Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Needs no 16:9
This comment is for all of you that wish a 16:9 ratio.

The original video material is in 4:3 even if they would make this remaster in a 16:9 they could not paint some new pictures to the right and left side to hae a fully 16:9 picture. So they would cut out some pictureinformation from the top and the bottom and we would get a cripple of DBZ.

In my...
Published on May 14, 2012 by Manuel Grosch

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Funimation = FAIL... Dragon Ball Z Level *.* postponed indefinitely !!!!
Yes. Funimation has indefinitely postponed the Dragon Ball Z Blu-Ray restorations (though not Kai). This is a sad day indeed. Apparently there is a technology or other issue. But Level 1.2 was the last, though there might be advance copies of 2.1 floating around.

But as of Jan 2012, this restoration project has been indefinitely postponed (likely...
Published on March 21, 2012 by Christopher Barrett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Funimation = FAIL... Dragon Ball Z Level *.* postponed indefinitely !!!!, March 21, 2012
This review is from: Dragon Ball Z: Level 2.1 [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
Yes. Funimation has indefinitely postponed the Dragon Ball Z Blu-Ray restorations (though not Kai). This is a sad day indeed. Apparently there is a technology or other issue. But Level 1.2 was the last, though there might be advance copies of 2.1 floating around.

But as of Jan 2012, this restoration project has been indefinitely postponed (likely cancelled)!

I just thought everyone would like to know before buying the available copies and then not having the rest of the set coming out anytime in the foreseeable future.

In the meantime, DBZ Kai is what I have been purchasing. It does chop out a lot of the filler content, but it holds true to the DBZ story that Akira Toriyama created and intended before Toei started stretching the series out longer. The restoration on the Kai Blu-Ray is pretty amazing for the most part. I understand it is a simpler restoration process, but watching on a 46" TV from my PS3, the show looks great. And they kept the 4:3 ratio.

But for DBZ Level (insert # here)? You Fail on this one Funimation! I will delete this review when they announce they are producing the rest of these sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Needs no 16:9, May 14, 2012
This review is from: Dragon Ball Z: Level 2.1 [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
This comment is for all of you that wish a 16:9 ratio.

The original video material is in 4:3 even if they would make this remaster in a 16:9 they could not paint some new pictures to the right and left side to hae a fully 16:9 picture. So they would cut out some pictureinformation from the top and the bottom and we would get a cripple of DBZ.

In my own opinion i do not want somebody to cut away some parts of the original..

Sorry for my bad english, i am from germany :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Funimation Power= -9000, July 4, 2013
This review is from: Dragon Ball Z: Level 2.1 [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
I wanted this series from when it first hit shelves. I owned the first two. When I herd that Funimation Cancelled the series I was upset because I was a huge DBZ fan and all they did was make me sad when I was turning them in for credit.
Funimation= -9000
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Remastered Sets Are AMAZING!!!, January 11, 2012
This review is from: Dragon Ball Z: Level 2.1 [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
I originally thought Funimation was milking the series with the blu ray editions, especially when I found out there were so few episodes per set. I bought the first one just for the heck of it, and was amazed at the difference between it and all the previous releases.
The reason there are so few episodes is most likely due to all the work that has to be put to restore each episode. Funimation finally took the right steps that all DBZ fans should praise. Even if it takes a couple years to finish (as this very well might) I hope they follow through and persevere despite the declining anime market. The aspect ratio, colors, and details are all finally perfect, leaving us with a picture that I can't imagine to be any better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have been 16:9, March 10, 2012
This review is from: Dragon Ball Z: Level 2.1 [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
DBZ in BluRay, whats left to say really... Everyone knows and loves DBZ by now, there have been so many different releases over the years, from the Pioneer home video days (oh yeah, I'm OG DBZ), to the early Funimation VHS 4 episode tapes, then the DVD 4 episode releases, next the Funimation DVD sets, the Dragon Box's, the Bastardized DBZ Kai, and now Blu-Ray... and that's just the American releases... my point is, everyone has seen the show, so its nothing new. The Blu-Ray has the expected higher picture and sound quality, just like any other movie/series that gets a BluRay, so that is nothing new either.

My first complaint is when they were going through frame by frame, once again, they could have changed the aspect ratio to 16:9... there is nothing worsr than watching something on a 50" screen and having those giant black bars on the side... They did it for gunslinger girl, and many other titles, why not DBZ?? seriously get with the times... if you really want to watch something in the same format it was originally made, go find the old DBZ VHS tapes and dust or your old VCR!

My second complaint is, they are seriously milking the releases. An anime "season" on 4 Blu-Rays over two releases, and on top of that they are not even the complete sagas (the entire sayan saga is not on "season 1" it spreads to "season 2"). They should have stuck to the saga sets, instead of making the series to fit into seasons, and then not have the entire story line in the season, forcing you to buy the next release over and over again. What was wrong with having saga sets?

Seriously though, a 4:3 aspect ratio Blu-Ray is an oxymoron!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars needs to be 16:9 aspect ratio, March 23, 2012
This review is from: Dragon Ball Z: Level 2.1 [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
All the new remastered levels of DBZ are great but why even make it in blu ray if the ratio is not 16:9. Hardly anyone has tube televisions anymore so thats almost in a way what you are watching. Even the remastered dvd versions are in 16:9. It just doesnt make any sense. Its like an oxymoron. You get it in bluray but you also are looking a picture that should be on a tube television.

Thanks,

Big DBZ Fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dragon Ball Z: Level 2.1 [Blu-Ray]
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.