Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dragon of the Lost Sea
An intriguing and unique fantasy story based on Chinese mythos, written in Yep's captivating style.

It features an exiled dragon princess named Shimmer, who is impressed by the courage and fairness of a young boy named Thorn. After a warrior of the witch Civet attacks Thorn, Shimmer saves him and takes him away from his abusive master.

Civet once...
Published on April 3, 2000 by E. A Solinas

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth Reading
Dragon of the Lost Sea is, ultimately, nothing more than a quest adventure, but it is elevated by its surprisingly lovely, elegant writing, and distinguished by a Chinese flavour.
If you enjoyed this, but would like something more grownup/meatier/cleverer/funnier, definitely check out Barry Hughart's "Bridge of Birds" for a more rollicking adventure in a never-never...
Published on February 24, 2004 by Ashley Lambert-Maberly


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dragon of the Lost Sea, April 3, 2000
This review is from: Dragon of the Lost Sea (Dragon Series) (Paperback)
An intriguing and unique fantasy story based on Chinese mythos, written in Yep's captivating style.

It features an exiled dragon princess named Shimmer, who is impressed by the courage and fairness of a young boy named Thorn. After a warrior of the witch Civet attacks Thorn, Shimmer saves him and takes him away from his abusive master.

Civet once stole the sea belonging to the race of dragons and confined it in a pebble, leaving it a salt-covered wasteland. Shimmer, who has a terrible secret of her own, has decided to find her and reclaim the waters of her home. They set out across the sea and meet the mischievous and irritating Monkey, then find Civet after she floods a village.

The dialogue is snappy and amusing, and the descriptions are well-done, especially the beautiful visions of the dragons' seas, prior to their draining by Civet. Yep strikes an excellent balance between spare prose and descriptive prose, placing each where it belongs.
<b!r>Shimmer's tough shell (she has both a literal and figurative one) is an effective shield against the kind
of hurt that she has suffered in the past, given her rejection prior to this book. Her attempts to rebuff Thorn, or to convince him that she doesn't need his help and can do things perfectly well on her own, are as unconvincing to the readers as they are to Thorn. She needs a friend, though she does not wish to admit it.

An effective counterbalance to her cynicism and I-don't-need-anybody attitude is Thorn, an intelligent and optimistic young boy, who was basically enslaved at an inn with an abusive master. He becomes Shimmer's friend after his rescue, wanting to help her out of sheer kindness. The situations in which he jolts her out of her huffs are entertaining and snappily written.

