Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love DBZ, YOU NEED TO BUY THESE!!!
I would have easily paid $30 to $40 each for these. Hands down, this is the most visually stunning and in my opinion the only "good" version of Dragon Ball Z available. In all honesty, my jaw dropped the first time I stuck these disks into my PS3 and watched them. Now, I know there is a lot of controversy about what is happening with this set recently. For anyone who...
Published on July 26, 2012 by Nicholas A Tulini

versus
16 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Funimation = FAIL... Dragon Ball Z Level *.* postponed indefinitely !!!!
Yes. Funimation has indefinitely postponed the Dragon Ball Z Blu-Ray restorations (though not Kai). This is a sad day indeed. Apparently there is a technology or other issue. But Level 1.2 was the last, though there might be advance copies of 2.1 floating around.

But as of Jan 2012, this restoration project has been indefinitely postponed (likely...
Published on March 21, 2012 by Christopher Barrett


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love DBZ, YOU NEED TO BUY THESE!!!, July 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dragon Ball Z - Level 1.2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I would have easily paid $30 to $40 each for these. Hands down, this is the most visually stunning and in my opinion the only "good" version of Dragon Ball Z available. In all honesty, my jaw dropped the first time I stuck these disks into my PS3 and watched them. Now, I know there is a lot of controversy about what is happening with this set recently. For anyone who doesn't already know; Funimation has TEMPORARILY halted the release of future "DBZ Level Blurays" due to the fact that the process is very expensive and sales have been less than stellar for some reason. I don't believe they will cancel it because for one, it's DBZ, which is their highest grossing show and also they released a statement saying that they are researching more economical ways of getting this product to the fans. So, I urge all who is a true fan of DBZ. This is what you have been waiting for. Kai is crap. It ends with the Cell Saga which means it's not just a fancy edit, it's also not even the full show for crying out loud. Not buying these blurays because you are afraid they won't release the rest is only going to add to the problem. Buy the sets and show your support; they are cheap as hell right now. Contact Funimation and tell them you want more. Spread the word about these sets. I guarantee you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looks better than i thought!, February 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dragon Ball Z - Level 1.2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The main reason i held from buying for this long was because the price dropped a little..Funimation did better than i thought,hopefully they can find a way to continue the level sets without compromising the picture quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dragonball Z Level Sets 1.1-1.2, February 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dragon Ball Z - Level 1.2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This review covers both the 1.1 and the 1.2 level set on blu ray, I will try to do my best to write a fair review.

Video- The video looks great, it hasn't been altered and is presented in a 4x3 format, it takes up the entire screen on a widescreen television but there are black bars, this set actually doubles in a way because if I use my TV remote and hit zoom fit to screen then boom I have an image similar to the cropped blu ray set they released. The picture still has grain to show detail and the colors are wonderful and they aren't washed out.

Audio- I've never had any problems with the DBZ audio in terms of quality, the only problem was whether it was present or not on any particular release. This one included the 2 English tracks, 1 with Japanese music and one with the "Bruce" soundtrack, as always it sound great, if anyone has any questions Ill go more in depth but im fairly certain people are concerned about the video not the audio

Personally I think this set is great and im comparing this to other DBZ releases I own which include the Rock The Dragon set, Orange brick collection, movies on dvd, and finally the dragon box set. The level set isn't perfect though because its been put on hold and these poor cropped versions have been made instead, ive compared these to the level sets and these are clearly superior in terms of video quality due to picture quality and the fact that it is not cropped. If your a fan and your looking for the best viewing experience then I cant in good conscious recommend the other blu ray set, Id say go for the Dragon Box set, its quality is wonderful but you'll have problem acquiring the second set because its quite expensive, around $400 eBay.

In closing I feel everyone should buy these level sets and support them, the other release as shown here http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GS4B7GS/ref=s9_newr_gw_d43_g74_i2?pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=center-5&pf_rd_r=0A3DKE4CYRF14Y5GDSQ3&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=1688200302&pf_rd_i=507846
Should not be supported, the picture quality is inferior and the cropping is an insult, all it takes is the hit of a button on a TV remote to force a 4x3 image into widescreen with cropping. what's going to end up happening is people will buy the blu ray set and later on they'll release an uncut 4x3 set that complete and people will run out and buy that too, similar to the people buying the dragon box sets who owned the orange brick sets. In closing I cant give this 5 stars because its not complete nor will it be but its the best way to watch the Saiyan saga on Blu Ray so for this I give the overall product 4/5 stars. I know I might've babbled and some people might complain but I wanted to get my message out and I refuse to write a bogus 1 star review on the inferior cropped versions, I hope this helped and if anyone has any questions about the set Id be more than happy to answer them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Funimation = FAIL... Dragon Ball Z Level *.* postponed indefinitely !!!!, March 21, 2012
This review is from: Dragon Ball Z - Level 1.2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Yes. Funimation has indefinitely postponed the Dragon Ball Z Blu-Ray restorations (though not Kai). This is a sad day indeed. Apparently there is a technology or other issue. But Level 1.2 was the last, though there might be advance copies of 2.1 floating around.

