Shop Costumes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums All-New Fire TV Stick with Voice Remote Introducing Handmade New Kitchen Scale from AmazonBasics Amazon Gift Card Offer redoaks redoaks redoaks  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage UnchartedBundle Fall Arrivals in Amazon Outdoor Clothing Learn more

Platform: PlayStation 3Change
Price:$21.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

338 of 344 people found the following review helpful
on July 13, 2011
For me, this is the best RPG on the PS3. Period. Rich in lore and player choices, this game will transport the player to another virtual place for over 100 hours of play (in this edition). In fact, I enjoyed the game so much that I bought it again (had the original edition and now bought the ultimate edition) in order to get all the download content (DLC). Seriously, it's that good.

Now for the "Take Note" portion of the review. The game manual is *extremely poor* at explaining how this game fully installs. Yes, like other PS3 games, you put the disc in the PS3 drive and if you have the autoplay option on (like most of us), the game starts up and installs itself and then goes through the updates (make sure you have an internet connection). *BUT* and this is really important - this first install is only for the main game. You will need to install each piece of the DLC (over a dozen installs) and NOT from inside the game. There are no codes to put in at the Playstation Store as all the DLC is on the disc. So after you've installed the main game and gone through the updates, QUIT the game. Then from the XMB (that's what Sony calls their menu system), below the DAO game disc icon, there should be an additional content icon (called Download Content, I believe). Selecting that icon will open a sub menu which lists each DLC individually. You then select the one you want to install and it will install to the PS3 hard drive. Do this for each piece of DLC that you want to install. When you're done, go back and select the DAO game disc icon to start the game and the add-on content should now be available. For the larger, standalone content (Awakening, Witch Hunt, etc.), you'll find that a new menu appears AFTER you select *new game* from the main game menu. Believe me, it took longer to find this all out then I care to admit but I want to save others the aggravation.
1111 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
99 of 105 people found the following review helpful
on October 26, 2010
I have already written long reviews on DAO but I felt with all these
GOTY and Ultimate editions that I should write something
this is perfect! Unlike Borderlands, no Voucher Code here!
you actually get it all on one disc. so if you haven't bought this
game yet then this is the time!
Like I said, you get all the DLC on this disc that means you get
The Stone Prisoner, Warden's Keep, Return to Ostagar, Feast day Gifts, The Darkspawn Chronicles, Feast day Pranks, Leliana's Song, The Golems of Amgarrak, and Witch Hunt Plus Awakenings all on One Disc!!! a Steal!
quite simply put, one of the best RPG's ever you simply Must Own
this if you have not already bought the collectors edition
or the standard. for one it's nice NOT having to change discs during gameplay. and it's really nice to actually Own my DLC now.
for further information I provided my review below.

My Original Review of DA:O:

I cannot praise this game enough! it will be one of those I play again and again!
the size and scope of the game is incredible. when I started off I'd wager I spent two hours learning about my character's background.
you pick one of many origins (i.e. elf, dwarf, human, etc)(I chose Elf Mage)
and then begin with your origin story (which is like watching a full length movie and so well written the time just flys by)
and then you're tasked with your first quest and the game begins.
this game has more freedom of choice then most, such as make a deal with a demon, or kill it to save a child. (it offers you Powers Not to kill it)
some of the quests have moral choices that will really pull on your emotions about people and things like power over friendship and the feel you have an impact upon the surrounding world.everything you choose to do has a "ripple effect" so your action will be known throughout the world. the characters control via one of two ways,
one is using the hack & slash method though this is harder then hitting pause so you can set all your mages attacks etc.
there's a lot of micromanagement in this but for loot mongers and rpg lovers this will be one of the years ultimate treats I assure you. there seems to be loot everywhere for those that search every area rather thourough. I also must say the amount of DLC available at this time for the collectors edition is amazing. (non collector edition owners will pay 6.99 and 14.99 for both dlc packs)
the graphics are excellent (though not mind blowing)
particle effects are wickedly done and the quests are crafted well enough to let you know you have many approaches to each "situation"
and will pull at your emotions. if you weren't lucky enough to get this collectors edition no worries I know the goodies will be released as DLC to everyone eventually since they listed prices (wardens keep 6.99 and the stone prisoner 14.99)
you have many abilities such as settinhg traps, stealing, dual wielding and so much more. while the game may be a bit "baldurs gat-ish) it's the BEST RPG on ps3 without a doubt.
the skill trees are similar to those you've seen in baldurs gate, diablo II and others. another thing is they must have over 200+ voice actors since I have not heard ANY voices repeat.
excellent actors such as Tim Curry, Kate Mulgrew, Claudia Black and more!
an excellent creature variety, large skill trees,
great loot and D&D style gameplay make this title
one of my all time fav's.

