioning file corruption.

Back at home I try to install the game and it fails with the least informative error message ever "DA:O failed to install" and some generic "Why don't you try again?" kind of suggestion for a fix. So I make sure I go to task manager and kill every possible task I can and try again, this time keeping an eye on the boring install window to try to catch the issue. At around 70% of the install it hangs up and I was quick enough to capture a screenshot. So I found my corrupt file. In my case it was "addins\dao_prc_ep_1\core\env\vgk200d\vgk200d_1216.gpu.rim", yours may be different. Shortly after the hang up the failed install message showed again.

Wondering if anything went wrong with the download I decide to try again. Deleted all files from the PC and downloaded even a fresh Amazon installer, 2 days later I have a new file to try again. Did not work. The install failed again and *on the exact same file*. This is important because I would think a file corruption from the download process would be random. The fact it failed at the exact same file makes me wonder if Amazon is not just selling a corrupted game.

I then proceeded to try fix it myself, since I read enough about the lack of helpfulness from EA and Bioware in technical issues from both Amazon and other forums. And I wanted to avoid getting on EA's bad side since there are instances where even bans from forums locked people out of their games.

Forums did not help much. A lot of people mentioned "fixing the corrupted files with good ones" and I kept wondering "Where did they get these so called good files"? Others suggested using Origin. I refuse to install it on my PC on principle (you could say I'm a Steam fanboi) so not an option (I must point out I would have broken down and installed it if I had not been able to fix it any other way).

How I actually fixed my issue: using Google and WinRAR (which has just converted a free trial into a purchase). I googled the file name of my corrupted file. Needless to say, the results are less than savory sites. I was not worried about breaking any law since I legitimately purchased the game, but virus/spyware are always an issue. Given I have firewall, anti-spyware and anti-virus installed I took the jump. And in the process I found out that I did not only have a corrupt file. There were at least 3 dozen files missing from my install folder (the unsavory site I used placed the files neatly into the correct paths so it was easy to see things were missing). I had to download these missing files one by one and make sure I got the folder path correct for each fie. I then used WinRAR to patch the downloaded files into the main corrupted RAR file (if you are wondering about free alternatives, 7-Zip at least will NOT work, I tried). I scanned all files for virus before doing the patch, for precaution.

Crossing my fingers I tried the install again and it worked! So now I'm able to play the game and hopefully it is good and makes me not regret going through so much trouble to get it working. By the way, EA's activation methods for both the game and the DLC are a pain in the backside. Not streamlined at all. I don't mind DRM, but if you want to do it, make it easier on the people who paid for your product.

A few last comments, mostly to Amazon:
1. You have the money to develop a download manager that checks for file integrity before jumping into the installation and can try to patch any issues if there is a problem. So do it! Games are only getting bigger and file corruption issues can only get worse.
2. Do check the file you are selling. Maybe it was EA/Bioware that gave you a junk file to upload, but either way, you are the one selling it so make sure it's in good condition.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on December 22, 2011
Platform for Display: PC Download
Don't buy this: at least not without knowing what you're getting into.

The download, as-is, will *NOT* function, and requires between 20-40 hours of extra effort, tracking down, figuring out and applying solutions, and with some of those may require up to $50.00 of additional software depending on the solution you need to apply.

First you have to figure out and somehow resolve the notorious file unpack-CRC error problems, and then master the art of installing it in the sideways fashion you'll have to after that provided you have enough drive space to pull it off.

Then you must somehow figure out a way to force the nighmarishly broken DRM to function properly, particularly resolving the known AWC.DLL problem is exceptionally difficult.

EA knows all this, and has yet seen to foist off a broken game with ridiculous and malfunctioning DRM, and Amazon neither admits to the broken download, nor the DRM, which is ludicrous even when you do finally get it functioning properly.

Then there's video driver and configuration issues on top of that for dessert.

Alas, I cannot tell you much about the game, since all of this chewed up the time I had set aside to PLAY it, but it looks nice...

Seriously, stay away from this one, far, far away - the installation nightmare alone just flat isn't worth it.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
Platform for Display: PC
I purchased everything separately as they were released; Origins, Awakening and all Downloadable Content. While DA:Origins is an awesome game, always will be in my book, the nastiness of DRM reared its ugly head at first with the DLC, and at that point there was still someone responding at Tech Support when the DLC would suddenly vanish as if never downloaded in the first place. With help I was able to 'reset' the content and it would become accessible again. Placing the games on my laptop was another matter all together. It wouldn't. The installation process insisted on a new copy of all discs and nothing that was already registered. For crying out loud, I wanted to take the game with me when I'm not at home! Nope, I'm not going to buy everything again!

Until this Collection came out. I thought, 'Hey! Great! Everything is here in one inexpensive package!' Wrong thought. While everything is bundled, more so are the DRM issues. As many have said, the biggest issue is with the DLC and now there's no one to help fix the issues or walk you through them - personally I don't think EA cares enough to have anyone help us game players. You can't get the DLC to work right even so without being connected to the internet, which blows my laptop plans out of the water.

While I try to understand gaming companies paranoia about stolen content, this DRM is killing the business. No one wants to deal with it so game sales are drying up. EA and others are just putting themselves out of business - oh well. The saddest thing about the nasty DRM being used are the tightly embedded rootkits that these companies are somehow getting away with installing.

Just FYI: If you plan to uninstall DA, be sure to remove the rootkit it leaves behind. It was a doosey to remove!
-Sarah Triplett
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
on April 3, 2011
Platform for Display: PC DownloadVerified Purchase
I purchased this game with the hopes of being able to play everything that was included in the price, sadly I was mistaken. I purchased the game and downloaded this 26 gigabyte product and was unable to access the DLC, even after I had typed in the product code. I thought, "No problem, I will just go talk to a customer service representative and hammer this all out", boy was I wrong. After 1 hour of the representative giving me useless tips he told me to uninstall and reinstall the game. This ment I would have to redownload this 26 gigabyte game from EA. I did as they told and still was unable to access my DLC. I went and spent another 2 hours talking to another representative, who after making me jump through all these ridiculous hoops, told me he would just unregister my copy of DAO and register a new one, this process required me to uninstall and reinstall the game. So for the third time I had to Install this game, taking several hours to download and guess what, I am still unable to acces any of the DLC that came with this game.

EA has hit a new low with all this rediculous DRM crap that I have to do just to not play my game. If your wondering about the game however its actually pretty fun and quite a unique style to the RPG genre.

All-in-all great game, terrible DRM.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on April 5, 2011
Platform for Display: PCVerified Purchase
I purchased this game for my pc after playing a borrowed game on my xbox360. I loved the game and was told the pc version is better. When i got my game i went to install it. At about 16% it stopped and said "failed to install". I had my nephew try it on his pc and got the same message. I have tried all the helpful tips that EA and several forums have told me to do. Nothing has worked. I returned the game thinking it was a faulty disc. When I got my replacement I recieved the same message "failed to install". After reading more forums, I have learned that it is an ongoing issue with this game on 64bit OS {vista and windows 7}. Hopefully I can get a refund as I'm going to return the other game I recieved. If you run a 64 bit vista or windows 7 OS don't purchase this game. It will not run on it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Dragon Age 2 [Download]
Dragon Age 2 [Download] by Electronic Arts
$19.99


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.