But as of Jan 2012, this restoration project has been indefinitely postponed (likely cancelled)!

I just thought everyone would like to know before buying the available copies and then not having the rest of the set coming out anytime in the foreseeable future.

In the meantime, DBZ Kai is what I have been purchasing. It does chop out a lot of the filler content, but it holds true to the DBZ story that Akira Toriyama created and intended before Toei started stretching the series out longer. The restoration on the Kai Blu-Ray is pretty amazing for the most part. I understand it is a simpler restoration process, but watching on a 46" TV from my PS3, the show looks great. And they kept the 4:3 ratio.

But for DBZ Level (instert # here)? You Fail on this one Funimation! I will delete this review when they announce they are producing the rest of these sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best release of Dragon Ball ever!, February 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dragon Ball Z - Level 1.2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It had both languages, 3 music options, and presented in proper aspect ratio: 4:3, and had all the original colors remastered.

This is all far better than to the cropped (16:9) over saturated DVD season sets, as well as the cropped (16:9) over saturated new Blu-ray season sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A step up above the orange season DVD boxsets, June 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dragon Ball Z - Level 1.2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
For those of you who are looking for the US/Toonami version in its native full screen 4:3 aspect ratio, this is the collection for you. The Nathan Johnson (and further down the line Bruce Faulconer) music sounds amazing. While it may be just a transition from DVD to Blu-Ray, the English title cards are re-written to look more like the Japanese Kanji and Kana that were present in the Japanese version. There are three audio tracks: The US/ Toonami version with the US Nathan Johnson and Bruce Faulconer BGM, the US/Toonami version with the Japanese BGM and the Japanese version complete with original title cards and end credit title cards.

If you are a die hard fan of the Japanese version with original opening title cards, original title cards, end credit title cards and original next episode previews, then this set isn't for you.

However, if you are a die hard fan of the US/Toonami version with the Nathan Johnson/Bruce Faulconer BGM but were disappointed with the orange season DVD boxsets that cropped the original native full screen 4:3 aspect ratio into wide screen 16:9 aspect ratio then this set is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ashertakle, March 12, 2013
This review is from: Dragon Ball Z - Level 1.2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Love it. Pretty grainy, but I ain't complaining. Don't need to cover the review of the plot, it's dbz. Love that shizz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!!, December 31, 2012
This review is from: Dragon Ball Z - Level 1.2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I am a huge dbz fan, so getting it in blu ray is a must! Im glad I did too because it's great. I just wish they would release the rest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Farewell, Level Blu-rays., July 26, 2014
This review is from: Dragon Ball Z - Level 1.2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This was easily the best remastering that Dragon Ball Z has ever gotten but FUNimation decided to cancel due to the costs, time and supposedly the sales were not sufficient to keep releasing this.

It's quite a shame because if the entire series had been released with this picture quality we would never need another remasterisation due to having hit perfection for how the show was intended to look at its best, with all the grain, detail and uncropped fullscreen aspect ratio.

Level 1.2 covered the episodes 018-034 which were from the Saiyan arc (although it is missing 035-039 these unreleased ones are available on Xbox Video (via Xbox & PC) and PlayStation Network for purchase).

Nevertheless, this is worth owning for the Dragon Ball hardcore collectors because regardless this was never finished it's still nice to see what Dragon Ball Z could have looked like as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DBZ Level 1.2, January 2, 2012
This review is from: Dragon Ball Z - Level 1.2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Dragon Ball Z fans are lucky in the fact that the series has been put on a variety of home video options. Many animes only get periodic releases and are thus hard to find (like Death Note). Many don't even have Blu-Ray editions. Well, Funimation is now putting out the DBZ series on Blu-Ray. The HD quality is stunning and fans will be pleased to note original aspect ratio and color scheme. If you have not invested in the Dragon Boxes then these are the clear route to go to own DBZ. The Dragon Boxes (as of this writing) are becoming harder to find and more expensive. The quality of the Dragon Box picture is very good, however, it is no match for what you will find on these sets. The major drawback is that these sets do not have a hardcover book or neat slipcase akin to the Dragon Boxes. Nope, these are just two disc Blu-Ray sets. Each set holds 17 episodes and if Funimation keeps to that pattern then there should be 17 releases (some sets will probably have a couple more or less episodes). The next editions (2.1 and 2.2) are slated for a March release. Yes, Funimation is milking it but the fans are getting a superior product compared to prior releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dragon Ball Z - Level 1.2 [Blu-ray]
Dragon Ball Z - Level 1.2 [Blu-ray] by Tyler Walker (Blu-ray - 2011)
Used & New from: $12.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.