Graphics: Excellent and crispy. not mind blowing but perfect for me 4 1/2 stars great spell effects! excellent creature models and good variety of them.

Sound: the voice work is Top Notch and hundreds of actors
even the crickets put on a great perfomance! 5 stars!
the sound is a star here, the voice talent is top notch.

Gameplay: the micromanagement might put a few off but most will never let go of the controller since they got the controls so spot on for the ps3 on this title. it's amazing! 5 stars.
the controls are well mapped to the ps3 controller.

Fun: Yes Yes Yes! betray a friend or help him in a "forbidden" quest, help a grey warden or not?, kill a demon or trust the mouse? so many choices it's unreal! want to slay a dragon? you can!
want to go into dungeons and hack away, you can!
it's a Mature game so some of the things you can do are a tad graphic and as someone reminded me you end every battle absolutely painted in blood.
the game is brilliant what more can I say? 5 Stars!!

Overall: the package wraps up nicely into a 5 star Must Have!
the Gods at Bioware have greated the best "baldurs gate" style game yet! it's brilliant! you have to buy it asap if you don't you're missing THE BEST RPG experience of the year and possibly in my lifetime. (it's Very similar to Baldurs gate Dark Alliance)
this coming from a Hardcore
70's D&D player!!!
that's what I'd call an endorsement!
Dragon age origins is the RPG to buy.

Dragon Age Origins Ultimate Edition
Buy it Here!!!
Dragon Age Origins: Ultimate Edition

Awakenings Note: it's a decent enough expansion and a deal
as part of this huge package. while not as stellar as the campaign,
this expansion will add a great many hours (in addition to the DLC)
of gameplay and you will not be sorry for buying this package.
awakenings is around a Four Star expansion.
more skills and a higher level cap plus all new goodies & Critters round out this expansion. awakenings alone was a decent buy. in a package like this it's the Ultimate Bargain!
1515 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
on October 27, 2010
I bought Dragon Age Origins a year ago and STILL haven't stopped playing it. It is hands down my favorite RPG since Knights of the Old Republic (also by Bioware) and one of my favorite games period.
Dragon Age sets a high watermark in narrative and character driven gameplay. The graphics are decent and the gameplay is good but the story, character interaction and an expansive and interesting world are what set this game apart as a must play.

The Ultimate Edition includes EVERYTHING:
Dragon Age Origins, The main game, +100 hours and worth $60 on it's own
Dragon Age Awakening, The expansion pack, events that take place after the events of Origins
ALL the DLC, including: An extra (awesome) character, A 'What if?" scenario, A prologue chapter, 2 epilogue chapters, 2 extra quests, Armor, Gifts and pranks.

important notes:
All content is one 1 disc. NO VOUCHER! NO DOWNLOADS!
Save files are transferable between all editions of Dragon Age (and will transfer to Dragon Age 2)
Approximately 7GB needed to install everything (you can pick which content you want to install)

If you have any interest in playing this game, this Ultimate Edition is the only way to go.
77 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on November 29, 2011
It took me awhile to "get" this game. When you pick a class (I played a mage as I normally do), you are started off in a class-appropriate area and shown the ropes before being recruited for a huge battle. Every class has a different starting point so if you play through again, you'll have a different opening sequence to experience before being recruited.

The interactions you have with other characters, even the ones in your group, are extremely well-written. The amount of choices you can make that affect the outcomes of the lives of your teammates is staggering. Heck, I even killed a character who would have joined my group, eliminating him from the game forever in the process. You don't feel like you're being guided towards any conclusion or other, you feel like you have the power to control what happens. I had one character in my group leave the group and stand in our way because she didn't agree with the choice I had made to go into the next room and kill the demon inside. She had to die and I had to recruit another healer. The game doesn't feel like it gets in the way of what you want to do, it just presents choices and gives all the power of what happens to you.

Combat? Combat is tactical but easy enough. You can give your teammates tactics to follow so they automatically know how to respond in certain situations. Building a cohesive team while remaining a hero in your own right is essential to getting through this game. The boss fights are great, too, even if they aren't all that complicated most of the time. You can perform combinations to great effect in this game and your positioning relative to the battle is also very important. Once you learn the basics, you start to automatically get a feel for some of the more advanced stuff that comes later on.