An excellent, classic fantasy, well worth the while of the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent fantasy full of wonderful characters., August 4, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Dragon of the Lost Sea (Dragon Series) (Paperback)
Humans are usually thought of as the superior creatures to dragons and magicians. But in this book, the tables turn and humans move from the shotgun seat to the back of the bus. Dragons become invinceable creatures. Dragons have their problems too in this book: evil magicians, powers that can be stolen. We liked this book because anything could happen in this fantasy world and because there was the interesting twist that humans were inferior to all other races. We recommend this book for adventurous readers who don't feel the need for humans to be the best. The Newton Boys Reading Circle (Ben, Danny and David)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best fantasy books I have ever read, December 13, 2000
This review is from: Dragon of the Lost Sea (Dragon Series) (Paperback)
I have always loved reading mythology of all kinds and though I had dabbled a bit in chinese here and there I didn't take a real interest in it until I read this book. The story is told from the point of veiw of Shimmer, an outcast dragon princess who has lost her home, her family, and everything she ever cared about. At first she seems content to wander the world alone and search for a way to help her lost people, but then she meets Thorn, an orphan human boy, who is also somewhat of an outcast among his people. At first they seem an unlikely match, but gradually they begin to understand they are two of a kind and begin to build a strong caring companionship. This book has excelent character development, and breathtaking discriptions, as well as realistic action scenes. The writing is good and easy to comprehend. I would reccamend this book to any fantasy fan, though people 10 to 15 would probably enjoy it best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The tale of an exiled dragon..., April 20, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dragon of the Lost Sea (Dragon Series) (Paperback)
This is a story for all Fantasy-Fiction lovers. It is about an exiled dragon who has lost her home (the Inland Sea). She is on a quest to recapture the mist stone (the gem containing the sea by magic) from an evil witch named Civet. The dragon, whose name is Shimmer, has a human boy companion, and they go through all sorts of adventures fighting magical paper cutouts, battling mages and witches etc. I guarantee that you will like this book if you like reading about dragons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth Reading, February 24, 2004
By 
Ashley Lambert-Maberly (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragon of the Lost Sea (Dragon Series) (Paperback)
Dragon of the Lost Sea is, ultimately, nothing more than a quest adventure, but it is elevated by its surprisingly lovely, elegant writing, and distinguished by a Chinese flavour.
If you enjoyed this, but would like something more grownup/meatier/cleverer/funnier, definitely check out Barry Hughart's "Bridge of Birds" for a more rollicking adventure in a never-never China, an absolutely terrific book.
Note: 3 stars, for me, is a pretty good review, 4 is for extremely distinguished works, and 5 only for those I consider classics. Most of what is published is, unfortunately, a 2 or less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my all time favorites, June 28, 2003
This review is from: Dragon of the Lost Sea (Paperback)
I picked up this book at a second hand store one day when I was about eleven, mainly because it looked like a good book. I was absolutely awestruck. I am now sixteen and it remains one of my favorite fantasies. I have read it at least ten times, and never get bored. The book is all about a dragon princess named Shimmer who is in exile for stealing a magical stone (the dream pearl) and while in exile, a witch steals the sea which is her home. Now she is searching for the witch so she can get back the sea in hopes for redemption, in a sense. She also has to team up with a young human boy named Thorn. This rubs her the wrong way because dragon's have very high egos and are very proud beasts. Well, anyway, the book basically recounts the adventures until she finds Civet (the witch). I know, it sounds like a simple plot, but it is really very good. I recommend this book to anyone who likes fantasy books. Also, I'm so stoked! There are sequels! I never knew there were sequels, now I'm happy. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THAT YOU READ THIS BOOK!! *walks off to read sequels, making odd "squee" noises*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the beginning of a blowout series..., May 26, 2001
By 
Adam Gorvin (Savage, MN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dragon of the Lost Sea (Dragon Series) (Paperback)
Dragon of the Lost Sea is perhaps one of the best Fantasy books I have ever read.Other reviews say that a pearl called the Mist Stone holds Princess Shimmer's sea (The Inland Sea). No no no and no. The evil witch Civet wears a bright blue pebble around her neck containing the Lost Sea (Inland Sea). a dragon princess named Shimmer is trying to kill the witch with help from her human companion Thorn. The travel mountains, dried seas, and human villages to recover the Lost Sea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing beats a Classic, January 20, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dragon of the Lost Sea (Dragon Series) (Paperback)
I remember reading this book around the same time I read 'Dealing with Dragons', and 'Colors in the Dreamweaver's Loom'. All three are fine books with their own unique style and setting, all three are as good now as they were back then, and all three had sequels that I didn't know about until nearly a decade had passed.

I was always into Dragons as a boy (not uncommon, I suppose), but this book stuck out in my mind because the main character was a Dragon. Rather than being depicted as ruthless beasts, the dragons of this book are a graceful and intelligent race who were displaced from their ancestral home. Shimmer's quest to restore her lost home hit a strange note, especially once the truth behind the antagonist is revealed. The young boy, Thorn, served as an excellent companion and a great conduit for all the young boys such as myself.

I honestly didn't know enough about chinese mythology to catch many of the references, namely the character of Monkey. Even so, I enjoyed this book immensely, and would recommend it to any fantasy lover (perhaps after a read of 'The Journey to the West').
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good first impressing by Laurance Yep, March 8, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dragon of the Lost Sea (Dragon Series) (Paperback)
Yep is correct! Laurance Yep is an exectional author. I love books of the Fantasy genre especisally one's that include dragons, magic, and talking animals and beasts. Old Boy and the Keeper seem like they are related some how. I think Old Boy is really the Keeper , but when Shimmer cast a transfiguration spell it says she says a spell and makes a symbol. What does the symbol look like , what are the words to the spell? But when it comes to all and all the books a masterpiece that no one could doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Book, December 30, 2003
By 
Becca (Elizabethtown, pa United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dragon of the Lost Sea (Dragon Series) (Paperback)
Dragon of the Lost Sea is an excellent fantasy book. It's not too in-depth, but it's still very good. It's told from the dragon's point of view, which would seem odd, but somehow Yep has made it not childish at all. There are some dry parts, but most of this book is very interesting and I would recommend it to anyone 12 or older, because everyone will like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dragon of the Lost Sea (Dragon Series)
Dragon of the Lost Sea (Dragon Series) by Laurence Yep (Paperback - June 30, 1988)
$6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.