Again, though, what sets this game apart from any of the challengers is the writing, voice acting, and overall story are extremely compelling. This isn't a game you can finish in 5 or 6 hours, either. It took me closer to 40 to get through everything, although I took on every side quest I could find.

Add to this the fact that you are given ALL of the DLC for the game on one disc and the expansion on another disc, which also has an interesting story.

The graphics are washed out on the consoles and don't look anywhere near as good as the PC version but that shouldn't deter you. If this game gets to you, you won't care. You'll still be amazed at all you have to uncover, how difficult some of the choices you have to make are, and the consequences of those choices ARE realized later in the game.

I'd also recommend you don't check out Dragon Age II. Newer, fancier graphics cannot match the epic story that unfolds in this game.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
As a long-time RPG player my feelings toward Dragon Age: Origins are hard to neatly categorize into the "love it" or "hate it" groups. Rather my assessment of the game is that it falls somewhere between those two camps. There are moments in the game that are sheer brilliance then other times where things start to drag along and become mundane.

If you're familiar with previous Bioware RPGs then you'll likely feel right at home with DAO. This game is decidedly a western RPG. Typical of the genre you'll have a plethora of choices to make from seemingly endless dialogue trees; extreme character customization right down to the facial hair and voice your character uses. Right from the start you'll choose your race - Elf, Human or Dwarf. Up next is your class; for example choosing the Elf race will next bring up choices for Dalish Elf - a more traditional elf of the forest. Alternatively you could choose City Elf - sort of an Elven underclass that lives in the slums of human cities. The story and dialogue will adjust accordingly.

At any given time you can have up to 4 party members (including your main character) at one time. Each party member has a list of macros that you can set up for a particular action in a given situation. For example you can have your mage healer set up to cast `heal' on any characters HP that drops below a certain threshold, i.e. HP>50% = Heal. Though the macro system is deep it is also frustrating in certain situations. For example there isn't a macro to have your mage healer revive a character. That requires you to switch characters mid-battle and cast the spell yourself. In other cases some of my characters would use healing items at the slightest bit of damage even when explicitly setup not to.

The story in DAO is a highlight though inevitable comparisons to Lord of the Rings will be made. Your character will assume the role of a Grey Warden. In Ferelden (where the story takes place) the Grey Wardens are almost mythological heroes that rise up whenever an evil called the Archdemon rises his Darkspawn army to throw the world into darkness and ruin. Darkspawn like Orcs in LotR rise from deep underground to destroy all life. Personally I enjoyed the similarities between DAO and LotR. As a huge LotR fan DAO felt like it was paying homage to Tolkien's classic epics.

Graphics on the PS3 are good but not exactly great. As expected the PC is where the graphics of the game really shine but Bioware deserves commendation for keeping things mostly running smoothly on the PS3, especially when the on-screen action really ratchets up.

The musical soundtrack is impressive. Each area in the game has its own music that you'll grow to recognize and attribute to specific regions and races.

As a complete package DAO might just be the best deal you can spend your gaming dollar on. More so if you consider getting the Ultimate Edition Package. Featuring 3 races and 5 different main story arcs, multiple endings and a plethora of dialogue choices impacting everything around you, replay value is sky high. I would recommend opting for the Ultimate Edition right off the bat as it includes all of the pricey DLC.

As I mentioned at the beginning of my review there are some low spots in DAO that I couldn't overlook. For one thing a game of this size is bound to have some glitches/bugs and DAO does have its fair share. I ran into various problems throughout my time with the game including missions that I couldn't finish because my characters would suddenly be unable to attack. Sidequests that I couldn't close and receive credit for because a NPC would disappear or the game simply wouldn't let me close out the quest. Many of these problems are documented and several require rebooting and loading a previous save. So be cautioned to always keep multiple save files just to be safe, particularly before entering areas where there's no exiting until the mission is cleared.

Second, this game isn't easy particularly if you're playing through with the Warrior Class. At several points you'll be at a severe disadvantage going up against groups of ranged foes that can destroy you in seconds. It seems a bit unfair and leads to some frustrating moments. The game does allow you to drop the difficulty at any time for those that want to choose that route. Personally I think it highlights the unbalance in the game.

Lastly, for those looking for JRPG style depth it simply isn't here. Because the story can twist and turn at your will, the story tends to remain more superficial. Many of the quests are simple fetch quests that can grow tiresome.

All in all Dragon Age: Origins is a game worth playing and worth owning. Recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on May 18, 2012
I can make this decision really easy for you if you've played Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic. Did you love the game, and one of your favorite part being the intensive dialogue and the ability to influence characters by your comments (and the really funny ones), and you could basically be a good/bad person? Where you had to do things to impress your companions to get more quests? Did you love the battle system of having three other companions with you at any time, and the battle system? If you said yes to all of that, then there is no reason to read any further. These are both amazing BioWare games, and if you loved KOTOR, you will love this. This is very similar, except it's dragons instead of Star Wars.

The only PS3 RPG game that rivals this one is obviously the Elder Scrolls, and Fallout if you wish to include that, but those are vastly different types of RPGS. Dragon Age has more of an old-school vibe to it, and I love that. If you love classic RPGs, you should love this. It has everything a true RPGer wants - a vastly open world to explore with tons of interesting quests, captivating storyline (some RPG storylines are just so cliche and boring), interesting companions, witty and funny dialogue with your companions and NPCs, the ability to make choices that effect your entire future in the game, a pretty good battle system, etc. I'll help break it down for you.

GRAPHICS - do not buy this game for the graphics. The new Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is actually very much an RPG (or RPG/action, but it definitely feels more like an RPG) has amazing graphics, so if you're looking to buy a new RPG and are worried about getting awesome graphics, you may wish to look at that or Skyrim. Dragon Age Origins has graphics similar to the PS2. They are definitely nothing to write home about. The cutscenes are decent and personal dialogue with players, but when walking around, everything looks a bit clunky and old-school. The game is plenty good enough though to make up for that. The graphics remind me a LOT of KOTOR.

BATTLE SYSTEM - some complain that this is just basically a button mashing game. Well, yes and no. It's not that simple. You need to get your queue in order for spells/abilities you wish to cast, strategize accordingly, and even modify what the other characters are doing if necessary. Button mashing is plausible on easy mode, but for anything harder you're going to have to strategize a bit more. Once again, it's very, very similar to KOTOR.

You get to have three characters with you at all times (like KOTOR again). It's always frustrating to me to have to choose, because I want to hear what they all have to say. But who you bring with you makes a huge impact. You need a tank, a healer, and a heavy damage dealer in your party, and whatever you're doing yourself. This is not turn-based RPG; you just walk into enemies and start fighting. Most RPGs are very much moving away from turn-based style, and I like that for the most part.

COMPANIONS - the companions in this game are hilarious and fun, and that's why I wish I could have more than three with me (the whole party in non-fighting areas would be nice, and then only three others in mob areas). Like KOTOR, some of your companions are so kind and lovely, while others are well....pretty evil. Your actions in your quests and dialogue, even with NPCS, will often effect your companions feelings towards you (example - there is a pretty evil woman companion who you get positive influence on when you do evil things). If you upset certain companions too much about touchy issues, they might even leave your party. Whenever you're walking around town, every now and then two of your companions will start talking to each other about random stuff, and it's usually quite funny and entertaining. The writers are very clever. You can get characters to like or hate you through your interactions with them, others, and your own actions. You can also give them gifts to make them like you, which I think is pretty neat. When a character likes you enough, they often teach you new abilities or have their own special sidequest now available to you. You even have the option to form romantic/sexual relationships with some of your companions, whether or not you're a guy or girl.

STORYLINE - while some storylines in RPGs bore the hell out of me and I have to focus hard so I don't tune out, this one is pretty interesting. One of the neatest parts of this game is the beginning, when you get to choose who and what you want to be. Depending on that, you'll have different different opening storylines. Although you end up in the same spot quite soon eventually, it's really cool to be able to go back and check out the different places you could have started out at. For instance, I was a mage, so I started in the Circle of Magi (like a mage school - well, sort of). Since your opinions actually change the destiny of the game, paying attention to storylines is pretty important. But with the cleverly written dialogue and storylines, you shouldn't have a hard time paying attention. Like most RPGs, the game IS very dialogue intensive. But if you're an RPGer, I don't see why that would bother you.

EA really milked downloadable content for everything they could. It's kind of annoying when you buy an expensive game when it's first released, and then you're expected to keep paying for more and more content, some of which is very vital to the game.

The graphics are not spectacular by any means. They are simply mediocre.

That is really all I can think of at the moment. I never had the game freeze-up, and that's a constant, annoying hassle in Bethesda's Elder Scrolls and Fallout (love them to death, but they are buggy). BioWare knows how to make a STELLAR RPG. It is a severe disappointment that its predecessor could not even come close to being as good as this one. I think BioWare's real developers left for awhile and let interns take over or something. The graphics are a definite improvement in the second one, but everything else is worse - so what's the point?

Anyway, if you have any love for RPGs, this is a game you should get right away.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on July 19, 2014
Canadian developer BioWare made itself known with high-quality titles such as Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic and the Mass Effect series, also being responsible for the popular Baldur’s Gate titles. With Dragon Age: Origins, BioWare returns to a fantasy setting for a role-playing game, bringing the title to the Xbox 360, PlayStation 3, and PC, and providing an experience that’s pretty much on par with its best titles.

When beginning a new game, the player gets to choose one of a few character classes and an origin story, which provides significant replay value alongside the various choices throughout the game that influence the storyline, which is consequentially one of the strongest aspects of the game despite some occasional grammatical errors in the dialogue that otherwise has a nice medieval flavor.

The player’s party can hold up to four active characters from different classes, with the player controlling and moving around one character while the A.I. controls the other. Fortunately, Origins has a deep A.I. customization system akin to Final Fantasy XII’s Gambits where the player can set a variety of commands to execute depending upon the circumstances.

Levels tend to rise slowly compared to other RPGs, but when they do, the player can increase a character’s stats by a certain amount (with many skills and armor having stat and level requirements), may get the opportunity to invest a point into a variety of skills such as trap-making and herbalism (allowing for the creation of healing items, and very handy), and will most times be able to invest a point into a variety of skills with four levels each consisting of active and passive abilities.

The battle system works well for the most part, although given the toughness of the final boss, it can be intimidating to play on higher difficulties, and unlike most other RPGs, the player can’t simply grind in a place to make things easier, with enemy encounters fixed and seeming not to respawn, a flaw compounded by the points of no return towards the end. Despite these flaws, combat helps the game more than hurts.

Controls are decent, with an easy menu system and always-convenient save-anywhere feature (though the player might wish to keep more than one save file in case of the aforementioned points of no return), alongside a good direction on how to advance, although the game limits the amount of different item types the player can carry at one time, with enemies typically dropping a variety of items. Still, interaction is definitely above average.

The music isn’t much to write home about, although the sound effects and voice acting are very much above average, with the player luckily being able to skip through the latter with the square button if they don’t want to wait for every actor to say every line.

The graphics also look nice, with the rarity of different equipment affecting characters’ appearances, although there are some bland pixilated textures and frequent flickering.

Finally, the game is of average length, taking somewhere from twenty to forty hours to complete depending upon whether the player wants to do sidequests.

Ultimately, Dragon Age: Origins is for the most part a solid start to the BioWare series, with deep, customizable combat, good control, an excellent storyline, great voice acting, and nice visuals. There are, however, some areas that leave room for improvement such as limited inventory, the music, and the technical issues with the graphics, although the first game in the end is a solid fantasy RPG.

The Good:
+Solid action-based game mechanics.
+Great story with variations.
+Good voice acting.
+Nice graphics.
+Excellent replay value.

The Bad:
-Can be intimidating to play on higher difficulty levels.
-Limited inventory space.
-Some points of no return.
-Forgettable soundtrack.
-Some visual flickering.

The Bottom Line:
Another great BioWare game.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on June 18, 2013
If you aren't used to turn style based games give this one a chance, I did, and is up there for me in my top games of all time. I have played most of the Resident Evil games, Gears of War, The Splinter Cell series, God of War, Fallout, Skyrim etc. The attention to detail is amazing. There are so many different places to explore including class specific, (Elves, dwarves, humans (warrior and mages). The storyline is fantastic and the dialogue choices are nice, often times a tough decision has to be made. These decisions will often differ depending on your persuasion skill, or power to intimidate etc. (Mild spoiler Alert)--I played through once with Sten, a Qunari warrior member of my team, and spoke to him often, got on his good side and he was with me the whole way. Another time I got kind of tired of his attitude and didn't pay him as much attention and during a mission he challenged my decision making and leadership ability and we battled each other. You can often times fight a character or group of characters other than your party as well, or no, ,based on dialogue choices and your power to persuade or intimidate.
The weapons can be upgraded by adding runes to them ranging in power. If you, for instance, place a lightning rune on a sword it will glow with lightning during gameplay, and during cut scenes. The money system works great in my opinion. It seems like you build up enough to get what you want, but only in time. Even if you have lots of gold there are very expensive items that have attributes added that you can buy such as a sword with three rune slots and plus 2 strength, dexterity etc. etc..
As far as replay value it is one of the finest on the market. I am on my third replay . You can make different decisions each time such as whether to be merciful or not, whether to keep or accept certain party members, whether to be an expert with locks so you can open doors and chests or just leave it to another party member such as Liliana. Even the opening story lines are different depending on what race you choose and people will notice that and treat you certain ways.
The game is very stable. I have had it freeze one time on the PS3 out of about 50 or so hours. You can easily put over 60 hours into it. I like to do the side quests an companion quests.
The difficulty on this is just right. Every now and then an enemy, whether single or a group, will defeat my party and that's ok it makes it more challenging and strategic. I might be defeated and decide I need to change a party member. For instance I may remove a warrior and add a healer so that when health gets low or a party member is down the healer can remedy that, or maybe I need to purchase or create more health poultices, or have my party hold back and use a mage to start a blizzard on the enemies, or have archers set up. The possibilities are practically endless. Everyone's game play and experience can differ tremendously.
There can be a little lag with many characters on the screen at once but nothing that bothered me and from what I remember it somewhat better on the PS3. I have played this through twice on the Xbox 360 as well. I would still recommend it highly on either system.
I could go on an on about the romances, the fact that you can equip your team members armor and weaponry, about tactics, items, etc. etc.
This edition comes with all of the available content that is listed on the PSN store to download for Origins and it even comes with Awakening.
The fact is--This is a great game and definitely worth getting.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on February 16, 2012
I am only 10 hours into the game but i can help ppl that are looking to buy this game with my experience so far.

First of all, the title makes 100% sense, for every class and race the game has it offers an ''Origin'' story, like a diferent introduction that last for about an hour or two.

The music and the overal feel of the game is something like The lord of the rings and Game of Thrones.

The Gameplay is like one of those top views rpgs like Diablo, warcraft, age of empire, but in full 3d...and it is really fun once you remember is not an action game. This is pure RPG ala Final fantasy or dragon quest but more mature. What i love about the gameplay is the realism. For example, if you put on a heavy suit of armor and use a claymore, you will do a lot of damage and take lots of damage to die, but will be slow and will attract the attention of the enemy easier than the other party members. While if you use two daggers and light armor or normal clothes, you will be faster, attack more often and be able to dodge attacks. So in this game it makes more sense that you use a dagger and clothes than in some other game like Oblivion for example.

I have 6 characters in total so far, you can have a party of 4, and i can say each character has his own personality that you can identify with and stablish relationships to make your experience more personal and nothing is ever thrown at your face, for example those 3 extra characters i got to accompany me was because i am the type of rpg gamer that have to talk to everyone, enter every house and do errands just for the sake of it...there is always an option to be a dick and ask for a reward to do something...but i rarely use it, my character is a Dalish elf with a Link personality lol. Also your party members will agree or disagree with thinks you do and have a bar that determine the level of acceptance towards you...also you can fire them anytime you want.

Graphics are fine to me, although i'm the type of gamer that don't care much about that, i do care about the Art direction though, like Shadow of the Colossus(this game doesn't have the best graphics technically...but ironically it is one of the best looking games i have seen. Overall graphics are good and characters look good too.

The menu and interface are really overwhelming the first time you see it, but end up being really usefull once you understand it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on December 10, 2010
I would have bought this game when it first came out, but I only recently purchased a PS3. Dragon Age features engrossing game play, and plenty of freedom to tailor your experience. While traveling on quests, the characters often engage in funny conversations. They really grew on me after awhile. You can customize so many different things about your character(s), including his/her origin story. Also, the decisions you make (whether "good" or "evil") affect the story's plot as well as your team mates' opinion of you.

If you liked Baldur's Gate on the PC, you'll definitely enjoy this. I hated God of War 3 because of the constant button mashing. Pretty graphics, but off-putting game play on GOW3. Dragon Age requires strategic thinking as you build (and "program") characters, choose side missions and craft supplies. Yet it's also fairly fast-paced (although you can pause and direct your characters to execute specific tasks if the action gets too crazy).

There is a huge amount of game waiting for you in this Ultimate Edition. It's easily one of the three best games I've played on any console. I read that you can upload a previous save from this game when you play the sequel, Dragon Age 2. Your earlier decisions will be acknowledged in the new game. Very much looking forward to that...
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 16 answered questions

Customers who viewed this also viewed
Dragon Age 2 - Playstation 3
Dragon Age 2 - Playstation 3 by Electronic Arts (PlayStation 3)

Mass Effect Trilogy - Playstation 3
Mass Effect Trilogy - Playstation 3 by Electronic Arts (PlayStation 3)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.